NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada

Clayton/Bilcon v. Government of Canada

Claimant

The Claytons and Bilcon of Delaware Inc., (Bilcon) are U.S. investors who own and control shares in a Canadian subsidiary named Bilcon of Nova Scotia to operate the Whites Point project, the purpose of which was to provide a reliable supply of aggregate for Bilcon of Delaware and the Clayton Group of Companies. Bilcon entered into a partnership with a Nova Scotia company, Nova Stone Exporters, to develop a quarry and marine terminal at Whites Point Quarry. The partnership was acquired entirely by Bilcon in 2004.

Articles

  • 1102 (National Treatment)
  • 1103 (Most-Favoured Nation Treatment)
  • 1105 (Minimum Standard of Treatment)

Damages claimed

$101 million USD.

Arbitration rules

UNCITRAL

Summary

Procedural history

On February 5, 2008, William Ralph Clayton et al. and Bilcon of Delaware, Inc. submitted a Notice of Intent to Submit a Claim to Arbitration, and on May 26, 2008, they served a Notice of Arbitration on the Government of Canada. After the parties exchanged pleadings, the Tribunal held a hearing on jurisdiction and liability in Toronto, ON from October 22 to 31, 2013, and issued its Award on Jurisdiction and Liability on March 17, 2015. The arbitration has moved into a damages phase, where the parties will submit evidence and argument to the Tribunal concerning the quantum of a compensation award.

Factual overview and nature of the claim

The Claimants allege that the Environmental Assessment (EA) that was undertaken by the Government of Canada and the Government of Nova Scotia for the Whites Point project, along with the administration and conduct of the EA, were arbitrary, discriminatory and unfair. The Claimants do not dispute the fact that EAs were required before construction and operating of industrial projects was to begin, although they allege that Canada’s environmental regulatory regime was applied to the project in an arbitrary, unfair and discriminatory manner. The arbitration pertains to the alleged governmental conduct that relates to the management and operation of the Claimant’s investment and the administration and implementation of the EA.

The governments of Canada and Nova Scotia jointly conducted the EA for the Whites Point project from 2003 to 2007.  As the governments jointly determined that the project engaged widespread public concern and the possibility of significant adverse environmental effects, the EA was referred to a Joint Review Panel (JRP), which was comprised of three professors from Dalhousie University.

The JRP gathered information on the environmental effects of the Whites Point project, held public hearings, and issued a recommendation to government decision-makers that the Whites Point project should not be permitted to proceed because it would have a significant and adverse environmental effect on the “community core values” of the Digby Neck. “Community core values” were defined by the JRP as shared beliefs by individuals in a group that constitute defining features of the community. Nova Scotia and the federal government rejected the project in late 2007. The Government of Canada specifically concluded, under the former Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, that the project was likely to cause significant and adverse environmental effects that were not justified.

Award on jurisdiction and liability

In its March 17, 2015 Award on Jurisdiction and Liability, the Tribunal found Canada liable for having breached its obligations under Articles 1105 and 1102.

The Tribunal agreed with Canada that the Claimant challenged a number of decisions made over the course of the EA that were made more than three years prior to the commencement of Bilcon’s NAFTA claim. As such, the claims regarding these decisions were time-barred under Article 1116(2).

The Tribunal disagreed however with Canada’s argument that the actions of the JRP were not attributable to it. It found that the JRP was part of the apparatus of the Government of Canada and exercised elements of Canadian governmental authority. It also found that Canada had acknowledged and adopted the actions of the JRP as its own.

A majority of the Tribunal found Canada liable for having breached its Minimum Standard of Treatment obligation under Article 1105(1). This provision requires that investors investments of NAFTA Parties be treated “in accordance with international law, including fair and equitable treatment and full protection and security” and prescribes the customary international law minimum standard of treatment of aliens as the applicable standard. The majority’s findings were based on the fact that the JRP’s recommendation relied on the application of a standard, “core community values,” that was not found in Canadian law and therefore that there was a lack of due process because the proponents were not given an opportunity to make a case based on this criterion. Professor Donald McRae issued a dissenting opinion related to the finding of a breach of Article 1105. In the dissent, Professor McRae disagreed with the majority’s assessment of the facts, with the majority’s determination that the JRP departed in fundamental ways from the standard of evaluation required by the laws of Canada. He also expressed disagreement with the effect of the majority’s decision on the threshold for the application of the standard under Article 1105.

