Enhancing Canada's investment opportunities abroad is essential to Canada's ongoing international competitiveness. Foreign investment links Canadian companies, consumers and workers to the new knowledge based global economy. It enhances Canada's competitiveness by revitalizing domestic industry and increasing the flow of goods and services between Canada and its trading partners. Foreign investment not only produces jobs, but introduces new technology, new management techniques and new market access. Canada has a clear interest in providing for stability, transparency, predictability, non-discrimination and protection for Canadian companies and individuals that invest abroad, as well as for foreign investors wishing to invest in Canada. Good investment rules make for a positive economic climate, which favours growth and jobs. Canada has, therefore, consistently supported a strong, rules-based system, multilaterally, regionally and bilaterally.

World Trade Organization (WTO) - At Doha, Ministers recognized the importance of a multilateral framework to secure transparent, stable and predictable conditions for investment, and agreed to launch investment negotiations after the next WTO Ministerial conditional upon an agreement on negotiating modalities. Paragraphs 20-22 of the Doha Declaration set out the mandate for the WTO Working Group on the Relationship Between Trade and Investment (WGTI). The WGTI was established by Ministers during the WTO Ministerial held in Singapore in 1996. It is for this reason that the subject of investment in the WTO context is commonly referred to under the rubric of Singapore Issues. The other three areas that fall under this heading are competition policy, transparency in government procurement and trade facilitation.

Chapter 11 of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) - Chapter 11 is the investment component of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) which came into force in 1994. It establishes a framework of rules and disciplines that provides investors from NAFTA countries with a predictable, rules-based investment climate, as well as dispute settlement procedures which are designed to provide timely recourse to an impartial tribunal. 

Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) - A Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) is a bilateral reciprocal agreement aimed at protecting and promoting foreign investment through legally-binding rights and obligations. FIPAs provide important disciplines that help open international markets and make them more secure for Canadian investors.

Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development (OECD) - The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) has a mandate to promote cooperation among its members in the area of international investment. It does this by developing and monitoring rules to promote international cooperation and through consultations with representatives of non-member economies, business, labour and other groups. It also undertakes analytical work concerning investment trends and policies.

Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) - The activities of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation's committees and working groups aim to promote regional economic growth and cooperation and build an Asia-Pacific community. APEC groups are working to achieve trade and investment liberalization, the reduction and removal of formal barriers to trade, such as tariffs, and restrictions on foreign investment.

The International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) - The World Bank created the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) in 1966 to facilitate the settlement of investment disputes between governments and foreign investors. ICSID was established under the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States (the Convention) which came into force on October 14, 1966. ICSID provides facilities for the conciliation and arbitration of disputes between member countries and investors. Provisions on ICSID arbitration are commonly found in investment contracts between governments of member countries and investors from other member countries, as well as in bilateral investment treaties and free trade agreements, including Canada’s Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements (FIPAs), the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA).

United Nations Commission on Trade & Development (UNCTAD) - On investment, the United Nations Comission on Trade and Development's (UNCTAD) mandate is to promote understanding on investment, enterprise development and technological capacity building issues, and assists governments to formulate and carry out policies, strategies and programmes in these areas.

Research and Statistics

Investissement

Le développement de débouchés pour l'investissement canadien à l'étranger est essentiel à la compétitivité du Canada à l'échelle internationale, car cet investissement tisse un lien entre les sociétés, les consommateurs et les travailleurs canadiens et la nouvelle économie mondiale fondée sur le savoir. Il accroît en outre la compétitivité du Canada en revigorant l'industrie nationale et en stimulant le mouvement de biens et de services entre le Canada et ses partenaires commerciaux. L'investissement étranger permet non seulement de créer des emplois, mais aussi d'introduire de nouvelles technologies et nouvelles techniques de gestion et d'ouvrir de nouveaux marchés. Le Canada a nettement intérêt à instaurer un climat de stabilité, transparence, prévisibilité, non-discrimination et protection pour les entreprises et les particuliers qui font des affaires à l'étranger, ainsi que pour les investisseurs étrangers désireux de placer leur argent au Canada. Des règles judicieuses sur l'investissement favorisent un climat économique positif et propice à la croissance et à la création d'emplois. C'est pourquoi le Canada a toujours appuyé un système solide fondé sur des règles à l'échelle multilatérale, régionale et bilatérale.

L'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) - Reconnaissant l'importance d'un cadre multilatéral pour garantir la transparence, la stabilité et la prévisibilité en matière d'investissement, à Doha, les ministres ont convenu d'ouvrir des négociations sur l'investissement après la prochaine ministérielle de l'OMC pourvu qu'un accord intervienne sur les modalités de telles négociations. Les paragraphes 20 à 22 de la Déclaration de Doha établissent le mandat du groupe de travail de l'OMC chargé d'étudier le rapport entre le commerce et l'investissement (GTCI), créé par les ministres lorsqu'ils se sont réunis à Singapour en 1996. C'est pourquoi l'investissement dans le contexte de l'OMC figure parmi ce que l'on qualifie de thèmes de Singapour. Les trois autres domaines sont : politique de concurrence, transparence des marchés publics et facilitation du commerce.

Chapitre 11 de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) - Le chapitre 11 de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) entré en vigueur en 1994 porte sur l'investissement. Il établit un cadre de règles et de disciplines qui instaure pour les investisseurs des pays de la ZLEA un climat prévisible et fondé sur des règles, ainsi que les procédures de règlement des différends qui leur permettent de s'adresser à un tribunal impartial dans les meilleurs délais. 

Accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) - L'accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) est un accord bilatéral réciproque qui a pour but de protéger et de favoriser l'investissement étranger grâce à des droits et obligations juridiquement contraignants. Ce genre d'accord impose d'importantes disciplines qui permettent d'ouvrir des marchés étrangers et d'en accroître la sécurité pour les investisseurs canadiens.

Le Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (CIRDI) - La Banque mondiale a créé le Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (CIRDI) en 1966, dans le but de faciliter ce type de règlement entre les gouvernements et les investisseurs étrangers. Le CIRDI a été établi en vertu de la Convention pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements entre États et ressortissants d’autres États (la Convention) qui est entrée en vigueur le 14 octobre 1966. Le CIRDI offre des moyens de concilier et d’arbitrer les différends qui existent entre les pays membres et les investisseurs. On trouve généralement des clauses sur l’arbitrage du CIRDI dans les contrats d’investissement conclus entre les gouvernements de pays membres et les investisseurs d’autres pays membres, ainsi que dans les traités bilatéraux d’investissement et les accords de libre échange, notamment dans les Accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) du Canada, l’Accord de libre échange nord américain (ALENA) et l’Accord de libre échange entre le Canada et le Chili (ALECC).

L'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) - L'Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE) a pour mandat de promouvoir la coopération entre ses membres dans le domaine de l'investissement international. Pour ce faire, elle élabore et fait respecter des règles visant à promouvoir la coopération internationale, et elle tient des consultations auprès de représentants d'économie, d'entreprises, de syndicats et d'autres groupes qui ne sont pas membres. Elle effectue aussi des analyses des tendances et des politiques en matière d'investissement et de leur relation avec d'autres disciplines politiques.

L'Organisation de coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (OCEAP) - Les activités des comités et groupes de travail de l'Organisation de coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (OCEAP) visent à promouvoir la coopération et la croissance économique régionale et à bâtir une communauté régionale. Les groupes de l'OCEAP cherchent à libéraliser le commerce et l'investissement et à réduire et éliminer les obstacles systémiques au commerce, comme les tarifs et les restrictions sur l'investissement étranger.

La Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (CNUCED) - Le mandat de la Conférence des Nations Unie sur le commerce et le développement (CNUCED) en matière d'investissement est d'encourager la connaissance en ce qui concerne l'investissement, le développement d'entreprises et les enjeux liés au renforcement de la capacité technologique. Elle vise aussi à aider les gouvernements à formuler et à mettre sur pied des politiques, des stratégies et des programmes relatifs à ces sujets.

Liens et recherche liés à l'investissement