Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Initial Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Peru Foreign Investment Protection Agreement (FIPA)

Closing date: October 7, 2005

In keeping with the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations, an Initial Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Peru Foreign Investment and Promotion Agreement (FIPA) negotiations has been conducted to help negotiators to better integrate environmental considerations into the negotiating process.

The Government of Canada is working closely with Provincial and Territorial Governments throughout the environmental assessment process. It has consulted with Canadians on this step of the environmental assessment, including business groups, non-governmental organizations and the general public. A Notice of Intent to conduct an Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Peru FIPA negotiations was posted on the Trade Negotiations and Agreements website of International Trade Canada on June 2, 2005. The report on the Initial Environmental Assessment is now released for public consultation. We welcome comments on this report, as well as comments on anticipated economic, environmental and policy-making impacts on Canada as a result of the Canada-Peru FIPA negotiations. The Final Environmental Assessment report will be released after the conclusion of the Canada-Peru FIPA negotiations.

Please send your contributions to:

Consultations and Liaison Division (EBC)
Initial Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Peru Foreign Investment Protection Agreement Negotiations
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: (613) 944-7981
consultations@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Évaluation environnementale initiale portant sur les négociations de l'Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) Canada-Pérou

Date limite : 7 octobre 2005

Conformément au Cadre pour l'évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales de 2001, une évaluation environnementale initiale concernant les négociations de l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) Canada-Pérou a été réalisée dans le but d'aider les négociateurs du Canada à mieux intégrer les facteurs environnementaux dans le processus de négociation.

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux tout au long du processus d'évaluation environnementale. Les Canadiens, y compris des groupements d'affaires, des organisations non gouvernementales et le public en général, ont été consultés pendant cette étape de l'évaluation environnementale. Un avis d'intention portant sur la réalisation d'une évaluation environnementale concernant les négociations de l’APIE Canada-Pérou a été publié sur le site web 'Négociations et Accords commerciaux' de Commerce international Canada le 2 juin dernier, et le rapport de l'évaluation environnementale initiale est rendu public aujourd'hui aux fins de consultations. Nous souhaitons recueillir tous les commentaires qu'il pourrait vous inspirer, tout comme ceux que les Canadiens intéressés aimeraient formuler sur les répercussions prévues sur l'économie, l'environnement et l'élaboration des politiques au Canada dans la foulée des négociations sur l'APIE Canada-Pérou. Le rapport de l'évaluation environnementale finale sera rendu public une fois les négociations de l'APIE terminées.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées suivantes :

Évaluation environnementale initiale portant sur les négociations de l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) Canada-Pérou
Direction des consultations et de la liaison
Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : (613) 944-7981
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca