Canada-Panama Free Trade Agreement

Background Information

Canada and Panama launched free trade negotiations in October 2008. Following several rounds of talks, including intersessional work, both countries announced on August 11, 2009, the conclusion of negotiations towards a free trade agreement (FTA), as well as agreements on labour cooperation and the environment (News Release: PM and President Ricardo Martinelli mark conclusion of Canada-Panama free trade negotiations). Elements covered by the FTA include: market access for goods, cross-border trade in services, telecommunications, investment, financial services and government procurement.  

Canada currently has a Foreign Investment Protection and Promotion Agreement (FIPA) with Panama, which came into force in 1998. The FTA Chapter on Investment replaces the existing FIPA, further locking in and expanding access for Canadian investors and their investments.

The Canada-Panama Free Trade Agreement and parallel agreements on labour cooperation and the environment were signed on May 14, 2010 (News Release: Minister Van Loan signs Canada-Panama Free Trade Agreement). 

Legislation to implement the three Agreements, Bill C-24 – the Canada-Panama Economic Growth and Prosperity Act, was tabled in the House of Commons on November 15, 2011. On December 14, 2012, The Canada-Panama Economic Growth and Prosperity Act received Royal Assent. On March 17, 2013, Minister Ablonczy announced that the Canada-Panama FTA will enter into force on April 1, 2013.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Panama

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le Canada et le Panama ont entamé des négociations de libre-échange en octobre 2008. À la suite de plusieurs séances de discussions, y compris le travail effectué entre les séances, les deux pays ont annoncé, le 11 août 2009, la conclusion des négociations en vue d’un accord de libre-échange (ALE) et d’accords parallèles sur la coopération dans le domaine du travail et sur l’environnement (communiqué intitulé : Le PM et le président Ricardo Martinelli annoncent la conclusion des négociations en vue d'un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Panama). L’ALE comporte des dispositions sur l’accès aux marchés pour les produits, le commerce transfrontalier des services, les télécommunications, l’investissement, les services financiers et les marchés publics.

Le Canada a déjà conclu un accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) avec le Panama, qui est entré en vigueur en 1998. Le chapitre sur l'investissement dans l'ALE remplace cet accord et permet d'assurer et d'élargir l'accès au marché pour les investisseurs et leurs investissements.

L'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Panama et les accords parallèles sur la coopération dans le domaine du travail et sur l’environnement ont été signés le 14 mai 2010 (communiqué intitulé : Le ministre Van Loan signe l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Panama).

Le projet de loi C-24 – Loi sur la croissance économique et la prospérité – Canada-Panama, visant la mise en œuvre des trois accords, a été déposé à la Chambre des communes le 15 novembre 2011. Le 14 décembre 2012 la Loi sur la croissance économique et la prospérité - Canada-Panama a reçu la sanction royale. Le 17 mars 2013, la ministre Ablonczy a annoncé que l'ALE entre le Canada et le Panama entrera en vigeur le 1er avril 2013.