NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada

Eli Lilly and Company v. Government of Canada

Claimant

Eli Lilly and Company Inc. (“Eli Lilly”), a U.S. corporation incorporated in Indiana, is a global pharmaceutical company. Eli Lilly wholly owns and controls Eli Lilly Canada, Inc.

Articles

  • 1105 (Minimum Standard of Treatment)
  • 1110 (Expropriation)

Damages claimed

$500 million CAD.

Arbitration Rules

UNCITRAL

Summary

Procedural history

The Claimant submitted a Notice of Intent to Submit a Claim to Arbitration on November 7, 2012, which was later withdrawn and replaced with a second Notice of Intent on June 13, 2013. On September 12, 2013, Eli Lilly then filed a Notice of Arbitration against the Government of Canada under the dispute settlement provisions of NAFTA Chapter 11. Canada filed its Statement of Defence on June 30, 2014. Eli Lilly filed its Memorial on September 30, 2014; Canada filed its Counter-Memorial on January 27, 2015; Eli Lilly filed its Reply on September 12, 2015 and Canada filed its Rejoinder on December 8, 2015. The hearing on jurisdiction and the merits took place from May 30 to June 8, 2016. Parties filed post-hearing submissions, including on costs between July 25 and August 22, 2016.

Factual overview and nature of the claim

Eli Lilly alleges that it held, directly and indirectly, Canadian patents with respect to several pharmaceutical compounds. It further alleges that the interpretation of the term “useful” in Canada’s Patent Act by the Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada, between 2002 and 2008, violates Canada’s obligations under NAFTA. In particular, Eli Lilly alleges that the interpretation given to this term by the Canadian courts violates Canada’s obligations under NAFTA Article 1105 (Minimum Standard of Treatment) on the basis that it is arbitrary and discriminatory. Eli Lilly also alleges that this interpretation and the application of it to Eli Lilly with respect to its patents concerning atomoxetine and olanzapine violates Canada’s obligations under Article 1110. It bases its claim of a violation of Article 1110 on the allegation that this interpretation violates Canada’s obligations under Chapter Seventeen of NAFTA and the Patent Cooperation Treaty.

Canada has argued that Eli Lilly’s claims are beyond the jurisdiction of the Tribunal and are wholly without merit as a matter of both fact and law. In particular, Canada has argued:

  • that Eli Lilly’s allegations with respect to the interpretation by the Canadian courts of Canada’s Patent Act are beyond the jurisdiction of a NAFTA Chapter 11 tribunal because Eli Lilly failed to submit its claims in compliance with the limitations time-period established in Articles 1116(2) and 1117(2).
  • that Eli Lilly’s allegations of a breach of Canada’s obligations under NAFTA are without merit.
  • that the interpretations of its domestic laws by its domestic courts are only subject to investor-State arbitration if those interpretations amount to a denial of justice. Both Eli Lilly and Canada agree that Eli Lilly was not denied justice by the Canadian courts.
  • that the interpretations of its domestic laws by its domestic courts are neither arbitrary nor discriminatory, and that such interpretations are fully consistent with Canada’s obligations under both Chapter Seventeen of NAFTA and the Patent Cooperation Treaty.

Canada has requested that the claim be dismissed and that Eli Lilly be ordered to bear all of Canada’s costs in the arbitration.

Status

Hearing pending.

Legal Documents (all documents are in pdf)

This case is governed by the arbitral rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law. Additional documents related to this case can be viewed at the website of the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes.

Copies of all legal documents posted have been prepared in a language of operation of the Tribunal or Court in question. The Government of Canada has not modified or changed them in any way. As such they have not been translated from the original. They are provided in Acrobat (pdf) files. To view or download pdf files you need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™ a free software that you can download from the web.

The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

  • Notice of Intent - Withdrawn by Claimant and replaced by the June 13, 2013 Notice of Intent (PDF Document - 4.39 MB) - November 7, 2012
  • Second Notice of Intent (PDF Document - 6.87 MB) - June 13, 2013

Back to "Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada"
Back to the main menu "Dispute Settlement - NAFTA Chapter 11"

ALÉNA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada

Eli Lilly et Company c. le Gouvernement du Canada

Demandeur

Eli Lilly and Company Inc. (« Eli Lilly »), une société américaine constituée en Indiana, est une société pharmaceutique multinationale. Eli Lilly détient en propriété exclusive et dirige Eli Lilly Canada Inc.

Articles

  • 1105 (Norme minimale de traitement)
  • 1110 (Expropriation)

Dommages réclamés

500 millions de dollars canadiens.

Règlement d’arbitrage

CNUDCI

Résumé

Historique des procédures

La demanderesse a déposé une notification d’intention de soumettre une plainte à l’arbitrage le 7 novembre 2012, une notification qui a ensuite été retiré et remplacé par un deuxième notification d’intention le 13 juin 2013. Le 12 septembre 2013, Eli Lilly a déposé une notification d’arbitrage à l’encontre du gouvernement du Canada par application des dispositions sur le règlement des différends qui figurent au chapitre 11 de l’ALÉNA. Le Canada a déposé sa défense le 30 juin 2014. Eli Lilly a déposé son mémoire le 30 septembre 2014; le Canada a déposé son contre-mémoire le 27 janvier 2014; Eli Lilly a déposé sa réplique le 12 septembre 2015 et le Canada sa duplique le 8 décembre 2015. L’audience est prévue du 30 mai au 9 juin 2016.

Résumé des faits et nature des allégations

Eli Lilly prétend détenir, directement et indirectement, les brevets canadiens relatifs à plusieurs composés pharmaceutiques. Elle allègue de plus que l’interprétation par les tribunaux canadiens, y compris la Cour suprême du Canada, de 2002 à 2008, du terme « utilité » tel qu’il est utilisé dans la Loi sur les brevets du Canada contrevient aux obligations du Canada aux termes de l’ALÉNA. Plus particulièrement, Eli Lilly soutient que l’interprétation de ce terme par les tribunaux canadiens contrevient aux obligations du Canada en vertu de l’article 1105 de l’ALÉNA (Norme minimale de traitement), parce qu’elle serait arbitraire et discriminatoire. Eli Lilly soutient également que cette interprétation et son application à Eli Lilly à l’égard de ses brevets sur l’atomoxétine et l’olanzapine contreviennent aux obligations du Canada sous le régime de l’article 1110 (Expropriation). Elle fonde son allégation d’infraction à l’article 1110 sur l’idée que cette interprétation serait contraire aux obligations du Canada en vertu du chapitre 17 de l’ALÉNA et du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets de l’OMPI.

Le Canada soutient que les plaintes d’Eli Lilly ne relèvent pas de la compétence du Tribunal et qu’elles sont dénuées de tout fondement en fait et en droit. Plus précisément, le Canada présente les arguments suivants :

  • Que les allégations d’Eli Lilly concernant l’interprétation de la Loi sur les brevets du Canada par les tribunaux canadiens ne relèvent pas de la compétence du tribunal mis sur pied en vertu du chapitre 11 de l’ALÉNA puisqu’Eli Lilly n’a pas respecté les délais de prescription prévus aux paragraphes 1116(2) et 1117(2) pour le dépôt de plaintes.
  • Que les allégations d’Eli Lilly à l’égard du non-respect des obligations du Canada aux termes de l’ALÉNA ne sont nullement fondées.
  • Que les interprétations de ses lois nationales par ses tribunaux nationaux ne peuvent faire l’objet d’un arbitrage entre investisseur et État que  si ces interprétations constituent un déni de justice. Eli Lilly et le Canada conviennent tous deux qu’Eli Lilly n’a pas subi de déni de justice de la part des tribunaux canadiens.
  • Que les interprétations de ses lois nationales par ses tribunaux nationaux ne sont ni arbitraires ni discriminatoires et qu’elles respectent entièrement les obligations du Canada en vertu du chapitre 17 de l’ALÉNA et du Traité de coopération en matière de brevets.

Le Canada demande que la plainte soit rejetée et qu’Eli Lilly soit sommée de rembourser tous les frais d’arbitrage du Canada.

État actuel

En attente de l’audience.

Documents juridiques (tous les documents sont présentés en format pdf)

Cet arbitrage est régi selon le règlement d'arbitrage de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international (CNUDCI). Pour obtenir des documents supplémentaires relatifs à cet arbitrage, veuillez consulter le site Web du Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements.

Les copies de tous les documents juridiques affichés sont préparées dans une des langues de fonctionnement du Tribunal ou de la cour qui préside. Le gouvernement du Canada n'a pas effectué de changement ou modification à ces documents. En conséquence, les documents juridiques n'ont pas été traduits. Ils sont mis en format Acrobat (pdf). Pour visualiser et télécharger des fichiers publiés en format pdf, vous devez utiliser l'application Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™. Vous pouvez vous procurer ce logiciel gratuitement sur le web.

Le gouvernement du Canada n’assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l’actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n’est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l’accessibilité.

En anglais seulement

Retour aux "Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada"
Retour au menu principal "Règlement des différends - ALÉNA - Chapitre 11"