Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Background Materials on NAFTA Chapter 11

NAFTA Chapter 11 - Trilateral Negotiating Draft Texts

Legal Documents (all documents are in pdf)

Copies of all legal documents posted in the document archive have been prepared in a language of operation of the Tribunal or Court in question. The Government of Canada has not modified or changed them in any way. As such they have not been translated from the original. They are provided in Acrobat (pdf) files. To view or download pdf files you need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™ a free software that you can download from the web.

These documents are the draft negotiating texts produced between 1991 and 1993 by the NAFTA investment negotiating group, made up of representatives from each NAFTA Party. With the exception of the initial draft text, dated December 1991 which contains initial proposals, these drafts represented the status of the investment negotiations at the conclusion of each of the negotiating group's meetings and, upon circulation to all three Parties, provided the starting point for discussion at the next meeting.

These documents have been de-classified and are no longer confidential. The NAFTA Free Trade Commission announced the public release of these documents on July 16, 2004.

Note: All negotiating draft texts were prepared in English only for trilateral approval by the Parties during the NAFTA negotiations. Given the need to maintain the integrity of the content of these historical documents, the Government of Canada has not modified or changed them in any way. As such they have not been translated from the original.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ALENA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Documents de référence sur le chapitre 11 de l'ALENA

Chapitre 11 de l'ALENA - Ébauches des textes de négociation trilatérale

Documents juridiques (tous les documents sont présentés en format pdf)

Les copies de tous les documents juridiques affichés dans les archives sont preparées dans une des langues de fonctionnement du Tribunal ou de la cour qui préside. Le gouvernement du Canada n'a pas effectué de changement ou modification à ces documents. En conséquence, les documents juridiques n'ont pas été traduits. Ils sont mis en format Acrobat (pdf). Pour visualiser et télécharger des fichiers publiés en format pdf, vous devez utiliser l'application Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™. Vous pouvez vous procurer ce logiciel gratuitement sur le web.

Il s'agit des ébauches des textes de négociation produits entre 1991 et 1993 par le groupe de négociation sur l'investissement de l'ALENA, composé de représentants des trois parties. À l'exception du premier texte provisoire (décembre 1991), qui renferme les propositions initiales, ces ébauches indiquaient l'état d'avancement des négociations à l'issue de chaque réunion tenue par le groupe de négociation et, après distribution auprès des trois parties, constituaient le point de départ des discussions de la réunion suivante.

Ces documents ont été déclassifiés et ne sont plus confidentiels. Le 16 juillet 2004, la Commission de libre-échange de l'ALENA a annoncé la diffusion de ces documents.

Nota : Tous les ébauches des textes de négociation ont été préparés en anglais seulement, aux fins d'approbation par les trois parties au cours des négociations de l'ALENA. Compte tenu du besoin de préserver l'intégrité du contenu de ces documents historiques, le gouvernement du Canada ne les a modifiés en aucune façon. C'est pourquoi ils n'ont pas été traduits.