Technical Barriers to Trade

Successive rounds of multilateral trade negotiations at the World Trade Organization (WTO), and the negotiation of numerous bilateral and regional trade arrangements have led to a substantial reduction in global tariffs. As tariffs have decreased, there has been increased focus on ensuring non-tariff measures or policies, including technical regulations and standards, do not restrict or distort international trade.

Governments use technical regulations and standards to achieve a range of policy goals, such as ensuring the health and safety of their citizens, protection of the environment, and consumer protection. While the vast majority of technical regulations and standards are designed to achieve non-trade related objectives, they can also have the unintended effect of restricting or distorting trade. Furthermore, as the use of tariffs as a trade-policy tool has diminished, there can, at times, be an increased incentive for governments to use regulations and standards as an alternative, and less transparent means of restricting the entry of foreign products.

Through its participation in the World Trade Organization (WTO), the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and ongoing bilateral free trade negotiations, Canada is promoting the adoption of and compliance with, rules and procedures related to technical regulations and standards.

The WTO Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT Agreement) is aimed at ensuring that technical regulations, standards, testing and certification procedures do not create unnecessary obstacles to trade. The WTO Agreement on the Application of Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures (SPS Agreement) imposes disciplines on measures aimed at ensuring food safety, and animal and plant health. Important principles of these agreements include transparency, the use of international standards, proportionality (measures should not be more trade-restrictive than necessary), and equivalency (countries should accept each others standards, where they offer an equivalent level of protection). Similar rules are found in the NAFTA.

Canada’s international trade agreements preserve the right of Canada and its trading partners to regulate in order to meet legitimate objectives, such as human health and safety, or environmental protection. At the same time, they impose rules that aimed at ensuring that technical regulations and standards do not unnecessarily restrict international trade. Having strong international rules relating to technical regulations and standards provides Canadian exporters with more secure, predictable access to foreign markets for their products. It also helps business and consumers, by ensuring that technical regulations and standards do not add unnecessary costs to internationally traded products.

  • Canada Applauds WTO Ruling on Genetically Modified Organism Imports
    News Release - November 22, 2006

Standards and Technical Barriers to Trade

Standards

Technical Barriers to Trade

  • Report of the Third Triennial Review of the WTO TBT Agreement
  • Canada's Position in WTO and FTAA Negotiations
  • Report of the Second Triennial Review of the WTO TBT Agreement
  • WTO - Information Paper - August 2001

Report a Trade or Investment Barrier

If you have experienced a trade or investment barrier when trying to do business abroad please tell us about it by e-mailing us.

Contact Point

If you have questions or comments about technical barriers to trade and regulations, we would like to hear from you. Please contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada at:

Technical Barriers and Regulations (TBT) 
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 promenade Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0756
E-mail : consultations@international.gc.ca

Règlements et obstacles techniques

Les séries successives de négociations concernant le commerce multilatéral à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) et la négociation de nombreux accords commerciaux bilatéraux et régionaux ont conduit à une réduction sensible des tarifs douaniers au niveau mondial. Parallèlement à la réduction des tarifs douaniers, on a davantage veillé à ce que les mesures ou les politiques non tarifaires, y compris les règlements et les normes techniques, ne limitent ni ne faussent le commerce international.

Les gouvernements ont recours à des règlements et des normes techniques pour atteindre toute une série d’objectifs politiques, tels que celui d’assurer la santé et la sécurité de leurs citoyens, ainsi que la protection de l’environnement et des consommateurs. Alors que la grande majorité des règlements et normes techniques sont conçus pour réaliser des objectifs de nature non commerciale, elle peut aussi avoir pour résultat involontaire de limiter ou de fausser les échanges commerciaux. Par ailleurs, l’utilisation des tarifs douaniers comme outil de politique commerciale ayant diminué, les gouvernements peuvent parfois être plus enclins à se servir des règlements et des normes comme un autre moyen moins transparent susceptible de restreindre l’entrée des produits étrangers.

Par sa participation à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), à l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) et aux négociations de libre-échange bilatéral en cours, le Canada préconise l’adoption et le respect de règles et de procédures liées à des règlements et des normes techniques.

L’Accord sur les obstacles techniques au commerce (Accord OTC) de l’OMC vise à assurer que les règlements techniques, les normes, les essais et les procédures d’accréditation ne créent pas d’obstacles inutiles au commerce. L’Accord sur l’application des mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires (Accord SPS) de l’OMC impose des disciplines sur les mesures qui ont pour objet d’assurer la sécurité alimentaire ainsi que l’hygiène vétérinaire et la protection des végétaux. Parmi les principes essentiels de ces accords, citons la transparence, l’application de normes internationales, la proportionnalité (les mesures ne doivent pas avoir un plus grand effet de restriction du commerce qu’il n’est nécessaire) et l’équivalence (les pays doivent accepter leurs normes respectives lorsque celles-ci offrent un niveau de protection équivalent). Des règles analogues sont contenues dans l’ALENA.

Les accords commerciaux internationaux du Canada préservent le droit du Canada et de ses partenaires commerciaux de réglementer afin de réaliser leurs objectifs légitimes, tels que la santé et la sécurité des personnes ou la protection de l’environnement. En même temps, ils imposent des règles visant à assurer que les règlements et les normes techniques ne limitent pas inutilement le commerce international. Le fait d’avoir des règles internationales rigoureuses pour ce qui est des règlements et des normes techniques offre aux exportateurs canadiens un accès plus sûr et plus prévisible aux marchés étrangers pour leurs produits. Ces règles aident aussi les entreprises et les consommateurs, en faisant en sorte que les règlements et les normes techniques n’ajoutent pas de coûts inutiles aux produits commercialisés à l’échelle internationale.

  • Le Canada se réjouit de la décision de l'OMC en matière d'importations d'organismes génétiquement modifiés
    Communiqué - 22 novembre 2006

Normes et obstacles techniques au commerce

Matière de normes

Règlements et obstacles techniques

  • Rapport du troisième examen triennal de l'Accord sur les obstacles techniques au commerce de l'OMC
  • La position du Canada dans les négociations de l'OMC et de la ZLEA
  • Rapport du deuxième examen triennal de l'Accord sur les obstacles techniques au commerce de l'OMC
  • WTO - Document d'Information - Aout 2001

Signalez un obstacle au commerce et à l'investissement

Si vous avez rencontré un obstacle au commerce ou à l'investissement en essayant de réaliser des affaires à l'étranger, nous vous prions de nous en informer par courriel.

Point de contact

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de toute question ou observation à ce sujet. Veuillez nous contacter au Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada à :

Règlements et obstacles techniques (TBT)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125 promenade Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0G2
Téléc : 613-944-0756
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca