Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA)

ACTA 6th Round of negotiation
Seoul, November 4-6, 2009

Joint Statement

  1. The 6th round of negotiations on the proposed Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA) was held in Seoul on November 4th to 6th, 2009, hosted by the Republic of Korea. Participants in the negotiations included Australia, Canada, the European Union, represented by the European Commission, the EU Presidency (Sweden), and EU Member States, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland and the United States of America (alphabetically ordered).

  2. The meeting was chaired by Mr. Gheewhan Kim, Director-General, and Ms. Miyon Lee, Director, Multilateral Trade Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Participants underlined the importance of ACTA as an agreement which shall provide for an enhanced framework to fight global infringement of intellectual property rights, particularly in the context of counterfeiting and piracy.

  3. The discussions at the meeting were productive and focused on enforcement of rights in the digital environment and criminal enforcement. Participants also discussed the importance of transparency including the availability of opportunities for stakeholders and the public in general to provide meaningful input into the negotiating process.

  4. Participants in the meeting agreed that the next meeting would be hosted by Mexico in January 2010. Participants also reaffirmed their commitment to continue their work with the aim of concluding the agreement as soon as possible in 2010.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon

6e cycle de négociations de l’ACRC
Seoul, 4-6 novembre 2009

Déclaration commune

  1. La sixième séance de négociations de l’Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon, organisée par la République de Corée, a eu lieu à Séoul, en République de Corée, du 4 au 6 novembre 2009. Ces négociations ont réuni les participants suivants : l’Australie, le Canada, la Corée, les États-Unis, le Japon, le Maroc, le Mexique, la Nouvelle‑Zélande, Singapour, la Suisse, l’Union européenne, représentée par la Commission européenne, la présidence de l’UE (Suède), et les États membres de l’UE (en ordre alphabétique).

  2. La réunion a été présidée par M. Gheewhan Kim, directeur général, et Mme Miyon Lee, directrice, Direction générale du commerce multilatéral, ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce. Les participants ont souligné l’importance de cet accord, qui fournira un meilleur cadre pour lutter contre le non‑respect des droits de propriété intellectuelle à l’échelle mondiale, en particulier dans le contexte de la contrefaçon et de la piraterie.

  3. Au cours de cette réunion, les discussions se sont avérées productives et ont porté sur les questions suivantes : l’application des droits dans l’environnement numérique et les procédures pénales. Les participants ont également discuté de l’importance de la transparence, notamment des occasions pour les intervenants concernés et le grand public de contribuer de façon constructive au processus de négociation.

  4. Les participants à la rencontre ont convenu que la prochaine séance de négociations se tiendrait au Mexique, en janvier 2010. Ils ont réaffirmé leur détermination à poursuivre les travaux en vue de conclure l’accord le plus tôt possible en 2010.