Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Second stage of review of the OECD Sector Understanding on Export Credits for Renewable Energies and Water Projects - Consideration of the challenges related to climate change

Closing date: August 25, 2009

The purpose of this notice is to provide interested parties with an opportunity to participate in a consultation process relating to the possible expansion of the list of eligible sectors under the Sector Understanding on Export Credits for Renewable Energies and Water Projects (REWSU). The REWSU is an Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) agreement that establishes the most generous export credit terms and conditions that export credit agencies, including Export Development Canada (EDC), may apply when providing officially supported export credits related to the financing of new or the modernization of existing renewable energies and water projects.

On June 24, 2009, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) announced that its members had agreed to make this Sector Understanding permanent and to enhance official support for export credits in the renewable energy and water sectors. The REWSU features repayment terms of up to 18 years and increased flexibility in repayment schedules, accompanied by revised fixed interest rates for the longer tenors.

The current list of eligible sectors consists of:

  • Wind energy
  • Geothermal energy
  • Tidal and tidal stream power
  • Wave power
  • Solar photovoltaic power
  • Solar thermal energy
  • Ocean thermal energy
  • Bio-energy (sustainable biomass, landfill gas, sewage treatment plant gas, and biogas energy installations)
  • Projects related to the supply of water for human use and wastewater treatment
  • Hydro power
  • Energy efficiency in renewable energies projects

The second stage of the review, scheduled to conclude at the end of 2009, will consider the possible expansion of the scope of the REWSU to incorporate technologies related to climate change, including enhanced energy efficiency and low-carbon projects. Local costs and floating interest rates will also be considered.

In preparation for this second stage, the Government of Canada invites concerned stakeholders to indicate their interest in participating in a consultation process relating to the scoping of the OECD Sector Understanding on Export Credits for Renewable Energies and Water Projects. This consultation process will inform Canada’s position in preparation for the next round of discussions of the REWSU at the OECD in late September 2009.

Please send expressions of interest in participating in the consultation process as soon as possible and no later than August 25, 2009. Please include your name, organization, area of interest, and contact info, and send via one of the following:

OECD / REWSU 
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
International Trade Portfolio and Strategic Analysis Division (BPA)
125 Sussex Drive Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-1574
Email: rewsu-asere.bpa@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Deuxième étape de l’examen de l’Accord sectoriel sur les crédits à l'exportation pour les projets dans les domaines des énergies renouvelables et des ressources en eau de l’OCDE - Prise en considération des enjeux liés aux changements climatiques

Date limite : le 25 août 2009

Le présent avis a pour objet d’offrir aux parties intéressées l'occasion de participer à un processus de consultation sur un possible élargissement de la liste des secteurs admissibles dans le cadre de l’Accord sectoriel sur les crédits à l'exportation pour les projets dans les domaines des énergies renouvelables et des ressources en eau (ci après appelé l’Accord). L’Accord est un arrangement de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) qui établit les modalités et conditions des crédits à l'exportation les plus favorables que les organismes de crédit à l’exportation, dont Exportation et développement Canada (EDC), peuvent accorder en vue d’un soutien financier officiel à l’exportation lié à l’élaboration ou à la modernisation de centrales de production d’énergie renouvelable et de projets dans le domaine des ressources en eau.

Le 24 juin 2009, l’OCDE a annoncé que ses membres avaient accepté de rendre l’Accord permanent et d’accroître l’appui officiel pour les crédits à l’exportation dans les domaines des énergies renouvelables et des ressources en eau. L’Accord comporte des modalités de paiement pouvant aller jusqu’à 18 ans ainsi que des calendriers de remboursement très flexibles et des taux d’intérêt fixes révisés pour les échéances à plus long terme.

La liste actuelle comprend les secteurs admissibles suivants :

  • L’éolien
  • La géothermie
  • L’électricité produite à partir de l’énergie des marées et des courants marins
  • L’électricité produite à partir de l’énergie des vagues
  • Le photovoltaïque
  • Le solaire thermique
  • L’énergie thermique des mers
  • La bioénergie (l’ensemble de la biomasse durable, le gaz d’enfouissement, les installations de production de gaz à partir de résidus de traitement des eaux usées et les installations de production d’énergie à partir du biogaz)
  • Projets liés à l’approvisionnement en eau des populations et aux installations de traitement des eaux usées
  • Projets hydroélectriques
  • L’efficacité énergétique dans les projets d’énergies renouvelables

Au moment de la deuxième étape de l’examen, qui devrait se terminer à la fin de 2009, on envisagera d’accroître la portée de l’Accord dans le but d’y ajouter les technologies liées aux changements climatiques, dont des projets d’amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique et des projets à faibles émissions de carbone. On prendra également en compte les dépenses locales et les taux d’intérêt variables.

En vue de cette deuxième étape, le gouvernement du Canada invite les parties concernées à exprimer leur intérêt à participer à un processus de consultation sur la portée de l’Accord sectoriel sur les crédits à l'exportation pour les projets dans les domaines des énergies renouvelables et des ressources en eau de l’OCDE. Ce processus permettra d’orienter la position du Canada en préparation à la prochaine série de discussions sur l’Accord, qui aura lieu à l’OCDE à la fin de septembre 2009.

Nous invitons les personnes intéressées à nous faire connaître leur décision de participer au processus de consultation au plus tard le 25 août 2009. Veuillez nous faire parvenir votre nom, le nom de votre organisation, votre domaine d’intérêt et vos coordonnées par l’une des méthodes suivantes :

OCDE / ASERE
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Direction de l’analyse stratégique et du portefeuille commercial international
125, promenade Sussex Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : 613-944-1574
Courriel : rewsu-asere.bpa@international.gc.ca