Corporate Responsibilty

CSR E-Bulletin - Issue 18 (2013)

Updates Related to the Government of Canada's CSR Strategy for the Extractive Sector: "Building the Canadian Advantage"

The Office of the Extractive Sector CSR Counsellor

Dr. Marketa Evans, who served as the CSR Counsellor for a total of four years, resigned in October, 2013, in order to pursue opportunities outside of Government. We thank Dr. Evans for her efforts and public service to Canada. Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) will continue to support the Office of the Extractive Sector CSR Counsellor during this transition period as the Office continues to carry out administrative and other functions related to its operations. Questions can be sent to: csr-counsellor@international.gc.ca.

CSR Standards Updates:

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises (MNEs)

Canada, as an adherent to the OECD Guidelines for MNEs, maintains a National Contact Point (NCP) and is pleased to announce that the 2013 Annual Report to the OECD is now online. For more information on Canada’s NCP for the OECD Guidelines for MNEs, please visit the NCP webpage on the DFATD website.

The Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)

Since 2010, the total number of Canadian GRI reporters has grown to 115, including federal crown corporations such as Canada Post, Export Development Canada, and Farm Credit Canada. While the majority of Canadian GRI reporters continue to be from the extractive and financial service sectors, there are a growing number of companies from sectors such as telecommunications, utilities, real estate and construction services.

In May 2013, the GRI launched the fourth generation (G4) of the GRI sustainability reporting framework at a conference in Amsterdam (following the first GRI-Canada conference in October 2012). A key new feature of the GRI G4 is the process of identifying topics that are material to an organization’s business and key stakeholders. This ‘materiality’ focus will attempt to make reports more relevant, more credible and more user-friendly. In June, the GRI held G4 seminars in Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto and Montreal, with good turnout. On July 1, the GRI re-branded its Focal Point office in New York City as GRI USA and Canada Focal Point. GRI has also recently finalized an agreement to host four sessions on sustainability reporting at Globe 2014 in Vancouver, from March 26-28, 2014. Please visit the GRI website, and GLOBE 2014, for more information.

Centre for Excellence in CSR - Multitakeholder Dialogue Session with CIM

On November 12, 2013, the Environmental and Social Responsibility Society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM), in collaboration with the Centre for Excellence in CSR (CfE), held a Multi-stakeholder Dialogue Session at the Québec Mines 2013 conference in Québec City. This was the third such Dialogue held in 2013, and built upon the common set of values shared by all extractive sector stakeholders identified at the first two Sessions. The 51 participants represented a broad range of industry, non-industry and government actors, including four First Nations representatives. Roundtable discussions were held on topical issues such as: how to reconcile confidentiality with best practices in transparency; the relevance of voluntary tools and guidelines; and challenges inherent in inter-organizational partnerships.  The next Dialogue Sessions are scheduled for March 3, 2014 at the Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada (PDAC) Convention in Toronto, and May 14, 2014 at the CIM annual convention in Vancouver. A detailed report will be available soon on the CFE website.

Mandatory Reporting Standards for Canadian Extractive Companies

On June 12, 2013, Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced that Canada will establish new mandatory reporting standards for Canadian extractive companies, with a view to enhance transparency on the payments companies make to governments. The new reporting system will reinforce Canada’s role as a strong supporter of transparency and accountability, and complement existing reporting requirements. It will seek to: improve transparency; ensure that Canada’s framework is consistent with existing international standards and aligned with other G-8 countries; ensure a level playing field for companies operating domestically and abroad; enhance investment certainty; help reinforce the integrity of Canadian extractive companies; and, help ensure that citizens around the world benefit from natural resources in their country.

The full news release can be found on the Prime Minister of Canada’s website. Prime Minister Stephen Harper also announced that, within the G-8, Canada will take a leadership role in working with Peru and Tanzania to increase transparency and strengthen governance in the oil, gas and mining sectors. The full news release is also available on the Prime Minister of Canada’s website.

Other CSR Activities and Events

Intergovernmental Forum on Mining, Minerals, Metals and Sustainable Development (IGF)

From October 28 to November 1, 2013, IGF members and observers met for their ninth Annual General Meeting at the Palais des Nations in Geneva, Switzerland, to discuss issues and challenges related to the sustainable management and development of the mining, minerals and metals sector. As Secretariat of the Forum, DFATD hosted the meeting, which brought together 217 participants from 49 member and observer governments, international organizations, industry and civil society. This year's meeting also included, for the first time, workshops on negotiating mining investments and contracts (for IGF members) and artisanal and small-scale mining. The IGF's tenth Annual General Meeting will take place in Geneva from October 20-24, 2014. In 2014, the IGF will also be hosting a side event on artisanal and small-scale mining at Indaba, on transfer pricing at PDAC and at EXPOMIN. For additional Forum details, please consult the website: www.globaldialogue.info.

Second Annual UN Forum on Business and Human Rights

From December 2-4, 2013, the Annual UN Forum on Business and Human Rights took place in Geneva. The Forum covered a broad range of topics under the three pillars of the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights: the state duty to protect human rights, the corporate responsibility to respect human rights, and providing access to remedy for victims through a range of judicial and non-judicial mechanisms. For further information, please visit the webpage of the UN Forum on Business and Human Rights.

The Government of Canada's Promotional Engagement on Responsible Business Practices

Chile - Cape Breton Mission to Chile

Beginning November 5, 2013, the Embassy of Canada to Chile hosted two delegations led by Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation (ECBC), a federal crown corporation that promotes and assists with financing and development. The objective of the visit was the sharing of successful economic development models implemented by the Membertou and Eskasoni Mi’kmaq First Nations of Canada, and the facilitation of exchanges between Canadian and Chilean indigenous peoples. From November 5-8, delegation experts on indigenous consultation and economic development met with Embassy contacts and participated in a panel on economic development for indigenous peoples, held as part of SR Mining, a conference on social responsibility in mining. From November 13-15, two Canadian Mi’kmaq Chiefs also visited Copiapó and Vallenar in Chile, a region with a high concentration of mining projects. The Chiefs participated in private indigenous-to-indigenous Round Tables to build linkages with the Colla and Diaguita peoples of Chile and share successful economic development models. This was followed by extended Round Tables with regional authorities, communities and companies to share views on mining and community development. For further information please visit the website of the
Embassy of Canada to Chile: www.chile.gc.ca.

Peru – G-8 Partnership Launch to Support Transparency in the Extractive Sector

On November 12, 2013, the Embassy of Canada to Peru and the Peruvian Ministry of Energy and Mines officially launched the G-8 Partnership to Support Transparency in the Extractive Sector, at a press conference chaired by Peruvian Minister of Energy and Mines, Merino, and the Canadian Ambassador to Peru, Patricia Fortier. The initiative was first announced by Prime Minister Stephen Harper in June 2013, and is part of a joint effort between G-8 countries and 15 countries in Africa, Asia and Latin America to improve transparency in the management of the natural resources sector around the world. Further information on the official launch can be found on the website of the Embassy of Canada to Peru and Bolivia.

Peru – CIIEID Mission for Extractive Sector Collaboration

From November 11-21, 2013, a reconnaissance delegation of the Canadian International Institute for Extractive Industries and Development (CIIEID) visited Peru, to meet with Peruvian government officials, civil society organizations, and academia, and gain an understanding of the leading challenges related to extractive activities in Peru and develop CIIEID programming. The Embassy of Canada to Peru provided information and contacts to the mission and hosted a Round Table for Canadian company key contacts to share perspectives on challenges, tools and resources, and expertise gaps.

Panama - CSR Mining Industry Program

From October 15-18, 2013, the Embassy of Canada to Panama organized a CSR program with Canadian mining authority Bill McGuinty, who has worked in Canada and internationally for Canadian junior mineral exploration companies and was co-chair of the Advisory Panel of the Office of the Extractive Sector CSR Counsellor. The visit provided opportunities to discuss Canada’s perspectives and expectations on CSR, and learn about the successes and challenges facing the developing mining industry in Panama. During the three-day program, Mr. McGuinty shared his experience and expertise in CSR practices in the Canadian mining sector in a presentation at the mining conference ExpoConferencia Minera, as well as in Embassy-hosted meetings with stakeholders, Canadian mining companies, Panamanian government officials and Panamanian academia. 

Tanzania - Canada-East Africa CSR Forum

On September 30 and October 1, 2013, the High Commission of Canada in Tanzania organized the third Annual Canada-East Africa CSR Forum for extractive industries, in collaboration with other Canadian diplomatic missions in East Africa and Tanzania's Ministry of Energy and Minerals (MEM). MEM Minister Sospeter Mugongo, along with High Commissioner Alexandre Lévêque, opened the event, which took place in Dar es Salaam. Over 100 people participated from: the private sector, non-governmental organizations, and government from Tanzania, as well as from Kenya, Ethiopia, Uganda and Zambia. Fourteen speakers shared experiences and their ideas on CSR in Tanzania, and participants, using Tanzania's draft CSR guidelines provided by MEM as a case study, shared critical points for inclusion in Tanzania’s CSR policy under development.

Peru - Perumin Mining Convention

From September 16-20, 2013 the Perumin Mining Convention, Mining: Opportunity for Social Inclusion and Development, took place in Arequipa, Peru, with the Embassy of Canada to Peru involved in a number of events. Aligning with the convention’s theme, Canada delivered strategic messaging on CSR, transparency and responsible resource management. The Embassy of Canada, Export Development Canada, the Canadian Association of Mining Equipment and Services for Export, and the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development & Mines collaborated on a number of events. These included: two networking breakfasts, a business climate briefing for companies and individual matchmaking meetings with major mining companies. With over 75 Canadian companies attending Perumin, a Canadian Pavilion, and presentations on mining and education, Canada’s presence at the convention was showcased. The Embassy also hosted an evening event to launch the 2013 revision of the Embassy’s Mining Toolkit: a tool that emphasizes transparent and respectful communications for mitigating social conflict and aids Canadian companies working with local communities to increase dialogue processes.

Argentina - The Latin American Dialogue Group “Mining, Democracy and Sustainable Development” International Meeting

On September 30, 2013, with the support of the Embassy of Canada to Argentina, among other sponsors, the International Meeting “Mining, Democracy and Sustainability: Experiences and Challenges for Dialogue in Latin America” took place in Buenos Aires. The event was organized by the local network of non-governmental organizations and universities “Argentine Platform for Dialogue” together with the Latin American Group of Dialogue (GDL). There were approximately 50 participants from the private and public sectors, civil society organizations, academia, and international experts from Peru, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Brazil and Canada. The meeting promoted multi-stakeholder dialogue to develop trust, based on understanding other parties’ language, priorities and views. This GDL meeting followed their participation in the PDAC 2013 Convention, supported by DFATD, aimed at fostering understanding and dialogue on the development of the mining industry in countries where Canadian companies are most active.

Mozambique - CSR Seminar

On June 12, 2013, the High Commission of Canada in Mozambique organized a one day CSR seminar in Maputo city, in partnership with the French Embassy and the Mozambican Ministry of Mineral Resources. The main objective of the gathering was to provide a forum to discuss CSR concepts, interpretations and best practices from other countries, global trends, and implications of ISO 26000. Presentations were made by international experts on CSR from Canada, France and other countries. Canadian consultant David Simpson from InterPraxis gave a presentation on the Canadian vision of CSR and implications for the private sector in Canada and abroad. The event gathered roughly 150 people from diverse stakeholder groups, and once again allowed Canada to advance its principles on CSR and show leadership on the issue.

Mozambique – CSR Policy Development Support

The Mozambican government is creating its own CSR policy, a process that has received financial support from the Government of Canada.  Mozambique is one of the first countries in Sub Saharan Africa to develop a national policy on CSR specifically for the extractive industry. Canada has been supporting the initiative since its beginning, including a study which culminated in the recommendations that are now guiding the drafting of the national policy. The High Commission has also been engaged in promoting CSR debates, to raise awareness among all stakeholders and complement local government efforts.

Colombia and Guatemala - First Regional Forum on Business and Human Rights for Latin America and the Caribbean

From August 28-30, 2013, representatives from the Embassies of Canada to Colombia and Guatemala attended the first Latin America and Caribbean Regional Forum on Business and Human Rights in Medellin, Colombia. A three-person Guatemalan delegation, funded by the Embassy of Canada to Guatemala, also attended. The Forum presented the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights and involved discussion on trends and challenges in implementation, and best practices. More than 400 representatives from global, regional and domestic stakeholder groups and bodies attended, bringing together stakeholders who may not have had the opportunity to meet before and providing an opportunity to share diverse perspectives and experiences, under a common framework.

To subscribe to the distribution list, please send a blank message to subscribe-csr_rse_e@listserv.dfait-maeci.gc.ca

La responsabilité sociale des entreprises

Bulletin électronique sur la rse - Numéro 18 (2013)

Le point sur la Stratégie canadienne de RSE de l’industrie extractive : Renforcer l’avantage canadien

Bureau du conseiller en RSE de l’industrie extractive

Mme Marketa Evans, qui a occupé le poste de conseillère en RSE pendant quatre ans, a démissionné en octobre 2013, pour poursuivre sa carrière à l’extérieur du gouvernement. Nous la remercions de sa contribution à la fonction publique du Canada. Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) continuera d’appuyer le Bureau du conseiller en RSE de l’industrie extractive pendant la période de transition, tandis que celui-ci continuera d’assurer les fonctions administratives et autres liées à ses activités. Les questions peuvent être envoyées à : conseiller-rse@international.gc.ca.

Le point sur les normes en matière de RSE

Lignes directrices de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE) destinées aux entreprises multinationales

Le Canada, qui adhère aux Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales, maintient un Point de contact national (PCN) et est heureux d’annoncer que le Rapport annuel de 2013 à l’OCDE est désormais en ligne. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le PCN du Canada relatif aux Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales, veuillez consulter la pag sur le PCN sur le site web du MAECD.

L’initiative mondiale sur les rapports de performance (GRI)

Depuis 2010, le nombre total d’organismes canadiens qui présentent des rapports dans le cadre de la GRI est passé à 115. Parmi ces organismes, on compte des sociétés d’État comme Postes Canada, Exportation et Développement Canada et Financement agricole Canada. Si la majorité d’entre eux continuent de représenter les secteurs de l’extraction et des services financiers, on observe un nombre croissant d’entreprises de secteurs comme les télécommunications, les services publics, l’immobilier et la construction.

En mai 2013, on a lancé le cadre de production de rapports sur la durabilité de la GRI de quatrième génération (G4), à l’occasion d’une conférence à Amsterdam (à la suite de la première conférence sur la GRI tenue au Canada en octobre 2012). Un nouvel élément clé de la GRI de quatrième génération est le processus de définition des sujets « importants » pour les activités et les intervenants d’une organisation. Cet accent sur l’« importance » vise à rendre les rapports plus pertinents, plus crédibles et plus conviviaux. En juin, on a tenu dans le cadre de la GRI des colloques sur la quatrième génération à Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto et Montréal, qui ont été populaires. Le 1er juillet, la GRI a renommé son Point focal national à New York « PCN de la GRI pour les États-Unis et le Canada ». On a également finalisé récemment une entente dans le cadre de la GRI pour organiser quatre séances sur les rapports sur la durabilité à l’occasion de Globe 2014, à Vancouver, du 26 au 28 mars 2014. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les sites Web de la GRI, et de GLOBE 2014.

Centre d’excellence en RSE – Séance de dialogue multipartite avec l’ICM

Le 12 novembre 2013, la Société de l’environnement et de la responsabilité sociale de l’Institut canadien des mines, de la métallurgie et du pétrole (ICM), en collaboration avec le Centre d’excellence en RSE (CE), a tenu une séance de dialogue multipartite lors de la conférence Québec Mines 2013, à Québec. Il s’agissait du troisième dialogue de la sorte tenu en 2013, et il reposait sur un ensemble de valeurs communes à tous les intervenants du secteur extractif définies lors des deux premières séances. Les 51 participants représentaient une vaste gamme d’acteurs de l’industrie, d’autres secteurs que l’industrie et du gouvernement, y compris des représentants des Premières nations. Des discussions sous forme de table ronde ont été tenues sur des sujets liés notamment à la conciliation du respect de la confidentialité et des pratiques exemplaires en matière de transparence; la pertinence des outils et lignes directrices volontaires; et les défis associés aux partenariats interorganisationnels. Les prochaines séances de dialogue sont prévues pour le 3 mars 2014, lors de la Conférence de l’Association canadienne des prospecteurs et entrepreneurs (ACPE) à Toronto, et le 14 mai 2014, lors de la conférence annuelle de l’ICM, à Vancouver. Un rapport détaillé sera bientôt disponible sur le site Web du CE (en anglais).

Normes de déclaration obligatoire pour les entreprises canadiennes du secteur de l’extraction

Le premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé le 12 juin 2013 que le Canada établirait de nouvelles normes de déclaration obligatoire pour les entreprises canadiennes du secteur de l'extraction en vue d'améliorer la transparence relative aux paiements qu'elles versent aux gouvernements. Le nouveau système de reddition de comptes consolidera la position du Canada de fervent défenseur de la transparence et de la responsabilité, et complètera les exigences existantes en matière d’établissement de rapports. Il vise à accroître la transparence, à veiller à ce que le cadre du Canada soit conforme aux normes internationales en vigueur et harmonisé avec celui des autres pays du G-8; à garantir une concurrence équitable pour les entreprises qui exercent des activités au pays et à l’étranger; à accroître la certitude à l’égard des investissements; à contribuer au renforcement de l’intégrité des entreprises extractives canadiennes; et à garantir que les citoyens du monde entier profitent des retombées de l’exploitation des ressources naturelles de leur pays.

La version intégrale de ce communiqué se trouve sur le site Web du premier ministre du Canada. Le premier ministre Stephen Harper a également annoncé que, au sein du G-8, le Canada jouera un rôle de chef de file en œuvrant avec le Pérou et la Tanzanie pour renforcer la transparence et la gouvernance dans leurs secteurs pétrolier, gazier et minier. La version intégrale de ce communiqué se trouve sur le site Web du premier ministre du Canada.

Autres activités et événements relatifs à la RSE

Forum intergouvernemental sur l’exploitation minière, les minéraux, les métaux et le développement durable (FIG)

Les membres et les observateurs du FIG se sont rencontrés à l’occasion de leur neuvième Réunion générale annuelle, du 28 octobre au 1er novembre 2013, au Palais des Nations à Genève, en Suisse, pour discuter de questions et de défis liés à la gestion et au développement durables dans le secteur des mines, des minéraux et des métaux. En tant que secrétaire du Forum, le MAECD a présidé la rencontre, qui a rassemblé 217 participants de 49 gouvernements membres et observateurs, organisations internationales, organisations de l’industrie et de la société civile. La réunion de cette année a également inclus, pour la première fois, des ateliers sur la négociation d’investissements et de contrats dans le secteur des mines (pour les membres du FIG), et l’exploitation minière artisanale et de petite échelle. La Xe Réunion générale annuelle du FIG aura lieu à Genève, du 20 au 24 octobre 2014. En 2014, le FIG accueillera également un événement parallèle sur l’exploitation minière artisanale et de petite échelle à Indaba, sur la fiscalité des prix de transfert à l’ACPE et à EXPOMIN. Pour obtenir des détails additionnels sur le Forum, veuillez consulter le site Web du Forum.

Deuxième forum annuel sur les entreprises et les droits de l’homme

Le Forum annuel sur les entreprises et les droits de la personne a eu lieu du 2 au 4 décembre 2013 à Genève. On y a abordé un grand éventail de sujets conformément aux trois piliers des Principes directeurs relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme de l’ONU : le devoir de l’État de protéger les droits de l’homme, la responsabilité des entreprises de respecter les droits de l’homme et l’offre aux victimes d’un accès à des mesures de réparation, au moyen de mécanismes judiciaires et non judiciaires. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la page Web du Forum des Nations Unies sur les entreprises et les droits de l’homme.

Activités de promotion du gouvernement du Canada sur les pratiques commerciales responsables

Chili – Mission du Cap Breton au Chili

Le 5 novembre 2013, l’ambassade du Canada au Chili a accueilli deux délégations dirigées par Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation (ECBC), une société d’État qui promeut le développement et qui fournit du financement. L’objectif de la visite était de mettre en commun des modèles de développement économique réussis mis en œuvre par les Premières nations Mi’gmag de Membertou et d’Eskasoni du Canada, et de faciliter les échanges entre les peuples autochtones canadiens et chiliens. Du 5 au 8 novembre, une délégation d’experts sur la consultation et le développement économique autochtone a rencontré des contacts de l’ambassade et participé à une discussion d’experts sur le développement économique des populations autochtones, organisé dans le cadre de SR Mining, une conférence sur la responsabilité sociale dans le secteur minier. Du 13 au 15 novembre, deux chefs Mi’gmag canadiens ont également visité la région de Copiapó et Vallenar, au Chili, une région qui compte une concentration élevée de projets miniers. Les chefs ont participé à des tables rondes privées entre autochtones visant à favoriser l’établissement de liens avec les peuples Colla et Diaguita du Chili et à présenter des modèles de développement économique réussis. Ces tables rondes ont été suivies par des tables rondes élargies auxquelles ont participé des autorités, des collectivités et des entreprises régionales, pour échanger sur le thème de l’exploitation minière et du développement des collectivités. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’ambassade du Canada au Chili : www.chile.gc.ca.

Pérou – Lancement de l’Alliance du G8 pour promouvoir la transparence dans le secteur de l’extraction

Le 12 novembre 2013, l’ambassade du Canada et le ministère de l’Énergie et des Mines du Pérou ont lancé officiellement l’Alliance du G-8 pour promouvoir la transparence dans le secteur de l’extraction, lors d’une conférence de presse présidée par le ministre de l’Énergie et des Mines du Pérou, M. Merino, et l’ambassadrice du Canada au Pérou, Mme Patricia Fortier. L’initiative a été d’abord annoncée par le premier ministre Stephen Harper en juin 2013, et s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un effort concerté des pays du G-8 et de 15 pays d’Afrique, d’Asie et d’Amérique latine pour améliorer la transparence dans la gestion du secteur des ressources naturelles dans le monde. Des détails additionnels sur le lancement officiel de l’initiative sont disponibles sur le site Web de l’ambassade du Canada au Pérou et en Bolivie.

Pérou – Mission de l’ICIIED en vue d’une collaboration dans le secteur extractif

Une délégation de reconnaissance de l'Institut canadien international pour les industries extractives et le développement (ICIIED) s’est rendue au Pérou du 11 au 21 novembre 2013 pour rencontrer des représentants du gouvernement, d’organisations de la société civile et d’universités péruviennes et se familiariser avec les défis liés aux activités extractives au Pérou, dans l’optique de développer la programmation de l’ICIIED. L’ambassade du Canada au Pérou a fourni de l’information et le nom de personnes-ressources à la délégation et tenu une table ronde pour que les principaux représentants des entreprises canadiennes puissent exposer leurs difficultés, outils, ressources et lacunes.

Panama – Programme de RSE pour l’industrie minière

Du 15 au 18 octobre 2013, l’ambassade du Canada au Panama a organisé une activité sur la RSE avec le spécialiste canadien des mines de renom M. Bill McGuinty, qui a travaillé au Canada et à l’étranger pour de petites entreprises d’exploration minière canadiennes et coprésidé le groupe consultatif du Bureau du conseiller en responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE). La visite de trois jours de M. McGuinty a donné à tous l’occasion de discuter des perspectives et des attentes du Canada en matière de RSE et de se familiariser avec les succès et les défis auxquels fait face l’industrie minière en expansion au Panama. Pendant sa visite, M. McGuinty a mis à profit son expérience et son expertise en matière de pratiques de RSE dans le secteur minier canadien, dans le cadre d’une présentation à la conférence sur l’exploitation minière ExpoConferencia Minera, ainsi que dans le cadre de réunions organisées par l’ambassade avec des intervenants, des sociétés minières canadiennes, des représentants du gouvernement du Panama et des membres des universités panaméennes. 

Tanzanie – Forum sur la RSE Canada-Afrique de l’Est

Le 30 septembre et le 1er octobre 2013, le haut-commissariat du Canada en Tanzanie a organisé le troisième Forum RSE Canada –Afrique de l’Est pour les industries extractives, en collaboration avec d’autres missions diplomatiques en Afrique de l’Est et avec le ministère de l’Énergie et des Minéraux (MEM) de la Tanzanie. Le ministre du MEM, Sospeter Mugongo, a inauguré l’événement, tenu à Dar es Salaam, en compagnie du haut-commissaire du Canada, Alexandre Lévêque. Plus de 100 personnes étaient présentes, y compris des représentants du secteur privé, d’organisations non gouvernementales et des gouvernements de la Tanzanie, du Kenya, de l’Éthiopie, de l’Ouganda et de la Zambie. Quatorze conférenciers ont eu la possibilité de parler de leur expérience et d’émettre une opinion sur la RSE en Tanzanie, et les participants, s’appuyant sur l’ébauche de lignes directrices en matière de RSE fournie par le MEM à titre étude de cas, ont pu mettre de l’avant des points importants à inclure dans la politique sur la RSE de la Tanzanie en cours d’élaboration.

Pérou – Convention sur l’exploitation minière Perumin

La convention sur l’exploitation minière Perumin, axée sur le thème L’exploitation minière, une occasion d’inclusion sociale et de développement, a eu lieu à Arequipa, au Pérou, du 16 au 20 septembre 2013. L’ambassade du Canada au Pérou a participé à un certain nombre des activités organisées pour l’occasion. Conformément au thème de la convention, le Canada a livré un message stratégique portant sur la RSE, la transparence et la gestion responsable des ressources. L’ambassade du Canada, Exportation et Développement Canada, l’Association canadienne des exportateurs d’équipements et services miniers, et le ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines de l’Ontario, ont également collaboré à plusieurs activités, notamment deux déjeuners de réseautage, une séance d’information sur le contexte commercial à l’intention des entreprises, et des réunions de jumelage individuelles avec des sociétés minières de premier plan. Compte tenu de la participation de plus de 75 entreprises canadiennes, de la mise sur pied d’un Pavillon du Canada et de ses présentations sur l’exploitation minière et l’éducation, le Canada a été très visible lors de la convention Perumin. L’ambassade a également tenu une activité en soirée pour lancer la révision de 2013 de sa boîte à outils sur l’exploitation minière. Cette boîte à outils met l’accent sur la transparence et les communications respectueuses pour atténuer les conflits sociaux et favorise l’établissement de processus de dialogues entre les entreprises canadiennes et les collectivités locales.

Argentine – Réunion internationale du groupe de dialogue latino-américain (Latin American Dialogue Group) sur le thème « Exploitation minière, démocratie et développement durable »

Le 30 septembre 2013, avec l’appui notamment de l’ambassade du Canada en Argentine, la réunion internationale « Exploitation minière, démocratie et développement durable : Expériences et difficultés de dialogue en Amérique latine » a eu lieu à Buenos Aires. L’activité était organisée par le réseau local d’organisations non gouvernementales et d’universités « Argentine Platform for Dialogue », en collaboration avec le Groupe de dialogue latino-américain (GDL). Elle a réuni environ 50 participants des secteurs privé et public, de la société civile et des universités, ainsi que des experts du Pérou, de la Colombie, du Chili, de l’Équateur, du Brésil et du Canada. La réunion a encouragé le dialogue multipartite comme un moyen pour développer la confiance, fondé sur une compréhension du langage, des priorités et des opinions des autres parties. Cette réunion a eu lieu à la suite de la Convention de l’ACPE 2013, appuyée par le MAECD, visant à encourager la compréhension mutuelle et le dialogue dans le cadre du développement de l’industrie minière dans les pays où les sociétés canadiennes sont les plus actives.

Mozambique – Colloque sur la RSE

Le 12 juin 2013, le haut-commissariat du Canada au Mozambique a organisé un colloque d’un jour sur la RSE à Maputo, en partenariat avec l’ambassade de France et le ministère mozambicain des Ressources minérales. La rencontre se voulait avant tout une tribune pour discuter des notions, des interprétations et des pratiques exemplaires d’autres pays en matière de RSE, des tendances à l’échelle mondiale et des répercussions de l’ISO 26000. Des experts internationaux du Canada, de France et d’autres pays ont fait des présentations sur la RSE. Notamment, le consultant canadien David Simpson, d’InterPraxis, a fait une présentation sur la vision canadienne relative à la RSE et ses répercussions sur le secteur privé au Canada et à l’étranger. L’événement a rassemblé environ 150 personnes de divers groupes d’intervenants et a donné au Canada une nouvelle possibilité de promouvoir ses principes de RSE et de faire valoir son leadership en la matière.

Mozambique – Appui à l’élaboration d’une politique sur la RSE

Le gouvernement mozambicain élabore sa propre politique sur la RSE, un processus pour lequel il a reçu l’appui financier du gouvernement du Canada. Le Mozambique est l’un des premiers pays de l’Afrique subsaharienne à élaborer une politique nationale sur la RSE propre à l’industrie extractive. Le Canada appuie cette initiative depuis ses débuts et a notamment financé une étude dont ont découlé des recommandations qui guident maintenant le processus. Le haut-commissariat a également participé à la promotion de débats sur la RSE visant à sensibiliser l’ensemble des intervenants et à appuyer les efforts du gouvernement local.

Colombie et Guatemala – Premier forum régional sur le commerce et les droits de la personne de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes

Du 28 au 30 août, des représentants des ambassades du Canada en Colombie et au Guatemala ont participé au premier Forum régional de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes sur le commerce et les droits de la personne, à Medellín, en Colombie. Une délégation de trois représentants du Guatemala y a également participé, grâce à l’appui financier de l’ambassade du Canada dans ce pays. On a présenté, lors du Forum, les Principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme et discuté des tendances et des défis associés à leur mise en œuvre et aux pratiques exemplaires connexes. Plus de 400 représentants de groupes d’intervenants et d’organismes internationaux, régionaux et nationaux étaient présents et ont eu l’occasion d’exposer, sur une même tribune, leurs divers points de vue et expériences. La majorité d’entre eux se rencontraient pour la première fois.

Pour vous abonnez à la liste de diffusion, veuillez SVP envoyer un message à subscribe-csr_rse_e@listserv.dfait-maeci.gc.ca