Canada-Panama Free Trade Agreement

Chapter Eight - Emergency Action

Article 8.01: Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

Agreement on Safeguards means the WTO Agreement on Safeguards;

competent investigating authority means:

  • a. in the case of Canada, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, or its successor notified to the other Party through diplomatic channels; and
  • b. in the case of Panama, the Directorate-General of Trade Defence, or its successor notified to the other Party through diplomatic channels;

domestic industry means, with respect to an imported good, the producers as a whole of the like or directly competitive good operating in the territory of a Party or those whose collective production of the like or directly competitive good constitutes a major proportion of the total domestic production of such good;

emergency action means an emergency action described in Article 8.03;

serious injury means a significant overall impairment of a domestic industry;

substantial cause means a cause that is important and not less important than any other cause;

threat of serious injury means serious injury that is clearly imminent based on facts and not based on allegation, conjecture or remote possibility; and

transition period means the 10-year period beginning on the entry into force of this Agreement, except where the tariff elimination for the good against which the action is taken occurs over a longer period of time, in which case the transition period is the period of the staged tariff elimination for that good.

Article 8.02: Global Safeguard Measures

1. Each Party retains its rights and obligations under Article XIX of the GATT 1994 and the Agreement on Safeguards, which shall exclusively govern global safeguard actions, including the resolution of a dispute in respect thereof.

2. This Agreement does not confer additional rights or obligations on the Parties with regard to actions taken pursuant to Article XIX of the GATT 1994 and the Agreement on Safeguards, except that a Party taking a global safeguard measure may exclude imports of an originating good of the other Party if the competent investigating authority of that Party concludes that those imports are not a substantial cause of serious injury or threat thereof.

3. A Party may not adopt or maintain with respect to the same good at the same time:

  • a. an emergency action; and
  • b. a measure pursuant to Article XIX of the GATT 1994 and the Agreement on Safeguards.

Article 8.03: Bilateral Emergency Actions

1. A Party may adopt an emergency action described in paragraph 2:

  • a. only during the transition period; and
  • b. if as a result of the reduction or elimination of a duty pursuant to this Agreement an originating good is being imported into the Party’s territory in such increased quantities, in absolute terms or relative to domestic production, and under such conditions as to constitute a substantial cause of serious injury, or threat thereof, to a domestic industry producing a like or directly competitive good.

2. If the conditions set out in paragraph 1 and Articles 8.04 and 8.05 are met, a Party may to the extent necessary to prevent or remedy serious injury, or threat thereof, and to facilitate adjustment:

  • a. suspend the further reduction of a rate of duty provided for under this Agreement on the good; or
  • b. increase the rate of duty on the good to a level not exceeding the lesser of:
    • i. the most-favoured-nation (MFN) rate of duty in effect at the time the emergency action is taken, and
    • ii. the base rate of duty as provided in the schedule to Annex 2.04 (National Treatment and Market Access for Goods – Tariff Elimination).

Article 8.04: Notification and Discussions

1. A Party shall, in writing, promptly notify and invite for discussions the other Party in connection with:

  • a. initiating an emergency action proceeding;
  • b. making a finding of serious injury, or threat thereof, under the conditions set out in Article 8.03(1); and
  • c. applying an emergency action.

2. A Party shall without delay, provide to the other Party a copy of the public version of any notice or any report by a competent investigating authority issued in connection with matters notified pursuant to paragraph 1.

3. If a Party accepts an invitation for discussions made pursuant to paragraph 1, the Parties shall enter into discussions to review the notification under paragraph 1 or the public version of a document issued by a competent investigating authority in connection with the emergency action proceeding.

4. An emergency action shall be initiated no later than 1 year after the date the proceeding is instituted.

Article 8.05: Standards for Emergency Actions

1. A Party may not maintain an emergency action:

a. for a period exceeding 3 years, including any extension; or

b. beyond the expiration of the transition period.

2. A Party may not apply an emergency action against a good more than once.

3. On the termination of an emergency action, a Party shall set the rate of duty at the rate that would have been in effect but for the action according to the Party’s Schedule to Annex 2.04 (National Treatment and Market Access for Goods – Tariff Elimination) for the staged elimination of the tariff.

4. A Party may take an emergency action under Article 8.03 after the expiration of the transition period to deal with cases of serious injury, or threat thereof, to a domestic industry arising from the operation of this Agreement only with the consent of the other Party.

5. A Party taking an emergency action under Article 8.03 shall provide to the exporting Party mutually accepted trade liberalizing compensation in the form of concessions with substantially equivalent trade effects or equivalent to the value of the additional duties expected to result from the action. If the Parties are unable to decide on compensation, the Party whose goods are subject to the action may take tariff action with trade effects substantially equivalent to the emergency action taken under Article 8.03. The Party taking the tariff action shall apply the action only for the minimum period necessary to achieve the substantially equivalent effects and, in any event, only while the emergency action under Article 8.03 is in effect.

Article 8.06: Administration of Emergency Action Proceedings

1. Each Party shall ensure the consistent, impartial and reasonable administration of its laws, regulations, decisions and rulings governing emergency action proceedings.

2. Each Party shall entrust determinations of serious injury, or threat thereof, in an emergency action proceeding to a competent investigating authority. Each Party shall:

  • a. ensure that those determinations are subject to review by judicial or administrative tribunals, to the extent provided by domestic law;
  • b. ensure that negative injury determinations are not modified, except through a review referred to in subparagraph (a); and
  • c. provide its competent investigating authority with the necessary resources to enable it to fulfill its duties.

3. Each Party shall adopt or maintain equitable, timely, transparent and effective procedures for emergency action proceedings in accordance with the requirements set out in paragraph 4.

4. A Party shall apply an emergency action only following an investigation by the Party’s competent investigating authority in accordance with Articles 3 and 4.2 of the Agreement on Safeguards. To this end, Articles 3 and 4.2 of the Agreement on Safeguards are incorporated into and made part of this Agreement.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Panama

Chapitre huit - Mesures d’urgence

Article 8.01 : Définitions

Pour l’application du présent chapitre :

Accord sur les sauvegardes s’entend de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes de l’OMC;

branche de production nationale s’entend, à l’égard d’un produit importé, de l’ensemble des producteurs du produit similaire ou directement concurrent en activité sur le territoire d’une Partie, ou de ceux dont les productions additionnées du produit similaire ou directement concurrent constituent une proportion majeure de la production nationale totale de ce produit;

cause substantielle s’entend d’une cause qui est importante et non moins importante que toute autre cause;

dommage grave s’entend d’une dégradation générale notable de la situation d’une branche de production nationale;

menace de dommage grave s’entend de l’imminence manifeste d’un dommage grave, établie d’après des faits et non d’après de simples allégations, conjectures ou lointaines possibilités;

mesure d’urgence s’entend de toute mesure de la nature visée à l’article 8.03;

organisme d’enquête compétent s’entend :

1. dans le cas du Canada, du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur ou de l’organisme lui succédant, pour lequel une notification aura été faite à l’autre Partie par voie diplomatique;

2. dans le cas du Panama, de la Direction générale de défense commerciale ou de l’organisme lui succédant, pour lequel une notification aura été faite à l’autre Partie par voie diplomatique;

période de transition s’entend de la période de 10 ans commençant à la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, sauf si l’élimination des droits de douane applicables au produit visé par la mesure d’urgence est prévue sur une plus longue période, auquel cas la période de transition est la période d’élimination progressive de ces droits.

Article 8.02 : Mesures de sauvegarde globales

1. Chacune des Parties conserve les droits et obligations découlant pour elle de l’article XIX du GATT de 1994 et de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes, qui régissent exclusivement les mesures de sauvegarde globales, y compris le règlement des différends qui s’y rapportent.

2. Le présent accord n’attribue pas de droits ou d’obligations additionnels aux Parties concernant les mesures prises au titre de l’article XIX du GATT de 1994 et de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes. Toutefois, la Partie qui prend une mesure de sauvegarde globale peut exclure les importations d’un produit originaire de l’autre Partie si son organisme d’enquête compétent conclut que ces importations ne constituent pas une cause substantielle de dommage grave ou de menace d’un tel dommage.

3. Une Partie ne peut adopter ou maintenir en même temps, à l’égard du même produit :

  • a. une mesure d’urgence;
  • b. une mesure visée à l’article XIX du GATT de 1994 et à l’Accord sur les sauvegardes.

Article 8.03 : Mesures d’urgence bilatérales

1. Une Partie peut adopter une mesure d’urgence définie au paragraphe 2 :

a. durant la période de transition seulement;

b. si, par suite de la réduction ou de l’élimination d’un droit opérée au titre du présent accord, un produit originaire est importé sur son territoire en quantités tellement accrues, dans l’absolu ou par rapport à la production nationale, et à des conditions telles que cela constitue une cause substantielle de dommage grave, ou de menace d’un tel dommage, pour une branche de production nationale produisant un produit similaire ou directement concurrent.

2. Si les conditions énoncées au paragraphe 1 et aux articles 8.04 et 8.05 sont remplies, une Partie peut, dans la mesure nécessaire pour empêcher ou réparer un dommage grave, ou une menace de dommage grave, et pour faciliter les ajustements, selon le cas :

  • a. suspendre la réduction ultérieure du taux de droit prévue au présent accord pour le produit considéré;
  • b. augmenter le taux de droit applicable à ce produit jusqu’à un niveau n’excédant pas le moins élevé des taux suivants :
    • i. le taux de droit de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF) appliqué au moment de la mesure d’urgence,
    • ii. le taux de droit de base prévu dans la liste de l’annexe 2.04 (Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les produits – Élimination des droits de douane).

Article 8.04 : Notification et discussions

1. Une Partie donne à l’autre Partie, sans délai et par écrit, une notification quant aux points suivants, et l’invite à entamer des discussions sur ces points :

  • a. l’engagement d’une procédure relative à une mesure d’urgence;
  • b. l’établissement d’une constatation de l’existence d’un dommage grave, ou d’une menace de dommage grave, suivant les conditions énoncées au paragraphe 8.03(1);
  • c. l’application d’une mesure d’urgence.

2. Une Partie transmet sans délai à l’autre Partie une copie de la version publique de toute notification ou de tout rapport d’un organisme d’enquête compétent se rapportant aux questions faisant l’objet de la notification prévue au paragraphe 1.

3. Si une Partie accepte l’invitation à la discussion faite en vertu du paragraphe 1, les Parties engagent des discussions pour revoir les questions faisant l’objet de la notification prévue au paragraphe 1 ou la version publique de tout document établi par un organisme d’enquête compétent à l’égard d’une procédure relative à une mesure d’urgence.

4. Toute mesure d’urgence est prise au plus tard un an après la date de l’engagement de la procédure.

Article 8.05 : Règles applicables aux mesures d’urgence

1. Une Partie ne peut maintenir une mesure d’urgence, selon le cas :

  • a. pour une période de plus de trois ans, y compris toute prolongation;
  • b. après l’expiration de la période de transition.

2. Une Partie ne peut appliquer plus d’une fois une mesure d’urgence à l’égard d’un produit.

3. À l’expiration de toute mesure d’urgence, la Partie qui applique la mesure établit le taux de droit au taux qui aurait été applicable n’eût été cette mesure, selon la liste de la Partie à l’annexe 2.04 (Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les produits – Élimination des droits de douane) pour l’élimination progressive des droits de douane.

4. Une Partie peut, après l’expiration de la période de transition, prendre une mesure d’urgence en vertu de l’article 8.03 pour traiter des cas de dommage grave, ou de menace de dommage grave, dans une branche de production nationale découlant de l’application du présent accord seulement avec le consentement de l’autre Partie.

5. La Partie qui adopte une mesure en vertu de l’article 8.03 accorde à la Partie exportatrice une compensation mutuellement acceptée ayant pour effet de libéraliser le commerce. Cette compensation prend la forme de concessions ayant des effets commerciaux essentiellement équivalents à ceux devant résulter de la mesure considérée, ou une valeur équivalente à celle des droits additionnels devant résulter de la mesure considérée. Si les Parties ne peuvent s’entendre sur la compensation, la Partie dont les produits sont visés peut prendre une mesure tarifaire ayant des effets commerciaux essentiellement équivalents à ceux de la mesure adoptée en vertu de l’article 8.03, mais ne l’applique que durant la période minimale nécessaire pour obtenir de tels effets et, dans tous les cas, seulement pendant que la mesure adoptée en vertu de l’article 8.03 est appliquée.

Article 8.06 : Administration des procédures relatives aux mesures d’urgence

1. Chacune des Parties veille à l’application uniforme, impartiale et raisonnable de ses lois, règlements, dispositions et décisions régissant les procédures relatives à une mesure d’urgence.

2. Chacune des Parties confie, dans une procédure relative à l’adoption d’une mesure d’urgence, la détermination de l’existence d’un dommage grave ou d’une menace de dommage grave à un organisme d’enquête compétent. Chacune des Parties :

  • a. veille à ce que les décisions de cet organisme soient soumises à l’examen de tribunaux judiciaires ou administratifs, dans la mesure prévue par la législation interne;
  • b. veille à ce que les déterminations négatives de dommage ne soient pas modifiées, si ce n’est à la suite de l’examen prévu au sous-paragraphe a);
  • c. met à la disposition de son organisme d’enquête compétent les ressources dont il a besoin pour remplir ses fonctions.

3. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient des modalités équitables, opportunes, transparentes et efficaces pour les procédures relatives à l’adoption de mesures d’urgence, conformément aux conditions énoncées au paragraphe 4.

4. Une Partie n’applique une mesure d’urgence qu’à la suite d’une enquête menée par son organisme d’enquête compétent conformément aux articles 3 et 4.2 de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes. À cette fin, les articles 3 et 4.2 de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes sont incorporés dans le présent accord et en font partie intégrante.