Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Multilateral Agreement on Investment (MAI)

The negotiations towards a potential Multilateral Agreement on Investment (MAI) at the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) have now ceased without any agreement being concluded. This brings clarity and closure to the issue.

Canada's participation in the negotiations was constructive, both in stimulating policy discussion on key investment issues, and in ensuring that Canada's clearly defined bottom lines were upheld throughout the negotiation process. Since the outset, we have maintained our bottom-lines to fully safeguard our freedom of action in key areas, including health care, social programs, culture, labour, environment, education, programs for Aboriginal Peoples and programs for minorities.

The Government of Canada is committed to an open and constructive dialogue with Canadians on all international trade and investment negotiations. With respect to the MAI, the consultation process enabled the Government to hear from thousands of Canadians, correspond with over 70 municipalities, and meet on a continuing basis with provincial/territorial representatives and with more than 60 regional, professional, sectoral and focussed interest groups.

Trade and investment are twin engines for job creation, prosperity and economic growth. Canada does much better when there are transparent rules governing the international playing field on which our businesses compete. That is why Canada has always been an active participant in the development of a world trading system based on rules rather than on economic might. We believe that the World Trade Organization (WTO) should be the home for any eventual international rules on investment.

OECD Publishes Documents Relating to 1995-1998 MAI Negotiations

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L’Accord multilatéral sur l’investissement (AMI)

Les négociations visant à conclure un Accord multilatéral sur l’investissement (AMI) dans le cadre de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) ont cessé et aucun accord n’a été conclu, ce qui clarifie et met un terme à la question.

La participation du Canada à ces négociations a été constructive. Elle a à la fois permis de stimuler les discussions stratégiques sur les importantes questions relatives à l’investissement et de faire en sorte que les positions canadiennes clairement établies soient prises en compte tout au long du processus de négociation. Nous avons maintenu nos positions depuis le début afin de protéger entièrement notre liberté d’action dans des secteurs clés comme les soins de santé, les programmes sociaux, la culture, le travail, l’environnement, l’éducation et les programmes visant les peuples autochtones et les minorités.

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à maintenir un dialogue ouvert et constructif avec les Canadiens pour toutes les négociations internationales concernant le commerce et l’investissement. En ce qui a trait à l’AMI, le processus de consultation a permis au gouvernement de connaître l’avis de milliers de Canadiens, de correspondre avec plus de 70 municipalités et de rencontrer régulièrement les représentants des provinces et des territoires et plus de 60 groupes régionaux, professionnels et sectoriels et groupes d’intérêts spéciaux.

Le commerce et l’investissement contribuent tous les deux à la création d’emploi, à la prospérité et à la croissance économique. Le Canada obtient de bien meilleurs résultats lorsque des règles transparentes régissent la scène internationale où nos entreprises évoluent. C’est pourquoi le Canada a toujours participé activement au développement du régime commercial mondial fondé sur des règles plutôt que sur la puissance économique. Nous croyons que toute règle internationale en matière d’investissement devrait être adoptée dans le cadre de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC).

L’OCDE publie des documents sur les négociations sur l’AMI entre 1995 et 1998