Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Joint Statement: ACTA Final Round

(Tokyo, Japan September 23 - October 2, 2010) The 11th and final round of the negotiations for the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA) was concluded successfully in Tokyo, Japan on October 2. The Government of Japan hosted the negotiations.

Participants in the negotiations included Australia, Canada, the European Union (EU) represented by the European Commission and the EU Presidency (Belgium) and the EU Member States, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland and the United States of America.

ACTA aims to establish a comprehensive, first-time, international framework that will assist Parties to the agreement in their efforts to effectively combat the infringement of intellectual property rights, in particular the proliferation of counterfeiting and piracy, which undermines legitimate trade and the sustainable development of the world economy. It will include state-of-the-art provisions on the enforcement of intellectual property rights, including provisions on civil, criminal, and border enforcement measures, robust cooperation mechanisms among ACTA Parties to assist in their enforcement efforts, and establishment of best practices for effective IPR enforcement.

During the week, the Government of Japan hosted informal meetings with stakeholders, including representatives from non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and business leaders, and the participants in the ACTA negotiating round. The Government of Japan offered these meetings to give interested parties and government officials the opportunity to interact and discuss the issues concerned with ACTA.

Participants in the negotiations constructively resolved nearly all substantive issues and produced a consolidated and largely finalized text of the proposed agreement, which will be submitted ad referendum to their respective authorities. The participants agreed to work expeditiously to resolve the small number of outstanding issues that require further examination in capitals, with a view to finalizing the text of the agreement as promptly as possible.

The participants will publicly release the text of the agreement shortly.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Déclaration commune : ACRC cycle final

(Tokyo, Japon 23 septembre au 2 octobre 2010) Le 11e et dernier cycle de négociations sur l’Accord commercial relatif à la contrefaçon (ACRC) a été conclu avec succès à Tokyo, au Japon, le 2 octobre 2010.

Ces négociations ont réuni les participants suivants : L’Australie, le Canada, la Corée, les États-Unis, le Japon, le Maroc, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande, Singapour, la Suisse, ainsi que l’Union européenne, représentée par la Commission européenne, la présidence de l’Union européenne (la Belgique) et les États membres de l’Union européenne.

L’ACRC vise à établir, pour une première fois, un cadre international global pour assister les Parties à l’Accord dans leurs efforts pour lutter efficacement contre la violation des droits de propriété intellectuelle, en particulier la prolifération de la contrefaçon et de la piraterie, qui mine le commerce légitime et le développement durable de l'économie mondiale.  L’Accord comprendra des dispositions de pointe sur l’application des droits de la propriété intellectuelle, y compris les dispositions relatives aux mesures d’application civiles, pénales, et frontalières, des mécanismes de coopération robustes entre les Parties de l’ACRC pour aider à leurs efforts d'application, et l'établissement de pratiques exemplaires pour l'application efficace des droits de propriété intellectuelle.

Au cours de la semaine du 27 septembre, le gouvernement du Japon a organisé des réunions informelles avec des parties intéressées, y compris des représentants d'organisations non-gouvernementales et des chefs d'entreprise, et les participants aux négociations de l’ACRC. Le gouvernement du Japon visait à offrir aux parties intéressées et représentants des gouvernements l'occasion d'interagir et de discuter des questions relatives à l'ACRC.

De manière constructive, les participants aux négociations ont résolu presque toutes les questions de fond et ont produit un texte consolidé et largement finalisé de l'Accord proposé, qui sera soumis ad referendum à leurs autorités respectives. Les participants ont convenu de travailler rapidement pour résoudre le petit nombre de questions en suspens qui requièrent un examen plus approfondi dans les capitales, en vue de finaliser le texte de l'Accord dès que possible.

Les participants publieront le texte de l'Accord sous peu.