Trade in Services

This page outlines Canada's participation in services trade negotiations that provide the opportunity to expand our presence in world markets and increase the benefits that our citizens derive from trade and economic growth.

Canada and Trade in Services

The services sector is an important part of the Canadian economy - it employs approximately three Canadians in four. This section describes how trade in services is an important and growing contributor to the Canadian economy and the economies of most of our trading partners.

Agreements linked to Trade in Services

Trade in Services Agreement (TISA)

The TISA is a potential agreement that is being negotiated between 23 World Trade Organization members in order to advance the liberalization of trade in services while the Doha Round is at an impasse.

Bilateral & Regional Free Trade Agreements (FTAs)

Services are an important and growing part of the Canadian economy. Although Canada is already a significant services exporter in several sectors, it has much potential to grow. Therefore, trade in services is often included in the Free Trade Agreements negotiated by the Canadian government in order to provide more market access and legal stability, and therefore helping Canadian companies to expend and sell their services in new markets. The chapters that refer to trade in services in Canadian FTAs are: Cross-Border Trade in Services, Telecommunications, Financial Services, Temporary Entry for Business Persons, and Electronic Commerce.

WTO General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS)

Information for Developing Country Services Suppliers

Contact Point

For more information, or if you have any questions, please contact:

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Trade in Services Division (TMS)
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 promenade Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0058
Email: tms@international.gc.ca

Commerce des services

La présente page donne un aperçu de la participation du Canada dans les négociations commerciales sur les services, qui nous offrent la possibilité d’élargir notre présence sur les marchés mondiaux et d’accroître les bienfaits que les Canadiens tirent du commerce et de la croissance économique.

Le Canada et le commerce des services

Le secteur des services représente un pan important de l'économie canadienne, puisqu’il assure l’emploi d’environ trois Canadiens sur quatre. La présente section décrit la contribution cruciale et grandissante qu’apporte ce secteur d’activité à l’économie canadienne et aux économies de la plupart de nos partenaires commerciaux.

Accords ayant trait au commerce des services

Accord sur le commerce des services (ACS)

L’ACS est un projet d’accord négocié entre 23 membres de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce en vue de faire avancer la libéralisation du commerce et des services, étant donné que le Cycle de Doha se trouve dans l’impasse.

ALE bilatéraux et régionaux

Le secteur des services représente un pan important de l’économie canadienne, qui continue de prendre de l’expansion. Même si le Canada est déjà un exportateur de services de premier plan dans plusieurs secteurs, il subsiste un énorme potentiel de croissance. Par conséquent, le gouvernement du Canada inclut souvent le commerce des services dans les accords de libre‑échange (ALE) qu’il négocie, afin d’accroître l’accès aux marchés et la stabilité juridique de façon à aider les entreprises canadiennes à prendre de l’expansion et à vendre leurs services dans de nouveaux marchés. Les chapitres qui se rapportent au commerce des services dans les ALE du Canada sont les suivants : commerce transfrontières des services, télécommunications, services financiers, admission temporaire des gens d’affaires et commerce électronique.

Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) de l’OMC

Renseignements à l’intention des fournisseurs de services des pays en développement

Point de contact

Si vous avez des questions ou souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec:

Direction de la politique commerciale sur les services (TMS)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Téléc. : 613-944-0058
Courriel : tms@international.gc.ca