Canada-Panama Free Trade Agreement

Chapter Five - Trade Facilitation

Article 5.01: Objectives and Principles

1. With the objectives of facilitating trade under this Agreement and of cooperating to pursue trade facilitation initiatives on a multilateral basis, each Party shall administer its import and export procedures and measures for goods traded under this Agreement on the basis that, to the extent possible:

  • a. procedures be efficient to reduce costs for importers and exporters and simplified where appropriate to achieve such efficiency;
  • b.procedures be based on international trade instruments or international standards agreed upon by the Parties;
  • c. entry procedures be transparent to ensure predictability for importers and exporters;
  • d. measures to facilitate trade also support mechanisms to protect persons through effective enforcement of and compliance with national requirements;
  • e. those procedures and the personnel involved in them comply with international standards of integrity;
  • f. the development of significant modifications to procedures of a Party include, in advance of implementation, consultations with the representatives of the trading community of that Party; and
  • g. procedures be based on risk management principles to focus compliance efforts on transactions that merit attention.

2. The Parties shall encourage cooperation, technical assistance and the exchange of information, including information on best practices, for the purpose of promoting the application of and compliance with the trade facilitation measures agreed upon under this Agreement and those agreed upon by the Parties under the auspices of the World Customs Organization or the World Trade Organization.

Article 5.02: Rights and Obligations

1. The Parties affirm their rights and obligations under Article VIII (Fees and Formalities Connected with Importation and Exportation) and Article X (Publication and Administration of Trade Regulations) of the GATT 1994.

2. A Party shall promptly release an unrestricted, uncontrolled or non-regulated good. Subject to paragraph 3, each Party shall provide the option of releasing that good either:

  • a. at the time of its presentation to the customs administration of the importing Party based on the submission of only the information required before the good arrives or at the time of arrival; for greater certainty, a Party, through its customs administration, may require the submission of more extensive information through post-entry accounting and verifications, as appropriate; or
  • b. before or at the time of arrival of the good, based on the submission of all the information necessary to obtain a final accounting of the good.

3. The Parties recognize that, for certain goods, under certain circumstances, such as goods subject to a quota or to health-related or public safety requirements, a Party may require before releasing the goods the submission of more extensive information, before or at the time of arrival of the goods, to allow the competent authorities to examine the goods for release.

4. Each Party shall facilitate and simplify its procedures for the release of low-risk goods, and shall improve procedures on the release of high-risk goods. For these purposes, each Party shall base its examination and release procedures and its post-entry verification procedures on risk management principles, rather than examining every shipment offered for entry in a comprehensive manner for compliance with all import requirements. Nothing in this paragraph prevents a Party from conducting quality control and compliance reviews, which may require more extensive examinations.

5. Each Party shall ensure that the procedures of its competent authorities, whose requirements on the import or export of goods are maintained either by themselves or on their behalf by the Party’s customs administration, are coordinated to facilitate trade. To this end, each Party shall take steps to harmonize the data requirements of its competent authorities, with the objective of allowing importers and exporters to present all required data to only one competent authority.

6. In its procedures for the clearance of express consignments, each Party shall apply, to the extent possible, the World Customs Organization’s Guidelines for the Immediate Release of Consignments by Customs.

7. In accordance with its domestic law, each Party shall adopt or maintain simplified clearance procedures for the entry of a good that is low in value if the importing Party considers that the revenue associated with the import of that good is not significant.

8. The Parties shall endeavour to achieve common procedures and to simplify the information necessary for the release of goods, applying, when appropriate, existing international standards. With this objective, each Party shall set up a system for the electronic exchange of information between competent authorities and importers, exporters, their agents or their representatives, for the purpose of encouraging rapid release procedures. For the purpose of this Article, and without precluding the use of additional electronic data transmission standards, each Party shall, to the extent possible:

  • a. use formats based on international standards for the electronic exchange of information; and
  • b. take into account the World Customs Organization’s Recommendations “Concerning the Use of UN/EDIFACT Rules for Electronic Data Interchange” and “Concerning the Use of Codes for the Representation of Data Elements”.

9. Each Party shall establish means of consultation with its trade and business communities to promote greater cooperation and the exchange of electronic information.

10. Subject to Chapter Four (Customs Procedures), a Party, prior to importation, shall upon request issue a written ruling pertaining to tariff classification, applicable rate of customs duty or any other tax applicable upon importation except a surtax or surcharge. That request may be made in writing by:

  • a. an importer in the Party’s territory;
  • b. an exporter or producer in the territory of the other Party; or
  • c. a representative of a person in subparagraph (a) or (b).

11. Each Party shall adopt or maintain procedures for the issuance of rulings referred to in paragraph 10. A Party may, at any time, modify or revoke a ruling:

  • a. without retroactive application after notification to the person that requested the ruling; or
  • b. with retroactive application and without notification if inaccurate or false information was provided.

12. When a Party determines that a request for a ruling is incomplete, it may request additional information, including, if appropriate, a sample of the goods or materials in question from the person requesting the ruling. A Party shall issue a ruling within 120 days of receiving all the information it considers necessary to issue the ruling. A ruling shall be binding upon the competent authority that issued the ruling at the time the good is actually imported provided that the facts and circumstances that were the basis for the issuance of the ruling remain in effect.

13. Each Party shall ensure that:

  • a. an administrative action or official decision taken in respect of the import or export of a good is reviewable promptly by a judicial, arbitral or administrative tribunal or through administrative procedures;
  • b. the administrative tribunal or administrative procedures referred to in subparagraph (a) are:
    • i. available before a person is required to seek redress before a judicial or arbitral tribunal, and
    • ii. independent of the official or, where applicable, the office responsible for the original action or decision; and
  • c.the tribunal or official acting under the administrative procedures referred to in subparagraph (a) is independent of the official or office issuing the decision and has the competence to maintain, modify or reverse the determination, in accordance with the domestic law of that Party.

14. Further to Article 20.02 (Transparency – Publication), each Party shall promptly publish or otherwise make available, including through electronic means, all its legislation, regulations, judicial decisions and administrative rulings or policies of general application relating to its requirements for imported or exported goods. Each Party shall also make available notices of an administrative nature, such as general agency requirements and entry procedures, hours of operation and contact for information enquiries.

15. Each Party shall, in accordance with its domestic law, treat as strictly confidential all business information obtained pursuant to this Chapter that is by its nature confidential or that is provided on a confidential basis.

Article 5.03: Cooperation

1. The Parties recognize that technical cooperation is fundamental to facilitating compliance with the obligations set forth in this Agreement and for reaching a better degree of trade facilitation.

2. The Parties agree to develop a technical cooperation program on customs-related matters on the basis of mutually decided terms relating to issues such as the scope, timing and cost of cooperative measures. Customs-related matters includes, among other matters:

  • a. training;
  • b. risk assessment;
  • c. prevention and detection of contraband and illegal activities;
  • d. implementation of the Customs Valuation Agreement;
  • e. audit and verification frameworks;
  • f. customs laboratories; and
  • g. implementation of the World Customs Organization’s Framework of Standards to Secure and Facilitate Global Trade, Pillar 1, Customs-to-Customs level.

3. The Parties shall cooperate:

  • a. in the enforcement of their respective customs-related laws or regulations implementing this Agreement;
  • b. to the extent practicable and for purposes of facilitating the flow of trade between them, in such customs-related matters as the collection and exchange of statistics regarding the importation and exportation of goods, the harmonization of documentation used in trade and the standardization of data elements; and
  • c. to the extent practicable, to exchange information to assist each other in the tariff classification of imported and exported goods.

Article 5.04: Future Work Program

1. With the objective of developing further steps to facilitate trade under this Agreement, the Parties establish the following work program:

  • a. to develop the Cooperation Program referred to in Article 5.03 for the purpose of facilitating compliance with the obligations set forth in this Agreement; and
  • b. as appropriate, to identify and submit for the consideration of the Commission new measures aimed at facilitating trade between the Parties, taking as a basis the objectives and principles set forth in Article 5.01, including, among other things:
    • i. common processes,
    • ii. general measures to facilitate trade,
    • iii. official controls,
    • iv. transportation,
    • v. the promotion and use of standards,
    • vi. the use of automated systems and Electronic Data Interchange (EDI),
    • vii. the availability of information,
    • viii. customs and other official procedures concerning the means of transportation and transportation equipment, including containers,
    • ix. official requirements for imported goods,
    • x. simplification of the information necessary for the release of goods,
    • xi. customs clearance of exports,
    • xii. transshipment of goods,
    • xiii. goods in international transit,
    • xiv. commercial practices, and
    • xv. payment procedures.

2. The Parties may periodically review the work program referred to in paragraph 1 to decide on new cooperation actions and new measures that might be needed to promote application of the trade facilitation obligations and principles.

3. The Parties shall review relevant international initiatives on trade facilitation, including the Compendium of Trade Facilitation Recommendations, developed by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development and the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, to identify areas where further joint action would facilitate trade between the Parties and promote shared multilateral objectives.

Canada - Panama Accord de libre-échange

Chapitre cinq - Facilitation du commerce

Article 5.01 : Objectifs et principes

1. En vue de faciliter le commerce conformément au présent accord et de coopérer à la mise en place d’initiatives de facilitation du commerce à l’échelle multilatérale, chacune des Parties administre ses procédures et ses mesures d’importation et d’exportation des produits visés par le présent accord en fonction de ce qui suit, dans la mesure du possible :

  • a. les procédures sont efficientes afin de réduire les coûts supportés par les importateurs et les exportateurs et ces procédures sont simplifiées, si nécessaire, pour permettre d’obtenir cette efficience;
  • b. les procédures sont fondées sur les normes ou instruments commerciaux internationaux convenus entre les Parties;
  • c. les procédures d’entrée sont transparentes pour assurer la prévisibilité pour les importateurs et les exportateurs;
  • d. les mesures visant à faciliter le commerce appuient également les mécanismes destinés à protéger les personnes par l’application et l’observation efficaces des exigences nationales;
  • e. ces procédures et le personnel qui les applique respectent des normes d’intégrité internationales;
  • f. l’élaboration de modifications importantes aux procédures d’une Partie inclut, avant la mise en œuvre de celles-ci, la consultation des représentants de la communauté commerçante de cette Partie;
  • g. les procédures sont fondées sur les principes de gestion des risques pour concentrer les efforts de vérification de la conformité sur les transactions méritant de l’attention.

2. Les Parties encouragent la coopération, l’assistance technique et l’échange d’information, y compris l’information sur les pratiques exemplaires, afin de favoriser l’application et l’observation des mesures de facilitation du commerce convenues dans le cadre du présent accord et de celles convenues par les Parties avec l’appui de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes ou de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce.

Article 5.02 : Droits et obligations

1. Les Parties confirment leurs droits et obligations prévus à l’article VIII (Redevances et formalités se rapportant à l’importation et à l’exportation) et à l’article X (Publication et application des règlements relatifs au commerce) du GATT de 1994.

2. Une Partie dédouane promptement un produit exempt de restriction ou de contrôle, ou un produit non réglementé. Sous réserve du paragraphe 3, chacune des Parties propose de dédouaner le produit à l’un des moments suivants :

a. au moment de sa présentation à l’administration douanière de la Partie importatrice sur présentation seulement des renseignements requis avant l’arrivée du produit ou au moment de son arrivée; une Partie peut, par l’intermédiaire de son administration douanière, exiger la présentation de renseignements plus détaillés au moyen d’une déclaration en détail ou d’une vérification après l’arrivée du produit, au besoin;

b. avant son arrivée ou au moment de son arrivée, sur présentation de tous les renseignements nécessaires pour obtenir une déclaration en détail finale du produit.

3. Les Parties reconnaissent que, pour certains produits ou dans certaines situations, par exemple les produits contingentés ou assujettis à des prescriptions sanitaires ou à des exigences liées à la sécurité publique, une Partie peut, avant le dédouanement, exiger la présentation de renseignements plus détaillés, avant l’arrivée des produits ou au moment de leur arrivée, pour permettre aux autorités compétentes d’examiner les produits.

4. Chacune des Parties facilite et simplifie ses procédures de dédouanement des produits à faible risque et améliore les procédures lors du dédouanement des produits à risque élevé. À ces fins, chacune des Parties fonde ses procédures d’examen et de dédouanement, ainsi que ses procédures de vérification après l’entrée des produits, sur les principes de gestion du risque, au lieu d’examiner d’une manière minutieuse chaque expédition destinée à l’entrée pour s’assurer qu’elle respecte toutes les exigences relatives à l’importation. Le présent paragraphe n’a pas pour effet d’empêcher une Partie de procéder à des contrôles de qualité et de conformité pouvant nécessiter des examens plus approfondis.

5. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que les procédures de ses autorités compétentes, dont les exigences relatives à l’importation et à l’exportation de produits sont contrôlées par elles-mêmes ou en leur nom par l’administration douanière, soient coordonnées de manière à faciliter le commerce. À cette fin, chacune des Parties prend des mesures pour harmoniser les exigences relatives aux données de ses autorités compétentes, afin que les importateurs et les exportateurs puissent présenter toutes les données requises à une seule autorité compétente.

6. Dans ses procédures de dédouanement des envois express, chacune des Parties applique, dans la mesure du possible, les Directives aux fins de la mainlevée immédiate des envois par la douane de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes.

7. Conformément à son droit interne, chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient des procédures simplifiées pour l’entrée d’un produit de faible valeur si la Partie importatrice estime que ce produit ne rapporte que de modiques recettes douanières.

8. Les Parties s’efforcent d’élaborer des procédures communes et de simplifier l’information nécessaire au dédouanement des produits, par l’application, le cas échéant, des normes internationales existantes. À cette fin, chacune des Parties s’efforce d’établir un système d’échange électronique de renseignements entre les autorités compétentes et les importateurs, les exportateurs, leurs agents ou leurs représentants, en vue d’encourager le dédouanement accéléré. Pour l’application du présent article, qui n’a pas pour but d’empêcher l’utilisation de normes additionnelles de transmission électronique de données, chacune des Parties, dans la mesure du possible :

  • a. utilise des formats basés sur les normes internationales d’échange électronique de renseignements;
  • b. tient également compte des recommandations de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes relatives à « l’utilisation des règles de syntaxe EDIFACT/ONU pour les échanges électroniques de données » et à « l’utilisation de codes pour la représentation des éléments d’information ».

9. Chacune des Parties établit des moyens de consultation avec ses communautés commerçantes et ses communautés d’affaires afin de promouvoir une coopération accrue et l’échange de renseignements informatisés.

10. Sous réserve du chapitre quatre (Procédures douanières), une Partie rend par écrit, avant l’importation, sur demande, une décision portant sur la classification tarifaire, sur les taux applicables de droit de douane ou sur toute taxe applicable à l’importation, à l’exception d’une surtaxe ou d’une majoration. Cette demande peut être présentée par écrit par l’une ou l’autre des personnes suivantes :

  • a. soit un importateur sur le territoire de la Partie;
  • b. soit un exportateur ou un producteur sur le territoire de l’autre Partie;
  • c. soit un représentant d’une personne visée aux sous-paragraphes a) et b).

11. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient des procédures relatives à la prise des décisions visées au paragraphe 10. Une Partie peut, à tout moment, modifier ou annuler une décision :

  • a. soit après notification à la personne qui a demandé la décision, sans effet rétroactif;
  • b. soit sans notification et avec effet rétroactif, lorsque des renseignements faux ou inexacts ont été fournis.

12. Lorsqu’une Partie juge que la demande de décision est incomplète, elle peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires à la personne qui demande la décision, y compris, le cas échéant, un échantillon des produits ou des matières en question. Une Partie rend sa décision dans les 120 jours suivant la réception de tous les renseignements qu’elle considère nécessaires à la prise de la décision. La décision lie l’autorité compétente qui a rendu la décision au moment où le produit est importé, pour autant que les faits et les circonstances à la base de la décision continuent d’exister.

13. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que :

  • a. toute mesure administrative ou décision officielle relative à l’importation ou à l’exportation d’un produit soit susceptible d’appel rapidement devant un tribunal judiciaire, arbitral ou administratif, ou au moyen de procédures administratives;
  • b. le tribunal administratif ou les procédures administratives visées au sous-paragraphe a) :
    • i. soient disponibles avant qu’une personne soit obligée de demander réparation à un tribunal judiciaire ou arbitral,
    • ii. n’aient pas de liens avec l’agent ou, le cas échéant, le bureau qui a pris la mesure ou la décision initiale;
  • c. le tribunal ou l’agent agissant conformément à la procédure décrite au sous-paragraphe a) n’ait pas de liens avec l’agent ou le bureau qui rend la décision et ait compétence pour confirmer, modifier ou infirmer la décision conformément au droit interne de la Partie.

