Bribery and corruption

On December 17, 1997, Canada signed the Convention on Combating Bribery in International Business Transactions of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD Convention). In 1998 Parliament passed the Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act (CFPOA) to implement Canada’s obligations under the OECD Convention into Canadian law.

The OECD Convention aims to stop the flow of bribes and to remove bribery as a non-tariff barrier to trade, producing a level playing field in international business.  The OECD Convention came into force on February 15, 1999, following Canada’s ratification. To date, 43 states have ratified the OECD Convention, including the 35 member states of the OECD and eight non-member states: Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Costa Rica, Lithuania, Russia and South Africa.

In June 2013 Parliament amended the CFPOA to increase the maximum penalty for convicted individuals, to create a new books and records offence and to expand jurisdiction based on nationality.  In addition, the 2013 amendment stated that at a later date the Government would eliminate the exception for facilitation payments. Facilitation payments are those made to foreign public officials to secure or expedite the performance of acts of a routine nature that are within the scope of the official's duties. The exception will be removed from the Act by way of an Order in Council which will come into force on October 31, 2017.

Related links

Corruption

Le 17 décembre 1997, le Canada a signé la Convention sur la lutte contre la corruption d’agents publics étrangers dans les transactions commerciales internationales qui relève de l’Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Économiques (OCDE) (ci-après « la Convention de l’OCDE »).  En 1998 le Parlement a adopté la Loi sur la corruption d'agents publics étrangers (LCAPE) en vue de donner force de loi aux obligations du Canada en vertu de la Convention de l'OCDE.

La Convention de l'OCDE vise à mettre fin aux pots-de-vin et à éliminer la corruption, qui constituent des obstacles non tarifaires au commerce, ainsi qu’à instituer des règles du jeu équitables dans le commerce international. La Convention est entrée en vigueur le 15 février 1999, après sa ratification par le Canada. À ce jour, 43 États ont ratifié la Convention de l’OCDE, dont les 35 États membres de l'OCDE et 8 États non-membres, soit l’Argentine, le Brésil, la Bulgarie, la Colombie, le Costa Rica,  la Lituanie, la Russie et l’Afrique du Sud.

En juin 2013, le Parlement a modifié la LCAPE afin d'augmenter la peine maximale imposée aux personnes condamnées, de créer une nouvelle infraction en matière de livres et registres et d'élargir la compétence en fonction de la nationalité. De plus, l'amendement de 2013 prévoyait que le gouvernement supprimerait l'exception pour les paiements de facilitation à une date ultérieure. Les paiements de facilitation sont ceux qui sont faits à des agents publics étrangers pour assurer ou accélérer la réalisation d'actes de routine relevant de la compétence du fonctionnaire. L'exception sera retirée de la Loi au moyen d'un décret qui entrera en vigueur le 31 octobre 2017.

Liens connexes