Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Intent to Conduct an Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Mali Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement

The Government of Canada will undertake a Strategic Environmental Assessment of the negotiations for the Canada-Mali Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA). Comments are invited on any likely and significant environmental impacts of the negotiations on Canada.

The Government of Canada is committed to sustainable development. Mutually supportive trade, environmental and investment policies can contribute to this objective. To this end, the Minister of International Trade, with the support of his Cabinet colleagues, has directed trade officials to improve their understanding of, and information based on, the relationship between trade and environmental issues at the earliest stages of decision making, and to do this through an open and inclusive process. Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are critical to this work.

This process adheres to the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations and with direction from the 2010 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals.

For more information, please visit:

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on the likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada resulting from the FIPA negotiations with Mali by January 9, 2012.

Contributions can be sent by email, fax or mail to:

Environmental Assessments of Trade Agreements, Trade Agreements and NAFTA Secretariat (TAS)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2
EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca
Fax: 613-992-9392

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'intention d'effectuer une évaluation environnementale stratégique de l'accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers Canada-Mali

Le gouvernement du Canada va entreprendre une évaluation environnementale stratégique des négociations de l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) entre le Canada et le Mali. Il recueillera des commentaires sur les effets environnementaux importants et probables de ces négociations sur le Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à favoriser le développement durable. Des politiques commerciales, environnementales et en matière d’investissement qui se renforcent mutuellement peuvent contribuer à la réalisation de cet objectif. À cette fin, le ministre du Commerce international, appuyé par ses collègues du Cabinet, a invité les agents commerciaux à approfondir leur compréhension et leur connaissance de la corrélation entre les enjeux commerciaux et environnementaux dès les premières étapes du processus décisionnel, qui doit rester ouvert et global. L’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales est essentielle à ce travail.

Ce processus adhère au Cadre d'évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales du Canada de 2001 et de la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web suivant :

Tous les intéressés sont invités à présenter, d’ici le 9 janvier 2012, leurs observations relatives aux effets environnementaux importants et probables sur le Canada qu’engendreraient les négociations d’un APIE avec le Mali.

Vous pouvez envoyer votre contribution par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées suivantes:

Évaluation environnementale des ententes commerciales, Secrétariat des Ententes et de l'ALÉNA (TAS)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca
Fax: 613-992-9392