Canada-Turkey Exploratory Trade Discussions

Following initial informal meetings and public consultations, officials from Canada and Turkey met in October 2010 in Ankara for formal free trade agreement (FTA) exploratory talks. Officials continue to meet regularly, with the latest meetings held on September 24-24, 2013, in Ankara.  These talks have allowed both sides to gain a better understanding of each other's preferred FTA approaches and objectives.  

On March August 7, 2010, the Government of Canada embarked on a comprehensive consultation process with citizens, provincial and territorial governments, and industry to seek input on a potential free trade agreement with Turkey (see Canada Gazette: Consultations on Possible Free Trade Negotiations with Turkey). 

Also, in August 2013, Canada and Turkey agreed to establish a joint economic and trade committee to find concrete means of expanding trade and investment. See news release: Canada and Turkey Commit to Working Toward Increased Trade and Investment.

For more information, please see background information on the exploratory discussions towards a Canada-Turkey Free Trade Agreement.

Related Links

Contact Point

If you have any questions or comments about this initiative we would like to hear from you. Please contact Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development:

Trade Negotiations I Division (TPE)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0757
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

Discussions préliminaires au sujet des relations commerciales Canada - Turquie

À la suite de réunions informelles et de consultations publiques initiales, les représentants du Canada et de la Turquie se sont rencontrés en octobre 2010 à Ankara pour amorcer des pourparlers exploratoires officiels relatifs à un accord de libre-échange. Ils se sont rencontrés régulièrement par la suite, et les dernières réunions ont eu lieu le 24 septembre dernier, à Ankara. Ces pourparlers ont permis aux deux parties de se familiariser avec leurs approches et leurs objectifs respectifs en matière de libre-échange.

Le 7 mars 2010, le gouvernement du Canada avait entamé un vaste processus de consultations auprès des citoyens, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, et de l’industrie, pour obtenir des observations concernant un accord de libre-échange éventuel avec la Turquie (voir la Gazette du Canada : Consultations sur d'éventuelles négociations en vue d'un accord de libre-échange avec la Turquie).

De plus, en août 2013, le Canada et la Turquie ont convenu d’établir un comité économique et commercial conjoint pour cerner des moyens concrets d’accroître le commerce et l’investissement. Voir le communiqué : Le Canada et la Turquie s'engagent à accroître le commerce et l'investissement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les renseignements supplémentaires sur les discussions exploratoires en vue de conclure un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Turquie.

Liens connexes

Point de contact

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de vos questions ou commentaires au sujet de cette initiative. N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement :

Direction des négociations commerciales I (TPE)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Téléc. : 613-944-0757
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca