Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada's National Contact Point (NCP)

Annual Report 2003

Introduction

The OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises is an instrument of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). The recommendations set forth in the Guidelines are a voluntary, multilateral framework of standards and principles on responsible business conduct.

As a member of the OECD and signatory to the Guidelines, Canada is obligated to establish a national contact point (NCP). The role of the NCP is to promote awareness of the Guidelines and ensure their effective implementation. This report provides a summary of the activities undertaken by Canada's NCP in the past year (June 2002 - June 2003) to fulfill its responsibilities.

The Canadian Policy Context

The Guidelines are an important element of the Government's approach to promoting corporate social responsibility (CSR). A number of government departments are active in this area, through activities such as information dissemination, facilitation of dialogue among interested parties and support for the development of international norms. The Guidelines are a part of these activities, their contribution heightened by the fact that they represent the shared views of thirty-seven national governments on what constitutes appropriate corporate behaviour. The business community in Canada is promoting CSR as well, with an increasing number of enterprises adopting codes of ethical conduct and related management strategies. The Guidelines can provide a frame of reference for private sector initiatives and efforts to encourage progress in this area internationally.

Corporate social responsibility, and the Guidelines, make an important contribution to the Government's policy on promoting sustainable development. Achieving sustainable development requires the responsible engagement of all sectors of society, including the business community. The Guidelines encourage corporations' contribution to sustainable development and help to strengthen the basis of mutual confidence between enterprises and the societies in which they operate. Thus, while our NCP has a clear mandate to implement the Guidelines, its activities also support other broader policy objectives of the Government.

Institutional Arrangements

The key responsibilities of Canada's NCP are to promote the Guidelines, respond to inquiries and contribute to the resolution of problems that may arise in relation to the operations of multinational enterprises. Important guiding principles for the NCP''s activities include visibility, accessibility, transparency and accountability.

Canada's NCP is an interdepartmental committee of the federal Government. It comprises representatives from a number of departments, including the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Industry Canada, Human Resources Development Canada, Environment Canada, Natural Resources Canada, the Department of Finance and the Canadian International Development Agency. The diversity of the issues covered by the Guidelines and the potentially broad spectrum of public interest (business, labour, non-governmental organizations) in Canada underscores the importance of structuring the NCP in this way.

Other departments and agencies participate in NCP activities as well. Export Development Canada is a frequent participant in NCP meetings and communications, and more recently the Canadian Commercial Corporation has become involved. The NCP representatives exchange communication frequently and meet as required, depending on the issues at hand.

The Canadian NCP's key business and labour interlocutors on the Guidelines are the Canadian Council for International Business (CCIB), the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC) and the Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN). A regular point of contact with the NGO community is in the process of being established.

Information and Promotion

a) Information and Promotional Tools
The Canadian NCP web site, established in June 2001, continues to be a useful tool for promoting the Guidelines. The web site has also become an efficient way to communicate information on the Guidelines to our overseas missions. All of our embassies and high commissions have been informed of the Guidelines and the importance of this instrument for the promotion of corporate social responsibility. Overall, the web site offers a convenient point of reference for a growing number of Canadian organizations and businesses that are seeking information on the issue of corporate social responsibility. The site receives about 100 visits per week.

An official Government of Canada brochure on the Guidelines continues to be distributed to a number of stakeholder organizations, including business, labour and NGOs. The brochure continues to be available on-line from the NCP web site and the virtual Publications Catalogue of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

b) Promotion with Social Partners
The Canadian NCP reviewed and updated its strategy for the promotion of the Guidelines. A number of promotional activities have been identified for the coming year. The aim of the strategy is to ensure that the Guidelines are recognized in Canada as an international business ethics instrument that is endorsed and recommended by governments, including the Government of Canada.

Canada's Trade Commissioner Service includes corporate social responsibility as an important aspect of its promotional activities. Guidelines brochures are made available to companies that participate on trade and investment promotion missions abroad, and consideration is being given to further integrating corporate social responsibility activities into these missions. The missions normally include government Ministers and attract many Canadian firms interested in doing business abroad. As a result, they are an excellent forum for the promotion of the Guidelines in cooperation with the business community.

Promotional activities with the Canadian mining sector have been actively pursued during 2003. An official from Canada's NCP presented a session on the OECD Guidelines for MNEs at the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum annual conference in Montreal, Canada in May 2003. The Prospector's and Developer's Association of Canada (PDAC) drew their members attention to the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises in December 2002 by publishing a short article about the Guidelines in PDACs online News and Activities summary. Guidelines brochures's were also distributed at PDAC's annual meeting held in Toronto in March 2003.

In May 2003, members of the Canadian NCP along with other Government of Canada officials met with Canadian non-governmental organizations (NGOs) interested in Canadian mining activities in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). The same officials also met with Canadian firms involved in mining in the DRC. The primary purpose of the two meetings was to obtain the views of participants on the Second UN Panel of Experts Report on Illegal exploitation of natural resources in the DRC. NCP members took the opportunity to promote the Guidelines and seek participants' cooperation in future promotional activities.

OECD Guidelines brochures were included in the delegate kits of two prominent Canadian CSR conferences in 2003 – the Corporate Knights Driving the Return on Responsibility conference held in Toronto in June 2003 and the Canadian Council on Africa's Corporate Social Responsibility and Business Renaissance in Africa conference held in Calgary in June 2003.

Industry Canada continued its activities to promulgate the Guidelines, relevant resources and electronic links through organizations such as business councils and associations, including the Canadian Council for International Business.

c) Promotion Within the Government
Promoting the Guidelines within the government is an essential aspect of the NCP''s responsibility to raise awareness of the instrument. A number of departments and agencies interact directly with the business community, labour groups and NGOs through their programs and consultative activities. This is an important channel for alerting these groups of Canada's commitment to support the Guidelines.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) has integrated the Guidelines into its activities to promote corporate social responsibility at the international level. The Department provides information sessions on the Guidelines for its overseas trade officials. The provision of Guidelines information is also a part of human rights training for government officials preparing for overseas postings. A formal training program on CSR targeted at trade officials is planned, and will include a session on the application of the Guidelines abroad. The Guidelines are also an important element of the Department's strategy to promote sustainable development.

Industry Canada continued its promotion of the Guidelines within the department's Sustainable Development Strategy. This involves not only identifying concrete deliverables respecting the Guidelines, such as developing promotional materials, but also reporting publically on these efforts. The department's web site pages related to the OECD Guidelines were updated as well.

Members of the NCP made a presentation on the Guidelines to Canadian International Development Agency officers responsible for developing the Agency's private sector development strategy. A part of their strategy will include promotion of the Guidelines with companies participating in the delivery of Canadian foreign assistance programs.

Corporate social responsibility, and the policies and procedures that underpin it, continue to evolve at Export Development Canada (EDC). As part of its efforts to promote ethical corporate conduct and continue a dialogue with exporters, investors, NGOs, and other stakeholders on CSR issues, EDC has been meeting regularly with these groups to discuss issues covered in the Guidelines, such as environmental responsibility, anti-corruption and anti-bribery efforts, and human rights. During the course of these discussions and by means of its web site, speeches, and other communications vehicles, EDC continues to support the NCP's efforts to promote the recommendations of the Guidelines within the Canadian exporting and investing community.

Environment Canada has met with the Canadian Environmental Network (CEN) and explained the role of the NCPs in supporting the Guidelines. The CEN has plans to distribute the website information to its members.

Inquiries

A number of inquiries about the Guidelines have come to the NCP in the past year. Inquiries received via e-mail are often from think-tanks and academic institutions looking for information on Canada''s experiences with the Guidelines. Other inquiries come through meetings with businesses or non-governmental organizations. The purpose of such meetings is usually to discuss issues related to corporate social responsibility, and in this context an inquiry will be made about the OECD Guidelines and their relevance to the situations in question. As well, the Guidelines are occasionally raised in the public's correspondence with Ministers..Implementation in Specific Instances

a) UN Panel of Experts Report on the DRC
Canada is one of ten OECD member countries with companies listed in Annex 3 of the Second UN Panel of Experts Report on Illegal exploitation of natural resources and other riches in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). The listed companies are alleged to be in violation of the OECD Guidelines for MNEs. The Panel's Report was commissioned by the UN Security Council.

The Report gave no indication of how seven of the eight listed Canadian companies had violated the Guidelines, leading these companies to express serious misgivings about the process followed by the Panel in developing Annex 3. The UNSC has asked the Panel to do some follow-up work, including meeting with the companies to discuss their concerns. A third report is expected to be submitted to the UNSC in July 2003. The NCP met with the Canadian companies to discuss the UN process and encouraged them to engage the Panel prior to the release of the third report. The NCP also informed the companies of the Government's expectation that they respect the Guidelines in their overseas operations.

A coalition of NGOs has been in touch with the NCP to register their concern about the activities of the Canadian companies in the DRC. They requested that Annex 3 be considered as a "specific instance" under the Guidelines. The NCP met with the NGOs to discuss the Panel's Report and the OECD Guidelines. The NGOs were informed that the NCP will await the release of the third report before considering whether or not to pursue formal procedures under the Guidelines.

Canada's NCP has been working with other NCPs through the OECD Committee on International Investment and Multinational Enterprises (CIME). Through the CIME, a dialogue with the UN Panel has been opened and a formal request has been made for the information upon which the Panel based its conclusions regarding the OECD member country companies named in Annex 3.

b) Burma
The Canadian NCP received a formal complaint from a national Canadian labour group regarding the operations of a Canadian mining company in Burma. The complaint, which is focussed on elements of the Guidelines chapter on Employment and Industrial Relations, was reviewed by the NCP and will be considered as a "specific instance" under the Guidelines. Procedures are being developed to bring the parties together for a dialogue process.

Concluding Remarks

The OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises has become a central element of the Government's approach to promoting corporate social responsibility, domestically and internationally. The interdepartmental structure of the NCP has proven useful in the promotion of the Guidelines within the Government and with departmental constituencies, including business, labour and NGOs. The NCP looks forward to further promotional activities in the coming year.

The UN Panel of Experts Report on the DRC has raised new and unique questions for NCPs relating to the implementation of the Guidelines. It is too early to draw final conclusions on the lessons learned as the Panel process is not yet completed. Nevertheless, one thing has become clear - the CIME plays a valuable role in coordinating the response of the NCPs to the UN Report.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Point de contact national (PCN)

Rapport annuel 2003

Introduction

Les Principes directeurs à l'intention des entreprises multinationales sont un instrument de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE). Les recommandations qu'on y trouve représentent un cadre multilatéral constitué de normes et de principes liés à la conduite responsable des affaires dont l'application est facultative.

À tire de membre de l'OCDE et de signataire des Principes directeurs, le Canada a l'obligation d'établir un point de contact national (PCN), dont le rôle consiste à promouvoir les Principes directeurs et à s'assurer de leur mise en oeuvre efficace. Le présent rapport fournit un résumé des activités entreprises par le PCN du Canada au cours de l'année dernière (juin 2002 - juin 2003), afin de s'acquitter de ses responsabilités.

Le contexte de la politique Canadienne

Les Principes directeurs sont un important élément de la stratégie du gouvernement visant à promouvoir la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Nombre de ministères fédéraux soutiennent activement cette stratégie, en diffusant des informations, en facilitant le dialogue entre les parties intéressées et en appuyant l'établissement de normes internationales. Les Principes directeurs font partie de ces activités et leur contribution est d'autant plus importante qu'ils représentent l'opinion commune de trente-sept gouvernements nationaux sur ce que constitue un comportement approprié de la part d'une entreprise. Le milieu des affaires canadien fait également la promotion de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises parmi ses membres, dont un nombre grandissant adopte des codes de bonne conduite et des stratégies de gestion y afférentes. Les Principes directeurs peuvent être un cadre de référence pour les initiatives du secteur privé et les efforts visant à accélérer les progrès sur le plan international.

La responsabilité sociale des entreprises et les Principes directeurs contribuent de façon importante à la politique du gouvernement visant à soutenir le développement durable. L'objectif fixé à cet égard ne peut être atteint sans l'engagement de tous les secteurs de la société, notamment le milieu des affaires. Les Principes directeurs encouragent la participation des entreprises à cet égard et aident à renforcer le climat de confiance entre celles-ci et les sociétés où elles sont implantées. Par conséquent, bien que le PCN ait le mandat clair de voir à la mise en oeuvre de ces principes, il appuie par ses activités d'autres objectifs globaux du gouvernement en matière de politiques.

Dispositions institutionnelles

Les responsabilités principales du PCN du Canada consistent à faire connaître les Principes directeurs, à répondre aux demandes de renseignements et à contribuer à la résolution de problèmes se rapportant aux activités des multinationales. Le PCN est guidé par quatre importants principes : la visibilité, l'accessibilité, la transparence et la responsabilité.

Le PCN du Canada est un comité interministériel du gouvernement fédéral composé de représentants du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, d'Industrie Canada, de Développement des ressources humaines Canada, d'Environnement Canada, de Ressources naturelles Canada, du ministère des Finances et de l'Agence canadienne de développement international. La diversité des questions abordées dans les Principes directeurs ainsi que la gamme potentiellement vaste de l'intérêt public au Canada. {entreprises, syndicats, organisations non gouvernementales}. L'importance démontrent d'une telle structure pour le PCN.

D'autres ministères et agences participent également aux activités du PCN. Exportation et développement Canada assiste fréquemment à ses réunions et intervient souvent dans ses communications et, plus récemment, la Corporation commerciale canadienne s'est associée à ses activités. Les représentants du PCN font de fréquents échanges de communications et se réunissent au besoin, selon les questions du moment.

Les principaux interlocuteurs du PCN concernant les principes directeurs sont, pour les secteurs des affaires et du syndicalisme, le Conseil canadien pour le commerce international, le Congrès du Travail du Canada et la Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN). Un point de contact périodique avec le milieu des ONG est en cours d'établissement.

Information et promotion

a) Outils d'information et de promotion
Le site Web du PCN du Canada, qui a été établi en juin 2001, demeure un outil utile pour la promotion des Principes directeurs. Le site Web est également devenu un moyen efficace de communiquer à nos missions de l'information sur les Principes directeurs. Les ambassades et les hauts-commissariats en sont tous informés, ainsi que de l'importance de cet outil dans la sensibilisation des entreprises à leur responsabilité sociale. Dans l'ensemble, le site offre un point de référence utile à un nombre grandissant d'organisations et d'entreprises canadiennes qui cherchent à s'informer sur la question. Il reçoit environ 100 visites par semaine.

Une brochure officielle réalisée par le gouvernement du Canada est diffusée aux organisations intéressées, notamment les entreprises, les syndicats et les ONG. La diffusion de cette brochure se poursuit sur le site Web du PCN et figure dans le catalogue des publications virtuelles du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international.

b) Promotion auprès des partenaires sociaux
Le PCN a examiné et actualisé sa stratégie de promotion des Principes directeurs. Il a retenu un certain nombre d'activités de promotion pour la prochaine année. La stratégie a pour but de faire en sorte que les Principes directeurs soient reconnus au Canada comme étant un instrument international d'éthique des entreprises, entériné et recommandé par des gouvernements, y compris celui du Canada.

Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada accorde dans ses activités promotionnelles une place importante à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Des brochures sur les Principes directeurs sont mises à la disposition des entreprises qui participent à des missions de promotion du commerce et de l'investissement à l'étranger, et l'on pense à intégrer davantage cette responsabilité à ces missions. Des ministres font normalement partie de ces missions, qui attirent de nombreuses entreprises canadiennes souhaitant faire des affaires à l'étranger. Par conséquent, ces événements sont un excellent forum pour promouvoir les Principes directeurs en coopération avec le milieu des affaires.

Le PCN s'est activement employé en 2003 à mener à bien des activités promotionnelles auprès du secteur minier du Canada. Un représentant du PCN du Canada a animé une séance sur les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales au congrès annuel de l'Institut canadien des mines, de la métallurgie et du pétrole à Montréal, au Canada, en mai 2003. L'Association canadienne des prospecteurs et entrepreneurs (ACPE) a attiré en décembre 2002 l'attention de ses membres sur les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales en publiant un court article sur cette question dans ses informations et le résumé de ses activités diffusés sur son site Web. Des brochures sur les Principes directeurs ont également été distribuées à l'assemblée annuelle de l'ACPE, qui s'est tenue à Toronto en mars 2003.

En mai 2003, des membres du PCN du Canada, accompagnés d'autres fonctionnaires du gouvernement du Canada, ont rencontré des organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes qui s'intéressent aux activités minières réalisées par des entreprises de notre pays en République démocratique du Congo (RDC). Les mêmes fonctionnaires ont également rencontré des représentants d'entreprises canadiennes actives dans le secteur minier en RDC. Ces deux rencontres avaient principalement pour but d'obtenir les vues des participants sur le deuxième Rapport du groupe d'experts des Nations Unies sur l'exploitation illégale des ressources naturelles de la RDC. Les membres du PCN ont profité de l'occasion pour faire la promotion des Principes directeurs et pour chercher à obtenir la coopération des participants aux activités promotionnelles futures.

Des brochures sur les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE ont fait partie des trousses des délégués à deux conférences de première importance sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises tenues au Canada en 2003 — la conférence de l'organisme Corporate Knights intitulée Driving the Return on Responsibility, tenue à Toronto en juin 2003, et la conférence du Conseil canadien pour l'Afrique qui s'est tenue sous le thème de la responsabilité sociale et la renaissance des entreprises en Afrique, à Calgary en juin 2003.

Industrie Canada a poursuivi son activité de promotion des Principes directeurs, des ressources pertinentes et des liens électroniques par l'intermédiaire d'organisations comme des conseils et associations d'entreprises, y compris le Conseil canadien pour le commerce international.

c) Promotion au sein du gouvernement
La promotion des Principes directeurs au sein du gouvernement est un aspect essentiel de la responsabilité du PCN de faire connaître cet instrument. Des ministères et des organismes du gouvernement ont des rapports directs avec le milieu des affaires, des organismes syndicaux et les ONG dans le cadre de programmes et d'activités de consultation. Il s'agit d'un important moyen d'informer ces groupes de l'engagement du Canada à l'égard de ces principes.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) a intégré les Principes directeurs dans ses activités de promotion de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises à l'échelle internationale. Le ministère tient des séances d'information sur les Principes directeurs à l'intention de ses responsables du commerce à l'étranger. La sensibilisation aux Principes directeurs fait également partie de la formation en matière de droits de la personne des représentants du gouvernement qui se préparent à une affectation à l'étranger. Un programme de formation officiel sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises est prévu pour les responsables du commerce; il comprendra des séances sur l'application des Principes directeurs à l'étranger. Ces principes sont également un important élément de la stratégie ministérielle visant la promotion du développement durable.

Industrie Canada a poursuivi sa promotion des Principes directeurs dans le cadre de sa stratégie ministérielle de développement durable. Cela comprend non seulement le repérage des résultats concrets attendus en ce qui concerne les Principes directeurs, comme l'élaboration de matériels promotionnels, mais aussi la présentation publique de rapports sur ces interventions. Le ministère a également actualisé les pages de son site Web relatives aux Principes directeurs de l'OCDE.

Des membres du PCN ont fait un exposé portant sur les principes directeurs devant les agents de l'Agence canadienne de développement international chargés d'élaborer la stratégie de développement du secteur privé de l'Agence. Un volet clé de la stratégie portera sur la promotion des Principes directeurs auprès d'entreprises participant à la mise en oeuvre des programmes canadiens d'aide étrangère.

La responsabilité sociale des entreprises, ainsi que les politiques et les procédures qui la sous-tendent, continuent d'évoluer à Exportation et développement Canada (EDC). Dans le cadre de ses interventions visant à promouvoir un comportement conforme à l'éthique de la part des entreprises et à poursuivre le dialogue avec les exportateurs, les investisseurs, les ONG et d'autres parties intéressées au sujet de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, EDC rencontre périodiquement ces groupes pour discuter des questions traitées dans les Principes directeurs, par exemple, la responsabilité en matière d'environnement, la lutte contre la corruption, et les droits de la personne. Au cours de ces discussions et au moyen de son site Web, de discours et d'autres instruments de communication, EDC continue d'appuyer les efforts que déploie le PCN afin de faire la promotion des recommandations des Principes directeurs au sein des milieux canadiens de l'exportation et de l'investissement.

Environnement Canada a rencontré des représentants du Réseau canadien de l'environnement (RCE) et a exposé le rôle du PCN pour ce qui est de soutenir les Principes directeurs. Le RCE se propose de diffuser à ses membres les informations figurant sur le site Web.

Demandes de renseignements

Le PCN a reçu au cours de l'année précédente des demandes de renseignements au sujet des Principes directeurs. Les demandes communiquées par voie électronique proviennent souvent de groupes d'analystes et d'établissements universitaires qui souhaitent s'informer sur les expériences du Canada en la matière. D'autres sont faites à la faveur de rencontres avec des entreprises ou des organisations non gouvernementales. De telles réunions ont habituellement pour objet de discuter de problèmes liés à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises et, à cette occasion, il arrive qu'une question soit posée sur les Principes directeurs et leur pertinence par rapport à la situation en question. De même, ces principes sont parfois mentionnés dans la correspondance adressée aux ministres par le public.

Application des Principes directeurs dans des circonstances spécifiques

a) Rapport du Groupe d'experts des Nations Unies sur la RDC
Le Canada est l'un des dix pays membres de l'OCDE comptant des entreprises mentionnées à l'annexe 3 du deuxième Rapport du Groupe d'experts des Nations Unies sur l'exploitation illégale des ressources naturelles et autres richesses de la République démocratique du Congo (RDC). On allègue que les entreprises inscrites sur la liste violent les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales. Le rapport du Groupe avait été commandé par le Conseil de sécurité de l'ONU.

Le rapport n'a donné aucune précision quant à la façon dont sept des huit entreprises mentionnées avaient violé les Principes directeurs, ce qui a incité ces dernières à exprimer des doutes importants au sujet du processus suivi par le Groupe pour la préparation de l'annexe 3. Le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a demandé au Groupe de mener à bien certains travaux de suivi, et notamment de rencontrer les entreprises pour discuter de leurs préoccupations. Un troisième rapport devrait être soumis au Conseil en juillet 2003. Le PCN a rencontré les entreprises canadiennes pour débattre du processus de l'ONU et il les a encouragées à coopérer avec le Groupe avant la publication de son troisième rapport. Le PCN a également indiqué aux entreprises que le gouvernement s'attend à ce qu'elles respectent les Principes directeurs dans leurs opérations à l'étranger.

Une coalition d'ONG a communiqué avec le PCN pour soumettre les inquiétudes que lui inspirent les activités des entreprises canadiennes en RDC. Elle a demandé que l'annexe 3 soit considérée comme étant une « circonstance spécifique » aux termes des Principes directeurs. Le PCN a également rencontré les ONG pour discuter du rapport du Groupe et des Principes directeurs de l'OCDE. Il a informé les ONG du fait qu'il attendrait la publication du troisième rapport avant de décider d'entamer ou non des procédures officielles au titre des Principes directeurs.

Le PCN du Canada oeuvre de concert avec d'autres PCN par l'intermédiaire du Comité OCDE de l'investissement international et des entreprises multinationales (CIME). Au moyen du CIME, un dialogue s'est ouvert avec le Groupe d'experts des Nations Unies et une demande officielle a été présentée pour la communication des informations sur lesquelles le Groupe a fondé ses conclusions quant aux entreprises de pays membres de l'OCDE nommées à l'annexe 3.

b) Birmanie
Le PCN du Canada a reçu une plainte officielle d'un groupe syndical national canadien en ce qui concerne les opérations d'une entreprise minière de notre pays en Birmanie. La plainte, axée sur des éléments du chapitre des Principes directeurs portant sur l'emploi et les relations industrielles, a été examinée par le PCN et sera considérée comme étant une « circonstance spécifique » aux termes des Principes directeurs. Des procédures sont en voie d'élaboration pour rassembler les parties dans un processus de dialogue.

Conclusion

Les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales sont devenus un élément central de l'approche suivie par le gouvernement pour promouvoir la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, tant au pays qu'à l'étranger. La structure interministérielle du PCN s'est révélée utile à des fins de promotion des Principes directeurs au sein du gouvernement et auprès des interlocuteurs des ministères, dont les entreprises, les syndicats et les ONG. Le PCN envisage avec grand intérêt de mener à bien d'autres activités promotionnelles au cours de l'année qui vient.

Le rapport du Groupe d'experts de l'ONU sur la RDC a soulevé pour les PCN des questions nouvelles et uniques en leur genre en ce qui concerne la mise en oeuvre des Principes directeurs. Il est encore trop tôt pour tirer des conclusions définitives relativement aux enseignements tirés, car le processus du Groupe n'est pas encore achevé. Néanmoins, une chose est maintenant claire — le CIME joue un rôle précieux en matière de coordination de la réponse des PCN au rapport des Nations Unies.