Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Settlement of Disputes between a Party and an Investor of Another Party

General information

Section B of NAFTA Chapter 11 outlines the procedures for the settlement of a dispute between a Party to the NAFTA and an investor or investment of another Party within its territory. This investor-protection mechanism provides recourse for alleged breaches of the provisions of Section A of Chapter 11 by a Party that have resulted in loss or damage to the investment of an investor. Investors may also use the dispute settlement mechanism outlined in Section B of Chapter 11 to resolve certain disputes arising out of alleged breaches of NAFTA Article 1503(2) (State Enterprises) and Article 1502(3)(a) (Monopolies and State Enterprises).

Rules

The NAFTA stipulates that Chapter 11 proceedings shall be conducted in accordance with either the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes Rules (ICSID) - 1966, the ICSID Additional Facility Rules - 1978 or the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law Rules (UNCITRAL) - 1966.

Notice of Intent

The first step in the Chapter 11 dispute settlement process is the serving of a Notice of Intent to Submit a Claim to Arbitration.

Under Chapter 11, an investor must submit a Notice of Intent at least 90 days before the claim is to be formally served. In addition, an investor may not make a claim if more than three years have elapsed from the date on which the investor first acquired, or should have first acquired, knowledge of the alleged breach and knowledge that the investor or its enterprise incurred loss or damage. Consultations are typically held between the investor and the NAFTA Party in question after the Notice of Intent is filed.

Notice of Arbitration

After the 90 day notice period, and provided that 6 months have elapsed from the date the measure giving rise to the claim went into effect, the investor may submit a Notice of Arbitration. The serving of a Notice of Arbitration formally launches the arbitration.

The Tribunal

Investor-state arbitrations are heard by three-member tribunals. One arbitrator is named by each party to the dispute and the third by mutual agreement or, failing agreement, by the Secretary-General of ICSID.

In order for there to be a breach of Chapter 11, the measure in question must be found to contravene a specific obligation under Section A of the Chapter. Tribunal awards are based on monetary damages. Where warranted, a tribunal can award damages to an investor but cannot award punitive damages or require a NAFTA Party to amend the measure that gave rise to the dispute.

In the process of reaching their conclusions, Tribunals are required to decide the issues in dispute in accordance with the provisions of the Agreement, the applicable rules of international law, and all notes of interpretation issued by the NAFTA Commission.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ALENA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Règlement des différends entre une Partie et un investisseur d’une autre Partie

Information générale

La section B du chapitre 11 de l'ALENA décrit les procédures de règlement d'un différend qui oppose une partie à l'Accord et un investisseur ou un investissement d'une autre partie sur son territoire. Ce mécanisme de protection permet à l'investisseur d'exercer un recours s'il estime qu'une partie a violé les dispositions de la section A du chapitre 11 et que, par suite de cette violation, son investissement a subi une perte ou des dommages. Les investisseurs peuvent aussi se prévaloir du mécanisme décrit à la section B du chapitre 11 pour régler certains différends ayant trait à la violation alléguée des articles 1503(2) (entreprises d'État) ou 1502(3)a) (monopoles et entreprises d'État).

Règles

L'ALENA stipule que les procédures prévues au chapitre 11 doivent se dérouler en conformité des règles du Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissement (CIRDI) – 1966, du Règlement du mécanisme supplémentaire du CIRDI – 1978 ou du Règlement d'arbitrage de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international (CNUDCI) – 1966.

Avis d’intention

La première étape du processus de règlement des différends aux termes du chapitre 11 est la signification d'une notification de l'intention de soumettre une plainte à l'arbitrage. L'investisseur doit soumettre une telle notification au moins 90 jours avant le dépôt officiel de la plainte. En outre, un investisseur ne peut soumettre une plainte à l'arbitrage si plus de trois ans se sont écoulés depuis la date à laquelle l'investisseur ou son entreprise a eu ou aurait dû avoir connaissance du manquement allégué et de la perte ou du dommage subi. Des consultations ont habituellement lieu entre l'investisseur et la partie à l'Accord en question après le dépôt de la notification d'intention.

Avis d’arbitrage

Une fois expirée la période d'avis de 90 jours, et pourvu que six mois se soient écoulés entre la date d'entrée en vigueur de la mesure donnant lieu à la plainte, l'investisseur peut présenter un avis d'arbitrage. Le service de cet avis d'arbitrage marque officiellement le début de cette procédure.

Le Tribunal

La plainte soumise à l'arbitrage est entendue par un tribunal comprenant trois personnes. Chaque partie contestante nomme un arbitre, le troisième étant nommé par entente entre les parties contestantes ou, si elles sont incapables de s'entendre, par le secrétaire général du CIRDI.

Pour qu'il y ait violation des dispositions du chapitre 11, il doit avoir été établi que la mesure en question contrevient à une obligation précise aux termes de la section A du chapitre. Les décisions du tribunal sont fondées sur des dommages pécuniaires. Lorsque cela est justifié, le tribunal peut accorder des dommages-intérêts à l'investisseur. Il ne peut pas lui accorder des dommages-intérêts punitifs, ni exiger qu'une partie à l'Accord modifie la mesure qui a donné lieu au différend.

Dans leurs délibérations en vue de régler le différend, les tribunaux doivent s'appuyer sur les dispositions de l'Accord et sur les règles applicables du droit international, ainsi que sur toutes les notes d'interprétation publiées par la Commission du libre-échange pour trancher les points en litige.