How to file a request for review with the Canadian National Contact Point

Any individual, organization, or community (“stakeholder”) that believes that a multinational enterprise’s (“MNE”) actions or activities have breached the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises (“Guidelines”) may lodge a formal request for review regarding a specific instance with the National Contact Point (“NCP”) of the country in which the specific instance occurred or is occurring. Should the country not adhere to the Guidelines, then the specific instance may be submitted to the NCP in the company’s home country.

Related link: Other NCPs' contact information

The Canadian NCP’s languages of operation are English and French. Documents that are submitted in other languages will not be considered by the NCP. All communications from the NCP to the notifiers or to companies will be in either French or English, and all public information on the website will be in both languages.

Stakeholders who wish to lodge a request for review of a specific instance with Canada’s NCP should provide the information described below.

Information to include in the request for review

Background information

  • The notifier’s identity, including contact person, name of organization and contact details. Where a stakeholder is raising a matter on behalf of a number of organizations, they should list all the organizations.
  • The notifier’s interest in the matter. For example, if a request for review of a specific instance is being lodged on behalf of others (e.g., a union or local community), the stakeholder lodging the request should outline their interest in this case and mandate or reason for lodging the request.

Information about the request for review

  • The identity (name) and location of the MNE (e.g., location of the MNE’s headquarters) whose actions or activities are the subject of the request for review. If the MNE is a subsidiary of another company, the names of the corporate entities involved should be provided with a description of their affiliation.
  • A description of the action or activity which the stakeholder lodging the request for review believes constitutes non-compliance with the Guidelines. The stakeholder should provide any supporting documentation they may have (e.g., documents, reports, studies, articles, witness statements). Please note that unsubstantiated allegations are not sufficient for the NCP to make an initial assessment.
  • The location or locations of the action or activity to which the specific instance relates.
  • The parts of the Guidelines (i.e., chapter(s) and paragraph(s)) which are considered to be most relevant.
  • Information on any relevant laws or procedures and description of any potential issue regarding compliance with these laws and procedures.
  • Background on whether the action or activity has been discussed with the MNE and the results of such discussions.
  • A list of other fora where the same matter has been raised (e.g., other government offices, agencies, NGOs, legal action in the court system, etc.) and the status of any corresponding action that such offices may be taking.

Objectives and expected outcomes

  • A description of the action(s) the entity lodging the request for review considers the MNE should take to resolve the issue.
  • Any additional details that the entity lodging the request for review wishes to bring to the attention of the NCP and/or the MNE.

Declaration of Consent

  • In addition to the above information, the submission should also clearly indicate that the entity submitting the request for review is aware that all information provided to the NCP may be shared with the MNE or other parties involved in the specific instance and review. Should the notifier submitting the request for review wish to seek an exception and keep certain information confidential, they should provide an explanation to justify this request.

The NCP will acknowledge receipt of a request for review of a specific instance within five working days. The NCP will inform the company or companies subject to the request for review and give them an opportunity to respond to the allegations. The NCP will then review all documentation received, conduct fact finding and consultations as required, make an initial assessment of whether the issues raised merit further examination and will communicate the outcome to the parties. The Procedures Guide for Canada's NCP for the OECD Guidelines outlines the process that the NCP has to follow when it receives a request for review of a specific instance under the OECD Guidelines.

The NCP process flowchart gives an overview of the NCP process

The National Contact Point Secretariat can answer questions on how to file a request for review.

Requests for review may be forwarded by mail or e-mail to the following addresses:

Canada’s National Contact Point Secretariat (BTA), Global Affairs Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa ON
Canada
K1A 0G2
Email: ncp.pcn@international.gc.ca
Telephone: 343-203-2341
Fax: 613-992-8935

Comment présenter une demande d’examen auprès du PCN du Canada

Une personne, un organisme ou une communauté (partie prenante) qui croit que les agissements ou les activités d’une entreprise multinationale (EMN) sont contraires aux Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales (Principes directeurs) peut demander officiellement l’examen d’une circonstance spécifique au Point de contact national (PCN) du pays dans lequel la circonstance spécifique a eu lieu ou est en cours. Si le pays en question n’adhère pas aux Principes directeurs, la demande doit être présentée au PCN du pays où l’entreprise a son siège. Les renseignements permettant de communiquer avec les autres PCN (en anglais seulement).

Le PCN du Canada communique en anglais et en français. Il n’accepte pas les documents présentés dans d’autres langues. Le PCN communique avec les déclarants ou les entreprises soit en français, soit en anglais. Toute l’information mise à la disposition du public sur le site Web est dans les deux langues.

Les parties prenantes qui souhaitent déposer une demande d’examen d’une circonstance spécifique auprès du PCN du Canada doivent fournir l’information décrite ci-après.

Renseignements à fournir pour la demande d’examen

Renseignements généraux

  • L’identité du déclarant, notamment une personne-ressource, le nom de l’organisme et ses coordonnées. Lorsqu’une partie prenante présente une demande au nom d’un certain nombre d’organismes, elle doit dresser la liste de ceux-ci.
  • L’intérêt du déclarant dans l’affaire. Si, par exemple, une demande est présentée au nom d’autres entités (p. ex. un syndicat ou une collectivité locale), la partie prenante qui présente la demande doit expliquer en quoi cette affaire la concerne, ainsi que la raison de la demande.

Information concernant la demande d’examen

  • L’identité (le nom) de l’entreprise multinationale et l’endroit où elle se trouve (c.-à-d. le lieu de son siège social) dont les agissements ou les activités sont visés par la demande d’examen. Dans le cas où l’entreprise multinationale est une filiale d’une autre entreprise, les noms des entités en cause doivent être fournis avec une description de leur affiliation.
  • Une description des agissements ou de l’activité qui, selon la partie prenante, est contraire aux Principes directeurs. La partie prenante doit fournir toutes les pièces justificatives dont elle dispose (p. ex. des documents, des rapports, des études, des témoignages, etc.). Il est à noter que des témoignages anecdotiques ou des allégations sans fondement ne justifient pas une évaluation initiale par le PCN.
  • L’endroit où se sont produits les agissements ou les activités dans ce cas particulier.
  • Les sections des Principes directeurs (les chapitres et les paragraphes) considérées comme les plus pertinentes.
  • Des renseignements sur les lois ou les procédures pertinentes et une description des problèmes possibles concernant le respect de ces lois ou procédures.
  • Le cas échéant, un compte rendu des discussions avec l’EMN concernant les agissements ou les activités visés et leurs résultats.
  • Une liste des autres instances saisies de la même question (autres bureaux ou organismes du gouvernement, ONG, procédures juridiques devant les tribunaux, etc.) et, le cas échéant, l’état de la procédure intentée par ces instances.

Objectifs et résultats escomptés

  • Une description des mesures que devrait prendre l’entreprise pour régler la question.
  • Tout détail supplémentaire que l’entité présentant la demande d’examen aimerait porter à l’attention du PCN ou de l’entreprise.

Déclaration de consentement

  • Outre les renseignements mentionnés ci-dessus, il faut indiquer clairement que l’entité présentant la demande d’examen est consciente que toute information transmise au PCN peut être communiquée à l’entreprise ou à d’autres parties concernées par la circonstance spécifique et l’examen. Dans le cas où le déclarant souhaite que certains renseignements demeurent confidentiels, en vertu d’une exception, il doit justifier sa requête.

Le PCN accusera réception d’une demande d’examen de circonstance spécifique dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivants. Il informera l’entreprise visée par la demande d’examen et lui donnera l’occasion de répondre aux allégations. Ensuite, le PCN examinera tous les documents reçus, mènera une recherche des faits et des consultations au besoin, fera une évaluation initiale afin de déterminer si les questions soulevées doivent être approfondies, et communiquera les résultats aux parties.

Le Guide de procédure du PCN du Canada pour les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE  indique le processus que le PCN du Canada doit suivre lorsqu’il reçoit une demande d’examen de circonstance spécifique dans le cadre des Principes directeurs de l’OCDE.

Le diagramme du processus du PCN offre un aperçu du processus du PCN.

Le Secrétariat du Point de contact national peut répondre aux questions sur la manière de présenter une demande d’examen. Les demandes d’examen doivent être transmises par courrier ou par courriel à l’adresse suivante :

Secrétariat du Point de contact national du Canada (BTA)
Affaires Mondiales Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0G2
Courriel: ncp.pcn@international.gc.ca
Téléphone : 343-203-2341
Télécopieur : 613-992-8935