CSR Snapshot #5 – Local procurement

PDF Version (0.1 MB)Footnote *

Local procurement refers to the purchase of goods and services from suppliers within the region(s) close to a company’s operations. This responsible business practice is appropriate in any country and industry, as it is fundamentally about building stronger links between companies and the communities that surround them and supporting local economic growth. Prioritizing local purchasing can help multinational companies strengthen their ongoing relationship with the communities, by enhancing the socio-economic impacts of their activities in the communities in which they do business.

As such, local procurement not only creates value for international companies, it also creates value for local communities. Of course, for local procurement to create shared value for both, it must be strategic. It must align with a company’s business plan for that particular geographic area and result in operational improvement, and it must align with local communities’ development strategies. With long-term planning and proactive effort, there are many business and community benefits that can flow from increased local procurement.

What does “Local” Mean?

When it comes to local procurement strategies, there is no universal definition of “local”. It implies a sense of proximity. A company’s definition of “local procurement” will depend on where it operates and who its stakeholders of interest are.

For example, in the case of a mining company operating in a remote area, “local” may be defined as the communities nearest to the mine, as well as those downstream of the mine. Buying from suppliers in the downstream communities is an effective way for a company to maintain a positive relationship with communities which are concerned about the impact mining activities may have on them.

Locally Procured vs. Locally Produced

Purchasing imported goods from a local importer, or services from a national branch of an international company, has positive effects on the local economy. This creates both revenue and employment.

However, purchasing goods and services that are produced in a host country will have a far greater positive impact on local stakeholders. Companies can magnify the benefits they create from local spending by purchasing locally produced goods and services, and always asking suppliers for local versions of products if they are available.

Companies should engage with a wide range of stakeholders to determine what definition will work best for meeting the needs of their stakeholders and the company.

Key Steps to Develop a Local Procurement Strategy

1. Understand the Socio-Economic Operational Context

Understanding the economic capabilities of the local suppliers where they operate is a foundational step companies must take to increase local procurement. Canadian companies must research what potential suppliers are already available, and identify any local businesses that could become competitive suppliers in the future.

Companies can then work with this specific group of suppliers to develop their organizational capacity and professional expertise. Thorough research will help Canadian companies avoid unsustainable ad-hoc efforts that may be problematic in the long term, such as helping to create a supplier for a product that already is competitively available in-country.

The Business Case

Lowers procurement costs: By tapping into local labour markets that have lower wages, and reducing shipping distances, a company’s costs for many goods and services will fall in the long run as they use more local suppliers.

Improves supply chain efficiency: Shorter lead times for deliveries and an increased number of reliable suppliers can help companies improve their supply chain efficiency.

Strengthens relationships with the communities: The positive socio-economic impacts from local procurement give Canadian companies an opportunity to meet the rising expectations of host country populations for international companies to create jobs and other benefits.

2. Seek out Partners

Canadian companies do not have the ultimate responsibility for creating economic development in the countries in which they operate, nor do they have the necessary resources to do so. However, Canadian multinational companies have the ability to convene different stakeholder groups, helping to collectively collaborate on local procurement approaches and strategies. Growing local businesses is the mandate of many institutions, such as local chambers of commerce and educational institutions, in any country. Companies can use these skills and resources to help increase their local spending. The most effective local procurement strategies will be multi-stakeholder initiatives coordinated by companies and local partners.

3. Set up Measurement Systems

A company cannot effectively manage what it does not measure. Canadian companies seeking to increase local sourcing need to design and implement internal processes to measure their progress. This entails coding procurement systems to identify items as local, national and international, so that companies can quickly calculate percentages and amounts going to each category. Better data will help identify opportunities and flag potential problems in local sourcing.

Key Local Procurement Toolkits

A Guide for Getting Started in Local Procurement: For Companies Seeking the Benefits of Linkages with Local SMEs
International Finance Corporation (2011)

Procuring from Small and Medium sized Enterprises in Local Communities: A Good Practice Guide for the Australian Mining, Oil and Gas Sectors
Ana Marie Esteves et al. (2010)

Strategies to Increase Local Procurement

Canadian companies may believe that buying more locally cannot be achieved because of the limited quantity and/or poor quality of local suppliers. However, here are some general strategies that companies can use to overcome challenges and increase local spending:

1. Identify New Suppliers

Canadian companies can identify potential local suppliers by advertising contracts on local media outlets, such as television, radio and newspapers. To reach more local suppliers, Canadian companies can also contact local chambers of commerce and other local supplier support institutions, to inform their members about new business opportunities.

2. Strengthen the Capacity of Local Suppliers

Canadian companies can host workshops with local suppliers on contracting procedures, bid requirements and measures that will be used to evaluate bids. It also improves communication in the process of answering questions.

Canadian companies can help local businesses become competitive suppliers by distributing instructional materials on business management and technical skills, and by providing workshops and training courses specifically aimed at producing widgets that the company needs.

Canadian companies are encouraged to partner with local supplier support institutions, such as industry organizations or chambers of commerce or technical colleges, to coordinate, develop and deliver these training seminars.

Canadian companies can also use the skills of advanced Canadian-based suppliers by including them in joint ventures with low-capacity local businesses.

Myth Busting

A concern from Canadian producers about local procurement is that it may decrease demand for their goods and services overseas.

However, in most low-income countries it is not Canadian exports that are likely to be displaced by local production. Canada’s exports are dominated by energy, raw metals and high tech goods, most of which are not the types of goods that companies will be seeking to shift to local suppliers.

In addition, strengthened suppliers in developing countries in the long-term can become new customers for Canadian goods and services.

3. Adapt Internal Procurement Processes

Canadian companies can support local suppliers, particularly in low-income countries, by making their procurement process more flexible.

Typical advanced country procurement procedures, such as paying suppliers at the end of the month rather than immediately after the good or service has been provided, can sometimes unintentionally disadvantage local suppliers. Companies can address this challenge by paying such suppliers in advance or as soon as possible. This would allow smaller, lower-capacity suppliers to more effectively plan budgets and manage their cash flow.

Companies can also meet the needs of local suppliers by surveying them, along with local business experts, on what barriers they may be creating with their current procurement processes, and adapting them as necessary.

Other tools for sourcing responsibly

Local procurement is one way to source responsibly. However, there are other methods and considerations to take into account for sourcing responsibly. For example, Canada’s CSR Strategy identifies the OECD guidance for:

  • Conflict Minerals
  • Due Diligence in the Retail and Footwear Sector
  • Responsible Agriculture

See mneguidelines.oecd.org/guidelines for more info.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Instantané #5 – L’approvisionnement local

Version PDF (0.1 Mo)Notes de bas de page *

L’approvisionnement local fait référence à l’achat de biens et de services de fournisseurs situés dans la ou les régions près de l’endroit où l’entreprise exerce ses activités. Cette pratique commerciale responsable est indiquée pour tous les pays et toutes les industries, puisqu’il s’agit fondamentalement d’établir des liens solides entre les entreprises et les collectivités qui les entourent. Donner la priorité à l’achat local peut permettre à une entreprise de solidifier ses liens continus avec les collectivités en renforçant les retombées socioéconomiques de ses activités dans les collectivités où elle est présente.

Ainsi, l’approvisionnement local crée non seulement de la valeur pour les entreprises internationales, mais également pour les collectivités locales. Bien entendu, pour que l’approvisionnement local crée de la valeur et pour l’entreprise et pour la collectivité, il doit être stratégique. Il doit s’intégrer au plan de l’entreprise pour cette région géographique particulière et permettre une amélioration opérationnelle, et il doit s’harmoniser avec les stratégies de développement des collectivités locales. Avec une planification à long terme et des efforts proactifs, de nombreuses entreprises et collectivités profiteront des avantages qui découlent d’une augmentation de l’approvisionnement local.

Que signifie local?

En ce qui concerne les stratégies d’approvisionnement local, il n’existe aucune définition universelle de ce terme. Celui-ci sous-entend une question de proximité. La définition que donne une entreprise à approvisionnement local dépendra de son lieu d’opération et de l’identité des intervenants d’intérêt.

Par exemple, dans le cas d’une entreprise minière présente en région éloignée, local pourrait faire référence aux collectivités situées près de la mine, ainsi qu’à celles en aval de la mine. L’achat de fournisseurs situés dans les collectivités en aval représente une façon efficace pour une entreprise de maintenir des liens positifs avec les collectivités, qui peuvent être préoccupées des effets de l’exploitation minière.

Approvisionnement local vs production locale

L’achat de biens locaux à un importateur local ou de services à la succursale nationale d’une entreprise internationale a des effets positifs sur l’économie locale. Cette situation crée des revenus et des emplois.

Toutefois, l’achat de biens et de services produits dans un pays hôte aura une incidence beaucoup plus positive sur les intervenants locaux. Les entreprises peuvent accroître les avantages qu’elles créent par leur achat local en achetant des biens et des services produits localement, et en demandant toujours aux fournisseurs la version locale des produits, s’il en existe une.

Les entreprises doivent s’engager auprès d’une vaste gamme d’intervenants afin de déterminer la meilleure définition pour répondre aux besoins des intervenants et de l’entreprise.

Principales étapes d’élaboration d’une stratégie d’approvisionnement local

1. Comprendre le contexte socioéconomique opérationnel

La compréhension des capacités économiques des fournisseurs des collectivités locales où elles exercent leurs activités est une étape fondamentale que doivent réaliser les entreprises afin d’accroître leur approvisionnement local. Les entreprises canadiennes doivent chercher les fournisseurs possibles qui sont déjà disponibles et relever les entreprises locales qui pourraient devenir des fournisseurs compétitifs à l’avenir.

Les entreprises peuvent ensuite cibler ce groupe de fournisseurs particulier afin de renforcer leur capacité organisationnelle et leur expertise professionnelle. Une recherche exhaustive aidera les entreprises canadiennes à éviter les efforts ponctuels insoutenables qui pourraient poser problème à long terme, par exemple contribuer à la mise sur pied d’un fournisseur pour un produit déjà offert à un prix concurrentiel dans le pays.

L’analyse de rentabilisation

Faibles coûts d’approvisionnement : En tirant profit des marchés d’emploi locaux, dont les salaires sont inférieurs, et en réduisant les distances d’expédition, le prix payé par une entreprise pour de nombreux biens et services diminuera à long terme si elle a recours à des fournisseurs locaux.

Amélioration de l’efficacité de la chaîne d’approvisionnement : Des délais d’approvisionnement courts et un nombre accru de fournisseurs fiables peuvent aider une entreprise à améliorer l’efficacité de sa chaîne d’approvisionnement.

Renforcement des liens avec la collectivité : L’incidence socioéconomique positive découlant de l’approvisionnement local donne aux entreprises canadiennes l’occasion de combler les attentes croissantes des populations des pays hôtes à l’égard des entreprises

Renforcement des liens avec la collectivité

L’ultime responsabilité de la création de développement économique dans le pays où elles sont présentes ne revient pas aux entreprises canadiennes, qui n’ont par ailleurs pas nécessairement les ressources pour le faire. Néanmoins, les entreprises multinationales canadiennes ont la capacité de réunir différents groupes d’intervenants et de les aider à collaborer, collectivement, à des approches et à des stratégiques d’approvisionnement local. La croissance des entreprises locales fait partie du mandat de nombreuses organisations, comme les chambres de commerce locales et les établissements d’enseignement, et ce, dans n’importe quel pays. Les entreprises peuvent utiliser leurs compétences et leurs ressources pour accroître leurs dépenses locales. Les stratégies d’approvisionnement local les plus efficaces sont des initiatives multipartites coordonnées par les entreprises et les partenaires locaux.

3. Établir un système de mesure

Une entreprise ne peut gérer efficacement ce qu’elle ne mesure pas. Les entreprises canadiennes qui cherchent à accroître leurs dépenses locales doivent créer et mettre en œuvre des processus internes pour mesurer leurs progrès. Il faut pour ce faire coder des systèmes d’approvisionnement visant à déterminer les ressources comme locales, nationales ou internationales, de sorte que l’entreprise soit en mesure de calculer rapidement les pourcentages et montants pour chaque catégorie. De meilleures données permettront de trouver les occasions et de signaler les problèmes possibles en matière de dépenses locales.

Principales trousses d’outils sur l’approvisionnement local

Un guide pratique de l’approvisionnement local : Pour les entreprises qui recherchent à maximiser les avantages des relations avec les PME locales
International Finance Corporation (2011)

Procuring from SMEs in Local Communities: A Good Practice Guide for the Australian Mining, Oil and Gas Sectors
Ana Marie Esteves et al. (2010) (en anglais seulement)

Stratégies pour accroître l’approvisionnement local

Les entreprises canadiennes pourraient croire qu’il est impossible d’acheter localement en raison des qualités limitées ou de la faible qualité des produits offerts par les fournisseurs locaux. Toutefois, certaines stratégies peuvent permettre de relever ces défis et d’accroître les dépenses locales :

1. Trouver de nouveaux fournisseurs

Les entreprises canadiennes peuvent trouver des fournisseurs locaux potentiels en diffusant des contrats sur les médias locaux (télévision, radio, journaux). Afin de joindre davantage de fournisseurs locaux, elles peuvent également communiquer avec les chambres de commerce locales et d’autres fournisseurs locaux qui soutiennent les institutions, afin qu’ils informent leurs membres des nouvelles possibilités d’affaires qui s’offrent à eux.

2. Renforcer la capacité des fournisseurs locaux

Les entreprises canadiennes peuvent convier les fournisseurs locaux à des ateliers sur les procédures d’attribution de marchés, les exigences de soumissions et les mesures d’évaluation connexes. Cette façon de faire permet aussi d’améliorer la communication en permettant aux fournisseurs d’obtenir réponse à leurs questions

Les entreprises du Canada peuvent aider les entreprises locales à devenir des fournisseurs plus concurrentiels en distribuant des documents didactiques sur la gestion des affaires et les compétences techniques, ainsi qu’en offrant des ateliers et des formations destinées précisément à la production des biens dont l’entreprise a besoin.

On encourage les entreprises canadiennes à établir des partenariats avec les institutions d’appui aux fournisseurs locaux, comme les organisations de l’industrie, les chambres de commerce ou les collèges techniques, afin d’assurer la coordination, la mise au point et la direction de ces séminaires de formation.

Les entreprises canadiennes peuvent également utiliser les compétences des fournisseurs avancés au Canada en les faisant participer à des missions conjointes auprès des entreprises locales ayant une faible capacité.

Briser les mythes

Les producteurs canadiens s’inquiètent de l’approvisionnement local, car cette façon de procéder pourrait saturer leurs biens et leurs services à l’étranger.

Les producteurs canadiens s’inquiètent de l’approvisionnement local, car cette façon de procéder pourrait saturer leurs biens et leurs services à l’étranger.

En outre, des fournisseurs dans les pays en développement plus forts à long terme pourraient même devenir des clients pour les biens et les services canadiens.

3. Adapter les processus d’approvisionnement interne

Les entreprises canadiennes peuvent aider les fournisseurs locaux, particulièrement dans les pays à faible revenu, en assouplissant leur processus d’approvisionnement.

Les procédures normales des pays avancés, comme payer les fournisseurs à la fin du mois plutôt qu’après réception du bien ou du service, peuvent parfois léser involontairement les fournisseurs locaux. Les entreprises peuvent surmonter cet obstacle en payant ces fournisseurs à l’avance ou le plus rapidement possible. Ainsi, les petits fournisseurs ayant une capacité plus faible peuvent plus facilement prévoir leur budget et gérer leur trésorerie.

Les entreprises peuvent également satisfaire les besoins des fournisseurs locaux en leur posant des questions, ainsi qu’à des experts du milieu des affaires local, sur les obstacles que pourraient créer leurs processus d’approvisionnement actuels et en les adaptant au besoin.

Les entreprises peuvent également satisfaire les besoins des fournisseurs locaux en leur posant des questions, ainsi qu’à des experts du milieu des affaires local, sur les obstacles que pourraient créer leurs processus d’approvisionnement actuels et en les adaptant au besoin.

L'approvisionnement local est une façon de se procurer des ressources de façon responsable. Cependant, il existe d'autres méthodes et considérations à prendre en compte pour l'approvisionnement responsable. Par exemple, la Stratégie canadienne de RSE identifie les orientations de l'OCDE sur différents sujets comme:

  • Les minéraux de zones de conflit
  • Le secteur de la vente au détail et de la chaussure
  • L’agriculture responsable

Visitez mneguidelines.oecd.org/guidelines pour plus d'informations.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *