Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Intent to Conduct a Strategic Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Peru Foreign Investment Protection Agreement (FIPA)

Closing date: June 15, 2005

The Government of Canada intends to conduct an Environmental Assessment on the Canada-Peru Foreign Investment Protection Agreement (FIPA) and invites comments on the likely environmental impacts on Canada.

In keeping with the 1999 Directive requiring federal departments to consider the environmental impacts of policy initiatives, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade developed the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations (the Framework). It should be noted that the Framework is intended to be applied in a flexible fashion, so that it can be adapted to the nature of the agreement to be negotiated. To reflect its commitment to sustainable development, the government of Canada committed to an EA of the likely environmental impacts on Canada of the proposed Canada-Peru FIPA. This is the first FIPA to benefit from an EA.

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on environmental matters related to the Foreign Investment Protection Agreement by June 15, 2005.

Contributions can be sent by email, fax or mail to:

Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Peru FIPA
Investment Trade Policy Division (EBI)
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (International Trade)
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: (613) 944-0757
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'intention d'effectuer une Évaluation environnementale stratégique de l'Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) Canada-Pérou

Date limite : 15 juin 2005

Le gouvernement du Canada compte effectuer une évaluation environnementale de l’APIE Canada-Pérou et sollicite les observations des intéressés sur les répercussions environnementales probables au Canada.

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 voulant que les ministères fédéraux tiennent compte des effets de leurs initiatives stratégiques sur l'environnement, le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international a élaboré en 2001 le Cadre pour l'évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales. Le cadre se veut suffisamment souple pour qu'on puisse l'adapter selon la nature de l'accord à négocier. Respectant son engagement en faveur du développement durable, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à mener une évaluation environnementale des effets probables pour le Canada de la ratification éventuelle de l’APIE Canada-Pérou. Il s’agit du premier APIE à bénéficier d’une telle évaluation.

Toutes les parties intéressées sont invitées à présenter d’ici le 15 juin 2005 leurs points de vue sur les questions environnementales que soulève l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux adresses suivantes :

Évaluation environnementale de l’APIE Canada-Pérou
Direction de la politique commerciale sur l’investissement (EBI)
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (Commerce international)
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : (613) 944-0757
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca