Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou

Chapitre 19 - Transparence

Section A - Transparence

Article 1901 : Publication

1. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que ses lois, règlements, procédures et décisions administratives d’application générale concernant toute question visée par le présent accord soient publiés ou rendus accessibles d’une autre manière dans les moindres délais, pour permettre à l’autre Partie et aux personnes intéressées d’en prendre connaissance.

2. Dans la mesure du possible, chaque Partie :

a) publie à l’avance toute mesure du genre qu’elle envisage d’adopter; et

b) ménage à l’autre Partie et aux personnes intéressées une possibilité raisonnable de la commenter.

Article 1902 : Notification et information

1. Dans toute la mesure du possible, chaque Partie notifie à l’autre Partie toute mesure qu’elle envisage d’adopter ou adopte et dont elle estime qu’elle pourrait affecter sensiblement le fonctionnement du présent accord ou, d’une autre manière, affecter substantiellement les intérêts de l’autre Partie au titre du présent accord.

2. Chaque Partie, à la demande de l’autre Partie, fournit des renseignements promptement et répond aux questions sur toute mesure qu’elle adopte ou envisage d’adopter, que l’autre Partie ait ou non préalablement reçu notification de cette mesure.

3. Toute notification ou communication de renseignements en vertu du présent article ne préjuge aucunement la question de savoir si la mesure en cause est compatible avec le présent accord.

Article 1903 : Procédures administratives

Aux fins d’administrer d’une manière cohérente, impartiale et raisonnable toutes les mesures d’application générale touchant les questions visées par le présent accord, chaque Partie, dans ses procédures administratives appliquant des mesures visées à l’article 1901 à des personnes, des produits ou des services de l’autre Partie dans des cas particuliers, fait en sorte :

a) que les personnes de l’autre Partie qui sont directement touchées par une procédure reçoivent, chaque fois que cela est possible et en conformité avec les procédures internes, un préavis raisonnable de l’engagement d’une procédure, ainsi que des informations sur la nature de la procédure, un énoncé des dispositions législatives l’autorisant et une description générale des questions en litige;

b) que lesdites personnes se voient accorder une possibilité raisonnable de présenter des éléments factuels et des arguments à l’appui de leur position avant toute décision administrative finale, pour autant que les délais, la nature de la procédure et l’intérêt public le permettent;

c) que ses procédures soient conformes à sa législation interne.

Article 1904 : Révision et appel

1. Chaque Partie institue ou maintient des tribunaux ou des instances judiciaires, quasi judiciaires ou administratifs afin que soient révisées et, lorsque cela est justifié, corrigées dans les moindres délais les décisions administratives finales relatives à des questions visées par le présent accord. Lesdits tribunaux sont impartiaux et indépendants du bureau ou de l’autorité chargée de l’application des prescriptions administratives, et ils n’ont aucun intérêt substantiel dans l’issue de la question en litige.

2. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que, dans lesdits tribunaux ou instances, les parties à la procédure bénéficient :

a) d’une possibilité raisonnable de soutenir ou de défendre leurs positions respectives; et

b) d’une décision fondée sur les éléments de preuve et sur les conclusions déposées ou, lorsque la législation interne l’exige, sur le dossier constitué par l’autorité administrative.

3. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que, sous réserve d’appel ou de révision conformément à sa législation interne, lesdites décisions soient appliquées par les bureaux ou les autorités qui régissent la pratique au regard de la décision administrative en cause.

Article 1905 : Coopération pour la promotion d’un accroissement de la transparence

Les Parties conviennent de coopérer dans les enceintes bilatérales, régionales et multilatérales sur les moyens de promouvoir la transparence en matière de commerce et d’investissement internationaux.

Article 1906 : Définitions

Aux fins de la présente section :

décision administrative d’application générale s’entend d’une décision ou d’une interprétation administrative qui s’applique à toutes les personnes et situations de fait généralement visées par elle et qui établit une norme de conduite, mais à l’exclusion :

a) d’une détermination ou d’une décision rendue dans le cadre d’une procédure administrative ou quasi judiciaire s’appliquant à une personne, à un produit ou à un service de l’autre Partie dans un cas particulier; ou

b) d’une décision qui statue sur un acte ou sur une pratique en particulier.

Section B - Anticorruption

Article 1907 : Déclaration de principes

Les Parties affirment leur détermination à prévenir et lutter contre la corruption dans le commerce et l’investissement internationaux.

Article 1908 : Mesures anticorruption

1. Chaque Partie adopte ou maintient les mesures législatives nécessaires ou autres mesures, pour établir qu’en matière de commerce ou d’investissement international, est constitutif d’une infraction criminelle, lorsqu’il est commis intentionnellement :

a) le fait, pour un agent public, de solliciter ou d’accepter, directement ou indirectement, un avantage indu pour lui-même, une autre personne ou une entité, en contrepartie d’un acte ou d’une omission dans le cadre de l’exécution des fonctions officielles de cet agent;

b) le fait de promettre, offrir ou donner, directement ou indirectement, à un agent public un avantage indu pour lui-même, une autre personne ou une entité, en contrepartie d’un acte ou d’une omission dans le cadre de l’exécution des fonctions officielles de cet agent;

c) le fait de promettre, offrir ou donner, directement ou indirectement, à un agent public étranger ou à un agent d’une organisation internationale publique un avantage indu pour lui-même, une autre personne ou une entité, afin que cet agent agisse ou s’abstienne d’agir dans le cadre de l’exécution de ses fonctions officielles, en vue d’obtenir ou de conserver certaines affaires ou un autre avantage indu relié à la conduite du commerce international;

d) le fait d’apporter une aide, d’être complice ou de conspirer lors de la perpétration de toute infraction visée aux sous-paragraphes a) à c).

2. Chaque Partie adopte les mesures nécessaires pour établir sa compétence sur les infractions commises sur son territoire.

3. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que la commission d’une infraction décrite au présent accord soit passible de sanctions qui prennent en considération la gravité de l’infraction.

4. Chaque Partie adopte, conformément à ses principes de droit, les mesures nécessaires pour établir la responsabilité des entreprises dans la participation aux infractions visées au présent accord. En particulier, chaque Partie fait en sorte que les entreprises tenues responsables au titre du présent article soient passibles de sanctions criminelles ou non criminelles effectives, proportionnées et dissuasives, notamment de sanctions pécuniaires.

5. Chaque Partie étudie la possibilité d’incorporer dans son système juridique interne, au niveau national, des mesures appropriées pour protéger contre tout traitement injustifié les personnes qui signalent de bonne foi et sur le fondement de motifs raisonnables aux autorités compétentes des faits concernant les infractions visées au présent accord.

Article 1909 : Coopération dans les enceintes internationales

Les Parties reconnaissent l’importance des initiatives régionales et multilatérales pour prévenir et lutter contre la corruption dans le commerce et l’investissement internationaux. Les Parties conviennent de collaborer à l’avancement des initiatives des tribunes régionales et multilatérales en vue de prévenir et lutter contre la corruption dans le commerce et l’investissement internationaux, notamment en encourageant et en appuyant les initiatives appropriées.

Article 1910 : Définitions

Aux fins de la présente section :

agent public désigne toute personne physique occupant une fonction administrative, législative, exécutive ou judiciaire d’une Partie, qu’elle soit nommée ou élue et que son poste soit permanent ou temporaire;

agent public étranger désigne toute personne physique occupant une fonction administrative, législative, exécutive ou judiciaire d’un pays étranger, qu’elle soit nommée ou élue; toute personne physique exerçant une fonction publique pour un pays étranger, y compris pour un organisme public ou une entreprise publique;

fonction publique désigne toute activité temporaire ou permanente, rémunérée ou exercée à titre honorifique, exercée par une personne physique au nom ou au service d’une Partie ou de ses institutions à tout niveau hiérarchique.

Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement

Chapter 19 - Transparency

Section A - Transparency

Article 1901: Publication

1. Each Party shall ensure that its laws, regulations, procedures and administrative rulings of general application respecting any matter covered by this Agreement are promptly published or otherwise made available in such a manner as to enable interested persons and the other Party to become acquainted with them.

2. To the extent possible, each Party shall:

(a) publish in advance any such measure that it proposes to adopt; and

(b) provide interested persons and the other Party a reasonable opportunity to comment on such proposed measures.

Article 1902: Notification and Provision of Information

1. To the maximum extent possible, each Party shall notify the other Party of any proposed or actual measure that the Party considers might materially affect the operation of this Agreement or otherwise substantially affect the other Party's interests under this Agreement.

2. On request of the other Party, a Party shall promptly provide information and respond to questions pertaining to any actual or proposed measure, whether or not the other Party has been previously notified of that measure.

3. Any notification or information provided under this Article shall be without prejudice as to whether the measure is consistent with this Agreement.

Article 1903: Administrative Proceedings

With a view to administering in a consistent, impartial and reasonable manner all measures of general application affecting matters covered by this Agreement, each Party shall ensure that in its administrative proceedings applying measures referred to in Article 1901 to particular persons, goods or services of the other Party in specific cases:

(a) wherever possible, persons of the other Party that are directly affected by a proceeding are provided reasonable notice, in accordance with domestic procedures, when a proceeding is initiated, including a description of the nature of the proceeding, a statement of the legal authority under which the proceeding is initiated and a general description of any issues in controversy;

(b) such persons are afforded a reasonable opportunity to present facts and arguments in support of their positions prior to any final administrative action, when permitted by time, the nature of the proceeding, and the public interest; and

(c) its procedures are in accordance with domestic law.

Article 1904: Review and Appeal

1. Each Party shall establish or maintain judicial, quasi-judicial or administrative tribunals or procedures for the purpose of the prompt review and, where warranted, correction of final administrative actions regarding matters covered by this Agreement. Such tribunals shall be impartial and independent of the office or authority entrusted with administrative enforcement and shall not have any substantial interest in the outcome of the matter.

2. Each Party shall ensure that, in any such tribunals or procedures, the parties to the proceeding are provided with the right to:

(a) a reasonable opportunity to support or defend their respective positions; and

(b) a decision based on the evidence and submissions of record or, where required by domestic law, the record compiled by the administrative authority.

3. Each Party shall ensure, subject to appeal or further review as provided in its domestic law, that such decisions shall be implemented by, and shall govern the practice of, the offices or authorities with respect to the administrative action at issue.

Article 1905: Cooperation on Promoting Increased Transparency

The Parties agree to cooperate in bilateral, regional and multilateral fora on means to promote transparency in respect of international trade and investment.

Article 1906: Definitions

For purposes of this Section:

administrative ruling of general application means an administrative ruling or interpretation that applies to all persons and fact situations that fall generally within its ambit and that establishes a norm of conduct but does not include:

(a) a determination or ruling made in an administrative or quasi-judicial proceeding that applies to a particular person, good or service of the other Party in a specific case; or

(b) a ruling that adjudicates with respect to a particular act or practice.

Section B - Anti-Corruption

Article 1907: Statement of Principles

The Parties affirm their resolve to prevent and combat bribery and corruption in international trade and investment.

Article 1908: Anti-Corruption Measures

1. Each Party shall adopt or maintain the necessary legislative or other measures to establish, in matters affecting international trade or investment, as criminal offences when committed intentionally:

(a) the solicitation or acceptance by a public official, directly or indirectly, of an undue advantage for the official himself or another person or entity, in order that the official act or refrain from acting in the exercise of his official duties;

(b) the promise, offering or giving to a public official, directly or indirectly, of an undue advantage for the official himself or another person or entity, in order that the official act or refrain from acting in the exercise of his official duties;

(c) the promise, offering or giving to a foreign public official or an official of a public international organization, directly or indirectly, of an undue advantage for the official himself or another person or entity, in order that the official act or refrain from acting in relation to the performance of official duties, in order to obtain or retain business or other undue advantage in relation to the conduct of international business; and

(d) aiding, abetting or conspiring to commit any of the offences described in subparagraphs (a) through (c).

2. Each Party shall adopt such measures as may be necessary to establish its jurisdiction over offences committed in its territory.

3. Each Party shall make the commission of an offence covered by this Agreement liable to sanctions that take into account the gravity of that offence.

4. Each Party shall adopt such measures as may be necessary, consistent with its legal principles, to establish the liability of enterprises for participation in the offences covered by this Agreement. In particular, each Party shall ensure that enterprises held liable in accordance with this Article are subject to effective, proportionate and dissuasive criminal or non-criminal sanctions, including monetary sanctions.

5. Each Party shall consider incorporating in its domestic legal system at the national level appropriate measures to provide protection against any unjustified treatment for any person who reports in good faith and on reasonable grounds to the competent authorities any facts concerning offences established in accordance with this Agreement.

Article 1909: Cooperation in International Fora

The Parties recognize the importance of regional and multilateral initiatives to prevent and combat bribery and corruption in international trade and investment. The Parties agree to work together to advance efforts in regional and multilateral fora to prevent and combat bribery and corruption in international trade and investment, including encouraging and supporting appropriate initiatives.

Article 1910: Definitions

For purposes of this Section:

foreign public official means any natural person holding a legislative, executive, administrative, or judicial office of a foreign country, whether appointed or elected, and any natural person exercising a public function for a foreign country, including for a public agency or public enterprise;

public function means any temporary or permanent, paid or honorary activity, performed by a natural person in the name of a Party or in the service of a Party or its institutions, at any level of its hierarchy; and

public official means any natural person holding a legislative, executive, administrative or judicial office of a Party, whether appointed or elected and whether permanent or temporary.