Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Negotiations of an S&T Cooperation Agreement with Brazil

Closing date: June 20, 2007

As the Government of Canada prepares to enter into the actual process of negotiations, your views and comments are sought on issues that may be of interest to you in relation to a Science and Technology (S&T) Cooperation Agreement that is going to be negotiated with Brazil.

Background

In 2005, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) was provided with a mandate to negotiate a Science and Technology Cooperation Agreement with the government of Brazil. This agreement will be the final component of the International Science and Technology Partnerships Program (ISTPP) to be delivered, following the successful signings of agreements between Canada and Israel, India and China.
In March 2007, Canada held a Science, Technology and Innovation Forum in Sao Paulo, Brazil, during which DFAIT and the relevant S&T ministries in Brazil signed a Declaration of Intent to enter into the process of negotiations to sign the Agreement.

As part of the consultation process pertaining to the upcoming negotiations, Canadians are invited to provide comments on issues that may be of interest in relation to the Agreement, by answering the following few questions put to your consideration:

1. As Canada is going forward with negotiations on a S&T treaty with Brazil, the starting point for the treaty text is the text of the S&T Agreements Canada has signed with India and China since it is likely to be very similar. What improvements would you like to see in the draft text Canada proposes to the Brazilians?

2. S&T Agreements usually provide a framework for cooperation, and this framework includes provisions for Memoranda of Undertanding (MOUs) which are used to set out the details of cooperation projects. S&T Agreements can either allow any eligible person or organization to enter into an MOU under the Agreement, or it can restrict participants to those which the Parties (Canada & Brazil) decide upon. Which of these two models would you prefer?

3. Article 11 and Annex 1 of the Canada-China S&T Agreement (pages 7 & 10 under that link) provide a framework for the protection of intellectual property (IP) under the Agreement. Would your organization be at all concerned if similar language were to be used to cover the IP aspects of a Canada-Brazil S&T Agreement?

4. Do you have anything else your organization would like to bring to our attention?

All interested parties are invited to provide written comments no later than June 20, 2007.

Please send your contributions by email, mail or fax to:

Science and Technology Division (IIS)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
E-mail: consultations@international.gc.ca
Fax: (613) 944-2452

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Négociations d'un accord de coopération scientifique et technologique avec le Brésil

Date limite : 20 juin 2007

Alors que le Gouvernement du Canada se prépare à entreprendre le processus de négociations en vue de conclure un accord de coopération scientifique et technologique avec le Brésil, vos commentaires sont sollicités sur les enjeux soulevés en rapport avec cet accord qui sera négocié avec le Brésil.

Contexte

En 2005, Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI) a reçu le mandat de négocier un Accord de coopération scientifique et technologique avec le gouvernement du Brésil. Cet accord constituera le dernier élément du Programme de partenariats internationaux en science et technologie (PPIST) à être mis en oeuvre après la conclusion heureuse d'accords entre le Canada et Israël, l'Inde et la Chine.

En mars 2007, le Canada a tenu un Forum sur la science, la technologie et l'innovation à Sao Paulo, au Brésil, au cours duquel le MAECI et des ministères brésiliens dont relève la S-T, ont signé une Déclaration d'intention en vue d'entreprendre le processus de négociations pour en arriver à un accord.

Dans le cadre du processus de consultations lié à ces futures négociations, les Canadiens sont invités à soumettre leurs commentaires sur les enjeux/questions susceptibles de les intéresser en rapport avec l'Accord, en répondant aux questions suivantes soumises à votre attention :

1. Alors que le Canada s'engage dans les négociations sur un traité de S-T avec le Brésil, le point de départ du texte du traité est le texte des accords de coopération scientifique et technologique que le Canada a signés avec l'Inde et la Chine, puisque tout indique qu'il sera très semblable. Quelles améliorations aimeriez-vous voir apporter au projet de texte que le Canada proposerait aux Brésiliens?

2. Les Accords de S-T fournissent habituellement un cadre de coopération, et ce cadre de travail comprend des dispositions pour conclure des protocoles d'entente qui servent à exposer les détails relatifs aux projets de coopération. Les accords de S-T peuvent soit permettre à toute personne ou organisation admissible de conclure un protocole d'entente aux termes de l'Accord, soit n'accepter que les participants qui répondent aux critères adoptés par les deux parties (Canada-Brésil). Lequel de ces deux modèles préféreriez-vous?

3. L'article 11 et l'annexe 1 de l'Accord de S&T entre le Canada et la Chine, prévoient un cadre destiné à la protection de la propriété intellectuelle (PI) aux termes de l'Accord. Est-ce que votre province/territoire aurait de quelconques préoccupations si un texte similaire était utilisé pour couvrir les aspects liés à la PI qui seraient inclus dans un accord de S-T entre le Canada et le Brésil?

4. Y a-t-il autre chose ou d'autres points que vous aimeriez soumettre à notre attention?

Toutes les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire parvenir leurs commentaires au plus tard le 20 juin 2007.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées suivantes :

Direction de la science et de la technologie (IIS)
Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca
Télécopieur : (613) 944-2452