Consultations on the Fifth Review of the Record of Discussion on Trade in Pharmaceutical Products

The Government of Canada is seeking the views of Canadians on a proposed fifth review of the 1994 Record of Discussion on Trade in Pharmaceutical Products (the “arrangement”) concluded among the following World Trade Organization (WTO) Members: Canada, the European Union (EU), Japan, Macao (China), Norway, Switzerland, and the United States.

Background

Pursuant to the 1994 arrangement, participating WTO members have eliminated their duties, on a Most Favoured Nation basis, for specified pharmaceutical ingredients and intermediates.

The Record of Discussion was notified by the participating WTO Members on March 25, 1994, and covered over 6,000 pharmaceutical-related products. To expand the coverage of tariff elimination to new pharmaceutical-related products that are developed, the Record of Discussion provides for the periodic review of the product coverage. Four earlier reviews occurred in 1996, 1998, 2007 and 2010. As a result of the reviews, the arrangement currently covers nearly 9,000 pharmaceutical-related products.

With respect to a fifth review of the arrangement, it has been suggested that the coverage of the arrangement be expanded to include additional compounds published by the World Health Organization (WHO) as Proposed International Nonproprietary Names (lists are available here).

Submissions by interested parties

The Government of Canada is seeking to identify the interests of Canadians in terms of product coverage as well as any concerns with the proposed elimination of Canadian tariffs for these products. To help inform this process, the Government is embarking on a public consultation process to give all interested stakeholders an opportunity to provide input. Interested parties wishing to contribute to this process are invited to provide responses to the following three questions:

  1. Do you support the proposed fifth review of the product scope of the Record of Discussion on the Trade in Pharmaceutical Products? Please provide a rationale for your response.
  2. Do you face tariff barriers in any participant countries with respect to exports of pharmaceutical ingredients or intermediates? If so, are they related to specific pharmaceutical ingredients or intermediates? Please provide the Harmonized System (HS) subheading codes.
  3. Do you have any views on the elimination of Canadian import tariffs on the pharmaceutical ingredients and intermediates listed by the WHO and cited above? If so, please provide a description of the ingredients or intermediates and their HS subheading codes.

The deadline for receiving input and comments is March 10, 2017. Please be advised that any information received as a result of this consultation will be considered as public information, unless explicitly designated as private. Submissions should include the contributor’s name and address and, if applicable, his or her organization, institution or business.

Additional information

For more information on the Record of Discussions of the Trade in Pharmaceutical Products, please consult this document (.PDF).

Contact points

Questions and contributions may be sent by email or mail to:

WTO Pharmaceutical Initiative, Tariffs and Goods Market Access Division (TPG), Global Affairs Canada, 111 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0G2
Email: tpg@international.gc.ca

Questions or comments regarding the Canadian tariffs should be sent by email or mail to:

WTO Pharmaceutical Initiative, International Trade Policy Division, Department of Finance, 90 Elgin Street, 14th Floor, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0G5
Email: fin.tariff-tarif.fin@canada.ca

December 24, 2016

Consultations sur le cinquième examen du Compte rendu des débats sur le commerce des produits pharmaceutiques

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite les vues des Canadiens sur un cinquième examen proposé du Compte rendu des débats de 1994 sur le commerce des produits pharmaceutiques (l '«entente») conclu entre les membres suivants de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC): le Canada, les États-Unis, le Japon, Macao (Chine), la Norvège, la Suisse et l'Union européenne (UE).

Contexte

Conformément à l'entente de 1994, les membres participants de l'OMC ont éliminé leurs droits de douane de la nation la plus favorisée sur les ingrédients pharmaceutiques et produits intermédiaires spécifiés.

L’entente a été notifiée le 25 mars 1994 par les Membres de l'OMC participants et visait plus de 6 000 produits pharmaceutiques. Afin d'éliminer les droits de douane sur les nouveaux produits pharmaceutiques développés après 1994, l’entente prévoit de réexaminer périodiquement la gamme des produits visés. Quatre examens antérieurs ont eu lieu en 1996, 1998, 2007 et 2010. Par conséquent, l'entente vise actuellement près de 9 000 produits pharmaceutiques.

Dans le contexte d’un cinquième examen de l'entente, il a été suggéré d’élargir sa portée afin d’inclure d'autres composés publiés par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) en tant que dénominations communes internationales proposées (les listes peuvent être consultées ici (disponible en anglais seulement)).

Soumissions par les parties intéressées

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à identifier les intérêts des Canadiens en ce qui a trait aux produits visés ainsi que toute préoccupation concernant l'élimination proposée des droits de douane canadiens pour ces produits. À cette fin, le gouvernement entreprend un processus de consultation publique afin de donner à toutes les parties intéressées l'occasion de faire part de leurs commentaires. Les parties intéressées qui souhaitent contribuer à ce processus sont invitées à répondre aux trois questions suivantes :

  1. Appuyez-vous le cinquième examen proposé des produits visés par le Compte rendu des débats sur le commerce des produits pharmaceutiques? Veuillez justifier votre réponse.
  2. Êtes-vous confronté à des entraves tarifaires dans les pays participants en ce qui concerne les exportations d'ingrédients pharmaceutiques ou intermédiaires? Dans l'affirmative, sont-ils liés à des ingrédients pharmaceutiques ou intermédiaires particuliers? Veuillez fournir les codes de sous-positions correspondantes du Système harmonisé (SH).
  3. Avez-vous des opinions sur l'élimination des droits d'importation canadiens sur les ingrédients pharmaceutiques et les produits intermédiaires énumérés par l'OMS tel qu’indiqué ci-haut? Dans l'affirmative, veuillez fournir une description des ingrédients ou intermédiaires et de leurs codes de sous-positions correspondants du SH.

La date limite pour recevoir les commentaires est le 10 mars 2017. Veuillez noter que toute information reçue à la suite de cette consultation sera considérée comme information publique, sauf si elle est explicitement désignée comme information privée. Les soumissions doivent inclure le nom et l'adresse du contributeur et, le cas échéant, son organisation, institution ou entreprise.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d'informations sur le Compte rendu des débats sur le commerce des produits pharmaceutiques, veuillez consulter ce document (.PDF).

Points de contact

Les questions et les contributions peuvent être envoyées par courrier électronique ou par la poste à:

Initiative pharmaceutique de l'OMC, Direction des droits de douane et de l'accès aux marchés des marchandises (TPG), Affaires mondiales Canada, 111, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0G2
Courriel: tpg@international.gc.ca

Les questions ou commentaires concernant les tarifs canadiens doivent être envoyés par courriel ou par la poste à :

Initiative pharmaceutique de l'OMC, Direction de la politique commerciale internationale, Ministère des Finances, 90, rue Elgin, 14e étage, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0G5
Courriel: fin.tariff-tarif.fin@canada.ca

Le 24 décembre 2016