Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada's National Contact Point (NCP)

Annual Report 2001

  1. Introduction

    The 2000 review of the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises (the “Guidelines”) was the most far-reaching and comprehensive since the Guidelines’ inception in 1976. At the outset of the review, OECD Members identified the role of the National Contact Point as important to raising the profile and improving the effectiveness of the Guidelines. To this end, improved guidance has been provided to assist NCPs in carrying out their responsibilities. As well, NCPs will meet annually to share experiences and report to the OECD Committee for International Investment and Multinational Enterprises (CIME).

    The following report to the CIME describes the new institutional nature of Canada’s NCP and provides information on the activities undertaken in the past year to implement the Guidelines in Canada. The report also summarizes the Canadian policy context in which the Guidelines are situated.

  2. The Canadian Policy Context

    The Guidelines are an important element of the Government’s approach to promoting corporate social responsibility, at home and abroad. A number of government departments are active in this area, through information dissemination, facilitation of dialogue among stakeholders and support for the development of international norms. Many Canadian enterprises are responding through the adoption of codes of conduct and other management strategies such as training and the establishment of environmental management systems. The Guidelines provide a frame of reference for these private sector initiatives and an institutional home for efforts to encourage progress in this area internationally.

    Corporate social responsibility, and the Guidelines, make an important contribution to the Government’s policy on promoting sustainable development. Achieving sustainable development requires the responsible engagement of all sectors of society, including the business community. The Guidelines encourage corporations’ contribution to sustainable development and help to strengthen the basis of mutual confidence between enterprises and the societies in which they operate. Thus, while the NCP has a clear mandate to implement the Guidelines, its activities also support other broader policy objectives of the Government.

  3. Institutional Arrangements

    The key responsibilities of the NCP are to promote the Guidelines, respond to inquiries and contribute to the resolution of problems that may arise. In meeting these responsibilities, the Canadian NCP will respect the four core criteria identified during the review as important for improving the effectiveness of NCPs. These criteria are visibility, accessibility, transparency and accountability.

    Canada’s NCP has been organized as an interdepartmental committee with representatives from a number of federal government departments. These departments include the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Industry Canada, Human Resources Development Canada, Environment Canada, Natural Resources Canada, the Department of Finance and the Canadian International Development Agency. Regular dialogue is maintained with the Export Development Corporation as well. The diversity of the issues covered by the Guidelines and the potentially broad spectrum of public interest (business, labour, non-governmental organizations) in Canada underscores the importance of structuring the NCP in this way. Other departments may participate in NCP activities as necessary.

    The representatives of Canada’s NCP meet about every two months through their participation in a larger interdepartmental committee on corporate social responsibility. The Guidelines are routinely discussed at these meetings, providing for a greater breadth of promotion within the government as well as coordination of the Guidelines with other related programs and activities. The NCP also meets independently of this larger committee as required, to respond to requests from business, labour or non-government organizations (NGOs) to discuss the Guidelines.

    The NCP maintains contact with the key business and labour interlocutors on the Guidelines, i.e., the Canadian Council for International Business (CCIB), the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC) and the Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN). Their input was solicited in the creation of a new website and the preparation of promotional materials and other related documents.

    A regular point of contact has not been established with the NGO community, although the Guidelines have been promoted with a number of these organizations.

  4. Information and Promotion

    The information and promotion activities have been generally of four types: preparing information and promotional materials; responding to inquiries; making presentations on the Guidelines at key events; and positioning the Guidelines as departmental responses to concerns in society about globalization.

    4.1 Information and Promotional Materials

    A national website on the Guidelines has been established that reflects the interdepartmental nature of Canada’s NCP. The website, which was launched in early June 2001, includes a summary of the Guidelines, a description of the interdepartmental structure and responsibilities of the NCP, coordinates of the NCP and main business and labour interlocutors on the Guidelines, and a number of related links to Canadian and international organizations involved with corporate social responsibility. Links are also established to the OECD and the key Guidelines documents. The creation of the website provided a good opportunity for dialogue and consultation with the business and labour communities. The NCP plans to send an information notice on its new website to a number of organizations, including the many it contacted during the review process. The NCP also created a two-page summary of the Guidelines which it distributes at promotional events and which can be accessed from its website.

    4.2 Inquiries

    Since June 2000, Canada’s NCP has received five inquiries for information concerning the Guidelines in addition to those received from the CCIB, CLC and CSN. The requests came from three individuals, a non-governmental organization and a business organization involved in corporate social responsibility, and were concerned mainly with what the government was doing to encourage corporate social responsibility in Canada and the new structure of the NCP.

    4.3 Promotional Events

    The NCP was invited to make a presentation at a conference organized by the Université du Québec à Montréal in November 2000 on the theme ''Multinational Enterprises and Labour Law''. The NCP representative's presentation focused on both the Guidelines and the ILO Tripartite Declaration for Multinational Enterprises and Social Policy. The presentation was well received and copies of both instruments were provided as well as website addresses. Labour, academic, employer, and government representatives from Canada, France, and the United States contributed to the success of the conference.

    In March 2001, NCP representatives gave a presentation on the Guidelines to members of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce. Business community interest focussed on implementation and, in particular, on how the NCP would respond to cases. The follow-up mechanism was portrayed by some as a form of alternative dispute resolution. The importance of maintaining business confidentiality was raised as an important issue as well.

    The Guidelines were promoted by the NCP at an all-day meeting between government officials and the NGO community in May 2001. The NGOs were generally sceptical of the effectiveness of voluntary instruments, including multilateral instruments such as the Guidelines. Nevertheless, interest was expressed in how the Guidelines would apply to certain situations, especially in non-adhering countries. The new NCP website was promoted and the NGOs were invited to use the site to express their views on issues related to the Guidelines.

    The NCP met with the Executive Director of Canadian Business for Social Responsibility, a member-based organization of Canadian businesses committed to socially responsible policies and practices. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss strategies for promoting and implementing the Guidelines with Canadian companies, including small and medium-sized companies.

    NCP representatives promoted the Guidelines at a meeting of the Conference Board of Canada in May 2001. A presentation was made to the Board’s Corporate Responsibility and Ethics Council. This was the first encounter with the Guidelines for most Council members. Considerable interest was expressed on a wide range of issues. Of particular importance was the manner in which cases would be managed by the NCP. Members were of the view that the profile of complaints should be managed to prevent unwarranted negative publicity for companies - reputation is an important corporate asset that needs to be protected. A concern was expressed as well that the Guidelines could become another level of compliance with which firms would have to deal. A clear distinction was made by this group between values-based ethics programs, which are promoted through internal training, etc., and compliance-based programs that required adherence to compulsory standards and regulatory frameworks.

    4.4 Promotion Within the Government

    Various government departments are promoting the Guidelines through their programs. The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) has integrated the Guidelines into its activities to promote corporate social responsibility at the international level and with Canadian organizations whose operations focus internationally. Close cooperation is maintained with other departments to ensure coordination of Guidelines implementation activities with other related international initiatives, such as the UN Global Compact. The Guidelines have also become an important element of the Departments strategy to promote sustainable development.

    Activities are underway in DFAIT to inform departmental staff about the Guidelines. The Department provides information sessions on the Guidelines for its overseas trade officials. Three such sessions took place in the past year. The provision of Guidelines information is also a part of human rights training for government officials preparing for overseas postings. A formal training program on CSR targeted at trade officials is planned, and will include a session on the application of the Guidelines abroad.

    To advance the four core criteria for NCP operations (i.e. visibility, accessibility, transparency, and accountability), Canada's Department of Industry has publically-committed to promoting the OECD Guidelines for MNEs in its Sustainable Development Strategy for 2000-2003. This involves not only identifying concrete deliverables regarding the OECD Guidelines (e.g. developing promotional material and identifying opportunities to promote the Guidelines with the Canadian business community), but also reporting publically on these efforts.

    Beyond the Sustainable Development initiatives, Industry Canada has also identified the Guidelines as the main departmental response to public concerns about globalization and the activities of multinational enterprises. As such, the Guidelines have been promulgated throughout the department, particularly to all areas which are involved in investment development activities. Essentially, these groups have been requested to hotlink their respective websites to Canada’s National Website on the OECD Guidelines for MNEs and to circulate a brochure about the Guidelines to client groups on an as-requested basis.

    Canada’s Export Development Corporation (EDC) has developed a corporate social responsibility framework to make CSR an integral part of its corporate strategy. Through its Corporate Plan, EDC will promote corporate social responsibility principles and standards, including the recommendations of the Guidelines. EDC will establish a link between its website and that of Canada's NCP.

  5. Implementation in Specific Instances

    Canada’s NCP has not received notice of any specific instances of MNE conduct in relation to the Guidelines since June 2000.

    A draft paper has been prepared laying out the approach Canada’s NCP plans to adopt in responding to cases. This approach closely mirrors the approach provided in the Guidelines’ Procedural Guidance document. Comments were solicited from the CCIB, CLC and CSN. The paper will be posted on the website to allow other organizations a chance to provide input as well.

  6. Concluding Remarks

    Progress has been made in improving the visibility, accessibility, transparency and accountability of Canada’s NCP. The establishment of the website and the broader interdepartmental structure of the NCP have made an important contribution in this regard. Promotional activities have been carried out with business, labour and NGOs, and more such activities will take place in the coming year.

  7. Contact Us

    Telephone: (613) 996-3324
    Facsimile: (613) 944-0679
    E-mail: ncp.pcn@international.gc.ca

    Canada’s National Contact Point
    Room C6-273
    125 Sussex Drive
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Canada
    K1A 0G2

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Point de contact national (PCN)

Rapport annuel 2001

  1. Introduction

    Depuis que les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales (ci-après dénommés les « Principes directeurs ») ont été adoptés en 1976, jamais encore n’ont-ils fait l’objet d’un examen aussi poussé et aussi complet qu’en 2000. Dès l’amorce de l’examen, les membres de l’OCDE ont tenu à souligner que les Points de contact nationaux (PCN) jouent un rôle important pour ce qui est de promouvoir des Principes directeurs et d’en accroître l’efficacité. C’est pourquoi les lignes de conduite à l’égard des PCN ont été précisées, afin d’aider ces derniers dans l’exécution de leurs responsabilités. Il a été en outre convenu que les PCN se réuniraient tous les ans pour dresser le bilan de leurs activités et en rendre compte au Comité de l’investissement international et des entreprises multinationales de l’OCDE (CIME).

    Le présent rapport au CIME décrit la nature institutionnelle du PCN du Canada et fournit des informations sur les activités qui ont été entreprises l’an dernier pour mettre en oeuvre les Principes directeurs au Canada. Enfin, il situe les Principes directeurs dans le contexte des politiques du Canada.

  2. Contexte politique

    Les Principes directeurs constituent un important élément de la stratégie adoptée par le gouvernement pour encourager la responsabilité sociale des entreprises au Canada aussi bien qu’à l’étranger. Nombre de ministères gouvernementaux collaborent à cette stratégie en diffusant des informations sur la question, en favorisant le dialogue entre les parties intéressées et en appuyant l’élaboration des normes internationales en la matière. De nombreuses entreprises canadiennes relèvent le défi en adoptant des codes de conduite et d’autres stratégies de gestion, telles la formation et la mise en place de systèmes de gestion de l’environnement. Les Principes directeurs prévoient un cadre de référence pour ce genre d’initiatives du secteur privé, de même qu’une assise institutionnelle sur laquelle appuyer les efforts visant à stimuler le progrès sur le plan international.

    Conjuguée aux Principes directeurs, la responsabilité sociale des entreprises représente un appui de taille à la politique du gouvernement en matière de promotion du développement durable. L’engagement de tous les secteurs de la société, et notamment celui du milieu des affaires, est nécessaire si l’on veut réaliser le développement durable. Les Principes directeurs encouragent la contribution des sociétés au développement durable et concourent à renforcer le climat de confiance entre l’entreprise privée et la société au sens large. C’est pourquoi, s’il est vrai que le PCN est investi d’un mandat qui a clairement pour objet la mise en oeuvre des Principes directeurs, ses activités appuient néanmoins aussi les objectifs plus vastes du gouvernement en matière de politiques.

  3. Dispositions institutionnelles

    Les responsabilités principales du PCN du Canada consistent à faire connaître les Principes directeurs, à répondre aux demandes de renseignements, et à contribuer au règlement des problèmes, le cas échéant. Dans l’exercice de ces responsabilités, le PCN respectera les quatre critères de base que l’examen a identifiés comme étant d’importance pour améliorer l’efficacité des PCN, à savoir la visibilité, l’accessibilité, la transparence et la responsabilité.

    Le PNC du Canada s’est organisé sous forme de comité interministériel comprenant des représentants du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, d’Industrie Canada, de Développement des ressources humaines Canada, d’Environnement Canada, de Ressources naturelles Canada, du ministère des Finances et de l’Agence canadienne de développement international. Il entretient également des rapports suivis avec la Société pour l’expansion des exportations. Cette structure du PCN tient à la diversité des questions abordées par les Principes directeurs ainsi qu’à la gamme potentiellement large d’intérêts en jeu - entreprises, syndicats, organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) - au Canada. Au besoin, d’autres ministères sont invités à mettre la main à la pâte.

    Les représentants du PCN du Canada se réunissent à peu près tous les deux mois sous l’égide d’un comité interministériel élargi, chargé des questions de responsabilité sociale des entreprises. La question des Principes directeurs figure normalement à l’ordre du jour de ces réunions, et les discussions permettent d’en élargir le champ de promotion au sein de l’appareil gouvernemental et d’en assurer la coordination avec d’autres programmes et activités connexes. Par ailleurs, le PCN se réunit en dehors de ce comité à la demande d’entreprises, d’organisations syndicales ou d’ONG pour discuter avec elles de ce dossier.

    Le PCN maintient des contacts au sujet des Principes directeurs avec des interlocuteurs importants du monde des affaires et des syndicats, entre autres le Conseil canadien pour le commerce international (CCCI), le Congrès du Travail du Canada (CTC) et la Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN). Il a sollicité leur aide pour la création d’un site web ainsi que pour la préparation des documents de promotion et des articles connexes.

    Il n’existe pas de canal de communication à proprement parler au sujet des Principes directeurs avec le milieu des ONG, bien qu’un certain nombre d’entre elles aient été sensibilisées sur la question.

  4. Information et promotion

    Les activités touchant à l’information et à la promotion comportent en général quatre volets : préparer des documents d’information et de promotion, répondre aux demandes de renseignements, faire des présentations sur les Principes directeurs lors de la tenue d’événements importants, enfin, incorporer les Principes directeurs aux réactions ministérielles face aux appréhensions que les enjeux de la mondialisation suscitent au sein de la société.

    4.1 Outils d’information et de promotion

    Le PCN du Canada s’est doté d’un site web qui reflète sa nature interministérielle. Mis en service au début de juin 2001, ce site comprend un résumé des Principes directeurs, une description de la structure interministérielle et des responsabilités du PCN, ainsi que les coordonnées des intervenants du PCN et des principaux interlocuteurs du milieu des affaires et des syndicats en la matière. Il contient, en outre, un certain nombre de liens avec des organisations canadiennes et internationales oeuvrant dans le champ de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, et avec l’OCDE (sans oublier les liens avec les principaux textes des Principes directeurs). Avec ce site web, le PCN dispose d’un excellent instrument de dialogue et de consultation avec le milieu des affaires et les syndicats, et il entend diffuser sur ce site une note pour en informer les organisations intéressées, dont il a par ailleurs contacté un certain nombre au cours du processus d’examen. Le PCN a mis au point un résumé des Principes directeurs (un texte de deux pages) qu’il distribue lors des événements promotionnels, et qui est également accessible à son site web.

    4.2 Demandes de renseignements

    Depuis juin 2000, le PCN du Canada a reçu cinq demandes de renseignements concernant les Principes directeurs, sans compter les demandes soumises par le CCCI, le CTC et la CSN. Les demandes de renseignements dont il est question provenaient de trois particuliers, d’une organisation non gouvernementale et d’une organisation du secteur privé, et concernaient, outre la nouvelle structure du PCN, les mesures prises par le gouvernement pour encourager la responsabilité sociale des entreprises au Canada.

    4.3 Événements promotionnels

    Le PCN a été invité à faire une présentation ayant pour thème les entreprises multinationales et le droit du travail à une conférence qui a été organisée par l’Université du Québec à Montréal en novembre 2000. La présentation de son délégué, qui a porté sur deux domaines, les Principes directeurs et la Déclaration de principes tripartite sur les entreprises multinationales et la politique sociale, de l’OMT, a été accueilli favorablement; des documents d’information ont été distribués, y compris les adresses Internet. La participation des représentants de syndicats, d’universités, d’employeurs et de milieux gouvernementaux du Canada, de la France et des États-Unis a contribué à l’intérêt suscité par la conférence.

    En mars 2001, les représentants du PCN ont fait une présentation sur les Principes directeurs à la Chambre de commerce du Canada. L’auditoire s’est surtout préoccupé de la façon dont le PCN était mis en oeuvre et allait intervenir. D’aucuns ont décrit le mécanisme de suivi comme n’étant ni plus ni moins qu’une forme de mécanisme de règlement de différends; on a aussi insisté sur l’importance de maintenir le caractère confidentiel des activités des entreprises.

    Le PCN a pu faire la promotion des Principes directeurs lors d’une rencontre d’un jour qui a réuni des fonctionnaires du gouvernement et des représentants d’ONG, en mai 2001. Pour la plupart sceptiques quant à l’efficacité des instruments volontaires tels que les Principes directeurs, les ONG ont néanmoins voulu savoir comment ceux-ci seraient appliqués dans des situations bien précises, notamment dans le contexte des pays qui n’y adhérent pas. Cette rencontre a, par ailleurs, fourni au PCN l’occasion de faire connaître son nouveau site web aux ONG et de les inviter à s’en servir pour exprimer leur opinion à propos des Principes directeurs.

    Le PCN a rencontré le directeur administratif du groupe Canadian Business for Social Responsibility, un organisme mis sur pied par des entreprises canadiennes prônant des politiques et des pratiques responsables sur le plan social, afin de discuter des stratégies de promotion des Principes directeurs et de leur mise en oeuvre auprès des entreprises canadiennes, y compris les PME.

    Les représentants du PNC ont donné un aperçu des Principes directeurs au Conference Board du Canada lors d’une réunion qui s’est tenue en mai 2001. Une présentation sur les Principes directeurs a été faite au Conseil d’éthique et de responsabilité sociale des entreprises, dont la plupart des membres en ignoraient jusqu’alors l’existence. L’une des nombreuses questions qui ont suscité l’intérêt des membres a été notamment la façon dont le PCN gérerait les cas litigieux. De l’avis des membres, le dossier des plaintes devrait être géré de manière à éviter toute publicité pouvant nuire aux sociétés - la bonne réputation étant un atout qui n’a pas de prix. Un des membres a dit craindre que les Principes directeurs ne deviennent un nouvel impératif de conformité auquel les entreprises seraient obligées de souscrire. Le groupe a tenu à établir une nette distinction entre les programmes d’éthique axés sur les valeurs, qui reposent sur la formation interne, etc., et les programmes de conformité qui reposent sur l’adhésion à des normes contraignantes et à des cadres réglementaires.

    4.4 Promotion au sein du gouvernement

    Divers ministères gouvernementaux font la promotion des Principes directeurs à travers leurs programmes. Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) a incorporé les principes directeurs dans ses activités afin de favoriser la responsabilité sociale des entreprises à l’étranger et auprès des organisations canadiennes d’envergure internationale. Il maintient une étroite coopération avec d’autres ministères afin de faire en sorte que la mise en oeuvre des Principes directeurs soit coordonnée avec d’autres initiatives internationales, tel le Pacte mondial des Nations Unies. Par ailleurs, les ministères ont fait des Principes directeurs un important élément de leurs stratégies de promotion du développement durable.

    Le MAECI s’apprête à informer son personnel au sujet des Principes directeurs. Le Ministère donne des séances d’information sur les Principes directeurs aux fonctionnaires affectés à l’étranger. Il y en a eu trois l’an dernier. L’information sur les Principes directeurs est également diffusée dans le cadre de la formation sur les droits de la personne que reçoivent les fonctionnaires sur le point d’être affectés à l’étranger. Il est envisagé de dispenser un programme formel de formation sur la RSE destiné aux agents commerciaux. Il comprendra une séance sur la mise en pratique des Principes directeurs à l’étranger.

    Afin de faire avancer les quatre critères qui sous-tendent les activités du PCB (i.e. la visibilité, l’accessibilité, la transparence et la responsabilité), le ministère de l’Industrie du Canada s’est engagé publiquement à favoriser les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales dans sa stratégie de développement durable pour 2000-2003. Cela signifie non seulement qu’il définira des mesures concrètes en la matière (par exemple mettre au point des documents promotionnels et trouver des moyens de promouvoir les Principes directeurs dans le milieu des affaires canadien), mais encore qu’il rendra compte publiquement de ses efforts à cet égard.

    Outre les initiatives de développement durable, Industrie Canada considère les Principes directeurs comme étant le principal instrument de réponse aux appréhensions du public en ce qui concerne la mondialisation et les activités des entreprises multinationales. À ce titre, les principes directeurs ont été intégrés dans l’ensemble des secteurs de responsabilité du ministère, en particulier en niveau des secteurs qui prennent part aux activités de développement de l’investissement. Pour l’essentiel, il a été demandé à ces groupes d’établir des liens dynamiques entre leurs sites web et le site web national du Canada sur les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales et de diffuser une brochure sur les Principes directeurs aux groupes clients qui en font la demande.

    La Société pour l’expansion des exportations a élaboré un cadre de responsabilité sociale des entreprises afin d’une faire une partie intégrante de sa stratégie à l’égard des entreprises. La Société fera la promotion des principes et des normes en matière de responsabilité sociale - y compris les recommandations découlant des Principes directeurs - par l’intermédiaire de son plan d’entreprise, et établira des liens entre son site web et celui du PCN du Canada.

  5. Application des Principes directeurs dans des circonstances spécifiques

    Le PCN du Canada n’a pas été notifié de quelque cas de conduite que ce soit en rapport avec les Principes directeurs depuis juin 2000.

    Un projet de document a été rédigé, qui expose l’approche que le PNC entend adopter pour réagir aux cas dont il pourrait être saisi. Cette approche reflète celle qui est énoncée dans les Lignes directrices de procédure des Principes directeurs. Le CCCI, le CTC et la CSN ont été invités à formuler des suggestions. Le document sera diffusé sur le site web afin que d’autres organisations puissent aussi formuler des observations.

  6. En guise de conclusion

    Le PNC du Canada a fait des progrès pour ce qui est de la visibilité, de l’accessibilité, de la transparence et de la responsabilité relativement à ses activités, grâce notamment à son nouveau site web et à une structure interministérielle élargie. Des activités de promotion ont été entreprises auprès de différentes entreprises, de syndicats et d’ONG. Elles se poursuivront au cours de l’année prochaine.

  7. Contactez-nous

    Téléphone : (613) 996-3324
    Télécopieur : (613) 944-0679
    Courriel : ncp.pcn@international.gc.ca

    Point de contact national du Canada
    Pièce C6-273
    125, promenade Sussex
    Ottawa (Ontario)
    Canada
    K1A 0G2