Intellectual Property

The emphasis on innovation as a measure of global competitiveness, as well as the growth in participation of the Canadian economy in global trade have made the international dimension of intellectual property policy increasingly important.

There are numerous well established international conventions specifically relating to the protection of intellectual property rights, some dating back over a century. These conventions are administered through the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). The World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) brought some of the well-established intellectual property obligations found in WIPO administered conventions into a trade context.

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development manages the trade related aspects of the intellectual property regime of rights and regulations that support and protect innovation and creation (such as copyright, trademarks, patents, industrial designs and geographical indications), and the content created by cultural industries (film and television production, broadcasting, and publishing). Our role includes responsibility for these areas in the context of ongoing multilateral, regional and bilateral negotiations.

This page outlines Canada's participation in intellectual property aspects of trade negotiations.

World Trade Organization Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS)

Canada and the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement

Use of Government of Canada Symbols Abroad

The Intellectual Property Trade Policy Division at the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development, in consultation with various federal departments, is also responsible for use of Government of Canada symbols abroad.

Related Links

Contact Point

If you have questions or comments, please contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada at:

Intellectual Property Trade Policy Division (TMI)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 promenade Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0066
E-mail : consultations@international.gc.ca

La propriété intellectuelle

Compte tenu de l’importance accordée à l’innovation en tant que mesure de la compétitivité à l’échelle mondiale et de la participation croissante de l’économie canadienne au commerce mondial, la dimension internationale de la politique sur la propriété intellectuelle prend sans cesse plus d’importance.

Il existe nombre de conventions internationales bien établies touchant expressément la protection des droits de propriété intellectuelle, dont certaines remontent à plus d’un siècle. Ces conventions sont administrées par l’entremise de l’Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle (OMPI). L’Accord de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) sur les aspects des droits de propriété intellectuelle qui touchent au commerce (ADPIC) a placé dans un contexte d’échanges certaines des obligations bien établies en matière de propriété intellectuelle que l’on retrouve dans les conventions administrées par l’OMPI.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement administre les volets commerciaux du régime de droits et de règlements régissant la propriété intellectuelle qui soutiennent et protègent l’innovation, la création (comme les droits d’auteur, les marques de commerce, les brevets, les dessins industriels et les indications géographiques) ainsi que le contenu créé par les industries culturelles (film et productions télévisuelles, diffusion et publication). Le ministère est chargé de ces secteurs dans le contexte des négociations multilatérales, régionales et bilatérales en cours.

Cette page dresse le portrait de la participation canadienne en lien avec les aspects de droits de propriété intellectuelle reliés aux négociations commerciales.   

Organisation mondiale du commerce – Accord sur les aspects des droits de propriété intellectuelle qui touchent au commerce

Le Canada et l’accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon

Utilisation des symboles du gouvernement du Canada à l'étranger

La Direction de la politique commerciale sur la propriété intellectuelle du ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement, en collaboration avec différent ministères fédéraux, est responsable de l’utilisation des symboles canadiens à l’étranger.

Liens connexes

Point de contact

Pour toute question ou observation, prière de communiquer avec Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada à l’adresse :

Direction de la politique commerciale sur la propriété intellectuelle (TMI) 
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Immeuble Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : 613-944-0066
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca