Bribery and Corruption

On December 17, 1997, Canada signed the Convention on Combating Bribery in International Business Transactions of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD Convention). Parliament passed the Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act (CFPOA) to implement Canada’s obligations under the OECD Convention into Canadian law. 

The OECD Convention aims to stop the flow of bribes and to remove bribery as a non-tariff barrier to trade, producing a level playing field in international business.  The OECD Convention came into force on February 15, 1999, following Canada’s ratification. To date, 41 states have ratified the OECD Convention, including the 34 member states of the OECD and seven non-member states: Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Latvia, Russia and South Africa.

Since 2000, Global Affairs Canada has submitted an annual report to Parliament on the implementation and enforcement of the OECD Anti-Bribery Convention. 

Related Links