Negotiations

An important role of the WTO is to house negotiations on trade liberalization. WTO Members have a standing mandate for multilateral negotiations under the Doha Development Agenda, and are also pursuing plurilateral negotiations where subsets of the Membership are interested in specific areas of liberalization, such as information technology and environmental goods.

Doha Development Agenda

The WTO Doha Round of negotiations was launched at the 4th WTO Ministerial Conference in Doha, Qatar, in November 2001. One of the fundamental objectives of the Doha Round is to improve the trading prospects of less developed countries, thus it is often referred to as the Doha Development Agenda. The mandate for the negotiations provided by the Doha Ministerial Declaration included negotiations on agriculture, services, non-agricultural market access, trade-related aspects of intellectual property rights, WTO rules (e.g., anti-dumping, subsidies), dispute settlement, trade facilitation, and trade and environment, among others. The broader Doha Development Agenda negotiations have been at an impasse since 2011. However, at the Ninth Ministerial Conference in Bali in December 2013, Members concluded negotiations on a key element of the Doha Development Agenda – an Agreement on Trade Facilitation.

Canada views the WTO as the best forum for achieving broadly-based trade liberalization, and supports the goal of better integrating developing countries into the international trading system. For more information, please see the Doha Development Agenda.

WTO Agreement on Trade Facilitation

The World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Trade Facilitation (TFA), which entered into force on February 22, 2017, contains binding commitments for the 164 WTO Members to modernize and simplify border procedures. It is the first multilateral Agreement concluded since the creation of the WTO in 1994. A list of WTO Members which have ratified the TFA is available on the WTO website.

Most economic gains will flow to developing countries. The WTO estimates that the full implementation of the TFA could boost global merchandise exports by up to $1 trillion, with up to $730 billion accruing to developing countries and reduce trade costs by an average of over 14 percent, with average reduction of nearly 17 percent for least developed countries.

The TFA provides a new approach to implementation by developing countries. It allows developing countries to self-determine implementation timelines for each provision, and to indicate whether technical assistance will be required in order to implement. Developing economies benefit from flexibilities under which commitments are not binding until they acquire the capacity to implement.

Some developing countries will need assistance to implement the reforms necessary to bring their border procedures into compliance with the TFA’s provisions. Mechanisms are in place to assist developing countries implement the TFA. One example is the Global Alliance for Trade Facilitation, a public-private partnership which brings together donor countries, global businesses and international institutions to assist developing countries in the implementation of TFA reforms. Canada contributed $10 million to this Alliance over seven years (2015-2022).

The implementation of the TFA will benefit Canadian traders by expediting, streamlining and enhancing the predictability of customs and border procedures for their exports to developing countries, which translates into lower trade costs. The benefits are expected to be most significant for small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), for whom trade costs are disproportionately high. The implementation of the TFA by developing countries could help Canadian SMEs increase their export presence in emerging markets, from Latin America and the Caribbean, to Africa and South and Southeast Asia.

Canada’s implementation of the TFA

On December 12, 2016, An Act to Amend the Food and Drugs Act, the Hazardous Products Act, the Radiation Emitting Devices Act, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, the Pest Control Products Act and the Canada Consumer Products Safety Act and to make amendments to a related Act(the “Act”) was enacted. This legislation enabled Canada to ratify the Agreement on Trade Facilitation (TFA) on December 16, 2016.

The legislative amendments contained in this Act relate to two specific provisions of the TFA:

  • Article 10.8.1: Importers may return to exporters goods rejected on account of their failure to meet certain health and technical requirements, unless an alternate way is provided for in laws and regulations.
  • Article 11.8: Technical regulations may not be applied to goods moving through the territory of a WTO Member from a point outside its territory to another foreign point (i.e. goods in transit).

The legislative amendments do not limit the government’s ability to protect the health and safety of Canadians as well as the environment.

The impacts of the legislative amendments contained in the Act are described below.

Food and Drugs Act

The Food and Drugs Act (FDA)and its regulations give the Minister of Health, Health Canada, and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency the authority to regulate food, drugs (including natural health products), cosmetics, and devices.

Key amendments to the FDA provide for the following:

  • An importer of non-compliant foods, drugs, cosmetics, or devices may be offered the option of returning those products to the sender or re-consigning them to a third-party outside of Canada. If the products pose a risk of injury to health or safety, then the products could be subject to measures, including seizure.
  • Packaged foods, drugs, cosmetics and devices which are manufactured or prepared outside of Canada may be imported solely for the purpose of export provided that they are not sold for consumption or use in Canada. This provision will come into force on a date to be fixed by the Governor-in-Council.
  • Packaged foods, drugs, cosmetics and devices manufactured or prepared in Canada for export only will be required to comply with requirements in the FDA, generally targeting deception, unsanitary conditions and products posing a risk of injury. However, these requirements will not apply to natural health products within the meaning of the Natural Health Products Regulations.

Hazardous Products Act 

The Hazardous Products Act (HPA) and its regulations give the Minister of Health and Health Canada the authority to regulate the sale and importation of hazardous products intended for use, handling or storage in Canadian workplaces.

Key amendments to the HPA will allow hazardous chemicals that are found to be non-compliant with the HPA to be returned or re-consigned to the sender, unless other measures are required for health or safety reasons, in which case they may be seized and not returned.

Radiation Emitting Devices Act

The Radiation Emitting Devices Act (REDA) and its regulations give the Minister of Health and Health Canada the authority to regulate the sale, lease, and importation of radiation emitting devices. REDA regulates devices that emit radiation in the form of electromagnetic energy (e.g. x-rays, microwaves, radiofrequency (RF) waves, infrared (IR), visible light and ultraviolet (UV) light) or acoustical energy, as well as any component of, or accessory to, such devices. It does not regulate devices that are subject to the Nuclear Safety and Control Act nor devices covered under the Motor Vehicle Safety Act.

Key amendments to REDA will allow an importer of non-compliant radiation-emitting devices be offered the option of returning or re-consigning them to a third party outside Canada. If the products pose a risk of injury to health or safety, then the products could be subject to other measures, such as seizure.

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA) and its regulations gives the Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Environment and Climate Change Canada the authority to prevent pollution and protect the environment and human health. Section 117 of CEPA prohibits the import (which includes transit) and manufacture for use or sale of cleaning products or water conditioners that contain prescribed nutrients in excess of prescribed values.

The amendment to CEPA provides the regulation-making authority to exempt cleaning products and water conditioners under Part 7, Division 1 of CEPA, such as those in transit through Canada, from the prohibition in Section 117 and to make distinctions based on any factor.

Pest Control Products Act

The Pest Control Products Act (PCPA) and its regulations give the Minister of Health and Health Canada the authority for the oversight of pest control products, including an assessment for value, health and environmental risks before a product may, among other things, be imported, distributed or used in Canada.  In satisfying its administrative mandate, Health Canada engages in compliance activities to mitigate health and environmental risks from pest control products.

Key amendments to the PCPA provide for the following: 

  • An importer of non-compliant pest control products may remove the product from Canada or forfeit it. Authority is also given to an inspector to prevent the return of non-compliant products that would endanger human health or the environment.
  • Authority to exempt goods in transit from the prohibition against importing and transporting unregistered products while maintaining safeguards protecting the environment and the health and safety of persons who may come into contact with such goods.

Canada Consumer Product Safety Act

The Canada Consumer Product Safety Act (CCSPA) and its regulations give the Minister of Health and Health Canada the authority to protect the public by addressing or preventing dangers to human health or safety that are posed by consumer products.

Key amendments to the CCSPA allow consumer products that are found to be non-compliant with the CCPSA to be returned/re-consigned to the importer, unless other measures are required for health or safety reasons such as the seizure of products that pose a danger to human health or safety.

Webinar:

On April 29, 2016, Global Affairs Canada, in collaboration with Health Canada (HC) and Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC), hosted an online technical briefing on the WTO Agreement on Trade Facilitation (TFA) and An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act, the Hazardous Products Act, the Radiation Emitting Devices Act, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, the Pest Control Products Act and the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act and to make related amendments to another Act.

See the presentation.

See the FAQs on TFA & Act.

If you have further questions, please contact tfaquestions@international.gc.ca

Information Technology

The WTO Information Technology Agreement (ITA) is a tariff liberalization agreement agreed in 1996 through a “Ministerial Declaration on Trade in Information Technology Products”, signed initially by 29 WTO members; participation in this plurilateral agreement has consistently increased since then. It requires each participant to bind and eliminate customs duties for all products specified in the Agreement, and the tariff elimination is implemented on a most-favoured nation (MFN) basis. The ITA covers a large number of high technology products, including computers, telecommunication equipment, semiconductors, semiconductor manufacturing and testing equipment, software, scientific instruments, and their parts and accessories.

In light of new technological developments, some WTO members agreed that the current product coverage of the ITA should be expanded and in June 2012, an informal process was initiated towards launching negotiations for the expansion of the product coverage of the ITA. This process led to the establishment of a technical working group of Members, including Canada, meeting outside of the formal framework of the WTO ITA Committee. Negotiations to expand the ITA are ongoing.

Environmental Goods

On July 8, 2014, Canada joined a number of other World Trade Organization members, including China, the European Union, Japan and the United States, in launching negotiations toward a new WTO plurilateral agreement on environmental goods. Such an agreement would eliminate tariffs on a range of environmental goods. More open trade would create new markets for Canadian manufacturers, provide incentives for Canadian businesses to develop new products to protect the environment, and increase the availability and lower the cost of environmental goods for Canadians. For more information, including periodic updates and statements by Minister Fast, please see the Plurilateral Environmental Goods Agreement.

Négociations

Un important rôle de l’OMC est d’accueillir les négociations sur la libéralisation des échanges. Les membres de l’OMC ont un mandat permanent de négociations multilatérales dans le cadre du Programme de Doha pour le développement, et ils s’efforcent également de poursuivre des négociations plurilatérales, par exemple concernant les technologies de l’information et les biens environnementaux.

Programme de Doha pour le développement

Les négociations du Cycle de Doha ont été lancées lors de la quatrième conférence ministérielle de l’OMC à Doha, au Qatar, en novembre 2001. L’un des objectifs fondamentaux du Cycle de Doha consiste à améliorer les perspectives commerciales des pays les moins développés et, pour cette raison, on l’appelle également le Programme de Doha pour le développement. Le mandat de négociation convenu dans la déclaration ministérielle de Doha comprenait des négociations sur l’agriculture, les services, l’accès aux marchés pour les produits non agricoles, les aspects des droits de propriété intellectuelle qui touchent au commerce, les règles de l’OMC (p. ex., règles antidumping et en matière de subventions), le règlement des différends, la facilitation des échanges, le commerce et l’environnement. Les négociations générales dans le cadre du Programme de Doha pour le développement sont dans une impasse depuis 2011. Toutefois, lors de la neuvième conférence ministérielle à Bali, en décembre 2013, les membres ont conclu les négociations concernant un élément clé du Programme de Doha pour le développement – un accord sur la facilitation des échanges.

Le Canada estime que l’OMC est la meilleure tribune pour parvenir à une libéralisation générale du commerce et il appuie l’objectif de mieux intégrer les pays en développement dans le système commercial international. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Programme de Doha pour le développement.

Accord de l'OMC sur la facilitation des échanges

L’Accord de l'OMC sur la facilitation des échanges (AFE) qui est entré en vigueur le 22 février 2017, contient des engagements contraignants pour les 164 Membres de l'OMC de moderniser et de simplifier les procédures à la frontière. C’est le premier accord multilatéral conclu depuis la création de l'OMC en 1994. Une liste des Membres de l'OMC ayant ratifié le l’AFE est disponible sur le site web de l’OMC.

La plupart des gains économiques iront aux pays en développement. L'OMC estime que l’AFE pourrait accroître les exportations mondiales de marchandises de jusqu'à 1 billion de dollars, dont jusqu’à 730 milliards de dollars en possibilité d’exportation pour les pays en développement, et réduire les coûts commerciaux de plus de 14 pour cent en moyenne (et de près de 17 pour cent en moyenne pour les pays les moins avancés).

L’AFE offre une nouvelle approche à la mise en œuvre par les pays en développement. Il permet aux pays en développement de déterminer eux-mêmes les échéanciers de mise en œuvre de chaque disposition et d'indiquer si une assistance technique sera nécessaire. Les économies en développement bénéficient de flexibilités dans le cadre desquelles les engagements ne sont contraignants qu'une fois que la capacité de mettre en œuvre a été acquise.

Certains pays en développement auront besoin d'assistance pour mettre en œuvre les réformes nécessaires pour s’assurer que leurs procédures douanières sont conformes aux dispositions d’AFE. Des mécanismes sont en place pour aider les pays en développement à mettre en œuvre l’AFE. Un exemple est l'Alliance mondiale pour la facilitation des échanges (en anglais seulement), un partenariat public-privé qui rassemble les pays donateurs, les entreprises et les institutions internationales pour aider les pays en développement à mettre en œuvre les dispositions de l’AFE. Le Canada a contribué 10 millions de dollars à cette Alliance sur une période de sept ans (2015-2022).

La mise en œuvre de l’AFE bénéficiera les commerçants canadiens en accélérant, rationalisant et améliorant la prévisibilité des procédures douanières et frontalières pour leurs exportations vers les pays en développement, ce qui se traduira par une diminution des coûts commerciaux. Il est estimé que les avantages seront plus importants pour les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), pour lesquelles les coûts commerciaux sont disproportionnés. La mise en œuvre de l’AFE par les pays en développement pourrait aider les PME canadiennes à accroître leur présence à l'exportation dans les marchés émergents, de l'Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, jusqu’en Afrique et en Asie du Sud et du Sud-Est.

La mise en œuvre de l’AFE par le Canada

La Loi modifiant la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, la Loi sur les produits dangereux, la Loi sur les dispositifs émettant des radiations, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires et la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation et apportant des modifications connexes à une autre loi (« la Loi », a été promulguée le 12 décembre 2016. Cette mesure législative a permis au Canada de ratifier l'AFE le 16 décembre 2016.

Les modifications législatives contenues dans la présente loi portent sur deux dispositions particulières de l’AFE:

Article 10.8.1: Les importateurs pourraient réexpédier aux exportateurs les marchandises rejetées en raison de leur non-respect de certaines exigences sanitaires et techniques, à moins qu'une autre disposition ne soit prévue dans les lois et règlements.

Article 11.8: Les règlements techniques ne deveraient pas être appliqués avec marchandises transportées à travers le territoire d'un Membre de l'OMC à partir d'un point situé en dehors de son territoire vers un autre point à l’étranger (c'est-à-dire les marchandises en transit).

Les modifications législatives ne limitent pas la capacité du gouvernement à protéger la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et de l'environnement.

Les répercussions des modifications législatives contenues dans la Loi sont décrites ci-dessous.

Loi sur les aliments et drogues

La Loi sur les aliments et drogues et ses règlements donnent au ministre de la Santé, à Santé Canada et à l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments le pouvoir de réglementer les aliments, les médicaments (y compris les produits de santé naturels), les cosmétiques et les dispositifs.

