Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Government of Canada is Seeking Views of Canadians on Possible Increase in Certain Most-Favoured-Nation (MFN) Tariffs

Closing date: June 25, 2005

On May 1, 2004, ten additional countries (Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Cyprus and Malta) became members of the European Union (EU). Once they joined the EU, the new member states withdrew their individual tariff schedules and adopted the EU’s tariff schedule. In certain cases, the EU tariffs are higher than acceding members’ previous tariffs. Under WTO rules, Article XXIV:6 of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) provides for compensation in such circumstances. Canada is currently negotiating with the EU to ensure that adequate compensation is obtained. However, should the negotiations for a compensation package fail, Canada has the right, under WTO rules, to withdraw substantially equivalent concessions before August 1, 2005. The purpose of this consultation is to obtain views on a short list of items that could be subject to an MFN tariff increase.

The proposed increase in MFN tariffs would not affect imports originating in Canada's North American Free Trade Agreement partners, other bilateral free trade partners or countries eligible for existing preferential tariff treatments.

For more information on this issue and on the procedures for submitting a request, we invite you to consult the Canada Gazette Notice of May 28, 2005. All interested parties are invited to submit their views by June 25, 2005.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le Canada sollicite l'avis des Canadiens sur une éventuelle hausse de certains droits applicables en vertu du Tarif de la nation la plus favorisée (TNPF)

Date limite : 25 juin 2005

Le 1er mai 2004, dix autres pays (Estonie, Lettonie, Lituanie, Pologne, République tchèque, Slovaquie, Hongrie, Slovénie, Chypre et Malte) sont devenus membres de l'Union européenne. Lors de leur adhésion à l'Union européenne (UE), les nouveaux états membres ont retiré leurs annexes tarifaires et ont adopté celle de l'Union européenne. Dans certains cas, les tarifs douaniers de l'Union européenne sont plus élévés que les tarifs des pays adhérents. Aux termes des règles de l'OMC, l'Article XXIV:6 de l'Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce (GATT) prevoit une indemnisation dans de telles circonstances. Le Canada négocie actuellement avec l'UE afin d'obtenir une indemnisation adéquate. Toutefois, s'il est impossible d'en arriver à une telle entente, le Canada est fondé, aux termes des règles de l'OMC, à retirer des concessions, et ce, avant le 1er août 2005. Le but de cette consultation est d'obtenir des commentaires sur une liste restreinte d'items qui pourraient faire l'objet d'une hausse des tarifs de la NPF.

La hausse proposée des taux du TNPF ne devrait pas toucher les importations en provenance des partenaires du Canada à l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain, des autres partenaires d'accords bilatéraux de libre-échange ou de pays ayant actuellement droit à des tarifs préférentiels.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cette question ainsi que sur les procédures à suivre pour présenter vos observations, nous vous invitons à consulter l'avis de la Gazette du Canada du 28 mai 2005. Les parties concernées peuvent transmettre leurs observations d'ici le 25 juin 2005.