Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Intent to Conduct an Environmental Assessment of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Free Trade Agreement

Closing date:  January 30, 2013

On October 9, 2012, the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, regional minister for British Columbia, on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, announced that Canada has formally joined the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) free trade negotiations. (see News Release: Canada Formally Joins Trans-Pacific Partnership). 

Opening new markets and increasing Canadian exports to fast-growing markets throughout the Asia-Pacific region is a key part of our government’s plan to create jobs, growth and long-term prosperity. The TPP membership, now including Canada and Mexico, represents a market of 658 million people and a GDP of $20.5 trillion, with the potential to grow further with the entry of additional countries in the future.

The Government of Canada is committed to sustainable development. Mutually supportive trade, investment and environmental policies can contribute to this objective. To this end, the Minister of International Trade has directed negotiators to seek information and otherwise improve their understanding of, the relationship between trade and environmental issues at the earliest stages of decision making, and to do this through an open and inclusive process. Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are critical to this work.

The Government of Canada is conducting an Environmental Assessment (EA) to inform these free trade negotiations. All interested parties are invited to provide comments on any likely and significant environmental impacts which this prospective Free Trade Agreement (FTA) may have on Canada.

This process is guided by the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations and direction from the 2010 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals.

For more information, please visit:

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on any likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada resulting from the prospective Trans-Pacific Partnership Free Trade Agreement by January 30, 2013.

Contributions can be sent by e-mail, fax or mail to:

Environmental Assessment Consultations – Canada-TPP Trade Negotiations
Trade Agreements and NAFTA Secretariat (TAS)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-992-9392
E-mail: EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d’intention de procéder à une évaluation environnementale des effets d’un accord de libre-échange du Partenariat transpacifique

Date de clôture : le 30 janvier 2013

Le 9 octobre 2012, Le ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles et ministre responsable de la Colombie-Britannique, l’honorable James Moore, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast,  a annoncé que le Canada s’est officiellement joint aux pourparlers commerciaux du Partenariat transpacifique. (voir le Communiqué intitulé : Le Canada se joint officiellement au Partenariat transpacifique).

Ouvrir de nouveaux marchés et intensifier les exportations canadiennes vers les marchés en croissance rapide de l’Asie-Pacifique font partie des axes autour desquels s’articule le plan du gouvernement visant à créer des emplois, à stimuler la croissance et à favoriser la prospérité à long terme. Avec l’ajout du Canada et du Mexique, les membres du PTP représentent un marché de plus de 658 millions de personnes dont le PIB combiné atteint 20,5 billions de dollars, ce qui pourrait encore augmenter dans l’avenir si d’autres pays adhèrent à ce partenariat.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolument en faveur du développement durable. Des politiques relatives au commerce, à l’investissement et à l’environnement qui se renforcent mutuellement peuvent contribuer à l’atteinte de cet objectif. À cette fin, le ministre du Commerce international a demandé aux responsables du commerce de recueillir de l’information et d’approfondir leur compréhension de la corrélation entre les enjeux commerciaux et environnementaux dès les premières étapes du processus décisionnel, et ce, de façon ouverte. L’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales constitue un élément essentiel de ce travail.

Le gouvernement du Canada procède actuellement à une évaluation environnementale en vue d’orienter ces négociations. Toutes les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire part de leurs commentaires concernant les effets environnementaux importants et probables qu’un accord de libre‑échange du Partenariat transpacifique pourrait avoir sur le Canada.

Ce processus s’inspire du Cadre d’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales du Canada de 2001 et de la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter:

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire parvenir leurs commentaires sur les effets environnementaux importants et probables qu’un éventuel accord de libre-échange du Partenariat transpacifique pourrait avoir sur le Canada d’ici le 30 janvier 2013.

Vous pouvez envoyer votre contribution par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées suivantes:

Consultations sur l’évaluation environnementale d’un accord de libre-échange du Partenariat transpacifique
Secrétariat des ententes et de l'ALÉNA (TAS)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, Édifice Lester B. Pearson,
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Courriel: EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca 
Télécopieur: 613-992-9392