Les principaux amendements à La Loi sur les aliments et drogues prévoient ce qui suit:

  • Un importateur d'aliments, de médicaments, de cosmétiques ou de dispositifs non conformes peut se voir offrir la possibilité de réexpédier ces produits à l'expéditeur ou de les renvoyer à un tiers situé à l'extérieur du Canada. Si les produits présentent un risque pour la santé ou la sécurité, les produits pourraient être sujets à des mesures, y compris la saisie.
  • Les aliments emballés, les médicaments, les cosmétiques et les dispositifs qui sont fabriqués ou préparés à l'extérieur du Canada peuvent être importés uniquement à des fins d'exportation à condition qu'ils ne soient pas vendus pour consommation ou utilisation au Canada. Cette disposition entrera en vigueur à la date fixée par décrit.
  • Les aliments emballés, les médicaments, les cosmétiques et les dispositifs fabriqués ou préparés au Canada aux seules fins d’exportation devront se conformer aux exigences de  La Loi sur les aliments et drogues, visant généralement la tromperie, les conditions insalubres et les produits présentant un risque pour la santé ou la sécurité. Toutefois, ces exigences ne s'appliqueront pas aux produits de santé naturels au sens du Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels.

Loi sur les produits dangereux

La Loi sur les produits dangereux et ses règlements donnent au ministre de la Santé et à Santé Canada le pouvoir de réglementer la vente et l'importation de produits dangereux destinés à être utilisés, manipulés ou entreposés dans les lieux de travail canadiens.

Les modifications clés apportées à la La Loi sur les produits dangereux permettront de réexpédier ou de renvoyer à l'importateur les produits chimiques dangereux qui ne sont pas conformes à la La Loi sur les produits dangereux, sauf si d'autres mesures sont requises pour des raisons de santé ou de sécurité, dans de tels cas ils pourraient être saisies et non retournés.

Loi sur les dispositifs émettant des radiations

La Loi sur les dispositifs émettant des radiations et ses règlements donnent au ministre de la Santé et à Santé Canada le pouvoir de réglementer la vente, la location et l'importation de dispositifs émettant des radiations. La Loi sur les dispositifs émettant des radiations règlemente les dispositifs qui émettent des radiations sous forme d'énergie électromagnétique (par exemple: rayons X, micro-ondes, ondes radiofréquences, infrarouges, lumière visible et ultraviolets) ou acoustique, ansi que les composants ou accessoires de tels dispositifs. Elle ne réglemente pas les dispositifs qui sont assujettis à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires ni les dispositifs visés par la Loi sur la sécurité des véhicules automobiles.

Les principales modifications apportées à La Loi sur les dispositifs émettant des radiations permettront à un importateur de dispositifs émettant des radiations non conformes de sa faire offrir la possibilité de réexpédiér ou de renvoyer les dispositifs à une tierce  à l'extérieur du Canada. Les produits qui présentent un risque pour la santé ou la sécurité pourraient être sujets à d'autres mesures, telles que la saisie.

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement de 1999 et ses règlements confèrent au ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et a l’ECCC le pouvoir de prévenir la pollution et de protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine. L'article 117 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement interdit l'importation (y compris le transit) et la fabrication pour l'utilisation ou la vente de produits de nettoyage ou de conditionneurs d'eau contenant des nutriments prescrits dépassant les valeurs prescrites.

La modification  confère à La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement confère le pouvoir réglementaire d'exempter les produits de nettoyage et les conditionneurs d'eau en vertu de la partie 7 de La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, comme ceux en transit par le Canada, de l'interdiction de l'article 117 et de faire des distinctions fondées sur tout facteur.

Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires

La Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires  et ses règlements confèrent au ministre de la Santé et à Santé Canada le pouvoir de surveiller les produits antiparasitaires, y compris l’évaluation des risques liés à la valeur, à la santé et à l'environnement avant qu'un produit ne soit importé, distribué ou utilisé au Canada. Pour s'acquitter de son mandat administratif, Santé Canada s'engage dans des activités de conformité visant à atténuer les risques pour la santé et l'environnement découlant des produits antiparasitaires.

Les principaux amendements à La Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires  prévoient ce qui suit:

  • Un importateur de produits antiparasitaires non conformes peut retirer le produit du Canada ou consentir à sa confiscation. L'autorité est également confiée à un inspecteur pour empêcher le renvoi de produits non conformes qui mettraient en danger la santé humaine ou l'environnement.
  • Autorisation d'exempter les marchandises en transit de l'interdiction d'importer et de transporter des produits non enregistrés tout en maintenant des garanties afin de protéger l'environnement et la santé et la sécurité des personnes qui peuvent entrer en contact avec ces marchandises.

Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation

La Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation et ses règlements confèrent au ministre de la Santé et à Santé Canada le pouvoir de protéger le public en s'attaquant ou en prévenant les dangers pour la santé et la sécurité des consommateurs.

Les principaux amendements apportés à La Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation autorisent que les produits de consommation qui ne sont pas conformes à La Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation soient réexpédiés ou renvoyer à l'importateur, à moins que d'autres mesures ne soient requises pour des raisons de santé ou de sécurité telles que la saisie de produits présentant un danger pour la santé ou la sécurité.

Webinaire :

Le 29 avril 2016, Affaires mondiales Canada, en collaboration avec Santé Canada (SC) et Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC), ont tenu une séance d'information technique en ligne sur l’Accord de l’OMC sur la facilitation des échanges (AFE) et le projet de loi C-13 Loi modifiant la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, la Loi sur les produits dangereux, la Loi sur les dispositifs émettant des radiations, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires et la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation et apportant des modifications connexes à une autre loi.

Voir la présentation.

Voir la FAQ sur l'AFE et le projet de loi C-13.

Si vous avez d'autres questions, s'il vous plaît contacter tfaquestions@international.gc.ca

Accord sur les technologies de l’information

L’Accord sur les technologies de l’information (ATI) de l’OMC est un accord de libéralisation des droits de douane convenu en 1996 au moyen d’une « Déclaration ministérielle sur le commerce des produits des technologies de l’information », signée à l’origine par 29 membres de l’OMC. La participation à cet accord plurilatéral est en croissance depuis. Elle requiert que chaque participant se conforme à l’accord et élimine les droits de douane qu’il impose sur tous les produits visés par l’Accord, et que l’élimination des droits de douane soit mise en œuvre en respectant le principe de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF). L’ATI vise un grand nombre de produits de haute technologie, y compris les ordinateurs, l’équipement de télécommunication, les semi-conducteurs, l’équipement de fabrication et de mise à l’essai des semi-conducteurs, les logiciels, les instruments scientifiques ainsi que leurs pièces ou accessoires.

À la lumière de l’évolution récente des technologies, certains membres de l’OMC ont convenu que la portée actuelle de l’ATI devait être étendue à de nouveaux produits et, en juin 2012, un processus informel a été lancé de négociations visant l’expansion de la portée de l’ATI. Ce processus a mené à l’établissement d’un groupe de travail technique composé de membres, dont le Canada, qui se rencontrent en dehors du cadre de travail formel du Comité sur l’ATI de l’OMC. Les négociations visant l’expansion de l’ATI sont en cours.

Accord sur les biens environnementaux

Le 8 juillet 2014, le Canada s’est joint à un certain nombre d’autres membres de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, dont la Chine, l’Union européenne, le Japon et les États-Unis, dans le cadre de négociations visant la conclusion d’un nouvel accord plurilatéral sur les biens environnementaux, qui éliminerait les droits de douane imposés sur un éventail de biens environnementaux. Un commerce plus ouvert créerait de nouveaux marchés pour les fabricants canadiens, encouragerait les entreprises canadiennes à mettre au point de nouveaux produits pour protéger l’environnement, et accroîtrait la disponibilité de biens environnementaux à coûts réduits pour les Canadiens. Pour de plus amples renseignements, y compris pour obtenir des mises à jour périodiques et pour lire les déclarations du ministre Fast sur le sujet, veuillez consulter la page Accord plurilatéral sur les biens environnementaux.