Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Intent to Conduct a Strategic Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement

Closing date: December 30, 2005

The Government of Canada will be undertaking a Strategic Environmental Assessment of the negotiations for a Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with Korea. Comments are invited on any likely and significant environmental impacts of the negotiations on Canada.

The Government of Canada is committed to sustainable development. Mutually supportive trade and environmental policies can contribute to this objective. To this end, the Minister of International Trade, with the support of his Cabinet colleagues, has directed trade officials to improve their understanding of, and information base on, the relationship between trade and environmental issues at the earliest stages of decision making, and to do this through an open and inclusive process. Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are critical to this work.

This process is guided by the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations with direction from the 1999 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals.

For more information, please visit:

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on the likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada resulting from the Canada-Korea FTA negotiations by December 30, 2005.

Contributions can be sent by email, fax or mail to:

Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement
Consultations and Liaison Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: (613) 944-7981
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'intention de procéder à une évaluation environnementale stratégique de l'accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Corée

Date limite : 30 décembre 2005

Le gouvernement du Canada entreprendra une évaluation environnementale stratégique des négociations en vue de conclure un accord de libre-échange (ALE) avec la Corée. Il recueillera des commentaires sur les impacts environnementaux probables et significatifs des négociations au Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à l'égard du développement durable. Des politiques commerciales et environnementales qui se renforcent mutuellement peuvent contribuer à la réalisation de cet objectif. À cet effet, le ministre du Commerce international, avec l'appui de ses collègues du Cabinet, a demandé aux représentants commerciaux d'améliorer leurs connaissances ainsi que la base d'information concernant la relation entre les enjeux du commerce et ceux de l'environnement dès les premières étapes du processus décisionnel, et cela par un processus ouvert et inclusif. Les évaluations environnementales des négociations commerciales sont essentielles à ce travail.

Ce processus s'inspire du Cadre pour l'évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales, élaboré par le Canada en 2001, avec l'aide de la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 1999.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez :

Toutes les parties prenantes sont invitées à présenter leurs observations relatives aux impacts environnementaux probables et significatifs des négociations d'un ALE entre le Canada et la Corée d'ici le 30 décembre 2005.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux adresses suivantes :


Évaluation environnementale de l'accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Corée
Direction des consultations et de la liaison
Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson,
125, promenade Sussex,
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : (613) 944-7981
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca