CSR Snapshot #1 - Community stakeholder engagement

PDF Version (0.5 MB)Footnote *

Stakeholder engagement (SE) is a process by which a company’s representatives interact with individuals and groups in the community who are involved in, or affected by, the company’s activities. SE is a cost-effective way for companies to mitigate social risk. However, although a company may understand the value of SE, sometimes, despite the company’s efforts and the results it has achieved, some members of the community may not believe that the company is listening to their concerns or doing enough to address them. This may be a sign that the company’s implementation of the SE process is falling short, which could lead to costly work stoppages, or worse. Fortunately, there are practical ways for a company to establish positive and productive engagement with stakeholders that will form a solid foundation for company-community relations.

Getting it right

SE typically involves discussions with key stakeholders, extending beyond discussions with “experts”. As with any aspect of business, effective SE requires an approach that is proactive and informed. A company that takes the time to develop a market-specific plan can expect its SE efforts to yield better results, in the form of stronger company-community relations.

First steps

Conduct comprehensive stakeholder mapping. Mapping, which is the identification of key stakeholders, allows management to understand the potential impact of each identified group or key individual in the community on the success of the project. The mapping, like the overall SE strategy itself, should be regularly updated, as turnover among stakeholders, particularly government contacts, can be frequent over the life of a project.

Take a systematic approach. Although it may seem logical to focus only on outcomes when developing an SE plan, the procedure used to achieve these outcomes is equally important. In addition to mapping key stakeholders, the process should determine the frequency of meetings, the objectives of the meetings and their venues, as well as the required documentation, follow-up and analysis.

Who to engage

When determining where it should focus its SE efforts in the community, a company should try to avoid focusing only on people who are easy-to-reach or who appear to be influential. Using this approach, the company might miss individuals or groups with the potential to add to the community’s acceptance of the project. Company representatives should therefore also take opportunities to question any people in the community (e.g. taxi drivers, youth and merchants) about who they trust to speak for them or how they perceive the company. This way, a company can identify the formal and informal leaders in the community and make efforts to speak to both groups.
A company should also engage with those with whom it may not be on close terms but who could influence the project outcome. Examples may include politicians, advocacy groups and smaller local competitors. Canadian trade commissioners at Canada’s missions abroad can assist in providing contact information for some of these contacts. Some companies find it useful to set up an informal advisory board of local people who meet quarterly with the company’s general manager. These meetings should include individuals that could be adversely impacted by the company’s project.

The business case for SE

SE identifies issues before they become problems. Well-established systems of ongoing and open communication provide opportunities for non-confrontational discussions to draw out community concerns before they grow into grievances.

SE counters rumors. Transparency can prevent and counter rumors about the company and narrow the space for misinformation or misinterpretation.

SE facilitates constructive dialogues. When people understand that the community will benefit from the presence of the company in the long term, they tend to make fewer immediate demands and focus more on collaboration.

SE establishes good stakeholder relationships. Effective SE conveys honesty, trust and respect, giving the company a “human face” that is accessible to stakeholders.

Myth busting

Companies may assume that SE unduly raises expectations, that involving local people in decision-making leads to project delays, and that it is better not to engage if SE cannot guarantee positive outcomes. In reality, delaying SE often leads to the spreading of rumors about the company’s activities. When that happens, a company has lost control over how it is perceived. Avoid rumors: Engage early and constructively!

A cross-functional responsibility

“The community” does not start outside the company’s gate. Company staff includes members of the community. How the procurement department deals with local contractors, how security officers deal with local authorities, and how human resources staff deal with community-based staff and local job seekers together affect the community’s perceptions about the company.

Who should companies engage with

Company representatives should have the required SE skills, and their authority levels should be made clear to stakeholders. It is generally helpful if senior company leaders are seen in the community from time to time. It is most beneficial if those leaders support their staff by stating the company’s positions consistently. Companies find it useful to ensure their frontline staff is equipped to handle the pressure from community members to obtain promises and/or deals. Bringing senior company leaders to key public meetings is a successful practice as communities want to hear from decision makers.

How to engage constructively

Before meeting key contacts, company representatives should be aware of cultural sensitivities and seek tips on effective communication in that country. Companies should also find out what “respect”, “transparency” and “fairness” mean locally.

Being fully prepared in this regard, even for informal meetings, is good practice. Consideration should be given to what “level” of engagement is right for each stakeholder. Not everybody needs to have a say in everything. Some stakeholders (e.g. members of the media and local authorities) can simply be informed about a decision, whereas impacted stakeholders will want to be consulted on decisions that affect their lives. Companies have found it useful to determine engagement levels beforehand and to discuss this with local stakeholders at the outset to manage their expectations.

Where to engage

Holding a public meeting is an effective way for the company to relay important information to the community and to obtain formal community support for its activities. Varying the venue according to the purpose of the meeting—rather than using company offices for all meetings—is effective. Shop fronts or community offices are  good places to meet, at least initially. Consider holding more formal meetings in community offices while meeting informally at local events. “Open doors” days or company tours are good ways to defuse rumors and provide broader engagement with the community.

When to engage

SE is more effective when used as an ongoing process, rather than only when deemed necessary. If a company only pays attention to communities when they disrupt the company’s projects, that company sets itself up for future disruptions. Instead, company leaders should think about SE in terms of building a relationship with the community over time. They should consider engaging when there is no apparent pressing need; an informal courtesy visit (“I just came to say hello.”) is quick and pleasant, does not cost anything and can go a long way toward building a productive relationship.

Is there already a problem?

  • Communities often blame outsiders for negative outcomes, but experience suggests that companies are themselves often responsible for contributing to such misconceptions. To avoid this, review corporate-wide practices / actions to determine if ten-sions were inadvertently raised within the com-munity by corporate actions.
  • Companies can involve neutral third parties to discuss an issue (e.g. a local individual or group). If such individuals are not available, local trade commissioners can provide information about options for facilitating dialogue between Canadian companies and local communities.
  • In addition to what people say explicitly, there are often unspoken concerns within the community that the company should try to identify.
  • Communities can be asked what the company needs to do to gain their trust.
  • Relying only on philanthropy to appease people does not work and can backfire.

Build in systematic updates and feedback

For SE to work effectively, management must document feedback received, jointly agreed-upon decisions, and actions taken. To continuously improve SE, this information should be delivered to both the company and the community on an open, transparent and regular basis.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Instantané RSE #1 – Mobilisation des intervenants de la collectivité

Version PDF (0.5 Mo)Notes de bas de page *

La mobilisation des intervenants (MdI) est un processus selon lequel les représentants d’une entreprise interagissent avec des individus et des groupes de la collectivité qui participent aux activités de l’entreprise, ou qui sont touchés par celles-ci. La MdI est une façon économique d’atténuer les risques sociaux pour l’entreprise. Toutefois, même si une entreprise comprend la valeur de la MdI, il peut parfois arriver que, malgré les meilleurs efforts de l’entreprise et les résultats qu’elle a atteints, certains membres de la collectivité considèrent que l’entreprise n’est pas à l’écoute de leurs préoccupations ou n’en fait pas assez pour en tenir compte. Cela pourrait indiquer que la mise en œuvre de la MdI par l’entreprise n’atteint pas ses objectifs, ce qui pourrait entraîner des arrêts de travail coûteux, ou pire. Heureusement, il y a des façons pratiques pour permettre à une entreprise d’établir une mobilisation positive et productive avec les intervenants, qui formera une fondation solide pour les relations entre l’entreprise et la collectivité.

Bien faire les choses

La MdI exige la tenue de discussions avec différents inter-venants clés, ce qui doit aller au-delà des discussions seulement avec des « spécialistes ». Comme pour tout aspect d’une entreprise, la mobilisation efficace des intervenants exige une approche proactive et informée. Une entreprise qui prend le temps de mettre au point un plan propre à un marché peut s’attendre à ce que ses efforts de MdI produisent de bons résultats, sous la forme de relations plus fortes avec la collectivité.

Premières étapes

Schéma exhaustif des intervenants. L’établissement d’un schéma des intervenants (liste des intervenants clés) permet à la direction de comprendre l’impact potentiel de chaque groupe ou individu clé identifié dans la collectivité pour le succès du projet. Le schéma, comme la stratégie générale de MdI, devrait être actualisé périodiquement, puisque le changement d’intervenants, particulièrement pour les personnes-ressources du gouvernement, peut être fréquent durant le cycle de vie d’un projet.

Adoption d’une approche systématique. Même s’il peut sembler logique de se concentrer uniquement sur les résultats en mettant au point un plan de MdI, la procédure utilisée pour atteindre ces résultats est tout aussi importante. En plus de la mise en correspondance des intervenants clés, la procédure devrait déterminer la fréquence des réunions, les objectifs des réunions et leur emplacement, ainsi que la documentation, le suivi et l’analyse requis.

Quels intervenants mobiliser?

En déterminant où cibler ses efforts de MdI dans la collectivité, une entreprise devrait essayer d’éviter de cibler seulement les personnes qui sont faciles à joindre ou qui semblent avoir de l’influence. L’entreprise risquerait d’oublier des individus ou des groupes ayant le potentiel d’améliorer l’acceptation du projet par la collectivité. Les représentants de l’entreprise doivent donc en profiter pour interroger les gens de la collectivité (p. ex. les chauffeurs de taxi, les jeunes et les commerçants) au sujet des personnes à qui ils font confiance pour parler en leur nom, ou au sujet de la manière dont ils perçoivent l’entreprise. De cette façon, une entreprise peut déterminer qui sont les leaders officiels et officieux de la collectivité et devrait penser à parler aux deux groupes.

Une entreprise devrait aussi mobiliser les intervenants avec lesquels elle n’est peut-être pas en bons termes, mais qui pourraient influencer les résultats du projet. Par exemple : politiciens, groupes de défense et concurrents de plus petite taille. Les délégués commerciaux du Canada aux missions canadiennes peuvent vous donner le nom de certaines de ces personnes-ressources. Des entreprises considèrent qu’il est utile de mettre en place un conseil consultatif officieux, formé de personnes de la région, qui rencontre le directeur général de l’entreprise tous les trimestres. Ces réunions devraient comprendre tout individu pouvant être touché défavo-rablement par le projet de l’entreprise.

Les avantages de la mobilisation des intervenants

La MdI permet de repérer les préoccupations avant qu’elles ne deviennent des problèmes. Des systèmes bien établis de communication continue et ouverte fournissent des occasions de discuter de manière non conflictuelle pour connaître les préoccupations de la collectivité avant qu’elles ne deviennent des griefs.

La MdI contredit les rumeurs. La transparence peut prévenir et contredire les rumeurs au sujet de l’entreprise et limiter l’espace pour l’information erronée ou les mauvaises interprétations.

La MdI facilite la communication constructive. Lorsque les personnes comprennent que la collectivité bénéficiera de la présence de l’entreprise à long terme, elles ont tendance à faire moins de demandes immédiates et à se concentrer sur la collaboration.

La MdI établit de bonnes relations avec les intervenants. Une mobilisation efficace des intervenants exprime l’honnêteté, la confiance et le respect, ce qui donne à l’entreprise un « visage humain » qui est accessible aux intervenants.

Briser les mythes

Les entreprises pourraient croire que la MdI élève indûment les attentes, que la mobilisation des personnes de la région dans la prise de décisions cause des retards dans les projets, et qu’il est préférable de ne pas faire de mobilisation si cela ne peut pas garantir des résultats positifs. En réalité, l’absen-ce de MdI fait souvent naître des rumeurs au sujet des activi-tés de l’entreprise. Lorsque cela se produit, l’entreprise a perdu le contrôle de la façon dont elle est perçue. Évitez les rumeurs : mobilisez tôt et de manière constructive!

Une responsabilité interfonctionnelle

« La collectivité » ne commence pas à l’extérieur des portes de l’entreprise. Le personnel de l’entreprise comprend des membres de la collectivité. La manière dont le service des approvisionnements gère les entrepreneurs locaux, la manière dont les agents de sécurité traitent avec les autorités locales, et la manière dont les ressources humaines gèrent le personnel de la collectivité et les travailleurs locaux affectent la perception de l’entreprise par la collectivité.

Quels intervenants devraient mobiliser?

Les représentants de l’entreprise devraient posséder les compétences requises pour la MdI, et leur niveau d’autorité devrait être clair pour les intervenants. Il est généralement utile qu’un haut dirigeant soit vu dans la collectivité de temps à autre. Il est particulièrement bénéfique que ces dirigeants appuient leur personnel en énonçant uniformément les positions de l’entreprise. Les entreprises trouvent utile de s’assurer que leur personnel de première ligne est équipé pour gérer la pression des membres de la collectivité qui veulent obtenir des promesses ou des ententes. La présence de hauts dirigeants de l’entreprise à des réunions publiques clés est une pratique positive, puisque les collectivités veulent entendre les décideurs.

Comment faire de la mobilisation?

Avant de rencontrer les personnes-ressources clés, les représentants de l’entreprise devraient connaître les sensi-bilités culturelles et demander des conseils sur la com-munication efficace dans ce marché. Les entreprises doivent aussi trouver ce que « respect », « transparence » et « équité » signifient localement. Être totalement préparé à cet égard, même pour les réunions informelles, est une bonne pratique. Il faut prendre en compte le bon niveau de mobilisation pour chaque intervenant. Il n’est pas nécessaire que tous les intervenants aient un mot à dire. Certains intervenants (p. ex. membres des médias et autorités locales) peuvent simplement être informés d’une décision, alors que les intervenants touchés voudront être consultés sur une décision qui touche leur vie. Les entreprises ont trouvé utile de déterminer les niveaux de mobilisation au préalable et d’en discuter avec les intervenants dès le début pour gérer leurs attentes.

Où faire de la mobilisation?

La tenue d’une réunion publique est une façon efficace pour l’entreprise de transmettre de l’information importante à la communauté et d’obtenir un support officiel de ses activités. Il est utile de varier le lieu en fonction du but de la réunion - plutôt que de toujours utiliser les bureaux de l’entreprise. Les magasins locaux ou les bureaux de la collectivité sont de bons endroits pour les réunions, au moins au début. Les réunions officielles peuvent avoir lieu dans les bureaux de la collectivité. Il est également possible de mobiliser les intervenants de façon informelle lors d’activités locales, et les journées portes ouvertes ou les visites d’entreprises sont souvent de bons moyens pour dissiper les rumeurs et mobiliser davantage la collectivité.

Quand faire de la mobilisation?

Les efforts de mobilisation sont davantage efficaces lorsqu’ils sont réalisés de façon soutenue, et non seulement en cas de besoin. Une entreprise qui ne porte attention aux collectivités que lorsqu’elles causent des perturbations s’expose à davantage de problèmes à l’avenir. Les dirigeants de l’entreprise devraient plutôt penser à la MdI en termes de création de relations avec la collectivité à long terme. Ils devraient faire de la mobilisation lorsqu’il n’y a pas urgence de le faire; une visite de courtoisie informelle (« Je suis juste venu vous dire bonjour. ») est rapide et agréable, ne coûte rien et peut grandement favoriser l’établissement d’une relation productive.

Y a-t-il déjà un problème?

  • Les collectivités blâment souvent les personnes de l’extérieur pour les résultats négatifs, mais l’expérience suggère que les entreprises sont souvent elles-mêmes en partie responsables de ces méprises. Pour éviter cela, il faut réviser les pratiques et mesures à l’échelle de l’entreprise pour déterminer si des tensions ont été créées par inadvertance au sein de la collectivité.
  • Les entreprises peuvent faire participer des tiers neutres pour discuter d’un problème (p. ex. un individu ou un groupe local). Si ces individus ne sont pas disponibles, les délégués commerciaux locaux peuvent fournir de l’information au sujet d’options pour faciliter le dialogue entre les entreprises canadiennes et les collectivités locales.
  • En plus de ce qui est dit explicitement, la collectivité a souvent des préoccupations non dites que l’entreprise devrait tenter de déterminer.
  • On pourrait demander aux collectivités ce dont elles ont besoin pour faire confiance à l’entreprise.
  • Se fier uniquement à la philanthropie pour apaiser les personnes ne fonctionne pas.

Mettre en place de la rétroaction et des mises à jour systématiques

Pour que la MdI fonctionne efficacement, la direction doit documenter la rétroaction reçue, les décisions convenues conjointement et les mesures prises. Pour améliorer continuellement la MdI, l’information devrait être fournie à l’entreprise ainsi qu’à la collectivité de manière ouverte, transparente et régulière.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *