This Web page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada

Albert Connolly v. Government of Canada

Claimant

Mr. Albert Connolly, on behalf of Brownfields Holding, Inc., a mining enterprise registered in Atlanta, Georgia.

Articles

  • 1110 (Expropriation)

Damages claimed

The Investor does not specify an exact amount of damages.

Summary

Procedural history

Mr. Connolly served a Notice of Intent to Submit a Claim to Arbitration under NAFTA Chapter 11 on February 26, 2004. He has not filed a Notice of Arbitration and arbitration proceedings have not been initiated.

Factual overview and nature of the claim

Mr. Connolly, on behalf of Brownfields Holding, Inc., claimed a breach of NAFTA Article 1110 (Expropriation).  He alleged that Ontario, through the Ministry of Northern Development and Mines (MNDM), did not provide statutory credit for a report entitled “Calcitic Marble Prospect, White Lake, Darling Twp, Ontario”. It is alleged that these actions by MNDM resulted in the forfeiture of the Claimant’s mining property known as claim site number 1184025.  The Claimant sought the return of the claim site plus credit for accumulated assessment work or, in the alternative, intended to claim damages in an unspecified amount for lost revenues.

Status

Inactive.

Legal Documents (all documents are in .pdf)

The documents have been posted in the language in which they were received by the government. The Government of Canada has not modified or changed them in any way. As such they have not been translated from the original. They are provided in Acrobat (pdf) files. To view or download pdf files you need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™ a free software that you can download from the web.

Back to "Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada"
Back to the main menu "Dispute Settlement - NAFTA Chapter 11"

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ALÉNA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada

Albert Connolly c. le Gouvernement du Canada

Demandeur

M. Albert Connolly, au nom de Brownfields Holding, Inc., une entreprise minière enregistrée à Atlanta, dans l’État de la Géorgie, aux États-Unis.

Articles

  • 1110 (Expropriation)

Dommages réclamés

L'investisseur ne précise pas le montant exact des dommages.

Résumé

Historique des procédures

M. Connolly a signifié une notification d’intention de soumettre une plainte à l’arbitrage en vertu du chapitre 11 de l’ALÉNA le 26 février 2004. Il n’a pas déposé de notification d’arbitrage, et des procédures d’arbitrage n’ont pas été entamées.

Résumé des faits et nature des allégations

M. Connolly, au nom de Brownfields Holding, Inc, soutenait que l’article 1110 (expropriation) de l’ALENA avait été enfreint. Il alléguait que l’Ontario, par le biais du ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines, n’avait pas fourni  le crédit tel que prévu par la loi pour le  rapport intitulé Calcitic Marble Prospect, White Lake, Darling Twp, Ontario. Il  alléguait que ces actions par le ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines ont entraîné la confiscation de la propriété minière du demandeur appelée « lot revendiqué 1184025 ». Le demandeur a demandé que lui soit rendu son lot revendiqué, plus le crédit pour les travaux d’évaluation accumulés ou, à titre subsidiaire, des dommages pour un montant non précisé pour manque à gagner.

État actuel

Inactive.

Documents juridiques (tous les documents sont présentés en format .pdf)

Les documents sont affichés dans la langue dans laquelle ils ont été reçus par le gouvernement. Le gouvernement du Canada n'a pas effectué de changement ou modification à ces documents. En conséquence, les documents juridiques n'ont pas été traduits. Ils sont mis en format Acrobat (pdf). Pour visualiser et télécharger des fichiers publiés en format pdf, vous devez utiliser l'application Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™. Vous pouvez vous procurer ce logiciel gratuitement sur le web.

En anglais seulement

Retour aux "Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada"
Retour au menu principal "Règlement des différends - ALÉNA - Chapitre 11"