Consultations on a Plurilateral International Services Agreement

The Government of Canada is seeking the views of Canadians on the negotiation of a plurilateral international services agreement among a group of World Trade Organization (WTO) members.  The current participants in these discussions with Canada are Australia, the United States, the European Union, New Zealand, Korea, Mexico, Chile, Colombia, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Hong Kong China, Norway, Switzerland, Pakistan, Israel, Peru, Costa Rica, Turkey, Panama and Iceland. However, other interested WTO members could potentially join the negotiations and a finished agreement would also be open for accession to other WTO members.

Background

Canada has been participating in WTO General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) negotiations – which are part of the Doha Round negotiations – since 2000, based on extensive Canadian stakeholder consultations on all sectors and all WTO members. In early 2012, a group of WTO members who share a strong interest in services started discussing new approaches to advance the liberalization of trade in services while the Doha Round is at an impasse. Discussions have revealed that the members of this group are willing to pursue an ambitious agreement on trade in services amongst themselves, as permitted under the GATS rules. These discussions gained momentum during the fall 2012 and negotiations are expected to start in early 2013. While 21 WTO members are currently involved in this initiative, there is general agreement to remain welcoming to other WTO members that wish to join and who share the objectives of the group.

For Canada, services are an important and growing part of our economy. Canada’s firms are active around the world in industries ranging from mining to the financial sector to information technology. For instance, Canada is the 4th largest exporter in the world of engineering services. Although Canada is already a significant services exporter in several sectors, it has much potential to grow. As the vast majority of services firms are SMEs, a stable and predictable global trade environment is necessary for them to pursue new markets. A plurilateral international services agreement will complement other initiatives that the government of Canada is taking to open up markets and potentially provide more market access and legal stability where markets are already open but not subject to trade agreements. However, these negotiations will not force Canada to take commitments in any area where it chooses to retain policy flexibility (e.g. public services).

Submissions by interested parties

While extensive consultations on Canada’s services interests and priorities were conducted in the context of the WTO Doha negotiations, new consultations are needed to update and adapt the Canadian position to this new initiative. Therefore, the Government is embarking on a public consultation process to allow all interested stakeholders an early opportunity to provide input on a potential plurilateral international services agreement (see Canada Gazette Notice: Consultations on a Plurilateral International Services Agreement). In this context, we welcome advice and views on any priorities and objectives relating to this initiative. This includes the following:

  • The identification of services sectors, activities and markets of export interest among WTO members for Canadian service providers and measures that restrict or otherwise affect market access for Canadian service providers.
  • Any barriers or experiences regarding the different modes of supply of services as defined in the WTO:
    • Identification of barriers to the temporary entry and stay of business persons faced by Canadian service providers in WTO member markets, such as impediments to entering or working in a country on a temporary basis, including licensing, certification, work permit and other work authorization requirements.
    • Identification of investment barriers faced by Canadian service providers in foreign countries, including restrictions imposed on foreign ownership or entry to market, questions of transparency of regulation, performance requirements (e.g. local content requirements, use of local labour and services), and any other impediments/barriers.
    • Experiences regarding barriers to the cross-border trade in services faced by Canadian service providers in other WTO members, such as licensing or residency requirements.
  • Other barriers (e.g. availability and transparency of information) when selling or attempting to sell services to governments of WTO members.  

Examples of services sectors in the WTO include Information and Communication Technology (ICT) services, transportation, financial services, professional services, environmental services and energy services.

Although the deadline for receiving input and comments was April 30, 2013, we are still accepting submissions. Please be advised that any information received as a result of this consultation will be considered as public information, unless explicitly stated otherwise. Submissions should include

  • the contributor’s name and address and, if applicable, his/her organization, institution or business;
  • the specific issues being addressed; and
  • precise information on the rationale for the positions taken, including any significant impact it may have on Canada’s domestic or foreign interests.

Additional Information

Additional information on Canada’s relationship with the countries participating to this initiative can be found on the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service website.

For more information on WTO members, the GATS and the various services sectors, please consult the WTO website.

Contact Point

Contributions may be sent by e-mail, facsimile or mail to:

Trade Negotiations Consultations (PISA)
Trade in Services Division (TMS),
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada,
Lester B. Pearson Building,
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0G2.
Fax:  613-944-0058
Email: TMSconsultation@international.gc.ca

Consultations relatives à un Accord plurilatéral et international en matière de services

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite l’opinion des Canadiens au sujet de la négociation d’un accord plurilatéral et international en matière de services entre certains membres de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC). À l’heure actuelle, les membres de l’OMC prenant part à ces négociations avec le Canada sont les suivants : Australie, États-Unis, Union européenne, Nouvelle-Zélande, Corée, Mexique, Chili, Colombie, Taïpei chinois, Japon, Hong Kong (Chine), Norvège, Suisse, Pakistan, Israël, Pérou, Costa Rica, Turquie, Panama et Islande. Toutefois, d’autres membres de l’OMC pourraient se joindre aux négociations et même adhérer à l’accord une fois celui-ci terminé.

