Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada's National Contact Point (NCP)

Annual Report 2002

  1. Introduction

    The OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises is an instrument of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). The recommendations set forth in the Guidelines are a voluntary, multilateral framework of standards and principles on responsible business conduct.

    As a member of the OECD and signatory to the Guidelines, Canada is obligated to establish a national contact point (NCP). The role of the NCP is to promote awareness of the Guidelines and ensure their effective implementation. This report provides a summary of the activities undertaken by Canada’s NCP in the past year (June 2001 - June 2002) to fulfill its responsibilities.

  2. The Canadian Policy Context

    The Guidelines are an important element of the Government’s approach to promoting corporate social responsibility (CSR). A number of government departments are active in this area, through activities such as information dissemination, facilitation of dialogue among interested parties and support for the development of international norms. The Guidelines are a part of these activities, their contribution heightened by the fact that they represent the shared views of thirty-six national governments on what constitutes appropriate corporate behaviour. The business community in Canada is promoting CSR as well, with an increasing number of enterprises adopting codes of ethical conduct and related management strategies. The Guidelines can provide a frame of reference for private sector initiatives and efforts to encourage progress in this area internationally.

    Corporate social responsibility, and the Guidelines, make an important contribution to the Government’s policy on promoting sustainable development. Achieving sustainable development requires the responsible engagement of all sectors of society, including the business community. The Guidelines encourage corporations’ contribution to sustainable development and help to strengthen the basis of mutual confidence between enterprises and the societies in which they operate. Thus, while our NCP has a clear mandate to implement the Guidelines, its activities also support other broader policy objectives of the Government.

  3. Institutional Arrangements

    The key responsibilities of Canada’s NCP are to promote the Guidelines, respond to inquiries and contribute to the resolution of problems that may arise in relation to the operations of multinational enterprises. Important guiding principles for the NCP’s activities include visibility, accessibility, transparency and accountability.

    Canada’s NCP is an interdepartmental committee of the federal Government. It comprises representatives from a number of departments, including the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Industry Canada, Human Resources Development Canada, Environment Canada, Natural Resources Canada, the Department of Finance and the Canadian International Development Agency. The diversity of the issues covered by the Guidelines and the potentially broad spectrum of public interest (business, labour, non-governmental organizations) in Canada underscores the importance of structuring the NCP in this way. Other departments and agencies participate in NCP activities as well. Export Development Canada is a frequent participant in NCP meetings and communications, and more recently the Canadian Commercial Corporation has become involved. The NCP representatives exchange communication frequently and meet as required, depending on the issues at hand.

    The Canadian NCP’s key business and labour interlocutors on the Guidelines are the Canadian Council for International Business (CCIB), the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC) and the Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN). A regular point of contact has not been established with the NGO community, although the Guidelines have been promoted with a number of these organizations, including Mining Watch, Oxfam, the Sierra Club and the Canadian Council for International Cooperation.

  4. Information and Promotion

    4.1 Information and Promotional Tools

    The Canadian NCP web site, established in June 2001, has proven to be a useful tool for promoting the Guidelines. An electronic bulletin was sent to some 100 organizations to inform them of the web site and to invite them to establish links. The web site has also become an efficient way to communicate information on the Guidelines to our overseas missions. All of our embassies and high commissions have been informed of the Guidelines and the importance of this instrument for the promotion of corporate social responsibility. Overall, the web site offers a convenient point of reference for a growing number of Canadian organizations and businesses that are seeking information on the issue of corporate social responsibility. The site receives about 100 visits per week.

    An official Government of Canada brochure on the Guidelines has been produced and distributed to a number of stakeholder organizations, including business, labour and NGOs. The brochure is also available on-line from the NCP web site and the virtual Publications Catalogue of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

    4.2 Promotion with Social Partners

    NCP members travelled to Toronto in January 2002 to attend the annual meeting of the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC) Trade Union Researchers. Two presentations on the Guidelines were made - one by a NCP member from Human Resources Development Canada and the other by a TUAC representative. The presentations generated significant interest from the audience and a number of questions were raised, such as: Who had the right to file a complaint?, Does the NCP have an investigative role and does it have a budget?, Does the Canadian International Development Agency sit on the NCP?, Are the Guidelines legally enforceable?, What is happening in regard to MNE’s operating in Burma? The speaking engagement provided the NCP with a valuable opportunity to make the Guidelines better known in the labour community in Canada. The participation of TUAC added greatly to the success of the event.

    The OECD Guidelines were highlighted during an across-Canada "Business Integrity Workshops" tour, April-May 2002, sponsored by Export Development Canada. The workshops were designed to help businesses operating internationally to manage human rights, environmental and labour issues in challenging conditions. The Ottawa session featured a keynote address on the OECD Guidelines by the President of the Canadian Council for International Business.

    Canada’s Trade Commissioner Service now includes corporate social responsibility as an important aspect of its promotional activities. Guidelines brochures are made available to companies that participate on trade and investment promotion missions abroad, and consideration is being given to further integrating corporate social responsibility activities into these missions. The missions normally include government Ministers and attract many Canadian firms interested in doing business abroad. As a result, they are an excellent forum for the promotion of the Guidelines in cooperation with the business community.

    4.3 Promotion Within the Government

    Promoting the Guidelines within the government is an essential aspect of the NCP’s responsibility to raise awareness of the instrument. A number of departments and agencies interact directly with the business community and NGOs through their programs and consultative activities. This is an important channel for alerting these groups of Canada’s commitment to support the Guidelines.

    The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) has integrated the Guidelines into its activities to promote corporate social responsibility at the international level. The Department provides information sessions on the Guidelines for its overseas trade officials. The provision of Guidelines information is also a part of human rights training for government officials preparing for overseas postings. A formal training program on CSR targeted at trade officials is planned, and will include a session on the application of the Guidelines abroad. The Guidelines are also an important element of the Department’s strategy to promote sustainable development.

    Canada's Department of Industry has publically committed to promoting the OECD Guidelines in its Sustainable Development Strategy for 2000-2003. This involves not only identifying concrete deliverables regarding the Guidelines (e.g. developing promotional material and identifying opportunities to promote the Guidelines with the Canadian business community), but also reporting publically on these efforts.

    Industry Canada has promulgated the Guidelines throughout the department, particularly to all areas which are involved in investment development activities. These groups have been requested to hotlink their respective web sites to Canada’s National Web Site on the OECD Guidelines for MNEs and to circulate the Government’s brochure on the Guidelines to client groups on an as-requested basis.

    Members of the NCP made a presentation on the Guidelines to the Canadian International Development Agency’s (CIDA’s) Industrial Cooperation Program. This Program is an important point of contact for CIDA with the Canadian business community. A key objective of the Program is to encourage the contribution of businesses to sustainable development in developing countries. The OECD Guidelines can provide guidance to companies as they carry out their activities in partnership with CIDA.

    Export Development Canada (EDC) is developing a corporate social responsibility framework to make CSR a more integral part of its corporate strategy. Through its web site, EDC is promoting corporate social responsibility principles, including the recommendations of the Guidelines. EDC has established a link between its web site and that of Canada's NCP. Also, as noted above, EDC sponsored an across-Canada tour to promote business ethics which included promotion of the Guidelines.

    4.4 International Events

    Corporate social responsibility is an important theme that the Government of Canada, and other governments, promoted at the G8 Summit in Kananaskis. In the lead-up to this high profile event, the NCP ensured that references to the OECD Guidelines were included in Summit documentation.

    Canada is a key supporter of the Americas conference on corporate social responsibility scheduled for September 2002 in Miami. It is being organized by the Inter-American Development Bank, Organization of American States and the World Bank. Key international codes of conduct, including the OECD Guidelines, will figure importantly in the discussions.

    Members of the NCP attended a Global Mining Initiative conference in Toronto in May 2002. The GMI, launched in 1998 by nine mining companies from around the world, set out to re-define the role of the global mining industry in relation to sustainable development. The Toronto conference, which was the third and final component of the three year GMI, was attended by a cross-section of society sharing a common resolve to work towards achieving a greater contribution to sustainability by the sector. The importance of international standards and norms to guide corporate operations was discussed, and in this context attention was drawn to a role for the OECD Guidelines for MNEs. The outcome of the GMI process will contribute to the forthcoming World Summit on Sustainable Development.

  5. Inquiries

    A number of inquiries about the Guidelines have come to the NCP in the past year. Inquiries received via e-mail are often from think-tanks and academic institutions looking for information on Canada’s experiences with the Guidelines. Other inquiries come through meetings with businesses or non-governmental organizations. The purpose of such meetings is usually to discuss issues related to corporate social responsibility, and in this context an inquiry will be made about the OECD Guidelines and their relevance to the situations in question. As well, the Guidelines are occasionally raised in the public’s correspondence to Ministers.

  6. Implementation in Specific Instances

    Canada’s NCP received one notice of a specific instance of MNE conduct in relation to the Guidelines. The notice, which was received in July 2001, was the first in the history of the Canadian NCP. It was brought to the attention of the NCP by an international non-governmental organization through its affiliated Canadian organization. After a preliminary assessment the case was deemed to merit further examination.

    The case involved the operations of a copper mining company in Zambia. The company, formerly state-owned, was acquired jointly by two foreign firms - one Canadian, one Swiss - in March 2000. The Government of Zambia retained a minor stake in the operations. The NGO reported that the operations of the company were not respecting three OECD Guideline recommendations: 1) Chapter II, paragraph 2, regarding respect for human rights; 2) Chapter II, paragraph 7, regarding development of practices that foster confidence and trust between companies and the societies in which they operate, and; 3) Chapter V, paragraph 2(b), regarding communication and consultation with communities on environmental, health and safety policies. The central underlying issue that gave rise to these charges was the impending removal of poor local farmers from company-owned land.

    To address this issue, the Canadian NCP facilitated a flow of communications between the company’s headquarters in Canada and the Canadian office of the NGO. All communication flowed through the office of the NCP. Both Canadian parties in turn communicated with their operations in Zambia where face-to-face meetings took place. While there was a variance in the facts and opinions reported on each side, a resolution was reached after the company met with groups from the affected communities and worked out an approach whereby the farmers could continue to use the land, at least for the short-term. The Canadian NCP sent a final communication to the Canadian company, copied to the Canadian NGO, that welcomed the spirit of cooperation demonstrated by both parties. We also encouraged the company to maintain an open line of communication with the Canadian NGO and other groups concerned about the welfare of people affected by the operations of the Zambian mining company. Throughout the process, the Canadian NCP kept its counterpart in Switzerland informed of developments.

  7. Other Issues

    The NCP has shared communications with its French counterpart concerning a Canadian company’s former operations in France. The matter is the subject of ongoing discussion between the two NCPs.

  8. Concluding Remarks

    The OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises has become an important element of the Government’s approach to promoting corporate social responsibility, domestically and internationally. The interdepartmental structure of the NCP facilitates the promotion of the Guidelines within the Government and with departmental constituencies, including business, labour and NGOs. The NCP looks forward to further promotional activities in the coming year.

    Canada’s one experience with a Guidelines case resulted in a positive outcome. The approach adopted by the NCP to facilitate a resolution drew significantly from the Procedural Guidance annex of the Guidelines Decision. With the full cooperation of the parties concerned, this approach offered a non-judgmental process for confronting a complex social problem related to a foreign investment activity. Essentially, the process facilitated a dialogue, and the dialogue led to a resolution.

  9. Contact Us

    Telephone: (613) 996-3324
    Facsimile: (613) 944-0679
    E-mail: ncp.pcn@international.gc.ca
    Web site: Canada's National Contact Point

    Canada’s National Contact Point
    Room C6-273
    125 Sussex Drive
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Canada
    K1A 0G2

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Point de contact national (PCN)

Rapport annuel 2002

  1. Introduction

    Les Principes directeurs à l’intention des entreprises multinationales sont un instrument de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE). Les recommandations qu’on y trouve représentent un cadre multilatéral constitué de normes et de principes liés à la conduite responsable des affaires dont l’application est facultative.

    À tire de membre de l’OCDE et de signataire des Principes directeurs, le Canada a l’obligation d’établir un point de contact national (PCN), dont le rôle consiste à promouvoir les Principes directeurs et à s’assurer de leur mise en oeuvre efficace. Le présent rapport fournit un résumé des activités entreprises par le PCN du Canada au cours de l’année dernière (juin 2001 - juin 2002), afin de remplir ses responsabilités.

  2. Le contexte politique du Canada

    Les Principes directeurs sont un important élément de la stratégie du gouvernement visant à promouvoir la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Nombre de ministères fédéraux soutiennent activement cette stratégie, en diffusant des informations, en facilitant le dialogue entre les parties intéressées et en appuyant l’établissement de normes internationales. Les Principes directeurs font partie de ces activités, et leur contribution est d’autant plus importante qu’ils représentent l’opinion commune de trente-six gouvernements nationaux sur ce que constitue un comportement approprié de la part d’une entreprise. Le milieu des affaires canadien encourage également la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, et un nombre grandissant d’entreprises adoptent des codes de bonne conduite et des stratégies de gestion y afférentes. Les Principes directeurs peuvent être un cadre de référence pour les initiatives du secteur privé et les efforts visant à accélérer les progrès sur le plan international.

    La responsabilité sociale des entreprises et les Principes directeurs contribuent de façon importante à la politique du gouvernement visant à soutenir le développement durable. L’objectif fixé à cet égard ne peut être atteint sans l’engagement de tous les secteurs de la société, notamment le milieu des affaires. Les Principes directeurs encouragent la participation des entreprises au développement durable et aident à renforcer le climat de confiance entre celles-ci et les sociétés où elles sont implantées. Par conséquent, bien que le PCN ait le mandat clair de mettre en œuvre de ces principes, il appuie également par ses activités d’autres objectifs globaux du gouvernement en matière de politiques.

  3. Dispositions institutionnelles

    Les responsabilités principales du PCN du Canada consistent à faire connaître les Principes directeurs, à répondre aux demandes de renseignements et à contribuer à la résolution de problèmes se rapportant aux activités des multinationales. Le PCN est guidé entre autres par quatre importants principes : la visibilité, l’accessibilité, la transparence et la responsabilité.

    Le PNC du Canada est un comité interministériel du gouvernement fédéral composé de représentants du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, d’Industrie Canada, de Développement des ressources humaines Canada, d’Environnement Canada, de Ressources naturelles Canada, du ministère des Finances et de l’Agence canadienne de développement international. La diversité des questions abordées dans les Principes directeurs ainsi que la gamme potentiellement vaste de l’intérêt public au Canada - entreprises, syndicats, organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) - démontrent l’importance d’une telle structure pour le PCN. D’autres ministères et agences participent aussi aux activités du PCN. Par exemple, Exportation et développement Canada assiste fréquemment à ses réunions et intervient souvent dans ses communications et, plus récemment, la Corporation commerciale canadienne s’est associée à ses activités. Les représentants du PCN font de fréquents échanges de communications et se réunissent au besoin, selon les questions du moment.

    Les principaux interlocuteurs du PCN pour les secteurs des affaires et du syndicalisme sont le Conseil canadien pour le commerce international, le Congrès du Travail du Canada et la Confédération des syndicats nationaux. Il n’existe pas encore de véhicule officiel de communications avec les ONG, bien que certaines d’entre elles aient été sensibilisées aux Principes directeurs, notamment Mine Alertes Canada, Oxfam, le Sierra Club et le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale.

  4. Information et promotion

    4.1 Outils d’information et de promotion

    Le site Web du PNC du Canada, qui a été établi en juin 2001, s’est avéré un outil utile pour la promotion des Principes directeurs. Un bulletin électronique a été expédié à environ

    100 organisations, afin de les informer de l’existence du site, et les a invitées à établir sur leur site des liens vers celui-ci. Le site Web est également devenu un moyen efficace de communiquer aux missions de l’information sur les Principes directeurs. Les ambassades et les hauts-commissariats en sont tous informés, ainsi que de l’importance de cet outil dans la sensibilisation des entreprises à la responsabilité sociale. Dans l’ensemble, le site offre un point de référence utile à un nombre grandissant d’organisations et d’entreprises canadiennes qui cherchent à s’informer sur la question. Il reçoit environ 100 visites par semaine.

    Une brochure officielle réalisée par le gouvernement du Canada a été distribuée aux organisations intéressées, notamment les entreprises, les syndicats et les ONG. Cette brochure est également diffusée sur le site Web du PCN et figure dans le catalogue des publications virtuelles du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international.

    4.2 Promotion auprès des partenaires sociaux

    En janvier 2002, des membres du PCN ont participé à Toronto à la réunion annuelle des chercheurs syndicaux du Congrès canadien du travail. Deux exposés sur les Principes directeurs ont été présentés, l’un par un membre du PCN travaillant à Développement des ressources humaines Canada et l’autre, par une représentante de la Commission syndicale consultative. Les exposés ont suscité un grand intérêt parmi l’assistance, qui a posé diverses questions, par exemple : qui peut déposer une plainte? Le PCN a-t-il un rôle d’enquêteur et est-il doté d’un budget? L’Agence canadienne de développement international est-elle membre du PCN? Les Principes directeurs ont-ils force exécutoire? Que se passe-t-il concernant les multinationales qui sont en Birmanie? Cette réunion a fourni au PCN une excellente occasion de mieux faire connaître les Principes directeurs dans le monde du travail au Canada. La participation de la Commission syndicale consultative a contribué énormément au succès de l’événement.

    Les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE ont été mis en lumière lors de la série d’ateliers sur la probité en matière de commerce donnés dans l’ensemble du Canada d’avril à mai 2002. Parrainés par Exportation et développement Canada, ces ateliers visaient à aider les entreprises canadiennes à l’étranger à gérer les questions de droits humains, d’environnement et de travail dans des conditions difficiles. La séance d’Ottawa comprenait une allocution principale prononcée par le président du Conseil canadien pour le commerce international sur le sujet des Principes directeurs.

    Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada accorde maintenant dans ses activités promotionnelles une place importante à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Des brochures sur les Principes directeurs sont mises à la disposition des entreprises qui participent à des missions de promotion du commerce et de l’investissement à l’étranger, et l’on pense à intégrer à ces missions davantage d’activitiés portant sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Les ministres font normalement partie de ces missions, qui attirent de nombreuses sociétés canadiennes souhaitant faire des affaires à l’étranger. Par conséquent, ces événements sont un excellent forum pour promouvoir les Principes directeurs en coopération avec le milieu des affaires.

    4.3 Promotion au sein du gouvernement

    La promotion des Principes directeurs au sein du gouvernement est un aspect essentiel de la responsabilité du PCN de faire connaître cet instrument. Des ministères et des organismes du gouvernement ont des rapports directs avec le milieu des affaires et les ONG dans le cadre de programmes et d’activités de consultation. Il s’agit d’un important moyen pour informer ces groupes de l’engagement du Canada à l’égard de ces principes.

    Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) a inclus les Principes directeurs dans ses activités, de sensibilisation des entreprises internationales à la responsabilité sociale. Il offre des séances d’information sur le sujet à ses représentants au commerce à l’étranger. La sensibilisation aux Principes directeurs fait également partie de la formation en matière de droits de la personne des représentants du gouvernement qui se préparent à une affectation à l’étranger. Un programme de formation officiel sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises est prévu pour ces représentants; il comprendra des séances sur l’application des Principes directeurs à l’étranger. Ces principes sont également un important élément de la stratégie ministérielle visant la promotion du développement durable.

    Le ministère de l’Industrie du Canada s’est engagé publiquement à favoriser les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE dans sa stratégie de développement durable pour 2000-2003. Il s’agira non seulement de déterminer des résultats concrets à obtenir à ce sujet (p. ex. production de matériel promotionnel et repérage des occasions de promouvoir ces principes dans le milieu des affaires canadien), mais également de faire un rapport public sur les efforts déployés en la matière.

    Le ministère de l’Industrie a promulgué les Principes directeurs dans ses services, particulièrement ceux qui s’occupent d’expansion de l’investissement. Ils ont été chargés de relier leur site au site Web national du Canada sur les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales et de distribuer sur demande la brochure du gouvernement à des groupes clients.

    Des membres du PCN ont fait un exposé sur les Principes directeurs aux responsables du Programme de coopération industrielle de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), programme qui est un important point de contact de l’ACDI avec le milieu des affaires canadien. Un objectif clé est d’encourager la contribution des entreprises au développement durable dans les pays en développement. Les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE peuvent orienter celles-ci dans les activités menées en partenariat avec l’ACDI.

    Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) est en train d’élaborer un cadre relatif à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, afin de l’intégrer davantage à sa stratégie globale. Dans son site Web, EDC fait la promotion des principes de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, notamment les recommandations des Principes directeurs. L’organisme a relié son site à celui du PCN du Canada et il a également parrainé des séances de promotion de la déontologie des affaires au Canada, qui rappelaient également les Principes directeurs à l’attention des participants.

    4.4 Événements internationaux

    La responsabilité sociale des entreprises est un thème important dont le gouvernement du Canada et d’autres gouvernements ont fait la promotion au Sommet du G8 à Kananaskis. Pour la préparation de cet événement de haut profil, le PCN a tenu à ce que la documentation du Sommet fasse référence aux Principes directeurs de l’OCDE.

    Le Canada est un acteur principal de la conférence des Amériques sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises prévue pour septembre 2002 à Miami. Cette conférence est organisée par la Banque de développement inter-américaine, l’Organisation des États américains et la Banque mondiale. Les principaux codes de conduite internationaux, notamment les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE, tiendront une place importante dans les discussions.

    Les membres du PNC ont assisté à une conférence de la série Global Mining Initiative à Toronto en mai 2002. Inaugurée en 1998 par neuf sociétés mondiales d’exploitation minière, cette initiative avait pour mandat de redéfinir le rôle de l’industrie minière mondiale en matière de développement durable. À cette conférence, qui était la troisième et la dernière de ce programme de trois ans, ont participé différents secteurs de la société qui souhaitent tous que cette industrie contribue davantage au développement durable. L’importance des normes internationales dans l’orientation des activités opérationnelles des entreprises a été un sujet de discussion, et à cette occasion l’attention a été attirée sur le rôle des Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales. Le Sommet mondial du développement durable pourra bénéficier des résultats de cette série de conférences.

  5. Demandes de renseignements

    Le PCN a reçu au cours de l’année précédente des demandes de renseignements au sujet des Principes directeurs. Celles communiquées par voie électronique, proviennent souvent de groupes d’analystes et d’établissements universitaires qui souhaitent s’informer sur les expériences du Canada en la matière. D’autres sont faites lors de rencontres avec des entreprises ou des organisations non gouvernementales. De telles réunions ont habituellement pour objet de discuter de problèmes liés à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises et à cette occasion il arrive qu’une question soit posée sur les Principes directeurs et leur pertinence par rapport à la situation en question. De même, ces principes sont parfois mentionnés dans la correspondance adressée aux ministres par le public.

  6. Application des Principes directeurs dans des circonstances spécifiques

    Le PNC du Canada a été avisé d’un cas spécifique mettant en cause la conduite d’une multinationale par rapport aux Principes directeurs. La notification, qui a été reçue en juillet 2001, était la première de l’histoire du PCN canadien. L’information était fournie par une organisation non gouvernementale par l’intermédiaire de sa branche canadienne. Après une évaluation initiale du dossier, il a été déterminé qu’un examen plus approfondi était nécessaire.

    Il s’agissait des activités d’une entreprise minière en Zambie, dans le secteur du cuivre. Anciennement société d’État, celle-ci avait été achetée conjointement par deux firmes étrangères - l’une canadienne, l’autre suisse - en mars 2000. Le gouvernement de Zambie retenait toutefois une part minoritaire de l’entreprise. L’ONG a signalé que l’entreprise n’observait pas les recommandations des Principes directeurs de l’OCDE, à savoir celles : 1) du paragraphe 2 du Chapitre II, sur le respect des droits humains; 2) du paragraphe 7 du Chapitre II, concernant la mise en place de pratiques qui favorisent un climat de confiance entre les entreprises et les sociétés où elles sont implantées, et 3) du paragraphe 2 b) du Chapitre V, sur les communications et les consultations avec les communautés sur les politiques en matière d’environnement, de santé et de sécurité. Ces accusations étaient fondées sur l’expulsion imminente des terres de l’entreprise de fermiers pauvres de la région.

    Afin de résoudre le problème, le PCN canadien a facilité des échanges de communications entre le siège de l’entreprise au Canada et le bureau canadien de l’ONG. Toutes les communications transitaient par le PCN. Les deux parties canadiennes concernées ont à leur tour communiqué avec leurs bureaux respectifs en Zambie, qui par la suite se sont rencontrés. Alors qu’il existait des divergences dans les faits et les points de vue exposés par chaque partie, une résolution a tout de même été trouvée après que l’entreprise et les groupes représentant les communautés touchées se furent rencontrés et eurent convenu d’une approche selon laquelle les fermiers pouvaient demeurer sur les terres, au moins pour le court terme. Le PCN canadien a fait parvenir une dernière communication à l’entreprise canadienne, dont l’ONG a reçu copie, dans laquelle il se félicite de l’esprit de coopération dont les deux parties ont fait preuve. Nous avons également encouragé l’entreprise à garder les communications ouvertes avec l’ONG canadienne et les autres groupes préoccupés du bien-être des personnes touchées par les activités de l’entreprise minière de la Zambie. Tout au cours du processus, le PCN canadien a tenu le PCN suisse informé du déroulement des événements.

  7. Autres questions

    Le PCN a échangé des communications avec le PCN français au sujet des anciennes activités d’une entreprise canadienne en France. Les deux PCN discutent encore de cette question.

  8. Conclusion

    Les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales constituent un élément important dans l’approche du gouvernement pour sensibiliser les entreprises à la responsabilité sociale, tant à l’échelle nationale qu’internationale. La structure interministérielle du PCN facilite cette activité au sein du gouvernement et parmi les groupes concernés dans les ministères, notamment ceux qui ont des rapports avec le milieu des affaires, les syndicats et les ONG. Le PCN souhaite poursuivre ses activités de sensibilisation au cours de l’année prochaine.

    La seule expérience du Canada dans un cas qui concernait les Principes directeurs a eu un heureux aboutissement. Dans son approche de solution, le PCN s’est largement inspiré de l’annexe des Lignes directrices de procédure de la décision du Conseil. Avec la coopération totale des parties concernées, on a pu ainsi procéder à une recherche objective de résolution d’un problème social complexe lié à une activité d’investissement dans un pays étranger. Essentiellement, le processus a permis de susciter un dialogue, qui a ouvert la voie à une résolution.

  9. Contactez-nous

    Téléphone : (613) 996-3324
    Télécopieur : (613) 944-0679
    Courriel : ncp.pcn@international.gc.ca

    Point de contact national du Canada
    Pièce C6-273
    125, promenade Sussex
    Ottawa (Ontario)
    Canada
    K1A 0G2