14. Conformément à l’article 20.02 (Transparence – Publication), chacune des Parties publie ou rend disponibles rapidement, y compris par un moyen électronique, tous ses règlements et toutes ses lois, décisions judiciaires et administratives ou politiques d’application générale concernant ses exigences relatives aux produits importés ou exportés. Chacune des Parties rend également disponibles les avis de nature administrative, comme les exigences générales des organismes et les formalités d’entrée, les heures d’ouverture et les contacts pour les demandes de renseignements.

15. Chacune des Parties préserve, en conformité avec son droit interne, le caractère confidentiel de tous les renseignements commerciaux obtenus en vertu du présent chapitre qui sont de nature confidentielle ou qui sont fournis confidentiellement.

Article 5.03 : Coopération

1. Les Parties reconnaissent que la coopération technique est fondamentale pour la facilitation de la conformité aux obligations énoncées dans le présent accord et pour le rehaussement de la facilitation du commerce.

2. Les Parties conviennent d’élaborer un programme de coopération technique sur des questions douanières en fonction de modalités, comme la portée, le calendrier et le coût des mesures de coopération, dont elles auront décidé. Les questions douanières comprennent notamment :

  • a. la formation;
  • b. l'évaluation des risques;
  • c. la prévention et la détection de la contrebande et des activités illégales;
  • d. la mise en œuvre de l’Accord sur la valeur en douane;
  • e. les cadres de vérification;
  • f. les laboratoires des douanes;
  • g. la mise en œuvre du Pilier 1 – Douane-Douane du Cadre de normes visant à sécuriser et à faciliter le commerce mondial de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes.

3. Les Parties coopèrent :

  • a. à l’application de leurs lois et règlements respectifs en matière de douanes mettant en œuvre le présent accord;
  • b. dans la mesure du possible et dans le but de faciliter le flux de leurs échanges commerciaux, aux questions relatives aux douanes, comme la collecte et l’échange de statistiques concernant l’importation et l’exportation de produits, l’harmonisation des documents utilisés dans le commerce et la normalisation des éléments de données;
  • c. dans la mesure du possible, à l’échange de renseignements en vue de s’aider mutuellement dans la classification tarifaire des produits importés et exportés.

Article 5.04 : Programme de travail futur

1. En vue de l’élaboration d’autres mesures visant à faciliter le commerce conformément au présent accord, les Parties établissent le programme de travail suivant :

  • a. élaborer le programme de coopération visé à l’article 5.03 afin de faciliter le respect des obligations énoncées dans le présent accord;
  • b. le cas échéant, définir et soumettre à la Commission, pour examen, de nouvelles mesures destinées à faciliter le commerce entre les Parties, sur le fondement des objectifs et des principes énoncés à l’article 5.01, notamment :
    • i. les processus communs,
    • ii. les mesures générales de facilitation du commerce,
    • iii. les contrôles officiels,
    • iv. les transports,
    • v. l a promotion et l’utilisation des normes,
    • vi. l’utilisation des systèmes automatisés et l’échange de données informatisé (EDI),
    • vii.la disponibilité des renseignements,
    • viii. les procédures douanières et d’autres procédures officielles concernant les moyens et le matériel de transport, y compris les conteneurs,
    • ix. les exigences officielles relatives aux produits importés,
    • x. la simplification des renseignements nécessaires au dédouanement des produits,
    • xi. le dédouanement des exportations,
    • xii. le transbordement des produits,
    • xiii. le transit international des produits,
    • xiv. les pratiques commerciales,
    • xv. les formalités de paiement.

2. Les Parties peuvent périodiquement réexaminer le programme de travail visé au paragraphe 1 afin de décider d’autres démarches de coopération et de nouvelles mesures pouvant être nécessaires pour favoriser l’application des obligations et des principes en matière de facilitation du commerce.

3. Les Parties réexaminent les initiatives internationales pertinentes concernant la facilitation du commerce, notamment le recueil des recommandations sur la facilitation du commerce établi par la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement et la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l’Europe, pour cerner les éléments au sujet desquels une démarche conjointe faciliterait le commerce entre les Parties et favoriserait l’atteinte des objectifs multilatéraux communs.