Contexte

Depuis 2000, le Canada participe aux négociations de l’Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) de l'OMC, lesquelles font partie des négociations du Cycle de Doha. Ces négociations se fondent sur de vastes consultations menées auprès d’intervenants canadiens sur tous les secteurs et tous les membres de l’OMC. Au début de l’année 2012, certains membres de l’OMC partageant un intérêt marqué pour les services ont entamé des discussions sur l’adoption de nouvelles approches visant à faire progresser la libéralisation du commerce des services alors que le Cycle de Doha est dans une impasse. Les discussions ont révélé que ces membres étaient prêts à négocier entre eux un accord ambitieux sur le commerce des services, comme le permettent les règles de l’AGCS. Ces discussions ont pris de l’ampleur à l’automne 2012, et les négociations devraient être amorcées au début de l’année 2013. Les 21 membres de l’OMC qui participent actuellement à cette initiative ont convenu de permettre aux autres membres de l’OMC qui partagent leurs objectifs de se joindre à eux.

Les services représentent une partie importante et croissante de l’économie du Canada. Des entreprises canadiennes sont présentes partout dans le monde, dans des secteurs aussi diversifiés que l’exploitation minière, les finances et la technologie de l’information. En fait, le Canada est le quatrième exportateur mondial de services d’ingénierie. Bien que le Canada soit déjà un important exportateur de services dans plusieurs secteurs, il affiche toujours un énorme potentiel de croissance. Puisque la majorité des entreprises de services sont des PME, il est essentiel que la conjoncture commerciale mondiale soit stable et prévisible pour que celles-ci puissent pénétrer de nouveaux marchés. Un accord plurilatéral et international en matière de services viendrait compléter d’autres initiatives mises en œuvre par le gouvernement du Canada pour ouvrir les marchés et fournir éventuellement un accès accru aux marchés ainsi qu’une stabilité juridique dans les marchés déjà ouverts qui ne sont pas assujettis à un accord commercial. Ces négociations n’obligeront en aucun cas le Canada à prendre des engagements dans les domaines où il préfère maintenir une certaine souplesse en matière de politiques (par exemple, dans le domaine des services publics).

Observations des parties intéressées

Bien que des consultations approfondies sur les intérêts et les priorités du Canada en matière de services aient été menées dans le contexte des négociations du Cycle de Doha de l’OMC, de nouvelles consultations s’imposent pour la mise à jour de la position du Canada concernant cette nouvelle initiative. Le gouvernement entame donc un nouveau processus de consultation publique afin de fournir à tous les intervenants une occasion précoce de formuler des commentaires sur un éventuel accord plurilatéral et international en matière de services (Voir l'avis dans la Gazette du Canada: Consultations relatives à un accord plurilatéral et international en matière de services). Dans ce contexte, nous accueillons favorablement tout conseil et toute opinion sur les priorités et les objectifs liés à cette initiative. Il peut notamment s’agir de ce qui suit :

  • l’énumération des secteurs de services, des activités et des marchés présentant un intérêt pour les exportateurs de services canadiens au sein des membres de l’OMC, et des mesures qui touchent ou restreignent l’accès aux marchés des fournisseurs de services canadiens;
  • tout obstacle ou toute expérience concernant les différents modes de fourniture de services définis par l’OMC :
    • la détermination des obstacles à l’admission et au séjour temporaires des gens d’affaires auxquels se heurtent les fournisseurs de services canadiens dans les marchés des membres de l’OMC (par exemple, les obstacles à l’admission ou au travail temporaire dans un pays donné, tels que les exigences relatives à la présentation d’une licence, d’un certificat, d’un permis de travail ou d’une autre autorisation de travail);
    • la détermination des obstacles à l'investissement auxquels se heurtent les investisseurs canadiens dans les pays étrangers, y compris les restrictions imposées sur la propriété étrangère ou l'accès aux marchés, la transparence de la réglementation, les exigences en matière de rendement (par exemple, les exigences liées au contenu local ou à l'utilisation de la main-d'œuvre et des services locaux) et toute autre forme d'obstacle;
    • les expériences relatives aux obstacles au commerce transfrontières des services auxquels se heurtent les fournisseurs de services canadiens dans les pays membres de l’OMC, tels que les exigences relatives aux licences et à la résidence.
  • autres obstacles (par exemple, la disponibilité et la transparence de l'information) auxquels se heurtent les fournisseurs lorsqu'ils vendent ou tentent de vendre leurs services à des gouvernements de pays membres de l’OMC.

Au nombre des secteurs de services que l’on trouve au sein de l’OMC figurent les services liés aux technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC), les services de transport, les services financiers, les services professionnels, les services environnementaux et les services de l’énergie.

Bien que la date limite recevoir les points de vue des partie intéressées était le 30 Avril 2013, nous continuons d’accepter les commentaires. Prière de noter que tous les renseignements reçus dans le cadre de ces consultations seront considérés comme publics, sauf mention expresse du contraire. Les communications soumises doivent comprendre :

  • le nom et l'adresse de l'auteur et, s'il y a lieu, le nom de l'organisation, de l'institution ou de l'entreprise à laquelle il appartient;
  • les questions précises qui sont soulevées;
  • les raisons précises justifiant la position adoptée, y compris les effets importants prévus sur les intérêts nationaux ou internationaux du Canada.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur la relation qu’entretient le Canada avec les autres pays participant à cette initiative se trouvent sur le site Web du Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les membres de l’OMC, l’AGCS et les divers secteurs de services, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’OMC.

Point de contact

Les contributions peuvent être envoyées par courriel, par télécopieur, ou par courrier à

Consultations sur les négociations commerciales (PISA),
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada,
Direction de la politique commerciale sur les services (TMS),
Édifice Lester B. Pearson,
125 promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0G2
Fax : 613-944-0058
Courriel : TMSconsultation@international.gc.ca,