Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Intent to Conduct a Strategic Environmental Assessment of the Canada-China Foreign Investment Protection Agreement (FIPA)

Closing date: December 29, 2005

The Government of Canada will be undertaking a Strategic Environmental Assessment of the negotiations for a Canada-China Foreign Investment Protection Agreement (FIPA). Comments are invited on any likely and significant environmental impacts of the negotiations on Canada.

The Government of Canada is committed to sustainable development. Mutually supportive trade and environmental policies can contribute to this objective. To this end, the Minister of International Trade, with the support of his Cabinet colleagues, has directed trade officials to improve their understanding of, and information base on, the relationship between trade and environmental issues at the earliest stages of decision making, and to do this through an open and inclusive process. Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are critical to this work.

This process is guided by the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations with direction from the 1999 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals.

For more information, please visit:

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on the likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada resulting from the Canada-China FIPA negotiations by December 29, 2005.

Contributions can be sent by e-mail, fax or mail to:

E-mail: consultations@international.gc.ca
Fax: (613) 944-7981
Mail: Consultations & Liaison Division
Environmental Assessment Consultations – Canada-China FIPA
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d’intention d’effectuer une évaluation environnementale stratégique de l’Accord sur la protection des Investissements étrangers (APIE) Canada-Chine

Date limite : 29 décembre 2005

Le gouvernement du Canada effectuera une évaluation environnementale stratégique portant sur les négociations de l’Accord sur la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) Canada Chine. Il sollicite les observations sur les répercussions environnementales probables et substantielles des négociations pour le Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à l'égard du développement durable. Des politiques commerciales et environnementales qui se renforcent mutuellement peuvent contribuer à la réalisation de cet objectif. À cette fin, le ministre du Commerce international, avec l'appui de ses collègues du Cabinet, a demandé aux représentants commerciaux d’améliorer leurs connaissances et leurs données concernant la relation entre les enjeux du commerce et ceux de l'environnement, et ce, dès les premières étapes du processus décisionnel, en favorisant un processus ouvert et inclusif. L'évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales est essentielle à ce travail.

Ce processus s’inspire du Cadre d'évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales, élaboré en 2001, avec l’aide de la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez :

Toutes les parties prenantes sont invitées à présenter leurs observations relatives aux impacts environnementaux probables et substantiels, pour le Canada, des négociations concernant l’APIE Canada Chine d'ici le 29 décembre 2005.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux adresses suivantes :

Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca
Télécopieur : (613) 944-7981 ou
Adresse postale : Direction des consultations et de la liaison
Consultations sur l’évaluation environnementale – APIE Canada-Chine
Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2