Closed National Contact Point Specific Instances

This section includes a summary of all specific instances addressed by the Canadian NCP as lead NCP before 2011, and Final Statements of all concluded specific instances post-2011.

NCP final statements post-2011

Summary of pre-2011 NCP specific instances

1) First Quantum Minerals Ltd and Oxfam Canada

In July 2001, the NCP received a submission from Oxfam Canada involving the operations of First Quantum Minerals Ltd in Zambia. The NGO reported that the operations of the company were not respecting three OECD Guideline recommendations: 1) Chapter II, paragraph 2, regarding respect for human rights; 2) Chapter II, paragraph 7, regarding development of practices that foster confidence and trust between companies and the societies in which they operate; and, 3) Chapter V, paragraph 2(b), regarding communication and consultation with communities on environmental, health and safety policies. The central underlying issue that gave rise to the submission was the impending removal of local farmers from company-owned land. To address this issue, the Canadian NCP facilitated a flow of communications between the company's headquarters in Canada and the Canadian office of the NGO. Both Canadian parties in turn communicated with their operations in Zambia where face-to-face meetings took place. While there was a variance in the facts and opinions reported on each side, a resolution was reached after the company met with groups from the affected communities and worked out an approach whereby the farmers could continue to use the land in the short-term. The Canadian NCP sent a final communication to the Canadian company, copied to the Canadian NGO that welcomed the spirit of cooperation demonstrated by both parties. The NCP also encouraged the company to maintain an open line of communication with the Canadian NGO and other groups concerned about the welfare of people affected by the operations of the company in Zambia. Throughout the process, the Canadian NCP kept its counterpart in Switzerland informed of developments.

2) Canadian Companies named in the Second UN Panel of Experts Report on Illegal exploitation of natural resources and other riches in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

In October 2002, the Second UN Panel of Experts Report on Illegal exploitation of natural resources and other riches in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) included an annex listing companies which, in their view, violated the Guidelines. In October 2003, the UN published a subsequent report in which seven of the eight Canadian companies were listed as issues "resolved - no further action required." One company was listed as "Pending Cases with Governments". The NCP accepted the Panel's conclusions and followed up with the "eighth" company Kakanda Development Corporation. In response to the NCP's follow-up actions, the company replied with a letter describing their involvement in the DRC. The letter indicated that the company had not been active in the DRC since 1997 and they had officially halted all activities in the DRC as of June 4, 2004. The NCP subsequently brought this case to a close as a specific instance procedure.

3) Ivanhoe Mines Ltd and the Canadian Labour Congress Canadian National Contact Point for the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises Statement concerning Ivanhoe Mines Ltd in Burma

The NCP received a request for review in November 2002 from the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC) regarding the operations of Ivanhoe Mines Ltd. in Burma. The request for review focused on elements of the Guidelines’ chapter on Employment and Industrial Relations. Following a review of the submission, the NCP decided that the CLC submission merited further examination under the Guidelines, and held a number of discussions with each party and offered to facilitate a dialogue between the two sides. Ultimately the NCP was not able to proceed with the dialogue as there was no agreement between the parties to participate in the process. A letter was sent to both parties in February 2006 to formally bring the NCP's involvement with the submission to a close.

4) UPM Kymmene in Canada

The Communications, Energy and Paperworkers’ Union Canada submitted a complaint to the NCP on November 29, 2004 concerning the operations of UPM Kymmene in one of the Canadian provinces. The union alleged the company had violated Guidelines’ recommendations of the Employment and Industrial Relations Chapter. As labour issues fall under provincial jurisdiction, the NCP's consideration of whether to pursue the matter entailed a thorough examination of the remedies available in the province in question. The NCP determined that the provincial labour regulatory regime provided the appropriate procedure to address the issues raised and informed the labour union.

5) BATA in Sri Lanka

The International Textile, Garment and Leather Workers Federation submitted a complaint to the NCP on January 25, 2005 concerning the operations of BATA in Sri Lanka. The international union was acting on behalf of a local union. The unions alleged that the company, through its handling of a labour dispute with its employees, had violated recommendations of the Guidelines chapter on Employment and Industrial Relations. The international union met with the NCP to present its concerns. The NCP was also in contact with the company to get its side of the story. Information relating to the labour dispute was also obtained from Canada's mission in the non-adhering country. The mission was informed that a process was underway to resolve the matter led by the local office of the Department of Labour to get the company and the local union to sign a Memorandum of Understanding with the agreed final decisions/settlements. In light of that development, and the fact that the union workers returned to work, the NCP decided that it would be inappropriate for Canada's NCP to seek the participation of the parties in a dialogue in an alternative forum. The NCP sent a letter to both parties in November 2005 informing them of the NCP decision.

6) Ascendant Copper Corporation and Mining Watch Canada, Friends of the Earth Canada and DECOIN

The NCP received a request for review dated May 16, 2005 from Mining Watch Canada (MW), Friends of the Earth Canada (FoE) and DECOIN (Defensa y Conservacion Ecologica de Intag) regarding the conduct of Ascendant Copper Corporation in Ecuador.  The issues raised included respect for national law, human rights, refraining from seeking exemptions, disclosure policies, and communication with the public and employees on environmental, health and safety impacts.

The NCP’s initial assessment determined that the issues raised in the submission merited further examination and offered its good offices to Ascendant and DECOIN to participate in an NCP facilitated dialogue. While both parties initially agreed to participate, in January 2006, the NGOs withdrew from the process, citing their disagreement with the set terms of reference for the meeting, specifically the need to maintain confidentiality.  In response to this action, the NCP sent the NGOs and Ascendant letters indicating that the NCP remained open and willing to facilitate a dialogue consistent with the Guidelines should the parties wish to reconsider their decision. Furthermore, the NCP encouraged Ascendant to continue to independently pursue ongoing dialogue with communities affected by their operations with a view to resolving outstanding issues. Finally, the Canadian NCP indicated an intention to monitor Ascendant's operations in Ecuador via the Canadian Embassy in Quito.

7) Anvil in Democratic Republic of Congo

In August 2005, the NCP received letters from a coalition of NGOs requesting that the NCP investigate the operations of Anvil, an international company incorporated in Canada operating in in the DRC. The NCP sent a reply letter to each of the NGOs informing them that the NCP's primary function is to play a facilitative or mediating role in resolving problems and not carry out investigations. The NCP also relayed that that it  had informed the company of the communications the NCP had received from Canadian NGOs and that the company expressed a willingness and interest in meeting with these NGOs to discuss their operations in the non-adhering country. In November 2005, the NCP facilitated a meeting between the company and interested NGOs to provide parties with an opportunity to present their points of view and to objectively discuss the issues in a non-confrontational forum. Following the meeting, the NCP offered to host a follow-up meeting between the company and the NGOs, but the NGOs felt that this would not be necessary since there was now adequate contact between the company and their groups.

8) Centerra Gold Inc. in Mongolia

On 14 March 2012, the United Mongolian Movement of Rivers and Lakes (UMMRL), Oyu Tolgoi Watch (OT Watch), and MiningWatch Canada submitted a request for review in relation to the operations of Centerra Gold Inc. at the Boroo Mine and the Gatsuurt gold deposit in Selenge Province, Mongolia. The request for review alleged: mining on prohibited land, violating national law; seeking exemptions from national law; contamination of water sources; failing to respect the right to religious freedom of the local community, and arrests of environmental activists; not providing the public with adequate and timely information on the actual and potential environmental, health and safety hazards and impacts of the company’s activities.

The NCP reviewed the materials presented from all the parties, including additional information requested by the NCP from the parties, and found that some of the issues raised were material but not substantiated, and the remainders were neither material nor substantiated.  In addition, the use of “warning gunshots” by one of the Notifiers was clearly contrary to the expectation that the Parties would engage respectfully and without violence.  The NCP completed its initial assessment on 2 November 2012, stating that the Request for Review did not merit further examination. The NCP encouraged the Parties to engage in dialogue, and that the company extend its efforts to communicate information to the local population and Notifiers

Circonstances spécifiques conclues du Point de contact national

La présente section comprend un résumé de toutes les circonstances spécifiques conclues par le PCN du Canada en tant que PCN responsable avant 2011 et les communiqués finaux concernant toutes les circonstances spécifiques conclues après 2011.

Communiqués finaux du PCN après 2011

Résumé des circonstances spécifiques du PCN avant 2011

1) First Quantum Minerals Ltd et Oxfam Canada

En juillet 2001, le PCN a reçu une demande d’examen de la part d’Oxfam Canada relativement aux activités de First Quantum Minerals Ltd en Zambie. L’ONG a déclaré que les activités de l’entreprise ne respectaient pas trois recommandations des Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à savoir celles du : 1) chapitre II, paragraphe 2, sur le respect des droits de l’homme; 2) chapitre II, paragraphe 7, sur l’élaboration des pratiques qui favorisent une relation de confiance mutuelle entre les entreprises et les sociétés dans lesquelles elles exercent leurs activités, et; 3) chapitre V, paragraphe 2b), sur les communications et les consultations avec les collectivités au chapitre des politiques en matière d’environnement, de santé et de sécurité. La question centrale sous-jacente qui a donné lieu à la demande d’examen portait sur l’expulsion imminente de fermiers de la région des terres de l’entreprise. Afin de régler le problème, le PCN du Canada a facilité l’échange de renseignements entre le siège social de l’entreprise au Canada et le bureau canadien de l’ONG. Les deux parties canadiennes concernées ont à leur tour communiqué avec leurs bureaux respectifs en Zambie, où des rencontres en personne ont eu lieu. Malgré les différences dans les faits et opinions énoncés par chaque partie, la rencontre entre l’entreprise et les groupes des collectivités touchées a permis de conclure un accord dans le cadre duquel les fermiers pourraient continuer à utiliser les terres, au moins à court terme. Le PCN canadien a fait parvenir un communiqué final à l’entreprise canadienne, dont l’ONG canadienne a reçu copie, dans laquelle il félicite les deux parties pour l’esprit de coopération dont elles ont fait preuve. Le PCN a aussi invité l’entreprise à maintenir une communication ouverte avec l’ONG canadienne et d’autres groupes préoccupés par le bien-être des personnes touchées par les activités de l’entreprise minière en Zambie. Tout au long du processus, le PCN canadien a tenu le PCN suisse informé du déroulement des événements.

2) Entreprises canadiennes nommées dans le deuxième Rapport du groupe d’experts des Nations Unies sur l’exploitation illégale des ressources naturelles et autres richesses de la République démocratique du Congo (RDC)

En octobre 2002, le deuxième Rapport du Groupe d’experts des Nations Unies sur l’exploitation illégale des ressources naturelles et autres richesses de la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) comportait en annexe, une liste des entreprises qui, selon le groupe d’experts, violaient les Principes directeurs. En octobre 2003, l’ONU a publié un rapport subséquent dans lequel le cas de sept des huit entreprises canadiennes était considéré comme étant réglé et ne nécessitait aucune autre prise de mesures. Quant à la huitième entreprise, le rapport indiquait que l’affaire était prise en charge par les gouvernements concernés. Le PCN a accepté les conclusions du Groupe et a procédé au suivi de l’affaire impliquant la « huitième » entreprise : Kakanda Development Corporation. En réponse aux mesures de suivi du PCN, l’entreprise a transmis une lettre décrivant ses opérations en RDC. La lettre indiquait que l’entreprise n’avait pas été active en RDC depuis 1997 et qu’elle avait officiellement cessé toutes ses activités en RDC en date du 4 juin 2004. Le PCN a par la suite fermé ce dossier en tant que circonstance spécifique.

3) Ivanhoe Mines Ltd et le Congrès du travail du Canada, Déclarations du Point de contact national du Canada pour la mise en œuvre des Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales concernant Ivanhoe Mines Ltd en Birmanie

Le PCN a reçu une demande d’examen en novembre 2002 de la part du Congrès du travail du Canada (CTC) relativement aux activités d’Ivanhoe Mines Ltd. en Birmanie. La demande d’examen portait sur des éléments du chapitre Emploi et relations professionnelles des Principes directeurs. Comme suite à l’examen de la demande, le PCN a décidé que la demande du CTC méritait un examen plus approfondi en vertu des Principes directeurs. Il a eu plusieurs entretiens avec chacune des parties et a offert de faciliter le dialogue entre celles-ci. Finalement, le PCN n’a pas été en mesure de favoriser l’instauration d’un dialogue entre les parties et ces dernières ont refusé de participer au processus. Une lettre a été transmise aux deux parties en février 2006 les avisant que le PCN mettait fin officiellement à sa participation.

4) UPM-Kymmene au Canada

Le Syndicat canadien des communications, de l’énergie et du papier a déposé une plainte au PCN, le 29 novembre 2004, concernant les activités d’UPM-Kymmene dans l’une des provinces canadiennes. Le syndicat prétendait que l’entreprise a violé les recommandations du chapitre Emploi et relations professionnelles des Principes directeurs. Puisque les questions relatives à l’emploi relève des provinces, le PCN a d’abord examiné les recours dont dispose la province en question avant de décider s’il se pencherait sur ce cas. Le PCN a déterminé que le régime de réglementation en matière de travail de la province comportait les procédures adéquates pour régler les questions soulevées et il en a informé le syndicat.

5) BATA au Sri Lanka

La Fédération internationale des travailleurs du textile, de l’habillement et du cuir (FITTHC) a déposé une plainte au PCN, le 25 janvier 2005, concernant les activités de BATA au Sri Lanka. La FITTHC agissait au nom d’un syndicat local. Le syndicat prétend que l’entreprise, lors d’un conflit de travail avec ses employés, avait violé les recommandations du chapitre Emploi et relations professionnelles des Principes directeurs. Le syndicat a rencontré le PCN pour lui faire part de ses inquiétudes. Le PCN a également communiqué avec l’entreprise afin de connaître sa version des faits. Des informations au sujet du conflit de travail ont également été obtenues de la mission canadienne dans le pays n’ayant pas souscrit aux Principes directeurs. La mission a été informée qu’un processus dirigé par le bureau local du ministère du Travail avait été entamé afin de résoudre cette affaire et que l’entreprise et le syndicat local avaient signé un protocole d’entente sur les décisions/règlements convenus. Compte tenu de l’évolution de la situation et puisque les travailleurs syndiqués sont retournés au travail, le PCN du Canada a décidé qu’il serait inapproprié de demander aux parties de participer à un autre dialogue. Le PCN a envoyé une lettre aux deux parties en novembre 2005 les informant de sa décision.

6) Ascendant Copper Corporation et Mines Alerte Canada, Les Ami(e)s de la Terre Canada et DECOIN

Le PCN a reçu une demande d’examen, datée du 16 mai 2005, de Mining Watch Canada (MW), Ami(e)s de la Terre Canada et DECOIN (Defensa y Conservacion Ecologica de Intag) concernant la conduite d’Ascendant Copper Corporation en Équateur. Les questions soulevées comprenaient le respect de la loi nationale, les droits de la personne, l’abstention de rechercher des exemptions, les politiques de divulgation et les communications avec le public et les employés au sujet des incidences sur l’environnement, la santé et la sécurité.

L’évaluation initiale du PCN a permis de déterminer que les questions soulevées dans la demande méritaient un examen plus approfondi. Ascendant et DECOIN ont été invités à participer à un dialogue facilité par le PCN. Bien que les deux parties aient initialement accepté de participer, en janvier 2006, les ONG se sont retirées du processus, exprimant leur désaccord au sujet du mandat de la réunion, notamment en ce qui concerne la nécessité de préserver la confidentialité. Par conséquent, le PCN a fait parvenir une lettre aux ONG et à Ascendant leur signifiant que si les parties souhaitaient reconsidérer leur position, le PCN demeurerait ouvert au dialogue et maintiendrait son offre de faciliter le dialogue conformément aux Principes directeurs. Le PCN a également invité Ascendant à poursuivre de façon indépendante son dialogue avec les collectivités touchées par ses activités, afin de résoudre les problèmes en suspens. Finalement, le PCN du Canada a indiqué qu’il avait l’intention de surveiller les activités d’Ascendant en Équateur par l’intermédiaire de son ambassade à Quito.

7) Anvil en République démocratique du Congo (RDC)

En août 2005, le PCN a reçu des lettres d’une coalition d’ONG demandant au PCN d’enquêter sur les activités d’Anvil, une entreprise étrangère incorporée au Canada qui mène des activités en RDC. Le PCN a envoyé une lettre à chacune des ONG pour les informer que la fonction principale du PCN ne consistait pas à mener des enquêtes, mais à jouer un rôle de facilitateur ou de médiateur afin de résoudre des problèmes. Le PCN a également indiqué qu’il avait informé l’entreprise des communications qu’il avait reçues des ONG canadiennes et que l’entreprise avait exprimé la volonté et l’intérêt de rencontrer les ONG afin de discuter de leurs activités dans le pays n’ayant pas souscrit aux Principes directeurs. En novembre 2005, le PCN a facilité une rencontre entre l’entreprise et les ONG intéressées afin de donner aux parties l’occasion de présenter leurs points de vue respectifs et de discuter objectivement des questions dans un climat non conflictuel. Comme suite à cette rencontre, le PCN a offert d’organiser une rencontre de suivi entre l’entreprise et les ONG, mais les ONG ont exprimé qu’elles ne jugeaient pas cette rencontre nécessaire étant donné que la communication entre l’entreprise et leurs groupes était désormais établie.

8) Centerra Gold Inc. en Mongolie

Le 14 mars 2012, le United Mongolian Movement of Rivers and Lakes (UMMRL), Oyu Tolgoi Watch (OT Watch) et Mines Alerte Canada ont soumis une demande d’examen portant sur les activités de Centerra Gold Inc. à la mine de Boroo et au gisement aurifère de Gatsuurt dans la province de Selenge, en Mongolie. La demande d’examen concernait les allégations suivantes : exploitation minière sur des terres où elle est interdite, violation de la loi nationale, demande d’exemptions à la loi nationale, contamination de sources d’eau, non‑respect du droit à la liberté religieuse de la collectivité locale et arrestations d’activistes environnementaux, ne pas avoir fourni au public en temps opportun l’information appropriée concernant les dangers et les conséquences réels et possibles des activités de l’entreprise sur l’environnement, la santé et la sécurité.

Le PCN a examiné les documents présentés par toutes les parties, y compris les renseignements supplémentaires qu’il avait demandés à ces dernières. Il a conclu que certains des problèmes signalés étaient significatifs, mais leur bien-fondé n’a pas été établi, et que le reste des problèmes étaient non significatifs et leur bien-fondé n’a pas été établi. De plus, l’emploi de « coups de feu d’avertissement » tirés par l’un des déclarants allait clairement à l’encontre des attentes à l’égard des parties, à savoir une collaboration respectueuse et sans violence. Le 2 novembre 2012, le PCN a terminé son évaluation initiale  indiquant que la demande d’examen ne méritait pas d’être approfondie. Le PCN a invité les parties à dialoguer et il a recommandé à l’entreprise de faire des efforts supplémentaires pour communiquer l’information à la population locale et aux déclarants.