The majority also found Canada liable for having breached its National Treatment obligation under Article 1102. This provision requires Canada to accord NAFTA investors treatment no less favourable than that which it accords, in like circumstances, to domestic investors. The majority’s finding was based on the fact that the standard applied by the JRP had not been applied in other environmental assessments and the government had not shown any legitimate non-discriminatory reason for such difference in treatment.

The United States, Mexico and Canada have criticized the Tribunal’s award in submissions filed in the Mesa Power Group, LLC v. Government of Canada arbitration. The three NAFTA Parties have stated that the Tribunal failed to adequately address nationality-based discrimination in its analysis of Bilcon’s Article 1102 claim, failed to properly assess customary international law for the purposes of determining the content of Article 1105 and incorrectly concluded that alleged violations of Canadian law amounted to a violation of the customary international law minimum standard of treatment.

Status

Damages phase

Following the issuance of the Award on Jurisdiction and Liability, the arbitration has moved into a damages phase, where the parties will submit evidence and argument to the Tribunal concerning the quantum of a compensation award. The damages phase of the proceedings will require document production, an exchange of written pleadings, witness statements and expert reports, and an oral hearing.

Set-aside proceedings

On June 16, 2015, Canada filed a notice of application in the Federal Court of Canada for the set aside of the Tribunal’s award of March 17, 2015. In the set aside proceedings, Canada is arguing that the Award on Jurisdiction and Liability contains decisions on matters beyond the scope of the submission to arbitration, contrary to Article 34(2)(a)(iii) of the Commercial Arbitration Code as enacted and set out in the Schedule to the Commercial Arbitration Act and is in conflict with the public policy of Canada contrary to Article 34(2)(b)(ii) of the Commercial Arbitration Code.

Legal Documents

This case is being governed by the arbitral rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law.  Legal documents related to this case can be viewed at the website of the Permanent Court of Arbitration.

The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Application to the Federal Court of Canada for Set Aside of the Award

On June 16, 2015, Canada filed a notice of application with the Federal Court of Canada seeking to set aside the award on jurisdiction and liability, on the grounds that the Tribunal exceeded its jurisdiction and that the award is in conflict with the public policy of Canada.

Back to "Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada"
Back to the main menu "Dispute Settlement - NAFTA Chapter 11"

ALÉNA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada

Clayton/Bilcon c. le Gouvernement du Canada

Demandeur

Des membres de la famille Clayton Bilcon of Delaware Inc., (Bilcon) sont des investisseurs américains qui possèdent des actions par lesquelles ils détiennent le contrôle dans une filiale canadienne, Bilcon of Nova Scotia, afin d'assurer l'exploitation du projet de Whites Point, projet ayant pour but de fournir un approvisionnement fiable d'agrégats pour Bilcon of Delaware et les sociétés du Groupe Clayton. Bilcon a conclu une entente de partenariat avec une société de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Nova Stone Exporters, afin d’exploiter une carrière et un terminal maritime à la carrière de Whites Point. Le partenariat a été entièrement acquis par Bilcon en 2004.

Articles

  • 1102 (Traitement national)
  • 1103 (Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée)
  • 1105 (Norme minimale de traitement)

Dommages réclamés

101 millions de dollars américains.

Règlement d'arbitrage

CNUDCI

Résumé

Historique des procédures

Le 5 février 2008, William Ralph Clayton et al. Bilcon of Delaware, Inc. ont déposé une notification d'intention de soumettre une plainte à l'arbitrage et, le 6 mai 2008, ils ont présenté une notification d'arbitrage au gouvernement du Canada. Après que les Parties ont échangé les pièces de procédure, le tribunal a tenu une audience sur la compétence et la responsabilité à Toronto en Ontario, du 22 au 31 octobre 2013, et a rendu une décision en la matière le 17 mars 2015. L'arbitrage est passé à la phase de dommages, où les Parties présenteront les éléments de preuve et les arguments au tribunal concernant le montant de l'indemnité à accorder.

Résumé des faits et nature des allégations

Les demandeurs prétendent que l'évaluation environnementale (EE) qui a été entreprise par le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour le projet de Whites Point, ainsi que l'administration et le déroulement de cette EE, ont été arbitraires, discriminatoires et inéquitables. Les demandeurs ne contestent pas l'exigence selon laquelle une EE doit être effectuée avant que la construction et l'exploitation de projets industriels ne commencent. Toutefois, ils prétendent que le régime de réglementation environnementale du Canada a été appliqué à ce projet de manière arbitraire, inéquitable et discriminatoire. L'arbitrage porte sur la conduite présumée du gouvernement quant à la gestion et l’exploitation de l’investissement du demandeur ainsi que l'administration et la mise en œuvre de l'EE.

Les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont mené conjointement cette EE pour le projet de Whites Point de 2003 à 2007. Puisque les gouvernements ont convenu conjointement que ce projet suscitait des préoccupations du grand public et présentait la possibilité de répercussions négatives considérables sur l’environnement, l'EE a été transmise à une Commission d'examen conjoint (CEC), qui se composait de trois professeurs de l'Université Dalhousie.

La CEC a recueilli des renseignements concernant les répercussions du projet de Whites Point sur l’environnement, a tenu des audiences publiques et a présenté une recommandation aux décideurs du gouvernement selon laquelle le projet de Whites Point ne devrait pas être mis en œuvre parce qu'il aurait une incidence environnementale négative considérable sur les « valeurs fondamentales de la collectivité » de Digby Neck. Les « valeurs fondamentales de la collectivité » ont été définies par la CEC comme des croyances partagées par des personnes faisant partie d'un groupe qui constitue les caractéristiques déterminantes d'une collectivité. La Nouvelle-Écosse et le gouvernement fédéral ont rejeté le projet à la fin de l'année 2007. Le gouvernement du Canada a conclu en particulier, en vertu de l'ancienne Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale, que ce projet aurait vraisemblablement une incidence négative considérable sur l'environnement qui ne se justifiait pas.

Décision sur la compétence et la responsabilité

Dans la décision qu'il a rendue le 17 mars 2015 sur la compétence et la responsabilité, le tribunal a tenu le Canada responsable de ne pas avoir respecté ses obligations en vertu des articles 1105 et 1102.

Le tribunal a convenu avec le Canada que le demandeur a contesté un certain nombre des décisions qui avaient été rendues au cours de l'EE, plus de trois ans avant le début de la plainte de Bilcon en vertu de l'ALÉNA. Les allégations en ce qui concerne ces décisions sont donc prescrites en vertu du paragraphe 1116(2).

Le tribunal a indiqué son désaccord, toutefois, avec l'argument du Canada selon lequel les mesures de la CEC ne lui étaient pas attribuables. Il a constaté que la CEC faisait partie de l'appareil du gouvernement du Canada et qu'elle avait exercé certains éléments de l'autorité du gouvernement du Canada. Il a également constaté que le Canada avait reconnu et adopté les mesures de la CEC comme si elles étaient les siennes.

Une majorité du tribunal a tenu le Canada responsable de ne pas s'être conformé à son obligation de norme minimale de traitement en vertu de l’alinéa 1105(1). Selon cette disposition, les investissements des investisseurs des Parties à l’ALÉNA doivent être traités conformément « au droit international, notamment un traitement juste et équitable ainsi qu’une protection et une sécurité intégrales », et la norme minimale de traitement des étrangers du droit international coutumier est la norme qui s'applique. Les conclusions de la majorité s’appuient sur le fait que la recommandation de la CEC repose sur l'application d'une norme, les « valeurs fondamentales de la collectivité », qui ne se trouve pas dans les lois du Canada et que, par conséquent, il n'y a pas d'application régulière de la loi parce que les proposants n'ont pas eu l'occasion d'établir le bien-fondé de leur projet selon ce critère. Le professeur Donald McRae a émis une opinion dissidente en ce qui concerne la constatation d'un manquement à l'article 1105. Dans son opinion dissidente, le professeur McRae n'est pas d'accord avec l'évaluation des faits de la majorité, ni avec le prononcé selon lequel la CEC a dérogé de manière fondamentale à la norme d'évaluation requise conformément aux lois du Canada. Il a également exprimé son désaccord avec l'incidence de la décision de la majorité sur le seuil pour l'application de la norme en vertu de l'article 1105.

La majorité a également indiqué que le Canada était tenu responsable d'avoir manqué à l'obligation de traitement national en vertu de l'article 1102. Cette disposition exige que le Canada accorde aux investisseurs de l'ALÉNA un traitement qui ne soit pas moins favorable que celui qu'il accorde, dans des circonstances similaires, aux investisseurs nationaux. La constatation de la majorité est fondée sur le fait que la norme appliquée par la CEC n'a pas été mise en application dans d'autres évaluations environnementales et que le gouvernement n'a indiqué aucune raison non discriminatoire légitime justifiant une telle différence de traitement.

Les États-Unis, le Mexique et le Canada ont critiqué la décision du tribunal dans des représentations écrites déposées dans le cadre de l'arbitrage de Mesa Power Group, LLC c. le gouvernement du Canada. Les trois Parties à l'ALÉNA ont déclaré que le tribunal n'avait pas traité adéquatement la discrimination fondée sur la nationalité dans son analyse de la plainte de Bilcon selon l'article 1102, qu'il n'avait pas évalué adéquatement le droit international coutumier afin de déterminer le contenu de l'article 1105 et qu'il avait conclu erronément que les manquements allégués aux lois du Canada représentaient un manquement à la norme minimale de traitement du droit international coutumier.

État actuel

Phase des dommages

Après avoir rendu une décision sur la compétence et la responsabilité, l'arbitrage est passé à la phase de dommages, où les Parties présenteront les éléments de preuve et les arguments au tribunal concernant le montant de l'indemnité à accorder. La phase des dommages de la procédure nécessitera la production de documents, un échange de pièces de procédures écrites, de déclarations de témoins et de rapports d'experts et une audience.

Procédure en annulation

Le 16 juin 2015, le Canada a déposé un avis de demande à la Cour fédérale du Canada pour l'annulation de la sentence du tribunal du 17 mars 2015. Dans le cadre de la procédure d'annulation, le Canada fait valoir que la sentence sur la compétence et la responsabilité contient des décisions qui dépassent la portée de la plainte à l'arbitrage, contrairement à l'alinéa 34(2)(a)(iii) du Code d'arbitrage commercial tel qu'il a été adopté et énoncé dans l'annexe à la Loi sur l'arbitrage commercial et entre en conflit avec la politique publique du Canada ce qui est contraire à l'alinéa 34(2)(b)(ii) du Code d'arbitrage commercial.

Documents juridiques

Cet arbitrage est régi selon le règlement d'arbitrage de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international (CNUDCI). Pour obtenir des documents légaux relatifs à cet arbitrage, veuillez consulter le site Web de la Cour permanente d’arbitrage.

Le gouvernement du Canada n’assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l’actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n’est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l’accessibilité.

Demande d’annulation de la sentence présentée à la Cour fédérale du Canada

Le 16 juin 2015, le Canada déposait devant la Cour fédérale du Canada un avis de demande pour l’annulation de la sentence concernant la compétence et la responsabilité, soutenant que le Tribunal a outrepassé sa compétence et que la sentence allait à l'encontre de la politique publique du Canada.

Retour aux "Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada"
Retour au menu principal "Règlement des différends - ALÉNA - Chapitre 11"