Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) Free Trade Negotiations

Consulting Canadians

The Government of Canada launched a comprehensive consultation process on December 31, 2011, involving the Canadian public, provinces and territories, businesses and non-governmental organizations, seeking advice and views on priorities, objectives and concerns with respect to the TPP to help Canada outline the parameters of this initiative (see Canada Gazette: Consultations on Potential Free Trade Agreement Negotiations with Trans-Pacific Partnership Members).  This process indicated broad support for Canada’s entry into the negotiations.

As with Canada’s engagement in any free-trade negotiation, interested stakeholders have an opportunity to provide their views related to Canada’s interests in the TPP. In addition, general briefings are offered on an ad hoc basis and on occasion subject-matter experts may be consulted to help inform Canada’s negotiating positions on certain technical areas under discussion.  Furthermore, stakeholder engagement events were incorporated into each full negotiating round, providing an opportunity for both industry and non-industry representatives to register to participate officially and to engage directly with TPP negotiators. Any interested stakeholder could register for these events.

During Round 19, 150 stakeholders from TPP member countries participated in a stakeholder forum hosted by Brunei. During the event, presentations were made on a wide range of issues of interest and concern to industry, non-governmental organisations, academia and special interests groups. Chief negotiators also met informally with stakeholders to discuss in detail specific issues of interest to the public.Canadian negotiators have heard from a wide range of industry and non-industry stakeholders through these stakeholder engagement events and other mechanisms and continue to welcome views to help inform negotiating positions (see Contact Point below).

Also see information on Environmental Assessment Consultations.

Négociations de libre-échange du Partenariat transpacifique (PTP)

Consultations auprès des Canadiens

Le 31 décembre 2011, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé un vaste processus de consultation auprès de la population canadienne, des provinces et territoires, des entreprises et des organisations non gouvernementales, pour connaître leur avis sur les priorités et les objectifs du PTP ainsi que leurs préoccupations à cet égard, afin d’aider le Canada à établir la portée de cette initiative (voir l’avis publié dans la Gazette du Canada : Consultations sur d’éventuelles négociations en vue d’un accord de libre-échange avec les membres du Partenariat transpacifique). Ce processus a révélé un appui général en faveur de la participation du Canada à ces négociations.

Comme dans toutes les négociations sur des accords de libre-échange menées par le Canada, les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire connaître leur point de vue en ce qui concerne les intérêts du Canada relatifs au PTP. De plus, des séances d’information de nature générale sont tenues sur une base ponctuelle, et des spécialistes sont consultés à l’occasion pour orienter l’élaboration des positions de négociation du Canada dans certains domaines techniques faisant l’objet des pourparlers. En outre, chaque série complète de négociations comportait un processus d’échanges avec les parties intéressées, auquel pouvaient s’inscrire des représentants d’entreprises et d’autres organisations pour avoir ainsi l’occasion de discuter directement avec les négociateurs du PTP. Toute personne intéressée pouvait s’inscrire pour participer à ces rencontres.

Pendant la 19e série de négociations, 150 intervenants des pays membres du PTP ont participé à un forum des intervenants organisé par le Brunéi. Pendant l'activité, des présentations ont été réalisées sur un vaste éventail de sujets d'intérêt et de préoccupation pour l'industrie, les organisations non gouvernementales, le milieu universitaire et des groupes ayant des intérêts particuliers. Les négociateurs en chef ont également tenu des rencontres informelles avec des intervenants afin de discuter en profondeur d’enjeux précis d’intérêt public. Les négociateurs canadiens ont profité de ces activités et d’autres initiatives pour prendre connaissance du point de vue de nombreux représentants de l'industrie et d'autres parties intéressées, et ils seront heureux de continuer à obtenir leur avis en vue d'orienter l'établissement des positions de négociation (voir la section "Point de contact" ci-dessous).

Veuillez également consulter les renseignements sur les consultations tenues dans le cadre de l’évaluation environnementale.