Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Corporate Social Responsibility

CSR E-Bulletin - Issue 16 (2013)

Updates Related to the Government of Canada's CSR Strategy for the Extractive Sector: "Building the Canadian Advantage"

The Government of Canada is pleased to announce the reappointment of Dr. Marketa Evans to a two year term as Canada’s Extractive Sector Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Counsellor. Dr. Evans, who was first appointed to this position as Canada’s first CSR Counsellor in October 2009, will continue with the office’s mandate to review the CSR practices of Canadian extractive sector companies operating abroad and to advise stakeholders on the implementation of the international CSR performance standards endorsed in the Government of Canada’s CSR Strategy. Information on the Office and its “Review Process” are available on the Office’s website at Corporate Social Responsibility Counsellor website.

Proposed Amendments to Canada's Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act (CFPOA)

On February 5, 2013, amendments to the CFPOA were tabled in Canada’s Senate. The amendments include changes that would allow Canada to prosecute foreign bribery by Canadians or Canadian companies regardless of where the bribery takes place; eliminate facilitation payments (an amendment that will come into effect at a later date in order to allow Canadian firms to ensure that they are in compliance before it comes into force); provide the exclusive authority to the RCMP to lay charges under the CFPOA; clarify the definition of “business” under the CFPOA; increase the maximum penalty of imprisonment to 14 years; and create the addition of a books and records offence. The introduction of these amendments highlights and reinforces Canada’s commitment to and leadership role in fighting corruption and promoting good business practices at an international level.

Upcoming CSR Activities and Events

Government of Canada CSR Event at the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) 2013 International Convention, Trade Show and Investors Exchange – March 3 - 6, 2013

The Government of Canada will be delivering a CSR event at the PDAC 2013 International Convention to be held from March 3-6, 2013, in Toronto. This session, entitled “Extracting Corporate Value out of Responsible Business Conduct - A Four Pillar Approach,” will feature a facilitated, multi-stakeholder panel to discuss key initiatives undertaken to implement Canada's CSR Strategy, which was announced in 2009. This event will provide an opportunity for discussion on the Government of Canada's approach to CSR, and provide a forum for sharing experiences in relation to practices, tools and partnerships that can enable the sustainable development and management of extractive sector resources abroad. This public event is scheduled for Sunday March 3, 2013, 9am-12pm. For more information, visit the PDAC web site.

Export Development Canada (EDC) Visits to Jamaica and Guyana

In March 2013, in collaboration with the Canadian High Commission in Jamaica, EDC will participate in meetings with local officials and companies, and speak at a public dialogue on CSR in Jamaica. A similar program will be arranged in collaboration with the Canadian High Commission in Georgetown, Guyana. These visits present an opportunity for EDC to jointly develop business and discuss CSR issues in the region.

International Association of Impact Assessment annual conference

EDC will organize a panel discussion at the annual conference of the International Association of Impact Assessment, to be held May 13-16, 2013, in Calgary. The discussion will centre on approaches for resource development in Canada’s North. There will also be a second session on evolving international standards on resource development.

Recently Completed CSR Activities and Events

OECD Export Credits Group Practitioners meeting

In September 2012, EDC participated in an OECD Export Credits Group Practitioners meeting, hosted by the export credit agency of the Slovak Republic. Practitioners consist of environmental and social specialists who work at the technical level, and EDC plays a leadership role as a member of the Practitioners meetings. Practitioners continue to focus on: 

  • a) implementation of the 2012 OECD Common Approaches on environmental and social due diligence, (the Common Approaches are an international multilateral consensus on environmental and social review practices that aim to level the international playing field and ensure that projects supported by export credit agencies meet established international environmental and social standards); and
  • b) building a body of experience on the practical aspects of implementing international environmental and social standards, human rights due diligence, project-level greenhouse gas accounting and reporting, and other sector-specific issues such as nuclear and thermal power.

Intergovernmental Forum on Mining, Minerals, Metals and Sustainable Development (IGF) 8th Annual Session

On October 6-18, 2012, the IGF met for its eighth Annual Session at the UN in Geneva, Switzerland, to discuss and share information on a range of issues facing the mining, minerals and metals sector. As Secretariat of the Forum, the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) brought together over 120 participants from thirty-eight member and observer governments, as well as twenty international organizations, industry, and civil society groups. Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) led the Canadian delegation, which included representatives from Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT), the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada, the Mining Association of Canada, and the Canada-EU Mining Council. For additional details related to the IGF and the Mining Policy Framework please consult the Intergovernmental Forum on Mining, Minerals, Metals and Sustainable Development website.

Prime Minister Announces Establishment of Regional CSR Network in West Africa

On October 12, 2012, the Prime Minister announced during a trip to Senegal that Canada would be further promoting CSR in West Africa by creating a regional CSR network that operates in close cooperation with Canada’s mission in Senegal. This initiative will link existing CSR networks in Senegal, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire and Guinea, and will facilitate dialogue on standards and best practices among stakeholders in industry, government and civil society. To read the media release, please see the Prime Minister of Canada's website.

Zambia becomes Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) Complaint Country

On October 25, 2012, the EITI International Board of Directors formally presented Zambia with a certificate confirming the declaration on September 19, 2012, announcing Zambia as an EITI Compliant Country. Zambia is now the 15th country to be honoured with EITI Compliant Status and the first in the Eastern and Southern African Region.

OECD Working Party on Export Credits and Credit Guarantees meeting

On November 12-14, 2012, EDC, as a member of the Canadian delegation to the OECD, participated in a number of activities under the OECD Working Party on Export Credits and Credit Guarantees meeting. EDC took part in a peer review and discussion of the implementation of the 2012 Common Approaches, including an update on the progress of the Practitioners’ work on and engagement with the Equator Principles Financial Institutions, and a peer review and discussion of anti-corruption practices. They also attended the 16th Consultation Meeting with Civil Society Organizations, including engagement with industry, the banking sector, and NGOs.

The Government of Canada's Promotional Engagement on Responsible Business Practice

Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) - On June 12-13, 2012, the first DRC CSR Roundtable took place in Kinshasa, at the initiative of the Fonds Social de la RDC, an implementing agency of the Government of the DRC, whose mission is to improve the living conditions of the Congolese people and their access to social services. The objectives of the event were to take stock of CSR applicability in the DRC, identify innovation and raise awareness about CSR, promote CSR concepts and best practices, and establish a way to recognize outstanding CSR performers. The Canadian Ambassador to the DRC, Jean-Canadian participation consisted of Tenke Fungurume Mining, the Congolese subsidiary of American Freeport McMoRan and Canadian Lundin Mining, which received the "CSR Congo 2012 Awards" certificate of distinction from the Roundtable organizers for its efforts in social responsibility. The next DRC CSR Roundtable will take place in April 2013.

Kenya - On September 7, 2012, the High Commission of Canada to Kenya, in Nairobi, sponsored a CSR Session at the 2nd Annual Mining Business and Investment Forum 2012, organized by the Kenya Chamber of Mines. Over 150 delegates attended the session, including academia, mining companies, business associations, international organizations and local government departments. A variety of speakers from Canada participated in the session, including those from industry, academia, and industry associations. A local mining company, Tata Chemicals Magadi Ltd., was invited to share their practical experience on the ground in Kenya. Several Canadian companies also attended the Forum.

Singapore - On September 27-28, 2012, as part of the International Singapore Compact CSR Summit, and the ASEAN CSR Network meetings, the High Commission of Canada to Singapore and the Canadian Chamber of Commerce collaborated to support a networking event and publication launch of Making Business Better: Canadian Perspectives on CSR. The publication underscores Canadian leadership across key areas of the UN Global Compact, including transparency, labour, human rights protection and sustainability, and features inputs from key Canadian companies in Singapore and CSR experts in the region. It also highlights the role played by the Government of Canada and the Trade Commissioner Service in the area of CSR. Over 120 people attended the networking event. It was a successful first collaboration with the Singapore Compact for CSR, Canadian companies, and the Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Singapore. For more information and to read the publication, visit the High Commission’s “Doing Business in Singapore with the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service” group on LinkedIn.

Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) – On October 16 – 18, 2012, the 8th edition of iPAD DRC mining conference was held in Kinshasa, which is the only annual mining conference organized in the DRC that brings together central and provincial government representatives, public organizations, private industry and foreign investors. The Canadian Mission in Kinshasa invited Ms. Lois Hooge, a Canadian CSR and minerals governance consultant based in South Africa, to make a presentation at the conference entitled, “The Canadian approach to CSR.”

Nigeria - On October 18, 2012, the High Commission of Canada to Nigeria held a seminar on CSR in collaboration with CSR-in-Action, a not-for-profit organization based in Lagos. The theme of the seminar was: “Sustainability in the Extractive Industry:  Managing your Value Chain.” The seminar was attended by approximately 70 participants mainly from the oil and gas sector. The main objective was to raise awareness of Canadian CSR policies in Nigeria and to share best practices with Nigerian stakeholders. There were a total of 10 presenters and panelists that presented on a variety of topics related to CSR. Canada’s High Commissioner to Nigeria, Chris Cooter, gave a welcome address expressing the importance of CSR for achieving mutually beneficial and sustainable relationships, particularly in the extractive sector, and Deputy High Commissioner Marcello DiFranco provided the closing remarks. Promotion of the event also helped to raise awareness of Canadian CSR practices and policies in Nigeria.

Tanzania - On October 25, 2012, the High Commission of Canada to Tanzania sponsored the second Canada-Tanzania CSR forum in Arusha, held on the sidelines of the Tanzania Mining, Energy, Oil and Gas International Indaba. The conference was well attended with more than 300 delegates, including many company CEOs, service providers, government officials, and representatives from civil society organizations. The objective of the CSR forum was to create a platform where extractive industry stakeholders could share information on CSR strategies, challenges and successes. Two plenary sessions were organized during which industry experts spoke about the process of developing national CSR frameworks for the extractive sector in host countries and about their experiences with company CSR programs. The Tanzania Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (TEITI) also presented on contributions of the sector and challenges in ensuring transparency.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La responsabilité sociale des entreprises

Bulletin électronique sur la rse - Numéro 16 (2013)

Le Point sur la stratégie du gouvernement du Canada sur la RSE de l'industrie extractive : Renforcer l'avantage canadien

Renouvellement du mandat de la conseillère en RSE de l'industrie extractive

Le gouvernement du Canada est heureux d'annoncer le renouvellement du mandat de deux ans de Mme Marketa Evans en tant que conseillère en responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) de l'industrie extractive canadienne. Mme Evans est devenue, en octobre 2009, la première conseillère en RSE du Canada. Elle continuera d’exercer son mandat au sein du Bureau, lequel consiste à examiner les pratiques de RSE des entreprises canadiennes de l’industrie extractive présentes à l'étranger et à informer les intervenants de la mise en œuvre des normes de rendement internationales en matière de RSE approuvées dans la stratégie de RSE du gouvernement du Canada. Vous trouverez des renseignements sur le « processus d'examen » et sur le Bureau du conseiller en responsabilité sociale des entreprises, à Conseillère en responsabilité sociale des entreprises.

Modifications proposées à la Loi sur la corruption d'agents publics étrangers (LCAPE)

Le 5 février 2013, des modifications à la LCAPE ont été déposées au Sénat du Canada. Elles comprennent des changements qui permettraient au Canada de poursuivre en justice des personnes ou des entreprises canadiennes qui auraient commis un acte de corruption d’agents publics étrangers, peu importe l’endroit où l’acte a eu lieu; qui élimineraient les paiements de facilitation (modification qui prendrait effet à une date ultérieure afin de donner d’abord aux entreprises canadiennes le temps de s’assurer qu’elles sont conformes); qui fourniraient à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) l’autorité exclusive de déposer des accusations en vertu de la LCAPE; qui préciseraient la définition d’« affaires » selon la LCAPE; qui augmenteraient à 14 ans la peine d’emprisonnement maximale; et qui créeraient une nouvelle infraction relative à la falsification de livres et de documents. L’introduction de ces modifications met en évidence et renforce l’engagement du Canada à lutter contre la corruption et à promouvoir des pratiques d’affaires responsables à l’échelle internationale, ainsi que le rôle du Canada à cet égard.

Prochaines Activités liées à la RSE

Activité liée à la RSE organisée par le gouvernement du Canada au congrès international, au salon professionnel et au salon des investisseurs de l’Association canadienne des prospecteurs et entrepreneurs (ACPE) de 2013 – Du 3 au 6 mars 2013

Le gouvernement du Canada organisera une activité liée à la RSE au Congrès international de l’ACPE de 2013, qui aura lieu du 3 au 6 mars 2013, à Toronto. La séance, intitulée « Extracting Corporate Value out of Responsible Business Conduct - A Four Pillar Approach » (« Extraire la valeur corporative de la conduite responsable en affaire – une approche basée sur les quatre piliers ») comprendra une discussion multilatérale entre experts sur les initiatives clés entreprises afin de mettre en œuvre la stratégie de RSE du Canada, laquelle a été annoncée en 2009. Lors de cette activité, les parties intéressées auront l’occasion de discuter de la façon dont le gouvernement du Canada traite la question de la RSE et de communiquer leurs expériences liées aux pratiques, aux outils et aux partenariats propices au développement et à la gestion durables des ressources de l’industrie extractive à l’étranger. Cette activité publique aura lieu le dimanche 3 mars 2013, de 9 h à 12 h. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site de l'ACPE (en anglais seulement).

Exportation et développement Canada se rend en Jamaïque et au Guyana

En mars 2013, en collaboration avec le haut-commissariat du Canada en Jamaïque, Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) participera à des rencontres avec des entreprises et des représentants locaux, ainsi qu’à un dialogue public sur la RSE en Jamaïque. Une activité semblable sera organisée en collaboration avec le haut-commissariat du Canada à Georgetown, au Guyana. Ces visites donneront à EDC l’occasion de cerner des occasions d’affaires et de se pencher sur les questions de RSE propres à la région.

Conférence annuelle de l’International Association of Impact Assessment

EDC organisera une discussion entre experts à la conférence annuelle de l’International Association of Impact Assessment, qui aura lieu du 13 au 16 mai 2013, à Calgary. La discussion portera principalement sur les stratégies d’exploitation des ressources dans le Nord canadien. Il y aura également une deuxième séance sur l’évolution des normes internationales concernant l’exploitation des ressources.

Activités récentes liées à la RSE

Rencontre du groupe de spécialistes de crédits à l’exportation de l’OCDE

En septembre 2012, EDC a participé à une rencontre du groupe de spécialistes de crédits à l’exportation de l’OCDE, organisée par l’organisme de crédit à l’exportation de la Slovaquie. Les spécialistes sont des experts des questions environnementales et sociales qui travaillent au niveau technique. EDC joue un rôle prépondérant au sein de ces réunions. Les spécialistes continuent de mettre l’accent sur :

  • a) la mise en œuvre des Approches communes de l’OCDE en ce qui a trait au devoir de diligence environnementale et sociale (2012) (les Approches communes constituent un consensus multilatéral international sur les pratiques d’examen environnemental et social visant à uniformiser les règles à l’échelle internationale et à veiller à ce que les projets qu’appuient les organismes de crédit à l’exportation respectent les normes environnementales et sociales internationales en vigueur), et
  • b) l’acquisition d’une expérience substantielle des aspects pratiques de la mise en œuvre des normes environnementales et sociales internationales, de la diligence raisonnable en matière de droits de la personne, de la comptabilisation et de la déclaration des émissions de gaz à effet de serre à l’échelle du projet et d’autres questions propres au secteur, telles que l’énergie nucléaire et thermique.

VIIIe Séance annuelle du forum intergouvernemental sur l'exploitation minière, les minéraux, les métaux et le développement durable

Du 6 au 18 octobre 2012, le Forum intergouvernemental (FIG) a tenu sa huitième séance annuelle aux Nations Unies, à Genève, en Suisse, afin de discuter et de mettre en commun des renseignements sur un éventail de questions auxquelles fait face le secteur minier, des minéraux et des métaux. À titre de Secrétariat du Forum, l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) a réuni plus de 120 participants issus de 38 gouvernements membres et observateurs, ainsi que 20 organisations, industries et groupes de la société civile internationaux. Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) a dirigé une délégation canadienne composée de représentants d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI), de l’Association canadienne des prospecteurs et entrepreneurs, de l'Association minière du Canada et du Conseil minier du Canada et de l’Union européenne. Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant le FIG et le cadre stratégique sur l’exploitation minière, veuillez consulter le site Web du Forum intergouvernemental sur l'exploitation minière, les minéraux, les métaux et le développement durable (en anglais seulement).

Le premier ministre annonce la création d'un réseau régional de RSE en Afrique de l'ouest

Le 12 octobre 2012, lors de sa visite au Sénégal, le premier ministre a annoncé que le Canada allait davantage promouvoir la RSE en Afrique de l’Ouest en créant un réseau régional de RSE qui travaillera en étroite collaboration avec la mission canadienne au Sénégal. Cette initiative, qui liera les réseaux de RSE existants au Sénégal, au Burkina Faso, en Côte d'Ivoire et en Guinée, facilitera le dialogue sur les normes et les pratiques exemplaires des intervenants de l’industrie, du gouvernement et de la société civile. Le communiqué sur cette question se trouve sur le site web du premier ministre du Canada.

La Zambie obtient le statut de pays conforme à l'Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives (ITIE)

Le 25 octobre 2012, le conseil d’administration international de l’ITIE a officiellement présenté à la Zambie un certificat confirmant la déclaration du 19 septembre 2012, annonçant que la Zambie avait obtenu le statut de pays conforme à l'ITIE. La Zambie est maintenant le 15e pays à obtenir ce statut et le premier dans la région de l'Afrique australe et orientale.

Rencontre du groupe de travail de l’OCDE sur les crédits et garanties de crédit à l'exportation

Du 12 au 14 novembre 2012, EDC, en tant que membre de la délégation du Canada à l’OCDE, a participé à plusieurs activités dans le cadre des rencontres du Groupe de travail de l’OCDE sur les crédits et garanties de crédit à l'exportation. Les représentants d’EDC ont pris part à une évaluation par les pairs et à un examen de la mise en œuvre des Approches communes de 2012, ce qui comprenait une mise à jour sur l’état d’avancement des travaux des spécialistes sur les établissements financiers signataires des Principes de l’Équateur et la participation à ces derniers. Ils ont également pris part à une évaluation par les pairs et à un examen des pratiques en matière de lutte contre la corruption. En outre, ils ont assisté à la 16e réunion de consultations avec les organisations de la société civile, et noué des contacts avec l’industrie, le secteur bancaire et des ONG.

Activités de promotion du gouvernement du Canada sur les pratiques commerciales responsables

République démocratique du Congo (RDC) - Les 12 et 13 juin 2012, la première Table ronde de la RDC sur la RSE a eu lieu à Kinshasa, à la demande du Fonds Social de la RDC, un organisme d'exécution du gouvernement de la RDC, dont la mission consiste à améliorer les conditions de vie du peuple congolais et leur accès aux services sociaux. Les objectifs de l’activité consistaient à examiner l’applicabilité de la RSE en RDC, à déterminer les nouvelles pratiques et à faire connaître la RSE, à promouvoir les concepts de RSE et les pratiques exemplaires et à établir une façon de récompenser les initiatives en matière de RSE. L’Ambassadeur du Canada en RDC, M. Jean-Carol Pelletier, a pris part à une discussion entre experts à laquelle participaient d’autres dirigeants d’organisations multilatérales et de la RDC. Au programme de la Table ronde, outre le discours d’ouverture de M. Pelletier, les organisateurs de l’évènement ont remis un certificat de distinction (CSR Congo 2012 Awards) à Tenke Fungurume Mining, la filiale congolaise du groupe américain Freeport-McMoRan et de la société canadienne Lundin Mining, pour ses activités liées à la responsabilité sociale. La prochaine Table ronde de la RDC sur la RSE aura lieu en avril 2013.

Kenya - Le 7 septembre 2012, le haut-commissariat du Canada au Kenya, à Nairobi, a parrainé une séance sur la RSE au IIe Mining Business and Investment Forum 2012 (tenu annuellement), organisé par la Chambre des mines du Kenya. Plus de 150 délégués ont assisté à la séance, y compris des représentants d’universités, de sociétés minières, d’associations professionnelles, d’organisations internationales et des ministères kényans. Divers conférenciers canadiens ont assisté à la séance, issus notamment de l’industrie, du milieu universitaire et des associations industrielles. Une société minière locale, Tata Chemicals Magadi Ltd., a été invitée à communiquer son expérience pratique sur le terrain. Plusieurs entreprises canadiennes ont également pris part au Forum.

Singapour - Les 27 et 28 septembre 2012, dans le cadre du International Singapore Compact CSR Summit et des rencontres du Réseau RSE de l’ANASE, le haut-commissariat du Canada à Singapour et la Chambre de commerce du Canada ont collaboré pour appuyer une activité de réseautage et le lancement de la publication Making Business Better: Canadian Perspectives on CSR (Une meilleure façon de faire des affaires : Perspectives canadiennes sur la RSE). La publication souligne le rôle de chef de file joué par le Canada en ce qui a trait aux principaux domaines du Pacte mondial des Nations Unies, comme la transparence, le travail, la protection des droits de la personne et la durabilité. On y trouve également des commentaires d’importantes entreprises canadiennes à Singapour et de spécialistes de la RSE dans la région. La publication attire également l’attention sur le rôle joué par le gouvernement du Canada et le Service des délégués commerciaux dans le domaine de la RSE. Plus de 120 personnes ont assisté à l’activité de réseautage. Il s’agissait d’une première collaboration fructueuse pour Singapore Compact for CSR, les entreprises canadiennes et la Chambre de commerce du Canada à Singapour. Pour de plus amples renseignements et pour lire la publication, veuillez consulter le groupe « Doing Business in Singapore with the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service » du hautcommissariat, sur LinkedIn.

République démocratique du Congo (RDC) - Du 16 au 18 octobre 2012, la VIIIe Conférence iPAD DRC consacrée à l’exploitation minière a eu lieu à Kinshasa. Il s’agit de l’unique conférence organisée annuellement dans ce secteur en RDC qui réunit des représentants du gouvernement central et des gouvernements provinciaux, des organismes publics, le secteur privé et des investisseurs étrangers. La mission canadienne à Kinshasa a demandé à Mme Lois Hooge, une experte-conseil canadienne en gouvernance des minéraux et en RSE, qui travaille en Afrique du Sud, de présenter un exposé à la conférence intitulée « The Canadian approach to CSR » (L’approche du Canada en matière de RSE).

Nigeria - Le 18 octobre 2012, le haut-commissariat du Canada au Nigeria a organisé un colloque sur la RSE en collaboration avec CSR‑in‑Action, une organisation sans but lucratif, établie à Lagos. Le thème du colloque était : « Sustainability in the Extractive Industry: Managing your Value Chain » (La durabilité au sein de l’industrie extractive : la gestion de votre chaîne de valeur). Le colloque a attiré environ 70 participants du secteur pétrolier et gazier. L’objectif principal consistait à mieux faire connaître aux intervenants nigérians les politiques canadiennes en matière de RSE au Nigeria et les pratiques exemplaires. Au total, dix conférenciers ont présenté des exposés sur divers sujets liés à la RSE. Le haut‑commissaire du Canada au Nigeria, M. Chris Cooter, a prononcé une allocution de bienvenue, dans laquelle il a souligné l’importance que revêt la RSE dans l’établissement de relations durables et mutuellement avantageuses, particulièrement dans l’industrie extractive. Le haut‑commissaire adjoint, M. Marcello DiFranco, a prononcé le mot de la fin. La promotion de l’activité a contribué à mieux faire connaître les pratiques et les politiques canadiennes de RSE au Nigeria.

Tanzanie - Le 25 octobre 2012, le haut‑commissariat du Canada en Tanzanie a parrainé le deuxième forum sur la RSE Canada‑Tanzanie, à Arusha, qui a été tenu en marge de Tanzania Mining, Energy, Oil and Gas International Indaba. Plus de 300 délégués y ont participé, y compris de nombreux PDG d’entreprises, fournisseurs de services et représentants du gouvernement et d’organisations de la société civile. L’objectif du forum sur la RSE consistait à établir un cadre où les intervenants de l’industrie extractive pourraient se communiquer des renseignements sur les stratégies, les difficultés et les réussites en matière de RSE. Deux séances plénières ont été tenues au cours desquelles des spécialistes de l’industrie ont discuté du processus d’élaboration de cadres nationaux de RSE pour l’industrie extractive dans les pays hôtes et ont fait part de leurs expériences des programmes de RSE des entreprises. Des représentants de l’Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives (ITIE) en Tanzanie ont également présenté des exposés sur les contributions du secteur et les défis en matière de transparence.