History of the TPP

What’s the TPP?

The TPP builds on the Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership Agreement, also known as the P4, between Brunei Darussalam, Chile, New Zealand and Singapore, which entered into force in 2006. In March 2010, a new round of negotiations was launched when Australia, Peru, Singapore, Vietnam and the United States joined the TPP. Later that year, the TPP membership grew to nine countries with the participation of Malaysia. Canada, along with Mexico, joined the negotiations on October 8, 2012, in time to participate in the 15th round of negotiations. Japan joined in July 2013.

The 12 TPP countries represent 800 million people, with a combined GDP of over C$38.5 trillion, close to 40 percent of global GDP. It includes a diverse set of countries with differing levels of development.

Conclusion of the negotiations

The TPP negotiations concluded on October 5, 2015, in Atlanta, Georgia.


The signature of the TPP Agreement took place on February 4, 2016 in Auckland, New Zealand.