Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Intent to Conduct an Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement

Closing date:  January 9, 2012

On June 15, 2010, the Honourable Peter Van Loan, former Minister of International Trade, announced that Canada and Ukraine launched negotiations toward a bilateral free trade agreement. (See News Release).

The Government of Canada is conducting an Environmental Assessment (EA) to inform these free trade negotiations. Comments are invited on any likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada of a prospective FTA with Ukraine.

The Government of Canada is committed to sustainable development. Mutually supportive trade, investment and environmental policies can contribute to this objective. To this end, the Minister of International Trade has directed negotiators to improve their understanding of, and information based on, the relationship between trade and environmental issues at the earliest stages of decision making, and to do this through an open and inclusive process. Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are critical to this work.

This process is guided by the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiationsand with direction from the 2010 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals.

For more information, please visit:

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on any likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada resulting from the prospective Canada-Ukraine FTA by Monday, January 9, 2012.

Contributions can be sent by e-mail, fax or mail to:
Environmental Assessment Consultations – Canada-Ukraine FTA
Trade Policy and Negotiations Division I (TPE)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, ON, K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-992-9392
E-mail: EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d’intention de procéder à une évaluation environnementale des effets d’un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Ukraine

Date de clôture : le 9 janvier 2012

Le 15 juin 2010, l’honorable Peter Van Loan, ancien ministre du Commerce international, a annoncé que le Canada et l’Ukraine avaient lancé des négociations en vue de la conclusion d’un accord de libre-échange. (Voir le Communiqué).

Le gouvernement du Canada procède actuellement à une étude d’impact sur l’environnement en vue d’orienter les négociations de libre-échange en cours. Il recueillera des commentaires sur les effets environnementaux importants et probables qu’un accord de libre‑échange avec l’Ukraine pourrait avoir sur le Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolument en faveur du développement durable. Des politiques relatives au commerce, à l’investissement et à l’environnement qui se renforcent mutuellement peuvent contribuer à l’atteinte de cet objectif. À cette fin, le ministre du Commerce international a demandé aux responsables du commerce d’approfondir leur compréhension de la corrélation entre les enjeux commerciaux et environnementaux, ainsi que d’améliorer l’information fondée sur cette corrélation, dès les premières étapes du processus décisionnel, et ce, de façon ouverte. L’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales constitue un élément essentiel de ce travail.

Ce processus s’inspire du Cadre d’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales du Canada de 2001 et de la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter:

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire parvenir leurs commentaires sur les effets environnementaux importants et probables qu’un éventuel ALE entre le Canada et l’Ukraine pourrait avoir sur le Canada d’ici le lundi 9 janvier 2012.

Vous pouvez envoyer votre contribution par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées suivantes:

Consultations sur l’évaluation environnementale d’un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Ukraine
Direction de la politique et des négociations commerciales I (TPE)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, Édifice Lester B. Pearson,
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2.
EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca 
Télécopieur: 613-944-0757