Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) Free Trade Negotiations

TPP 101

About the TPP

The rapidly-growing Asia-Pacific market is critical to Canada’s growth and economic prosperity. 

The Trans-Pacific Partnership is one of the most ambitious trade and investment initiatives being negotiated in the Asia-Pacific region. TPP members want an ambitious, 21st-century agreement that will enhance trade and investment among the partner countries, promote innovation, economic growth and development, and create jobs.    

TPP member countries

The TPP currently comprises 12 countries: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States, and Vietnam.

TPP market size

TPP counties represent a market of 792 million people and a combined GDP of $28.1 trillion (close to 40 percent of the world economy).

TPP negotiations

The TPP addresses new trade issues and 21st century challenges, exploring both tariff and non-tariff barriers to trade and investment, with the goal of facilitating the movement of people, goods, services, capital, and data across borders. General information about some of the topics typically covered in a free-trade agreement can be found on the Trade Topics webpage. In addition, the agreement’s broad outline, issued by TPP leaders in 2011, provides further insight into the objectives of the TPP and the areas under negotiation.

For additional information on the TPP, please visit FAQs and Did You Know.