Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement Negotiations

Last updated September 2012.

Canada and Ukraine have held five rounds of negotiations to date towards a bilateral free trade agreement (FTA).  The fifth round was held during the week of September 24, 2012 in Kyiv and intersessional work is ongoing. An FTA with Ukraine has the potential to provide increased access for Canadian goods and services to the Ukrainian market, to help address non-tariff barriers, and to help advance other trade and investment issues to facilitate economic relations. An FTA that provides Ukraine with better access to the Canadian market would also be consistent with Canada’s foreign policy objectives for Ukraine, which support Ukraine’s democratic transformation and economic reforms.

For more information, please see background information on the Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement Negotiations.

Consultations

On October 31, 2009, the Government of Canada announced public consultations to seek the views of Canadians on the scope of a possible FTA between Canada and Ukraine. Through the consultation process, the Government obtained the advice and views of businesses, citizen-based organizations and individual Canadians. The consultations revealed broad-based support for a Canada-Ukraine FTA.

Canada is currently conducting an Environmental Assessment (EA) to inform the FTA negotiations. The EA will incorporate comments from the public and will consider any likely and significant environmental impacts that a Canada-Ukraine FTA may have on Canada.

All contributions to the consultative process will be taken into account as the Canada-Ukraine initiative proceeds and in the development of Canada's trade agenda more broadly. The government will continue to seek stakeholders’ views through the Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development website to ensure that their interests and concerns are taken into account during the negotiations.

Related Links

Contact Point

If you have questions or comments about this initiative we would like to hear from you. Please contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada at:

Trade Negotiations I Division (TPE)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2.
Fax: 613-944-3489
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

Négociations en vue d’un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Ukraine

Dernière mise à jour en septembre 2012.

Le Canada et l'Ukraine ont complétés cinq séries de négociations en vue de conclure un accord de libre-échange bilatéral (ALE). La cinquième série de négociations a pris place la semaine du 24 septembre 2012 à Kiev et des efforts intersessionnelles sont continus. La conclusion d’un ALE avec l’Ukraine permettrait d’accroître l’accès des produits et services canadiens au marché ukrainien, de prendre des mesures à l’égard des obstacles non tarifaires et de faire avancer d’autres questions relatives au commerce et à l’investissement afin de faciliter les relations économiques. Le fait de conclure un accord qui confère à l’Ukraine un meilleur accès au marché canadien cadrerait également avec les objectifs de politique étrangère du Canada à l’égard de ce pays, soit d’appuyer la transformation démocratique et les réformes économiques entreprises par l’Ukraine.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les renseignements supplémentaires des négociatiosn d'un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l'Ukraine.

Consultations

Le 31 octobre 2009, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la tenue de consultations publiques afin de connaître l’opinion des Canadiens sur la portée d’un éventuel ALE entre le Canada et l’Ukraine. Ce processus a permis au gouvernement de recueillir l’avis et les observations d’entreprises, d’organismes regroupant des citoyens et de particuliers. Les consultations ont mis en évidence que cette initiative recevait un vaste appui de la part des intervenants consultés.

Le Canada procède actuellement à une évaluation environnementale en vue de guider les négociations de l’ALE. Cette évaluation tiendra compte des observations formulées par le grand public et de toute incidence environnementale possible et importante au Canada découlant de l’ALE Canada-Ukraine.

Toutes les observations formulées dans le cadre du processus de consultation seront prises en considération à mesure que progressera l’initiative et dans le cadre de l’élaboration du programme commercial du Canada dans son ensemble. Le gouvernement continuera de recueillir l’opinion des parties intéressées sur le site Web d'Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada afin de veiller à ce que leurs intérêts et leurs préoccupations soient pris en considération dans le cadre des négociations.

Liens intéressants

Point de contact

Pour toute question ou commentaire au sujet de cette initiative, veuillez communiquer avec Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada, aux coordonnées suivantes :

Direction de la politique et des négociations commerciales I (TPE)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Téléc. : 613-944-0757
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca