Canada-Panama Free Trade Agreement

Annex II - Schedule of Panama

Sector: Social Services

Sub-sector:

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: National Treatment (Articles 9.04 and 10.03)

Most-Favoured-Nation Treatment (Articles 9.05 and 10.04)

Local Presence (Article 10.06)

Performance Requirements (Article 9.07)

Senior Management and Boards of Directors (Article 9.08)

Market Access (Article 10.05)

Description: Investment and Cross-Border Trade in Services

Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain a measure for providing law enforcement and correctional services, as well as the following services to the extent that they are social services established or maintained for a public purpose: income security or insurance, social security or insurance, social welfare, public education, public training, health care or child care.

Existing Measures:

Sector: Native Populations and Minorities

Sub-sector:

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: National Treatment (Articles 9.04 and 10.03)

Most-Favoured-Nation Treatment (Articles 9.05 and 10.04)

Local Presence (Article 10.06)

Performance Requirements (Article 9.07)

Senior Management and Boards of Directors (Article 9.08)

Description: Investment and Cross-Border Trade in Services

Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain a measure denying to foreign investors and their investments or to foreign service providers a right or privilege granted to minorities with social or economic disadvantages or native populations in their reservation areas.

Existing Measures:

Sector: Issues Related to the Panama Canal

Sub-sector:

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: National Treatment (Articles 9.04 and 10.03)

Local Presence (Article 10.06)

Performance Requirements (Article 9.07)

Senior Management and Boards of Directors (Article9.08)

Market Access (Article 10.05)

Description: Investment and Cross-Border Trade in Services

1. Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain a measure related to the management, administration, operation, maintenance, conservation, modernization, exploitation, development or ownership of the Panama Canal and the reverted areas that restrict the rights of foreign investors and services providers.

2. The Panama Canal includes the aquatic route proper, as well as its anchorages, dock berths and entrances; lands and marine, lacustrine and fluvial waters; locks; auxiliary dams; docks; and water control structures.

3. The reverted areas under the administration of the Inter-Oceanic Region Authority include the lands, buildings and facilities and other goods that have reverted to the Republic of Panama according to the Treaty of the Panama Canal of 1977 and its Annexes (Torrijos-Carter Treaty).

4. Notwithstanding Panama’s reservation in the Schedule of Panama, Annex II at page II-PA-9, Panama shall accord to investors of Canada treatment with respect to the Panama Canal and the reverted areas no less favourable than it accords, in like circumstances, to investors of a non-Party under a free trade agreement in force or signed prior to the date of entry into force of this Agreement.

Existing Measures:

Sector: State Enterprises

Sub-sector:

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: National Treatment (Article 9.04)

Senior Management and Boards of Directors (Article9.08)

Description: Investment

1. Panama reserves the right to limit the transfer or disposal of an interest held in an existing state enterprise so that only Panamanian nationals may receive that interest. This reservation only applies to the initial transfer or disposal of the interest, except as provided in the Schedule of Panama, Annex I at page I-PA-4 (Public Utilities).

2. For greater certainty,

  • a. where Panama transfers an interest in an existing state enterprise to another state enterprise, that transfer is not an initial transfer or disposal of the interest for purposes of paragraph 1; and
  • b. where Panama transfers or disposes of an interest in an existing state enterprise in multiple phases, paragraph 1 applies separately to each phase.

3. If Panama transfers or disposes of an interest in an existing state enterprise as described in paragraph 1, Panama may adopt or maintain a measure related to the nationality of the senior management and members of the board of directors of an enterprise that receives that interest.

Existing Measures:

Sector: Construction Services

Sub-sector:

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: National Treatment (10.03)

Local Presence (Article 10.06)

Description: Cross-Border Trade in Services

Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain residency, registration or other local presence requirements, or to require a financial guarantee provided that it is necessary to ensure compliance with Panamanian law and private contractual obligations.

Existing Measures:

Sector: Fisheries and Services Incidental to Fishing

Sub-sector:

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: National Treatment (Article 9.04 and 10.03)

Most-Favoured-Nation Treatment (Article 9.05 and 10.04)

Description: Investment and Cross-Border Trade in Services

Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain a measure relating to requirements for investments in, ownership or control of, and operation of, vessels engaged in fishing and related activities in waters under Panamanian jurisdiction.

Existing Measures:

Sector: All Sectors (For greater certainty, this reservation is subject to paragraph 4 of the Schedule of Panama, Annex II at pageII-PA-4)

Sub-sector:

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: Most-Favoured-Nation Treatment (Articles 9.05)

Description: Investment

1. Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain a measure that accords differential treatment to countries under a bilateral or multilateral international agreement in force or signed prior to the date of entry into force of this Agreement.

2. Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain a measure that accords differential treatment to countries under a bilateral or multilateral international agreement in force or signed after the date of entry into force of this Agreement, involving:

  • a. aviation;
  • b. fisheries; or
  • c. maritime matters, including salvage.

Existing Measures:

Sector: All Sectors

Sub-sector:

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: National Treatment (Article 10.03)

Most Favoured Nation Treatment (Article 10.04)

Local Presence (Article 10.06)

Market Access (Article 10.05)

Description: Cross-Border Trade in Services

1. Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain a measure affecting the provision of a service provided in the exercise of governmental authority.

2. A “service provided in the exercise of governmental authority” means a service that is not provided on a commercial basis or in competition with a service provider.

Existing Measures:

Sector: All Sectors

Sub-sector:

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: Market Access (Article 10.05)

Description: Cross-Border Trade in Services

Subject to reservations within the Schedule of Panama, Annex I at pages I-PA-13 (Electrical Energy), I-PA-40 (Telecommunications Services),I-PA-42 (Hotel and Restaurant Services), I-PA-43 (Recreational, Cultural and Sporting Services), I-PA-44 (Postal Services) and I-PA-45 (Ports and Airports), Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain a measure that is not inconsistent with Panama’s obligations under Article XVI of the GATS.

Measures:

Sector: Transport Services

Sub-sector: Road Transport Services

Industry Classification:

Type of Reservation: National Treatment (Articles 9.04 and 10.03)

Local Presence (Article 10.06)

Performance Requirements (Article 9.07)

Senior Management and Boards of Directors (Article9.08)

Market Access (Article 10.05)

Description: Investment and Cross-Border Trade in Services

1. Panama reserves the right to adopt or maintain a measure that restricts the provision of services and investment related to scheduled passenger transportation, non-scheduled passenger transportation, rental services of commercial freight vehicles with operator, and bus terminal services.

2. Cabotage by land within the borders of Panama is reserved for domestic carriers.

Existing Measures:

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Panama

Annexe II - Liste du Panama

Secteur : Services sociaux

Sous-secteur :

Classification de

l’industrie :

Type de réserve : Traitement national (articles 9.04 et 10.03)

Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée (articles9.05 et10.04)

Présence locale (article 10.06)

Prescriptions de résultats (article 9.07)

Dirigeants et conseils d’administration (article 9.08)

Accès aux marchés (article 10.05)

Description : Investissement et commerce transfrontières des services

Le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir une mesure concernant la prestation des services d’application de la loi et des services correctionnels, ainsi que des services suivants dans la mesure où ils constituent des services sociaux établis ou maintenus dans l’intérêt public: sécurité ou garantie du revenu, sécurité ou assurance sociale, bien-être social, éducation publique, formation publique, soins de santé ou garde d’enfants.

Mesures existantes :

Secteur : Populations autochtones et minorités

Sous-secteur :

Classification de

l’industrie :

Type de réserve: Traitement national (articles 9.04 et 10.03)

Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée (articles9.05et10.04)

Présence locale (article 10.06)

Prescriptions de résultats (article 9.07)

Dirigeants et conseils d’administration (article 9.08)

Description : Investissement et commerce transfrontières des services

Le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir une mesure empêchant les investisseurs étrangers et leurs investissements ou les fournisseurs étrangers de services de se prévaloir d’un droit ou d’un privilège accordé à des minorités socialement ou économiquement défavorisées ou aux populations autochtones sur leurs terres de réserve.

Mesures existantes :

Secteur : Questions liées au canal de Panama

Sous-secteur :

Classification de

l’industrie :

Type de réserve : Traitement national (articles 9.04 et 10.03)

Présence locale (article 10.06)

Prescriptions de résultats (article 9.07)

Dirigeants et conseils d’administration (article 9.08)

Accès aux marchés (article 10.05)

Description : Investissement et commerce transfrontières des services

1. Le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir une mesure liée à la gestion, à l’administration, au fonctionnement, à l’entretien, à la conservation, à la modernisation, à l’exploitation, au développement et à la propriété du canal de Panama et des régions rétrocédées qui restreint les droits d’investisseurs et de fournisseurs de services étrangers.

2. Le canal de Panama comprend la route aquatique comme telle, de même que les points d’ancrage, les quais d’accostage et les entrées, les terres et les eaux marines, lacustres et fluviales, les écluses, les barrages auxiliaires, les quais et les structures de contrôle de l’eau.

3. Les régions rétrocédées administrées par l’Autorité de la Région interocéanique comprennent les terres, édifices et installations et les autres biens qui ont été rétrocédés à la République du Panama en vertu du Traité du canal de Panama de 1977 et de ses annexes (le traité Torrijos-Carter).

4. Nonobstant la réserve formulée par le Panama dans la Liste du Panama, annexe II, à la page II-PA-9, le Panama accorde aux investisseurs du Canada, en ce qui a trait au canal de Panama et aux régions rétrocédées, un traitement non moins favorable à celui qu’il accorde, dans des circonstances similaires, aux investisseurs d’un État tiers en vertu d’un accord de libre-échange qui est entré en vigueur ou a été signé avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

Mesures existantes :

Secteur : Entreprises d’État

Sous-secteur :

Classification de

l’industrie :

Type de réserve : Traitement national (article 9.04)

Dirigeants et conseils d’administration (article 9.08)

Description : Investissement

1. Le Panama se réserve le droit d’imposer des restrictions sur le transfert ou l’aliénation d’une participation dans une entreprise d’État existante de manière que seuls des ressortissants du Panama puissent acquérir une telle participation. La présente réserve s’applique uniquement au transfert ou à l’aliénation initial de la participation, sous réserve de ce qui est prévu dans la Liste du Panama, annexe I, à la page I-PA-4 (Services publics).

  • 2. Il est entendu que :
    • a. d’une part, lorsque le Panama transfère une participation dans une entreprise d’État existante à une autre entreprise d’État, ce transfert n’est pas un transfert ou une aliénation initial de la participation pour l’application du paragraphe1;
    • b. d’autre part, lorsque le Panama transfère ou aliène une participation dans une entreprise d’État existante en plusieurs étapes, le paragraphe 1 s’applique séparément à chaque étape.

    3. Si le Panama transfère ou aliène une participation dans une entreprise d’État existante de la manière décrite au paragraphe1, il pourra adopter ou maintenir une mesure relative à la nationalité des dirigeants et des membres du conseil d’administration de l’entreprise qui acquiert cette participation.

    Mesures existantes :

    Secteur : Services de construction

    Sous-secteur :

    Classification de

    l’industrie :

    Type de réserve: Traitement national (article 10.03)

    Présence locale (article 10.06)

    Description : Commerce transfrontières des services

    Le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir des exigences en matière de résidence, d’enregistrement ou de présence locale, ou d’exiger une garantie financière, pourvu que cela soit nécessaire pour assurer le respect du droit panaméen et des obligations contractuelles privées.

    Mesures existantes :

    Secteur : Pêche et services relatifs à la pêche

    Sous-secteur :

    Classification de

    l’industrie :

    Type de réserve : Traitement national (articles 9.04 et 10.03)

    Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée (articles 9.05 et 10.04)

    Description : Investissement et commerce transfrontières des services

    Le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir une mesure relative aux exigences en matière d’investissement dans les navires pratiquant la pêche ou exerçant des activités connexes dans les eaux sous juridiction du Panama, ou aux exigences en matière de propriété, de contrôle ou d’exploitation des navires en question.

    Mesures existantes :

    Secteur : Tous les secteurs (Il est entendu que la présente réserve est assujettie au paragraphe 4 de la Liste du Panama, annexe II, page II-PA-4)

    Sous-secteur :

    Classification de

    l’industrie :

    Type de réserve : Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée (article 9.05)

    Description : Investissement

    1. Le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir une mesure accordant un traitement différencié aux pays avec lesquels il a conclu un accord international bilatéral ou multilatéral qui est entré en vigueur ou a été signé avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

    2. Le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir une mesure accordant un traitement différencié à un pays en vertu d’un accord bilatéral ou multilatéral qui est entré en vigueur ou a été signé avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord dans l’un ou l’autre des domaines suivants:

    • a. l’aviation;
    • b. les pêches;
    • c. les questions maritimes, y compris le sauvetage.

    Mesures existantes :

    Secteur : Tous les secteurs

    Sous-secteur :

    Classification de

    l’industrie :

    Type de réserve : Traitement national (article 10.03)

    Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée (article 10.04)

    Présence locale (article 10.06)

    Accès aux marchés (article 10.05)

    Description : Commerce transfrontières des services

    1. Le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir une mesure touchant à la fourniture d’un service dispensé dans l’exercice de l’autorité gouvernementale.

    2. L’expression «service dispensé dans l’exercice de l’autorité gouvernementale» s’entend d’un service qui n’est pas fourni sur une base commerciale ou en concurrence avec un fournisseur de services.

    Mesures existantes :

    Secteur : Tous les secteurs

    Sous-secteur :

    Classification de

    l’industrie :

    Type de réserve : Accès aux marchés (article 10.05)

    Description : Commerce transfrontières des services

    À l’exception des réserves formulées aux pages I-PA-13 (Énergie électrique), I-PA-40 (Services de télécommunications), I-PA-42 (Services d’hôtellerie et de restauration), I-PA-43 (Services récréatifs, culturels et sportifs), I-PA-44 (Services postaux) et I-PA-45 (Ports et aéroports) de la Liste du Panama, annexe I, le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir une mesure qui n’est pas incompatible avec ses obligations en vertu de l’article XVI de l’AGCS.

    Mesures :

    Secteur : Services de transport

    Sous-secteur : Services de transport routier

    Classification de

    l’industrie :

    Type de réserve : Traitement national (articles 9.04 et 10.03)

    Présence locale (article 10.06)

    Prescriptions de résultats (article 9.07)

    Dirigeants et conseils d’administration (article 9.08)

    Accès aux marchés (article 10.05)

    Description : Investissement et commerce transfrontières des services

    1. Le Panama se réserve le droit d’adopter ou de maintenir une mesure qui impose des restrictions sur la fourniture de services et l’investissement liés au transport régulier de passagers, au transport non régulier de passagers, aux services de location de véhicules de transport commercial avec chauffeur et aux services de gares routières.

    2. Le cabotage terrestre à l’intérieur des frontières nationales du Panama est réservé aux transporteurs nationaux.

    Mesures existantes :