Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Intent to Conduct a Strategic Environmental Assessment of a Government Procurement Chapter of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA)

Closing date: September 12, 2005

The Government of Canada is currently negotiating a Government Procurement Chapter which is expected to form part of the existing Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA). As such, to reflect its commitment to sustainable development, the Government of Canada will conduct an environmental assessment of this Government Procurement Chapter, and is seeking comments on its likely environmental impacts on Canada.

In keeping with the 1999 Cabinet Directive requiring federal departments to consider the environmental impacts of policy initiatives, the former Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade developed the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations (the Framework). It should be noted that the Framework is intended to be applied in a flexible fashion, so that it can be adapted to the nature of the agreement to be negotiated.

For more information about the CCFTA, please see: Background on CCFTA.

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on environmental matters related to the Government Procurement Chapter, which will form part of the CCFTA, by September 12, 2005.

Contributions can be sent by email, fax or mail to:

Mail: Environmental Assessment of the Government Procurement Chapter of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA)
Consultations and Liaison Division
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: (613) 944-7981
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'intention d'effectuer une Évaluation environnementale stratégique : inclusion d’un chapitre sur les marchés publics dans l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili (ALECC)

Date limite : 12 septembre 2005

Le gouvernement du Canada négocie actuellement un chapitre portant sur les marchés publics qui devrait s’intégrer dans l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili (ALECC). À ce titre, respectant son engagement en faveur du développement durable, le gouvernement du Canada procédera à une évaluation environnementale de ce chapitre sur les marchés publics tout en sollicitant les observations des intéressés sur les répercussions environnementales probables au Canada.

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 voulant que les ministères fédéraux tiennent compte des effets de leurs initiatives stratégiques sur l’environnement, l’ancien ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international a élaboré en 2001 le Cadre pour l’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales. Le cadre se veut suffisamment souple pour qu’on puisse l’adapter selon la nature de l’accord à négocier.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les marchés publics dans les accords et les négociations sur le commerce et sur l’ALECC, voir :

Toutes les parties intéressées sont invitées à soumettre leurs points de vue sur les questions environnementales que soulève l’inclusion d’un chapitre sur les marchés publics dans l’ALECC d’ici le 12 septembre 2005.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées suivantes :

Évaluation environnementale du chapitre sur les marchés publics de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili (ALECC)
Direction des consultations et de la liaison
Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson,
125, promenade Sussex,
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : (613) 944-7981
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca