Corporate Social Responsibility

DFATD Supports CSR Projects

In an effort to foster and promote corporate social responsibility (CSR) at home and abroad, the Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) encourages Canadian embassies, consulates, high commissions, regional offices and headquarters divisions to undertake CSR initiatives by providing them with a dedicated source of internal funding. While launched by various government offices at home and abroad, these CSR projects often include participation or partnership with other federal and provincial government departments, civil society organizations, academia, industry, chambers of commerce, foreign governments and Aboriginal groups, in order to maintain and uphold Canada’s multi-stakeholder approach.

In the past two years, DFATD has provided approximately $350,000 in funding to 50 corporate social responsibility projects and initiatives in over 30 countries around the world.

The table below provides examples of CSR initiatives organized by Canada’s missions during the 2009-2010 fiscal year, which have promoted and enhanced socially responsible business conduct among Canadian companies operating abroad. For more information on any of the projects described, please contact csr-rse.bts@international.gc.ca.  

Africa

Canadian Embassy:  Darkar, Senegal
Funding provided by DFATD:  $8,000 CAN
Status:  Ongoing 

Initiative:  Mining Toolkit for West African Communities

  • Description: An adaptation of Natural Resource Canada’s Mining Information Kit for Aboriginal Communities to the West African context. Phase 1 of the project (2009-2010) involves preliminary workshops to engage a broad range of CSR stakeholders from Senegal, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Niger in the development of the Toolkit.
  • Partner(s): Natural Resources Canada. 
  • Outcome: The Mining Toolkit will help communities, including indigenous communities, to better understand the mining cycle, to build relationships with mining companies based on communication and mutual respect, and to identify opportunities for meaningful participation, capacity-building and sustainable economic growth throughout the mining cycle.

Canadian Embassy:  Harare, Zimbabwe
Funding provided by DFATD:  $5,000 CAN
Status:  Completed June 2009 

  • Initiative: CSR Seminar
  • Description: A one-day seminar describing Canada’s approach to CSR and Canadian CSR best practices for representatives from civil society, industry, academia, government, and other stakeholder groups. The event complemented the Botswana Resources Conference that took place concurrently.
  • Partner(s): Capital Resources (the organisers of the Botswana Resources Conference) and Canadian missions in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, South Africa and Zambia.
  • Outcome: Canadian CSR priorities and best practices were shared with local stakeholders and Canadian companies operating the region.

Toronto, Canada, Africa Commercial Relations Division (DFATD)
Funding provided by DFATD:  $7,000 CAN
Status:  Completed October 2009

  • Initiative: CSR and Risk Mitigation Seminar
  • Description: A one-day CSR and Risk Mitigation Seminar that addressed socio-political turmoil in Africa, the impact of economic downturn on CSR programs, and the role of Canadian mining companies in the socio-economic development of the continent.
  • Partner(s): Canada-South Africa Chamber of Business; MineAfrica; and the Government of Ontario.
  • Outcome: Canadian companies, CSR practitioners and civil society representatives were informed of risk mitigation tools and CSR best practices to help them operate responsibly in the African region.

Latin America and the Caribbean

Canadian Embassy:  Santiago, Chile
Funding provided by DFATD:  $3,000 CAN
Status: Ongoing

  • Initiative: Mining Toolkit for Chilean Communities
  • Description: An adaptation of Canada’s Mining Information Kit for Aboriginal Communities originally produced by Natural Resources Canada and adapted by Canadian missions in Peru and Mexico to the Chilean context. Phase 1 of the project (2009-2010 fiscal year) consists of adapting the Peruvian version. This will be undertaken by contractors from the legal and civil society sectors, in consultation with the Chilean Ministry of Mines and local mining industry representatives.
  • Partner(s): Natural Resources Canada local mining associations, Ministry of Mines Chile, and local NGOs.  
  • Objective: The development of a tool that will help communities, including indigenous communities, to better understand the mining cycle, to build relationships with mining companies based on communication and mutual respect, and to identify opportunities for meaningful participation, capacity-building and sustainable economic growth throughout the mining cycle.

Canadian Embassy: Mexico City, Mexico 
Funding provided by DFATD:  $8,000 CAN
Status: To be completed February 13, 2010

  • Initiative: Mining Toolkit Workshop
  • Description: A half-day workshop for community representatives promoting Mexico’s 2009 Mining Toolkit, explaining the mining cycle, introducing key mining players, and advising them of conflict-resolution mechanisms available in Mexico. 
  • Partner(s): Federal Government of Mexico; the Mexican Mining Association; and several local civil society organizations.
  • Objective: Mexican community and indigenous representatives will be introduced to the Mining Toolkit as a resource that they and their communities can access. They will also be informed about Canadian mining practices in Mexico, Canada’s CSR expectations for these operations and conflict resolution mechanisms available to them through their government and legal system.

Canadian Embassy: Lima, Peru and Montevideo, Uruguay 
Funding provided by DFATD:  $10,500 CAN
Status: Completed December 2009

  • Initiative: Canada’s Participation in Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) CSR Conference
  • Description: For its seventh Conference on CSR, the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) has invited Canada to present its national approach to CSR in a panel discussion, and to offer a workshop describing the methodology used in the development of the Peruvian Mining Toolkit produced by the Canadian mission in Lima.
  • Partner(s): Social Capital Group.
  • Outcome: Canada was able to contribute to the IDB conference by promoting various methods of stakeholder engagement and CSR best practices to Latin American governments and other stakeholders, so that these best practices may be integrated into both public policy and private-sector activity.  This initiative also increased the visibility of Canada’s commitment to foster and promote CSR in the region.

Canadian Embassy: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Funding provided by DFATD:  $4,300 CAN
Status: Completed December 2009

  • Initiative: CSR Seminar
  • Description: A one-day workshop providing an introduction to CSR concepts and practices for the extractive sector. A Canadian speaker, with experience in the development of CSR programs for extractive-sector companies, will offer a presentation. Canadian companies subsequently had an opportunity to share their CSR success stories and lessons learned.
  • Partner(s): Argentine-Canadian Chamber of Commerce
  • Outcome: Canadian companies operating in Argentina gained greater awareness of the ‘business case’ for CSR and a greater understanding of Canada’s expectations and commitments as reflected in Canada’s CSR Strategy for the Canadian International Extractive Sector.

Asia

Canadian Embassy: Chongqing, China
Funding provided by DFATD:  $7,200 CAN
Status: Completed October 2009

  • Initiative: Sustainable Mining Seminar
  • Description: A one-day seminar informing local stakeholders (i.e. industry associations, government representatives and community representatives) as well as Canadian companies of the benefits of employing CSR practices in the mining industry, of CSR best practices, and of the Canadian mining industry’s contributions to sustainable mining technology and practices.
  • Partner(s): Natural Resources Canada; Government of Ontario; Research Office of the People’s Government of Yunnan Province; Department of Land and Resources of Yunnan Province; Canadian Embassy in Beijing; and CAMESE.
  • Outcome: The event showcased Canadian companies’ CSR practices, identified local Chinese partners for Canadian CSR initiatives in the region, and promoted CSR policies to local government.

Europe

Canadian Embassy: Budapest, Hungary
Funding provided by DFATD:  $1,500 CAN
Status: Completed May 2009

  • Initiative: Transparency and Corporate Accountability Conference
  • Description: The mission participated in the visit of Dr. Hugette Labelle, Executive Director of Transparency International, leading her to meetings with the MPs of the Economic Affairs and Finance Committees of Hungarian Parliament, as well as to meetings with the President, Minister of Justice and the Prime Minister of Hungary. The mission also arranged for a gathering between Dr. Labelle, Canadian industry representatives and government officials involved in the multilateral Transparency Working Group established in Hungary.
  • Partner(s): Transparency International.
  • Outcome: Canadian companies received practical advice on various policies and practices that can address the transparency challenges they face in the international marketplace, while the Canadian mission identified key officials and members of Hungarian civil society with whom they can collaborate to address the issue of transparency.

DFATD Regional Offices

Regional Offices of Vancouver and Toronto, Canada
Funding provided by DFATD:  $6,000 CAN
Status: Ongoing

  • Initiative: IFC Performance Standard Seminars
  • Description: Visits from the International Finance Corporation to Toronto and Vancouver to promote the IFC Performance Standards to Canadian extractive companies operating in the Americas.
  • Partner(s): The International Financial Corporation; the Association for Mineral Exploration, BC; the Mining Association of BC; and the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada.
  • Outcome: Canadian companies are provided with information and support to integrate aspects of the IFC Performance Standards into their CSR programs.

La responsabilité sociale des entreprises

Soutien du MAECD aux projets de RSE à l’étranger

Dans un effort pour promouvoir la responsabilité sociale d'entreprise (RSE) au pays et à l’étranger, le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada (SDC) encourage les ambassades, consulats, haut-commissariats canadiens bureaux régionaux et directions de l’administration centrale à entreprendre des projets de RSE en leur fournissant une source réservée de financement. Ces projets de RSE, bien qu’ils soient lancés par divers bureaux gouvernementaux au pays et à l’étranger, prévoient souvent la participation ou un partenariat avec des ministères fédéraux et provinciaux, des organismes de la société civile, des universités, de l’industrie, des chambres de commerce, des gouvernements étrangers et des groupes autochtones afin de maintenir et de confirmer l’approche multilatérale du Canada.

Au cours des cinq dernières années, le MAECD a financé 250 initiatives de responsabilité sociale d'entreprise dans le monde.

Le tableau ci-dessous fournit des exemples des initiatives de RSE organisées par les missions du Canada qui ont fait la promotion d’une conduite socialement responsable des affaires auprès des entreprises canadiennes exerçant leurs activités à l’étranger. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’un des projets décrits ci-après, veuillez communiquer avec csr-rse@international.gc.ca.

Afrique

Ambassade canadien : Dakar, Sénégal
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) : 8 000 $

Initiative : boîte à outils sur l’exploitation minière pour les collectivités d’Afrique occidentale

  • Description : une adaptation du Guide d'information minière pour les communautés autochtones de Ressources naturelles Canada pour le contexte de l’Afrique occidentale. La phase 1 du projet prévoit des ateliers préliminaires pour solliciter la participation des intervenants en RSE du Sénégal, du Mali, du Burkina Faso, de la Guinée, de la Côte d’Ivoire, du Niger dans l’élaboration de la boîte à outils.
  • Partenaire(s) : Ressources naturelles Canada.
  • Résultats : La boîte à outils sur l’exploitation minière aidera les collectivités, y compris les collectivités autochtones, à mieux comprendre le cycle minier, à construire des relations avec des sociétés minières fondées sur la communication et le respect mutuel et à cibler des occasions de participation valable, de développement des capacités et de croissance économique durables pendant tout le cycle minier.

Ambassade canadien : Harare, Zimbabwe
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) : 5 000 $

Initiative : Séminaire sur la RSE

  • Description : Séminaire d’un jour décrivant la démarche du Canada en matière de RSE et les meilleures pratiques canadiennes en matière de RSE pour les représentants de la société civile, de l’industrie, du milieu universitaire, du gouvernement et d’autres groupes d’intervenants. L’événement complétait la Botswana Resources Conference qui se déroulait simultanément.
  • Partenaire(s) : Capital Resources (les organisateurs de la Botswana Resources Conference) et les missions canadiennes en République démocratique du Congo, en Afrique du Sud et en Zambie.
  • Résultats : Les priorités et meilleures pratiques canadiennes en matière de RSE ont fait l’objet de discussions avec les intervenants locaux et les sociétés canadiennes qui exercent leurs activités dans la région.

Toronto, Canada, division des relations commerciales avec l’Afrique (MAECD)
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) : 7 000 $

Initiative : Séminaire sur les RSE et l’atténuation des risques

  • Description : Séminaire d’une journée sur les RSE et l’atténuation des risques qui abordait notamment la question des troubles sociopolitiques en Afrique, des répercussions de la récession économique sur les programmes de RSE et le rôle des sociétés minières canadiennes dans le développement socioéconomique du continent.
  • Partenaire(s) : Chambre de commerce Canada-Afrique du Sud; MineAfrica et le gouvernement de l’Ontario.
  • Résultats : Les sociétés canadiennes, les intervenants en RSE et les représentants de la société civile ont été informés des outils d’atténuation du risque et des meilleures pratiques en matière de RSE pour les aider à fonctionner de manière responsable dans la région africaine.

Antilles et amérique latine

Ambassade canadien : Santiago, Chili
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) : 3 000 $

Initiative : Boîte à outils sur l’exploitation minière pour les collectivités chiliennes

  • Description : Une adaptation au contexte chilien du Guide d'information minière pour les communautés autochtones de Ressources naturelles Canada, réalisée par les missions canadiennes au Pérou et au Mexique. La phase 1 du projet consiste à adapter la version péruvienne. Cette adaptation sera effectuée par des entrepreneurs des secteurs juridiques et de la société civile, en consultation avec le ministre des Mines du Chili et les représentants des sociétés minières locales.
  • Partenaire(s) : Ressources naturelles Canada, associations minières locales, ministère des Mines du Chili et ONG locales. 
  • Objectif : L’élaboration d’un outil qui aidera les collectivités, y compris les collectivités autochtones, à mieux comprendre le cycle minier, à construire des relations avec des sociétés minières fondées sur la communication et le respect mutuel et à cibler des occasions de participation valable, de développement des capacités et de croissance économique durables pendant tout le cycle minier.

Ambassade canadien : Ville de Mexico, Mexique
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) : 8 000 $

Initiative : Atelier portant sur la boîte à outils sur l’exploitation minière

  • Description : Atelier d’une demi-journée à l’intention des représentants de la collectivité, qui fait la promotion de la boîte à outils sur l’exploitation minière 2009 pour le Mexique, qui explique le cycle minier, présente les acteurs principaux du secteur minier et les informe notamment des mécanismes de résolution de problèmes qui sont à leur disposition au Mexique. 
  • Partenaire(s) : Gouvernement fédéral du Mexique, association minière du Mexique et plusieurs organismes locaux de la société civile.
  • Objectif : Présenter la boîte à outils aux représentants autochtones et de la collectivité mexicaine en tant que ressource auxquels eux et les membres de leurs collectivités ont facilement accès. Ils seront également informés sur les pratiques minières canadiennes au Mexique, les attentes du Canada en matière de RSE pour ce type d’activités et sur les mécanismes de résolution de conflits offerts par le gouvernement et le système juridique.

Ambassade canadien : Lima, Pérou, et Montevideo, Uruguay
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) :  10 500 $

Initiative : Participation du Canada à la Conférence interaméricaine sur la responsabilité sociale de la Banque interaméricaine de développement

  • Description : Pour sa septième conférence sur la RSE, la Banque interaméricaine de développement a invité le Canada à présenter sa philosophie nationale en matière de RSE dans la cadre d’une discussion en groupe et à offrir un atelier décrivant la méthodologie utilisée dans l’élaboration de la boîte à outils sur l’exploitation minière au Pérou, produit par la mission canadienne à Lima.
  • Partenaire(s) : Social Capital Group.
  • Résultats : Le Canada a été en mesure de contribuer à la conférence en faisant la promotion de diverses méthodes de sollicitation des intervenants et des meilleures pratiques en matière de RSE auprès des gouvernements d’Amérique latine et d’autres intervenants, afin que ces meilleures pratiques soient intégrées aux politiques publiques et aux activités du secteur privé.  Cette initiative a également accru la visibilité de l’engagement du Canada visant à promouvoir et à favoriser les RSE dans la région.

Ambassade canadien : Buenos Aires, Argentine
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) : 4 300 $

Initiative : Séminaire sur les RSE

  • Description : Atelier d’un jour qui sert d’introduction aux concepts et pratiques de la RSE pour le secteur de l’extraction. Un conférencier canadien possédant de l’expérience en développement de programmes de RSE pour les entreprises extractives a donné une présentation. Les entreprises canadiennes ont ensuite eu l’occasion de partager leurs réussites en matière de RSE et les leçons apprises.
  • Partenaire(s) : Chambre de commerce Canada-Argentine.
  • Résultats : Les entreprises canadiennes qui exercent leurs activités en Argentine ont été sensibilisées au sujet du « dossier commercial » pour les RSE et ont acquis une meilleure compréhension des attentes et engagements du Canada, conformément à la stratégie de RSE pour les sociétés extractives canadiennes à l’étranger.

Asie

Ambassade canadien : Chongqing, Chine
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) : 7 200 $

Initiative : Séminaire sur l’exploitation minière durable

  • Description : Séminaire d’un jour informant les intervenants locaux (c.-à-d. les associations industrielles, les représentants du gouvernement et les représentants de la collectivité) ainsi que les entreprises canadiennes sur les avantages de l’utilisation des pratiques de RSE dans le secteur minier, les meilleures pratiques de RSE et la contribution du secteur minier canadien à la technologie et aux pratiques qui garantissent une exploitation minière durable.
  • Partenaire(s) : Ressources naturelles Canada; le gouvernement de l’Ontario; le bureau d’études du gouvernement du peuple de la province de Yunnan; le ministère des Terres et des Ressources de la province de Yunnan; l’ambassade canadienne à Beijing; CAMESE et le groupe d’exploitation minière international de Chine.
  • Résultats : L’événement a permis de présenter les pratiques en matière de SRE des entreprises canadiennes, d’identifier des partenaires chinois locaux pour les initiatives canadiennes en matière de RSE dans la région et de promouvoir les politiques liées à la RSE auprès du gouvernement local.

Europe

Ambassade canadien : Budapest, Hongrie
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) : 1 500 $

Initiative : Conférence sur la transparence et la responsabilité des entreprises

  • Description : La mission a participé à la visite du Dr Huguette Labelle, directrice générale de Transparency International, la conduisant à ses rencontres avec les membres du parlement responsable des comités des affaires économiques et des finances du parlement hongrois, ainsi que des rencontres avec le président, le ministre de la Justice et le premier ministre de Hongrie. La mission avait également prévu une rencontre entre le Dr Labelle, les représentants de l’industrie canadienne et les membres du gouvernement qui participent au groupe de travail multilatéral sur la transparence établi en Hongrie.
  • Partenaire(s) : Transparency International.
  • Résultats : Les entreprises canadiennes ont reçu des conseils pratiques sur diverses politiques et méthodes qui peuvent aider à relever les défis que pose la transparence sur le marché international. La mission canadienne a ciblé des représentants clés et des membres de la société civile hongroise avec lesquels elles peuvent œuvrer en collaboration pour traiter la question de la transparence.

Bureaux aux régionaux du MAECD

Ambassade canadien : Bureaux régionaux de Vancouver et de Toronto, Canada
Financement provenant du MAECD (CAN $) : 6 000 $

Initiative : Séminaire sur les normes de rendement de la SFI

  • Description : Visites de la Société financière internationale à Toronto et à  Vancouver pour promouvoir les normes de rendement de la SFI auprès des sociétés extractives canadiennes oeuvrant en Amérique.
  • Partenaire(s) : la Société financière internationale; l’Association for Mineral Exploration, C.-B., la Mining Association of BC; et l’Association canadienne des prospecteurs et entrepreneurs.
  • Résultats : Les entreprises canadiennes ont reçu de l’information et du soutien pour intégrer les aspects des normes de rendements de la SFI à leurs programmes de RSE.