Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada–Korea Free Trade Agreement (FTA) - Market Access Negotiations for Agricultural and Non-Agricultural Goods

Closing date: October 7, 2005

It is anticipated that Canada and Korea will exchange initial tariff offers for agricultural and non-agricultural goods in early November 2005 and that both Parties will subsequently submit requests for improvements to the other Party’s tariff offer. To ensure that Canada’s priorities, interests and concerns are fully taken into account in our negotiating strategy, International Trade Canada would like to hear your views on issues pertaining to tariffs, rules of origin and non-tariff measures.

Canada - Korea Merchandise Trade

In 2004, South Korea was Canada’s seventh-largest merchandise trading partner, with Canadian merchandise exports totalling $2.3 billion, and imports from South Korea nearing $5.8 billion. While the commercial relationship is solid, both countries recognize that there is considerable scope for growth. The Free Trade Agreement (FTA) negotiations offer the possibility of greatly improving market access for Canadian exporters, including in areas of key export interest through the elimination of tariffs and non-tariff barriers.

In the agricultural sector, Canada’s top exports to South Korea include wheat, pork, animal or vegetable fats and oils and furskins. Top imports include pasta, preparations of cereals, citrus fruits and pears. Canada’s top non-agricultural exports to South Korea include a predominance of primary products (pulp and paper, mineral products, wood and wood products and fish), as well as non-ferrous metals, organic and inorganic chemicals, information technology (IT), medical and scientific equipment and industrial machinery. On the imports side, Canada’s top imports from Korea include higher-valued manufactured products: in 2004, vehicles and parts and information technology products together accounted for nearly 59% of total Canadian imports from Korea. Other key imports in 2004 included industrial machinery, iron and steel, ships, electrical machinery, rubber and various textiles and apparel products.

Korea has bound approximately 91 per cent of its tariff lines as a result of the Uruguay Round negotiations and, as of 2003, Korea had an overall MFN applied tariff of 12.4 per cent and an average MFN applied rate of 6.9 per cent on industrial products. Duties remain high on a large number of agricultural and fisheries products. As a member of several of the WTO Uruguay Round zero-for-zero initiatives, Korea eliminated its tariffs on toys, steel, furniture, construction equipment and agricultural equipment, and most paper products. Korea was also a founding member of the 1996 Information Technology Agreement and, like Canada, has eliminated all tariffs on these products.

WTO rules require that in the context of an FTA, both Parties must eliminate tariffs on substantially all trade.

International Trade Canada invites you to submit your views on: Market Access Negotiations for Agricultural and Non-Agricultural Goods

For more information, see: Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement and Negotiations.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Corée - Négociations concernant l'accès au marché des produits agricoles et non agricoles

Date limite : 7 octobre 2005

Il est prévu que le Canada et la Corée échangeront leurs offres tarifaires initiales liées aux produits agricoles et non agricoles au début de novembre 2005 et que, par la suite, chaque partie demandera à l’autre d’améliorer son offre tarifaire initiale. Afin de s’assurer que notre stratégie de négociation tienne pleinement compte des priorités, des intérêts et des préoccupations des Canadiens, Commerce International Canada aimerait obtenir votre opinion sur les questions relatives aux droits de douane, aux règles d’origine et aux mesures non tarifaires.

Échange de marchandises entre le Canada et la Corée

En 2004, la Corée représentait le septième partenaire commercial en importance du Canada, dont les exportations de marchandises vers la Corée ont totalisé 2,3 milliards de dollars et les importations près de 5,8 milliards de dollars. Même si leurs liens commerciaux sont solides, les deux pays reconnaissent que les perspectives de croissance sont considérables. Les négociations de l’accord de libre-échange (ALE) offrent la possibilité d’améliorer grandement l’accès aux marchés pour les exportateurs canadiens, notamment dans certains secteurs d’intérêt particulier, grâce à l’élimination de barrières tarifaires et non tarifaires.

Dans le secteur agricole, le Canada exporte principalement vers la Corée du blé, du porc, des graisses et des huiles animales et végétales, et des pelleteries. Parmi ses principales importations, mentionnons les pâtes alimentaires, les préparations de céréales, les agrumes et les poires. Les exportations non agricoles du Canada vers la Corée comprennent surtout des matières premières (pâtes et papier, produits minéraux, bois et produits du bois et poisson), des métaux non ferreux, des produits chimiques organiques et inorganiques, des technologies de l’information, de l’équipement médical et scientifique et de la machinerie industrielle. De son côté, le Canada importe surtout de la Corée des produits manufacturés à valeur élevée : en 2004, les véhicules et pièces ainsi que les technologies de l’information ont compté ensemble pour près de 59 p. 100 du total des importations canadiennes en provenance de la Corée. Parmi les autres importations principales en 2004, mentionnons : la machinerie industrielle, le fer et l’acier, les navires, la machinerie électrique, le caoutchouc ainsi que divers textiles et vêtements.

La Corée a consolidé environ 91 p. 100 de ses lignes tarifaires par suite des négociations du Cycle d’Uruguay, de sorte que, en 2003, elle appliquait, dans l’ensemble, des droits NPF de 12,4 p. 100 et un taux NPF moyen de 6,9 p. 100 sur les produits industriels. Les droits de douane demeurent élevés sur un grand nombre de produits de l’agriculture et de la pêche. Ayant participé à plusieurs des initiatives zéro pour zéro du Cycle d’Uruguay de l’OMC, la Corée a éliminé ses droits de douane sur les jouets, l’acier, les meubles, l’équipement de construction, la machinerie agricole et la plupart des produits de papier. La Corée est également l’un des artisans de l’Accord sur les technologies de l'information de 1996 et, à l’instar du Canada, elle a éliminé tous ses droits sur ces produits.

Les règles de l’OMC veulent que, dans le contexte d’un ALE, les deux parties éliminent les droits de douane dans l’essentiel de leurs échanges.

Commerce International Canada vous invite à soumettre votre opinion sur : Négociations concernant l’accès au marché des produits agricoles et non agricoles

Pour plus d’information, consultez : Le Canada et la Corée - Négociations en vue d'un accord de libre échange