Trans-Pacific Partnership

Trade Ministers’ Report to Leaders

October 8, 2013

Based on your instruction to seek to conclude the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement this year, Ministers and negotiators for the 12 TPP countries have been working intensively in recent months and are moving closer to finalizing this landmark agreement.  Ministers have actively engaged both plurilaterally and bilaterally to address specific issues and provide guidance to our negotiators.  Negotiating teams have now met for 19 formal rounds of talks, as well as in numerous intersessional meetings, to exchange proposals, identify creative and pragmatic solutions to outstanding issues, and close gaps. 

The common vision and joint commitment of the TPP Leaders to a state-of-the-art agreement that establishes high standards and new disciplines has guided our work.  Ministers continue to explore mutually-acceptable solutions on the remaining issues.  Additional discussions here in Bali on these issues – including related to market access for goods, services/investment, financial services, government procurement, investment, temporary entry, and labor – have been productive, and will inform the work of negotiators in the weeks ahead.  Ministers have also discussed how best to achieve an ambitious, balanced, 21st-century agreement that will enhance trade and investment among us, promote innovation, economic growth and development, and support the creation and retention of jobs in our countries. 

Since the last meeting of the TPP Leaders in 2011, Mexico, Canada, and most recently, Japan have joined the TPP negotiations.  The successful integration of these partners into the negotiations reflects the vigorous work of the original TPP countries to actively facilitate their entry, as well as the serious efforts of new members to contribute constructively toward an ambitious and timely conclusion.  With its current membership, the TPP now includes some of the world’s most robust economies, representing nearly 40 percent of global GDP and about one-third of all world trade. The growth of the initiative from five countries just a few years ago to 12 today validates the TPP’s high-standard approach as a promising pathway to a Free Trade Area of the Asia Pacific.

Ministers, negotiators and officials will continue to actively engage stakeholders in our respective countries, ensuring the transparent process to which Leaders are committed.  Ministers and negotiators alike genuinely value the detailed input of stakeholders on many issues.  While frequently reflecting different perspectives, such wide-ranging input provides a deeper understanding of the important issues Asia-Pacific businesses, workers, consumers, and families face.  Ministers will continue to seek to craft an agreement that appropriately and fairly balances this range of interests to achieve a comprehensive and transformative agreement with broadly shared benefits. 

Negotiators have made significant strides toward realizing each of the five defining features of this historic agreement, which can set the standard for future trade agreements. 

1. Comprehensive Market Access

The 12 TPP negotiating teams continue to focus on achieving our goal of  a comprehensive, high-standard market access package that provides comprehensive, duty-free access to each other’s goods markets and simultaneously lifts restrictions on services, investment, financial services, temporary entry, and government procurement.  On goods market access, Ministers have agreed on a timeline for progress in order to accelerate the pace of their work and finalize the overall package on the timeframe Leaders envision.  Much progress has been achieved, but agreement remains outstanding on treatment of the most sensitive products.  Chief negotiators and team leaders are coordinating the work of each of the goods market access teams in order to move the process forward successfully. 

At the same time, negotiators are continuing to make progress toward packages that will provide TPP countries access to one another’s services, investment, temporary entry, and government procurement markets.  Access to services and investment markets is being negotiated on a “negative list” basis, which assumes access unless countries take an exception.  Ministers recognize the substantial benefits that liberalizing services sectors can have on enhancing regional and global competitiveness, and each TPP country has successively improved its market access offers over the past year.  Still, additional work remains to achieve an outcome on services and investment consistent with Leaders’ objectives for a high-standard outcome.   On government procurement, recognizing the significant opportunities for our businesses and workers in this area, TPP countries continue to refine and enhance market access offers in order to reach agreement. 

2. Regional Agreement

To help promote production and supply chains and trade among the TPP countries, and to support jobs across the region, Ministers have agreed that negotiators will construct a single tariff schedule and have common rules of origin.  In a difficult and time-consuming exercise, the 12 negotiating teams have agreed on a significant share of these rules and are intensifying their engagement to ensure they complete the remaining work.   The goal of Ministers and negotiators is to develop trade-facilitating rules of origin that encourage cumulation across the region, which will promote production and supply chains between the TPP countries and make it much easier for businesses, both large and small, to take advantage of the agreement.  In addition, to support the development of value chains among TPP members, negotiators are far along toward agreement on such issues as customs, express delivery, e-commerce, and standards.  In all of these areas, the goal is high-standard outcomes that will facilitate trade and create new opportunities for businesses and workers in all TPP countries.

3. Cross-Cutting Trade Issues

Negotiators are in the final stages of our work on four cross-cutting issues that advance APEC work under taken in these areas, and which seek to address issues that have an impact on trade and the capacity of its benefits to be broadly shared.  These include: 

  • a. Regulatory and other non-tariff barriers.  These have increasingly replaced tariff barriers as the key obstacle businesses face in accessing foreign markets.  The TPP countries have agreed on ways to improve our regulatory practices, promote transparency, and conduct regulatory processes in a more trade-facilitative manner, as well as to coordinate approaches in specific sectors.
  • b. Competitiveness and business facilitation. This work includes a plan for holistic review of TPP countries’ progress toward developing the production and supply chains that will enhance competitiveness and maintain jobs in our markets, as well as mechanisms to update commitments in the future as appropriate.
  • c. Small and medium-sized enterprises. Expanding the participation of SMEs in regional trade will be helped by the enhancement of access to specific, relevant, and user-friendly information and resources about the TPP and its benefits.
  • d. Capacity building, cooperation and development.  This work seeks to address the needs of current and future TPP countries to implement the ambitious provisions of the agreement and thus fully realize its benefits, and includes additional commitments to enable TPP to contribute to each of our economic development priorities, including through public-private partnerships.                                              

4. New Trade Issues

A hallmark of the TPP agreement will be its treatment of new issues that have emerged in global trade.  Ministers and negotiators continue to work toward agreement on these issues, including promoting the new digital economy, capturing the benefits of green growth and new technologies, ensuring a transparent and pro-competitive business environment, and coordinating to advance common policy goals, such as ensuring that our trade agreements are supportive of key public health and environmental priorities. Ministers recognize that groundbreaking work is being done in these areas.  As such, engagement is serious and constructive, and focused on bridging differences and reaching high-standard disciplines in these complex and sensitive areas.  

5. Living Agreement

The integration of Mexico, Canada, and Japan into the TPP since Leaders’ last meeting has served to further strengthen the TPP.   Ministers have been pleased by the interest of additional Asia-Pacific countries in joining TPP in the future and stand ready to engage with them to facilitate their participation following the completion of the initial agreement.  Reflecting the Leaders’ commitment to make possible the expansion of the TPP to countries across the region, the teams are nearing accord on a structure, institutions, and processes that will make the TPP a living agreement and which can evolve as appropriate in response to future developments in trade, investment, technology, or other emerging issues and challenges, as well as future joint work in areas of common interest. 

Next Steps

Ministers will remain actively engaged in advancing the negotiations to a successful conclusion.  We will commit the resources necessary to do so.  We also will continue to remain actively engaged with our respective stakeholders as we move forward.  The final stage of the TPP talks will require an intensification of effort at all levels to find creative, pragmatic, and flexible approaches to resolve outstanding issues, as well as an unwavering commitment to the high-standard, ambitious outcome that the TPP Leaders – and indeed, your Ministers and negotiators – seek.

Traduction non officielle

Partenariat Transpacifique

Rapport des ministres du Commerce aux dirigeants

Le 8 octobre 2013

Conformément à votre instruction de chercher à conclure l’accord du Partenariat transpacifique cette année, les ministres et les négociateurs des 12 pays du PTP ont déployé des efforts importants au cours des derniers mois pour faire progresser les pourparlers et ils se rapprochent maintenant de la conclusion de cet accord sans précédent. Les ministres se sont efforcés, à la fois dans des contextes plurilatéraux et bilatéraux, de régler des différends spécifiques et de fournir de l’orientation à leurs négociateurs. Les équipes de négociation se sont maintenant rencontrées à l’occasion de 19 séries de pourparlers formelles, ainsi que lors de nombreuses réunions tenues entre ces séries, pour échanger des propositions, chercher des solutions créatives et pragmatiques aux enjeux restants, et resserrer les écarts.

La vision et l’engagement communs des dirigeants des pays du PTP à l’égard d’un accord de pointe qui établit des normes élevées et de nouvelles disciplines ont guidé notre travail. Les ministres continuent de chercher des solutions mutuellement acceptables aux questions restantes. D’autres discussions, ici, à Bali, sur ces questions – portant notamment sur l’accès aux marchés des marchandises, des services et de l’investissement, les services financiers, les marchés publics, l’investissement, l’admission temporaire et le travail – ont été productives et nous en communiquerons le fruit aux négociateurs dans les semaines à venir. Les ministres ont également discuté des meilleurs moyens d’obtenir un accord ambitieux et équilibré du XXIe siècle, qui accroîtra le commerce et l’investissement entre les parties, encouragera l’innovation, la croissance économique et le développement, et appuiera la création et la rétention d’emplois dans leurs pays.

Depuis la dernière réunion des dirigeants du PTP, en 2011, le Mexique, le Canada, et plus récemment le Japon, se sont joints aux négociations. L’intégration réussie de ces partenaires témoigne du travail assidu des pays à l’origine du PTP pour faciliter leur entrée, ainsi que des efforts importants déployés par ces nouveaux membres pour contribuer de manière constructive à la conclusion rapide d’un accord ambitieux. Au regard de sa composition actuelle, le PTP inclut certaines des économies les plus solides du monde, qui représentent ensemble près de 40 p. 100 du PIB mondial et comptent pour environ un tiers des échanges commerciaux à l’échelle internationale. La croissance de l’initiative de cinq pays il y a seulement quelques années, à 12 pays aujourd’hui, témoigne de la démarche solide et prometteuse suivie pour créer une zone de libre-échange dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.

Les ministres, les négociateurs et les représentants continueront de consulter activement les intervenants dans leurs pays respectifs, pour garantir la transparence du processus et ainsi permettre aux dirigeants de respecter leur engagement à cet égard. Les ministres, tout autant que les négociateurs, apprécient réellement les contributions détaillées des intervenants sur de nombreux sujets. Bien qu’elles reflètent souvent des perspectives différentes, ces contributions diverses permettent de mieux comprendre les difficultés auxquelles font face notamment les entreprises, les travailleurs et les consommateurs de l’Asie-Pacifique. Les ministres continueront de viser l’élaboration d’un accord tenant compte de manière équilibrée et équitable de toute la gamme des intérêts, pour obtenir un résultat exhaustif et transformateur qui aura de vastes retombées positives partagées.

Les négociateurs ont fait des progrès importants au chapitre de la réalisation de chacun des cinq volets déterminants de cet accord historique, qui pourrait devenir la norme en matière d’accord commercial à l’avenir.

1. Accès étendu au marché

Les 12 équipes de négociation du PTP continuent de viser de vastes et importants engagements en matière d’accès aux marchés, accompagnés de normes élevées, qui offriront aux membres un accès complet réciproque, en franchise de droits à leurs marchés des marchandises respectifs et qui lèveront en même temps des restrictions imposées sur les services, l’investissement, les services financiers, l’admission temporaire et les marchés publics. En ce qui concerne l’accès au marché des marchandises, les ministres ont convenu d’un échéancier de progrès à réaliser dans l’optique d’accélérer le rythme de leurs travaux et de finaliser les engagements généraux dans les délais prévus par les dirigeants. Des progrès importants ont été réalisés, mais les parties ne s’entendent toujours pas sur le traitement à réserver à la majorité des marchandises sensibles. Les négociateurs en chef et les chefs d’équipe coordonnent les efforts de chacune des équipes responsables de l’accès aux marchés des marchandises pour faire avancer les pourparlers.

Dans le même temps, les négociateurs continuent de faire des progrès vers la prise d’engagements qui accorderont aux pays du PTP un accès réciproque à leurs marchés respectifs des services, de l’investissement et de l’admission temporaire, ainsi qu’à leurs marchés publics. L’accès aux marchés des services et de l’investissement est négocié suivant le principe des « listes négatives », qui suppose un accès à moins que certains pays ne demandent une exception. Les ministres reconnaissent que la libéralisation des secteurs des services peut contribuer largement à l’amélioration de la compétitivité régionale et mondiale; et chaque pays du PTP a successivement amélioré ses offres d’accès au marché tout au long de l’année dernière. Il reste toutefois encore du chemin à parcourir pour obtenir des résultats concernant les services et l’investissement à la hauteur des objectifs ambitieux des dirigeants. En ce qui concerne les marchés publics, les pays du PTP continueront de raffiner et d’améliorer leurs offres d’accès au marché en vue de parvenir à une entente, compte tenu des débouchés importants pour leurs entreprises et leurs travailleurs dans ce domaine.

2. Accord régional

Afin de favoriser les chaînes de production et d’approvisionnement ainsi que les échanges entre les pays du PTP, et d’appuyer la création d’emplois dans toute la région, les ministres ont convenu de demander aux négociateurs de s’entendre sur une liste tarifaire unique et des règles d’origine communes. Ainsi, à la suite d’un exercice long et difficile, les douze équipes de négociation se sont entendues sur une grande partie de ces règles et intensifient actuellement leurs travaux afin de régler les éléments demeurés en suspens. L’objectif visé par les ministres et les négociateurs consiste à établir une série de règles d’origine visant à faciliter le commerce tout en favorisant le cumul à l’échelle de la région, ce qui permettra de promouvoir les chaînes de production et d’approvisionnement entre les pays du PTP et permettra aux entreprises, qu’elles soient de petite ou de grande taille, de profiter beaucoup plus facilement de l’accord. En outre, afin d’appuyer l’établissement de chaînes de valeur entre les membres du PTP, les négociateurs ont réalisé d’importants progrès en vue de s’entendre sur des questions comme les douanes, la livraison express, le commerce électronique et les normes. Dans tous ces domaines, le but est d’arriver à des résultats ambitieux qui faciliteront les échanges et créeront de nouveaux débouchés pour les entreprises et les travailleurs dans tous les pays du PTP.

3. Enjeux commerciaux transversaux

Les négociateurs ont presque terminé les travaux portant sur quatre questions transversales qui permettent de faire progresser les travaux entrepris par l’APEC dans les mêmes domaines et qui visent à répondre à des questions ayant une incidence sur le commerce et sur la répartition plus générale des avantages qui en découlent. Ces questions sont les suivantes :

  • a. Obstacles relatifs à la réglementation et autres obstacles non tarifaires :Ces obstacles sont en train de devenir plus importants que les obstacles tarifaires et constituent de plus en plus les principaux obstacles auxquels se heurtent les entreprises au moment d’accéder aux marchés étrangers. Les pays du PTP se sont entendus sur des façons d’améliorer leurs pratiques en matière de réglementation, de promouvoir la transparence et de mener des processus de réglementation d’une manière qui favorise davantage le commerce. Ils ont aussi convenu de coordonner leurs approches dans certains secteurs.
  • b. Compétitivité et facilitation des échanges : Les travaux dans ce domaine comprennent l’établissement d’un plan pour l’examen global des progrès réalisés par les pays du PTP en vue de renforcer les chaînes de production et d’approvisionnement qui favoriseront la compétitivité et garantiront que les emplois demeurent dans nos marchés, ainsi que d’établir les mécanismes qui permettront de mettre à jour nos engagements dans l’avenir, le cas échéant.
  • c. Petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) :L’accès accru à des renseignements et des ressources précises, pertinentes et faciles à consulter au sujet du PTP et de ses avantages contribuera à favoriser une plus grande participation des PME aux échanges commerciaux régionaux.
  • d. Renforcement des capacités, coopération et développement :Les travaux dans ce domaine visent à répondre aux besoins des pays membres du PTP et de ceux qui s’y joindront pour ce qui est de la mise en œuvre des dispositions ambitieuses de l’entente et de la pleine réalisation de ses avantages. Les travaux portent notamment sur des engagements supplémentaires qui permettraient de faire en sorte que l’entente contribue aux priorités en matière de développement économique propres à chaque pays, notamment grâce à la conclusion de partenariats entre les secteurs public et privé.

4. Nouveaux enjeux de nature commerciale

L’une des caractéristiques du PTP est la façon dont les nouveaux enjeux ayant trait au commerce seront abordés. Les ministres et les négociateurs s’efforcent toujours de s’entendre sur ces questions, notamment sur la façon de promouvoir la nouvelle économie numérique, de tirer profit des avantages de la croissance verte et des nouvelles technologies, de garantir un environnement des affaires transparent et propice à la compétitivité, et de coordonner leurs efforts en vue de l’atteinte d’objectifs stratégiques communs, comme de faire en sorte que nos accords commerciaux appuient les grandes priorités en matière de santé et d’environnement. Les ministres sont bien conscients des travaux sans précédent réalisés dans ces domaines. Par conséquent, les membres du PTP prennent cette question au sérieux et proposent des solutions constructives. Ils se concentrent sur des solutions permettant de concilier les différences et d’arriver à des disciplines de haut calibre dans ces domaines complexes et névralgiques.

5. Un accord évolutif

L’accession du Mexique, du Canada et du Japon au PTP depuis la dernière rencontre des dirigeants a permis de renforcer le partenariat. Les ministres se sont réjouis de l’intérêt manifesté par d’autres pays de l’Asie‑Pacifique à se joindre au PTP dans l’avenir et sont prêts à nouer le dialogue avec ces pays en vue de faciliter leur participation au partenariat une fois que l’entente initiale sera conclue. Conformément à l’engagement pris par les dirigeants de permettre à d’autres pays de la région de se joindre à l’accord, les équipes de négociation sont sur le point de s’entendre sur la structure, les institutions et les processus qui vont faire du PTP un accord évolutif qui saura s’adapter aux faits nouveaux qui marqueront le commerce, l’investissement et la technologie, ainsi qu’à d’autres questions et défis futurs et aux travaux conjoints qui seront menés dans l’avenir dans des domaines d’intérêt commun.

Prochaines étapes

Nous demeurerons activement résolus à faire progresser les négociations et à les mener à bien. Nous nous affecterons les ressources nécessaires à cette fin. Nous resterons également engagés à l’égard de nos intervenants respectifs alors que nous poursuivons cette initiative. L’étape finale des pourparlers du PTP nécessitera une intensification des efforts à tous les niveaux afin d’établir des approches créatives, pragmatiques et souples en vue de régler les questions en suspens, ainsi qu’un engagement ferme aux résultats ambitieux et de grande envergure que tentent d’obtenir les dirigeants du PTP – y compris vos ministres et négociateurs.